Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Twitchen House Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (North) > Woolacombe > Twitchen House Holiday Park > Reviews

Twitchen House Holiday Park
Mortehoe Station Road
Woolacombe
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX34 7ES
Tel: 01271 872366
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: Pitches 252 / Units 311
Open: 22/03/2024 to 04/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 63 Reviews
                8/10 from 63 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lovemotorhomes 3 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to this site.

Its a lovely site, well maintained and clean.

Easy to find, although the approach road is narrow, but as long as you drive slow its not an issue.

The toilet and shower area is kept clean.

The washing up area is large.

Facilities on site are excellent.

Restaurant served great food.

Reception staff friendly and helpful.

Pitches are big with plenty of room.

Internet, telephone and TV reception we found poor.

We love exploring all the little villages.

We would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Limecc 16 reviews from this member

 This is my second review of this site and can add further comments hopefully they are helpful.

We wanted to avoid crowding because the pitches are close together so we came for the first two weeks of June. There was no need to worry we had no neighbours in the 'I' field which is the best bet for long twin axles.

Once again the staff were beavering away, they are all industrious and take a pride in the upkeep. The outdoor pool was open this time and it was like a warm bath (27deg) so there was absolutely no shock getting in. Shame it's too shallow but mums will be pleased about that. On the one day of rain we had a great time pottery painting I made an cartoon pic 'Ugly' mug. Once again we had some days of high winds it really is an exposed part of North Devon. The sea was full of jelly fish, but it didn't seem to put the surfers off - a hardy bunch.

We enjoyed the bowling at Golden Coast but make sure you buy the goes when booking the holiday. The Twitchen cinema was also first class. Don't expect much internet either from wi-fi or mobile phone. Whatever the network it is dire and this was a disappointment. I struggled with Freeview because we were sited quite low down but I had the satellite dish as backup. I could use a mains adaptor for my Aquaroll because most pitches have their own tap. Great!

I thought this would be our last visit because we prefer to discover new places, but I was wrong. We will be back! 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mattyboy1 8 reviews from this member

 Decent site although you have to take a short drive to go anywhere as its in a slightly rural location. Clean toilet and shower block which had music blaring out the whole time. Didn't really bother me just never been into a disco toilet before. The area set a side for tents is very bumpy with limited flat spots. During the week it was quite empty but when the weekend came we were packed in like sardines which has put me off going there again. If you don't use ehu you can pitch where you like so it did get very crowded.

Decent shop and all the other facilities like cafe, bar, swimming pool you'd expect for a commercial site.

Nice sea views too. Probably wouldn't visit again but only because I don't like being crowded in and like to have a bit of space. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KarraRothery 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed on the site Easewell, but we came across and used the facilities of Twitchen every day.

The restaurant has some brilliant options for our group of 4, which included two vegans, a veggie and a meat eater. We all found multiple meals we could have, all very enjoyable. They even let us use our own vegan cheese on their pizza! Drinks can be a little over priced, but to be expected on a site like this.

We have used both indoor and outdoor pools and they were brilliant, good size and temperature. Just be aware if your an adult wanting to swim lengths it can be impossible! There is no separate lane and families like to spread themselves out across the entire width of the pool playing ball games. The pool and sauna could also have been cleaned more regularly, the sauna had the same dirty bags and bands in it the whole 4 days we were there.

The main reason we came over and used Twitchen was for the evening cabaret. It was so shockingly terrible that it was brilliant, and we were completely hooked! There was also a brilliant arcade and me and my boyfriend got very competitive at the skittles!

I highly recommend Twitchen for young families. For couples I would suggest staying at the quieter more mature Easewell and taking the 10 minute walk to use Twitchens facilities. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Limecc 16 reviews from this member

 We normally steer well clear of commercial sites like this one but were tempted by end-of-season deals and ended up staying for two weeks.

After reading other reviews left here I was extremely worried the pitch would be big enough and that I could get the caravan level - we have a large twin axle. Because it's such a large site there was plenty of choice and we enjoyed a fully serviced pitch for only 15/night would have been less without child and dogs. The other reviewers are absolutely correct about the exposed nature of the site we had some howling gales and saw unfortunate seasonal caravans with destroyed awnings and scattered possessions. All of the grass pitches were vacant bar one, although they are a bit of a trek from the complex they offer spectacular views and the shower blocks are nearby and absolutely first rate even having a sauna and steam room, Pringles and drinks vending machines! They were spotless.

Although the pitch sizes weren't too bad, the spacing is typical of many other sites being the around the legal minimum, I didn't like the narrow roads it would have been extremely hard to position our long van if there had been neighbours and we had no motor movers. The kerbs are not dropped. We were in I46 on tarmac. Neighbours opposite would have been uncomfortably close, in peak season you'd have to live with that because the pitches are pre-allocated and alternatives might not be available. The staff are extremely cooperative to help when booking allows. There was no warden this must be only for certain months but always plenty of staff around the main shower block for campers is permanently manned.

The steep walk down to Woolacombe takes around 20 mins and is extremely pleasant, dogs can only be off lead until halfway because of grazing sheep. Was a little muddy at times because of much rain we had. Plenty of parking in Woolacombe was 4/day, nearby Putsborough is sheltered and gorgeous but 5 (after 3pm!) was ridiculous and many other cars simply turned away like us. It's all privately owned with no-stopping signs on the public lane leading up. Further down the coast Croyd bay and Saunton were a surfers paradise and were absolutely stunning. All three beaches are life guarded. You'll enjoy using the Park minibus to and from the beach and save money getting the 3/each per week tickets when booking your stay.

Twitchen House facilities were amazing there's plenty for families, amusements, 10 pin bowling, 3D cinema, table tennis, indoor and outdoor pools, water flume, ceramic object painting, etc etc, cheap food in the bar and cheap food in the park shop, great laundrette. I saw one member of staff painstakingly furniture polishing obscure places during check-in everywhere is immaculate and looks brand new (I guess it is!).

All in all despite the weather we had a great time and we'll definitely be back but wild horses could not drag us here in peak season. Conversely if you want to relax peak season by keeping the kids happy then there is no better commercial site in Devon, even in Britain for you. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Acesup1504 5 reviews from this member

 Woolacombe Bay: Twitchen Park. A little review. Mixed feelings on here, we booked a hard standing pitch with grass for awning. On being shown to our pitch, things started off badly, there was hardly room to swing a cat. This could be the said the same of 50% of the hardstanding. Just a little to compact for our comfort really. A quick discussion with reception and offered the last couple of hardstanding or moving over to the all weather pitches. Settled on the all weather pitches which are very spacious but on quite a slope.

But this is where the complaints end. The park has recently spend 2. 5M on redevelopment and it really shows. The new shower block is probably the best we have stayed on, full wet room showers, with fantastic showers and a Steam room and Sauna to be boot also. Maintained to a spotless standard despite the park being pretty much full.

The bar and restaurant area is fantastic opening out to the swimming pool, with large 'orangery' windows over head gave it a light and airy feel. Food was very reasonable and very nice. Pizza where especially good from from the pizza oven.

They have also installed a 3d cinema, which was reasonable price ( probably cheaper than your local cinema). The usual amenities you get from holiday parks where spread across the other parks, 10 pin bowling for 19 for hour was pretty good, Pottery painting.

The road to the Park is a little hairy especially towing the caravan, as is the road down to Woolacombe through Morthoe (20% incline)

The other parks look a little tired in comparison to the upgrade of Twitchen and would recommend staying in Twitchen over the other parks if looking at Woolcombe Bay Resort.

I would definitely return to Twitchen Park, but would avoid the hardstanding unless you know which are the larger pitches and would stick the grass or all weather ( but stick to the top or the bottom of the area for a flatter pitch). 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Traceyj74 1 review from this member

 We just returned 3 days ago from our summer holiday at Twitchen House and we ended up leaving 2 days early as the site was not up to the standard and ruined our holiday.

To start with we were told our pitch was on Tarmac and it was gravel and you could not swing a cat into the pitch let alone a van it had to be pushed by hand.

The pitches were very un even and after walking around the touring site we found most of the pitches were actually worse than ours the angles of some of the vans was ridiculous.

The Toilet block I was impressed with to start with it was clean most of the time but when the weekend rolled around and people were arriving for the bank holiday the site became full and the state of the toilets became disgusting. I complained to the reception as for over 2 hours there were 2 toilets with poo all over them and on the floors there was toilet paper everywhere and the floors were filthy. Reception said they are cleaned once a day which I found diabolical for a large site that was full. The following day it was the same again on the toilets and once again I complained they then decided to close the block for 3 to 4 hours each day for cleaning which I found extreme and have never had this at other sites. It was like they were trying to make a point if you complained.

On bank holiday Monday we had a lot of rain and the steps outside that led to the shop were extremely dangerous although there was a sign on the step to say slippery when wet the right care has not been taken to ensure safety of guests as I found out when I went flying and hurt my back and shoulder and the receptions attitude was well ok my husband was furious and demanded to report it in their accident book and they then said we don't have one it just got worse eventually a young man found it and recorded the accident. The steps need to be closed in wet conditions as they are very steep and it quite a way down should you fall. The young man in reception said we have taken all precautions and also have a risk assessment done on them.

We decided on the Tuesday to go to the outdoor pool we last 30 mins and left as the water was dirty with moss and leaves and dirt floating around there was also tiles missing and sharp edges in the pool from this we decided to up and leave the the site as we had had enough.

They had a 2 million re vamp and this can be noticed in the new clubhouse area that was built it is lovely tbh but they have let the rest of the site decline which let's it down the indoor pool is not manned at all and it shows as the scum that was floating around the foot pool was awful and the floors were again filthy. The grassed area by the outdoor pool had lots of rubbish and broken equipment left lying around by the staff not something you as a guest wished to see.

I loved the Area Woolacombe but I will definitely not be returning to Twitchen House. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jimmylands 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 2 nights on this campsite.

We were on pitch k71 which was a fantastic pitch, it was at the top of the furthest field but also raised above other pitches which meant it was slightly larger and easy to define your pitch. The best thing about this pitch was the view across the site, and most importantly the beautiful cost line which was almost 180 degrees!

The site has benefited from a complete overhaul of its facilities. There a new light bar next to the pool, a massive entertainment area as well.

The kids facilities and entertainment was good, not always my cup of tea but was still worth a go.

It is close to woolacombe, although I would say it is further and more of a trek to than the campsites description, hence marking it down a bit.

The local village looked great with some nice pubs which I would like to go back and try!

There was one large shower block in the middle of the site which in the morning were busy, I can imagine in the summer these being to small for the size of the site.

All the staff were spoke to were polite and friendly.

Overall this is great campsite for families with plenty to do we would definitely visit again and like to stay for longer next time. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Browny549 15 reviews from this member

 Went during the Whitsun Bank Holiday. Site was full of tourers and static visitors. We were on I field and had an good pitch although pretty close to all the amenities the pitch itself needed several levelling blocks. The facilities were excellent covering everything you may need, good shop, indoor and outdoor pools, entertainment in the evenings etc. You were a good 30 minute walk via several coastal paths to woolacombe beach, very picturesque. Also it is with buying the bus tickets prior to going as they travel to all of the woolacombe sites which you can use and also to the beach, very handy. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sparkle1 8 reviews from this member

 We visited over the Bank holiday weekend where we stayed for 4 nights. All touring pitches were full, but we were surprised at how quiet it was. The site is in the middle of National Park and is very open to the elements. We were quite lucky, we had fairly good weather with only one night of high wind. Very, very windy! Our awning took a battering! The site is very hilly, so if walking is a problem, you may want to think again! We booked a fully serviced pitch and was given one which was all gravel, next to the children's play park. It had no grass, just all gravel, and felt very closed in to other campers. I would ask for a different pitch if I ever visit again. The pitch consisted of hook up, own water tap, drainage point, a light and TV point.

There are four parks altogether and you can use all the facilities on all of the parks. There is a bus that takes you from park to park for a fee.

The showers are excellent, more like your own wet room! Very clean and spacious, you have a good shower in quite a large room, which stays on for some time, a sink, a seat, a hook on the door and a shaver point. The Sauna and Steam room are also in the Shower and Toilet block, we did use these and found them very pleasant.

There are a good selection of activities available, but do seem more pitched toward very young children. My teenagers were a little bored at times! We used the bar for a drink, but Bingo really isn't our thing!

The take-away serves good quality food and we used this a couple of times while we where there. The shop is quite basic, so take some supplies with you.

All the staff we had contact with were all very polite and pleasant.

We walked down to Woolacombe Beach, through the National Park, which was lovely. Very, very hilly and quite a hard walk, but was well worth walking through a field of Sheep to get there! Woolacombe Beach consists of a few bars/restaurants, along side the usual seaside shops etc.

Overall, the parks do offer good facilities for young families and is good value for money. 


Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Twitchen House Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Twitchen House Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Twitchen House Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Twitchen House Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Woolacombe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3936 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement