Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Twitchen House Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (North) > Woolacombe > Twitchen House Holiday Park > Reviews

Twitchen House Holiday Park
Mortehoe Station Road
Woolacombe
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX34 7ES
Tel: 01271 872366
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: Pitches 252 / Units 311
Open: 22/03/2024 to 04/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 63 Reviews
                8/10 from 63 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campwithkids! 14 reviews from this member

 Whatt can I say but amazing! We have camped here every year for 8 years now, weve done weekends, weeks, fortnights. Weve stayed in their vans, challet too. All of good standard for type.

We have always camped and foound twitchen to be the best especailly since they have had the new toulet block which I wanted to take my time in!

And the sauna, when not packed with kids and hormonal girls after lads! was rather relaxing.

The entertainment is super day and night. Location is good for exploring, we have been going for years and only last year found the real wonder of Ilfracombe! What a gem.

The club at peak times is rammed. Be there before 7pm to get a seat. Staff are good with kids. Pools are good, although the last 3 days the mushroom decided to work when it felt and kids were very disapointed.

Beaches are super and clean but do take the bus, buy a pass for the week and take advantage of it, its worth it and we really do have a stress free, drinking and eating ( although not excessively) holiday. We did find that when we took car to beach we drove out of woolacombe to a quieter beach, follow road out of woolacombe past the carpark and keep going, its a way but worth it. When there you can see woolacombe but the beach is quieter and has some nice rocks to perch by. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: PB and family 3 reviews from this member

 Our 4th time at Twitchen as ours friends have a seasonal pitch there. My views on the site are mixed, but overall there are more positives than negatives and it really depends on what you are looking for. The site is in a lovely location with attractive walks to Woolacombe and Morthoe, which takes about 25 minutes. The walk back is quite steep and hard work for those with pushchairs. Woolacombe itself is a large surfing beach with plenty of car parking close to the beach at £5 a day. The bus from Twitchen is an excellent alternative and costs just £2 for a ticket which covers your stay.

Facilities on site ( especially the new block ) are excellent, with large showers and a sauna and steam room. They do get a bit busy in peak periods but that’s the same on most sites. The site has both indoor and outdoor pools, with the indoor being small but very nice. There is crazy golf, a clubhouse offering kids clubs and evening entertainment for the adults, 2 pool tables, a table tennis table and a large TV screen ( poor quality picture though ), a café / restaurant which looks pretty basic, a take away which offers reasonable quality food and an excellent shop. The children’s play area looks very good, although ours are too old to use it now. The site has a lot of static vans, so it does get busy in the peak summer period, although it did not seem that noisy at night.

My main moan about the site is the pitches, which vary a lot in size, gradient and quality. With a bit more work these could be improved and it’s a shame that they don’t invest a bit of money to improve them. The super pitches are not that super, especially given the price you pay for them, and as a previous reviewer stated the taps are the push type, so you need to take some large cable ties to keep them permanently on. There is cable TV on the super pitches and you need a 10 metre lead for this. The camping area looks very hilly so you need to pick your spot carefully.

If you are looking for a site with plenty for the kids to do and close enough to walk to the beaches this is a good site to chose, if you accept that your pitch may not be great. If you are looking for a quieter, more attractive site, with better pitches, consider Warcombe farm, which is about a mile away and looks lovely, but has no pool etc. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Howdycampers 6 reviews from this member

 Have just got back from a weekend at Twitchen Park and we had a great time. Lovely site, very peaceful during the day and at night. Fantastic views!

I had reserved a pitch in the rally field so there was plenty of room. The toilet and shower facilities were very good, always clean and tidy.

We used the bus service to the beach and for £1.50 for your entire holiday it saved a lot of time and hassle with having to drive to the beach.

The on site shop was good and reasonably priced.

Great park would recommend it to anyone and would definitely return! 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dan the man 1 review from this member

 Arrived on site to be greeted by the site wardens who directed us to our pitch, The pitch I booked was described as a super pitch, but it was nothing like a super pitch. The water tap was a push button type that you would find in a toilet block and has no direct fitting for water supply to caravan or aqua rolls. Also the waste grid is a long way from the hard standing about 6mts so make sure you take plenty of waste pipe.

The new showers are excellent with sauna and steam room and are kept very clean. They have a great bus service that costs just £1.50 per person per week and goes to all of there sites on the way to the beach and will collect you at the end of the day, the car parks cost £5 per day so you can save £35 per week.

The staff on the site are very friendly and the site shop is reasonably priced and they sell gas. There is a tesco supermarket about 10 mins away by car and also mullcott caravans which has a well stocked accesory shop is local to.

The beach is very nice at woolacombe and is well managed by the lifegaurds. This is a nice site but can be very busy in peak weeks and some of the pitches are on a slope. I would like to mention the wardons who are always on hand if needed and are very helpful 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pumpclip 2 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to this park.
We stayed for eight days, 12th to 20th May 2007, in our touring caravan.
The facilities were excellent, a new toilet block was just being completed.
There are many hard standing pitches quite a few with seasonal
tourers on.
We had a grass pitch, many of these are sloping so a bit of levelling up is called for
In the evening there was a good family cabaret on every night, not always the case on many sites so early in the season. Food is also available most of the day.
The staff were always friendly and helpful.
There are both indoor and outdoor swimming pools for the energetic.
The companies own bus runs a service into Woolacombe, finishing at teatime
The pretty village of Mortehoe is a short walk away
The village has three pubs, we found the food at the Chichester Arms excellent . It is also in the Camra Good Beer Guide. There is a lovely beer garden at the rear
If you carry on walking through the village the road takes you down into Woolacombe with some stunning coastal views along the way.
A site we will certainly visit again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Ade+Shabba 2 reviews from this member

 Very clean and well maintained site, The new shower and toilet block had just opened whilst we were there. These were fantastic with really big shower rooms with wash basin in each room. Shop on site was good and reasonably priced. We didn't try the chippy as other people in our party had said it wasn't good.
Childrens play area and swimming pool were very good and clean. We went over to easewell farm one night and that wasn't up to much but we all had some really nice food one night over at the Woolacombe bay park. 
The site operates a bus service down to the other sites and the beach and back for only £1.50 a week and you can use it as often as you want. The walks to the beach are very nice and the beach is fantastic, but a bit of a pain if you have a pram like us so the bus was great.
They are building more pitches at the moment which was a bit noisy and dusty but this will soon be finished.
The curbs to get on the pitches are very high and a pain to reverse the van onto and some of the pitches on the lower tier of I field are very ramped up to the back and you will need blocks for under your caravans legs. 
Not a lot to fault it on really, be careful of what pitch you get on I field as number 16 is right next to (and I mean as you come out of your awning its there) the chemical toilet waste emptying point and the big biffa still bins.
The touring site warden was quite helpful but you could not tell him anything (know what I mean).There is a fish van that comes round the site selling fresh and frozen fish and this was very good a good bar-b was had by all.
Four families inc 12 kids, went and all in all we had a great time and the weather was awsome for easter.
It is also very nice to see the owners reinvesting money back into their sites year after year unlike most of the Haven sites we have been to. We would come here again and have no problem recommending it to others. 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pegleg 3 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed our stay here especially as it was out of season and therefore very quiet.
The pitch was a great size and we have access to our own water.
The toilets were clean, although in need of modernisation.  The showers did not stay on that long so washing involves lots of pressing the button.
The swimming pool was really nice, again because it was out of season we had it to ourselves a lot of the time.
The shop was well stocked and well priced, although we felt the take-away was over priced.
The location was fantastic for Morthoe and Woolacombe.
All in all it was a great site to stay on and I would stay here again. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wendy24g 2 reviews from this member

 First time camping. Long drive but a friendly welcome. Enjoyed the freedom of pitching wherever. With a fairly big tent (gelert 8+4) I found alot of sites restricted the size so unable to accommodate us.
 
Facilities excellent and even though the weather not great the kids and us still had loads of fun.
 
Entertainment similar to Haven the kids loved it and us Adults enjoyed it as well. The good sign is when the kids don't bother you all evening because there are having too much fun!
 
Quite expensive but will definitely go again. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rebecca Rush 1 review from this member

 I really enjoyed this campsite the facilities were always in good condition and there was plenty to do within and around the site.
All the staff were very friendly and looked after there customers well.
I really enjoyed my visit whilst there and had plenty to do for the whole two weeks of my visit.

I would recommend this site to anyone, and would definatley go back again. 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ang/Ken 18 reviews from this member

 Just spent 5 days here (before Easter). The site wardens are really friendly & helpful. The toilets were spotless. The Bistro/Takeaway food is reasonably priced and a good variety for adults & children. Our 6 year old enjoyed the childrens clubs although he didn't go to everyone as they are run 4 times a day. Theres also a great pub (Fortescue Arms) just down the road where there is a menu that would have something to suit everyone theres so much choice. Theres lots in the area to do but would recommend Watersmeet Castle as a good day out (take a picnic) cost £28 for 2 adults & 1 child but they do a family ticket for £34 (2adults & 2 children). If you think you would like to go back again you can pay an extra £2 for a photo & then you can go as many times as you want during the year for just £1 per person per visit. 


Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Twitchen House Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Twitchen House Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Twitchen House Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Twitchen House Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Woolacombe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4903 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement