Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Twitchen House Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (North) > Woolacombe > Twitchen House Holiday Park > Reviews

Twitchen House Holiday Park
Mortehoe Station Road
Woolacombe
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX34 7ES
Tel: 01271 872366
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: Pitches 252 / Units 311
Open: 22/03/2024 to 04/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 63 Reviews
                8/10 from 63 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Callie968 56 reviews from this member

 3rd visit to Twitchen house and I still maintain its a very good site with more attention to detail it could be excellent

Pitches

Large spacious, grass well mown and cared for, gravel hardstanding base fully serviced K45 is our favourite as great views and a side garden great if you enjoy sitting out or have a dog

Toilets/Showers

Excellent, warm very clean no queues, loads of toilets piped music, roomy showers with hooks and a sink piping hot water with a long push button. Steam room & sauna excellent standard

Site

Very clean, dogs welcome very quiet as set away from club & facilities

Staff

New young warden great very helpful & cheery working hard all the time. Reception staff very friendly but queues on check in and peak times so another couple needed at peak times.

Facilities

Nice pool with sauna open until 9pm, outdoor pool opens May recently refurbished, busy club not enough seats for capacity, sports bar with large TVs pool etc no heating on so can get cold. Nice arcade and full entertainment programme. Bungee trampoline and water zorbs 3 a go also mini golf recently refurbished go karts and large play park. Great shop great competative prices stocks fresh/frozen food, fresh bake bread and cakes lottery alcohol and fresh fruit and veg an excellent site shop. Poor restaurant its a glorified greasy chippy empty every time I went passed missing a grat maoney maker here as there are few eating places in Woolacombe and the nearest Tesco is Ilfracombe so go prepared.

No WIFI outside provider cannot meet supply and demand very disappointing

Fishing lakes are 2 ponds suitable for kids only

Great location loads of walks Morthoe our favourite. Bus to woolacombe from park as parking is very expensive in Wwoolacombe.

Overall a good standard clean site, windy for tents a few lost while we were there, a nice area needs pavements on the hill down to the house from the touring area as can be dangerous for children

Would recommend but done the area to death so having a change next year 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MGL262 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Twitchen Park for 3 nights in September. We booked this site as dogs were welcome. On others they weren't. The majority of the site was taken up with static caravans.

We arrived at 9pm in the dark, we booked in and were told the pitch number. As we had never been before it was difficult to even find the tent field let alone our pitch. It was raining and windy so putting the tent up was s challenge, thankfully, a couple on the next pitch came to our aid and helped as best they could.

In the morning, when we could see, we found we were camped as high as was possible on the side of a hill, we had not been given the best pitch possible. There were others that were much better that we're not used the whole time we were there.

Had we arrived in the daylight, if have requested we swap pitches, but as the tent was already up, I didn't bother.

The toilets/showers were fantastic, constantly being cleaned, warm and modern. A trip to the loo though did involve a hike down and back up the huge hill though!

The clubhouse didn't allow dogs in even though they were welcome on the site so I can't comment on what that was like.

Our 2 ten year old boys loved the swimming pool, there wasn't a lifeguard so adult supervision was essential.

There was a well stocked site shop and plenty of woodland walks to take the dog on.

Woolacombe Beach was a short car ride away, we learnt the day we were leaving that the campsite put on a shuttle bus to and from the beach, shame they didn't tell us that when we arrived!

We were able to use the facilities on other local sites owned by the same group. That is where we found the surfing simulator which was great, a bit expensive, but an hour with an instructor was really good fun.

Croyde Bay (similar to Woolacombe Bay, just a bit smaller) was only 10 miles away as well which is well worth a visit.

Would I go again?? Yes, but I'd want a better pitch 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Billywhizzuk 1 review from this member

 Although the brochure states that most plots are 10x10, as we have a HiGear 10 berth + porch, we checked in advance and found that we had been allocated a plot that would have had our guy ropes on another camper's plot.

The staff were very quick to respond to our email enquiries, and quickly found us a suitably sized plot.

Our plot K71 had probably the best view of the whole campsite, and could clearly see Lundy and the sea (on a good day).

The weather during our stay was 8 days very very windy and rainy, 2 days glorious sunshine. All credit to our new HiGear tent which stood up to the battering very well.

Thankfully, there is a lot of entertainment on in the evening. 10/10 to the entertainment staff, which almost made up for the awful weather. Seating gets filled up quite quickly so you need to get there early if you want a good seat. There is entertainment for the adults as well as the usual bingo.

We found the WiFi to be very temperamental and expensive @ 1 per hour up to 15 per day - something you get free even in McDonald's.

Toilets and showers were kept very clean and tidy, although between 9pm - 8am you have to use a smaller, older facilities 50 yards away.

Outside swimming pool is great with a (cold) water slide. The bottom of the slide is very slippery and both of my kids slipped despite walking over the tiled area.

The indoor pool is is split equally between a paddling pool for toddlers and a normal pool. It's quite small and gets very busy. The changing rooms are shared facilities, and there is only 1 family cubicle, as such most people get dried and changed in their tent or caravan.

The restaurant on site is nothing more than a very poor chippy, although the fishcakes are quite good! It is located adjacent to the entertainment area, so you get a regular draft of chip fat when people go between the facilities.

There is a small shop on site. You can rent ice blocks for 1 returnable deposit and 25p per block.

There are also some facilities on site including climbing wall, a 'ball in water' thing, and they were setting up a hog roast just as we were leaving

Dogs are permitted so you do come across the odd piece of mess which someone hasn't picked up. There are plenty of bins around for dog waste as well as general waste.

The bus service also goes between the camp and Woolacombe (I think) which would save on the 7 per day parking charges at Woolacombe.

The roads are very narrow in places and SatNav can sometimes take you down 1-track routes, so be careful if you're towing.

You also have access to the other sites in the group locally, some of which have better facilities, depending upon what you're after.

We probably wouldn't go back, but mainly because of the weather - next trip to France! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mutley365 1 review from this member

 Twitchen house is one site that is part of a chain of 4sites around the area and as such, you can use all 4 of the holiday parks. When we turned up we were given our site number that we found easily. However when we got there somebody else was in our pitch, we then had to go back to the site wardens hut and explain the situation. We were then given an alternative pitch which was a much better than our original pitch. The site is at the top of a hill and is exposed to the elements. During our stay stay there were some very windy days and was glad I had a quality tent as some people who had cheap tents were ripped apart. The toilets and showers were awesome and had a steam room and sauna. The outdoor and indoor pools were good but you do need to supervise your children as there was no lifeguard. There was evening entertainment but we never bothered as we had everything we needed to entertain ourselves in our tent.

The weather was atrocious during our stay which is obviously not the parks fault but when we were packing up the ground underneath was extremely smelly and like wet clay, so I'm glad I had a footprint under my tent. Having our own water supply next to the power coupling was also a nice touch.

The park is within walking distance of the beach and it took about 25 minutes to get there. The beach is lovely and clean and the waves are suitable for body boarding and surfing. The seaside town isn't over commercialized either. I would recommend this park but if we go again I'd rather stay at its sister site then Golden Coast as it had gravel pitching areas and was much less exposed to the elements. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stuart71 5 reviews from this member

 This was our first try at a large commercial site, and made use of their 7 nights for price of 4.

It was larger than we expected, and am sure in peak season it would be crazy busy. The washroom and showers are nice and hot and always clean. There is a sauna and steam room open for limited times in the block too. The pot wash was good too.

We used their swimming pool every day with our four year old, it was unmanned and despite signs warning against horse-play and ball games that did annoy us somewhat when it went on unabated.

The club house was nice and clean but you cannot get away from the commercialism as it was expensive.

The site is steep in places, but well laid out with smaller cul-de-sacs. There is a prominence of seasonal caravans, and did have a feel of a ghost town at times, but considering the weather it was hardly surprising.

It is windy and our awning was damaged in the first night which needed running repairs during the week.

Unfortunately we did not last the full week and admitted defeat to the British weather, there was only so many rain soaked walks to the toilets and showers we could do.

The location was great, the views good, the local villages great, the visiting fish man twice a week was also a nice surprise (fresh fish not a chippie).

Would we return? Probably not, it was expensive, not the friendliest of sites, and all a bit too commercial for us. However for kids, and if you have saved then it could be for you. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Six Feet Five 9 reviews from this member

 We were originally booked at sister site 'Easwell Farm'.

After a nightmare journey of 5 hours (normally 2 1/2) to get to Easwell Farm we had our 1st problem. The Sat Nav I have uses Google Data. Easwell farm according to Google is on the main road into Woolacombe. When we got to where the Sat Nav said it was - it was the wrong site (head office) and a 2 caravan convoy had to go into Woolacombe and attempt 3-point turns on the seafront.

Our second problem arose when we got to Easwell Farm itself. Although Caravan all weather pitches - they had booked us on to a pitch deemed too hilly for a caravan. After an hour in reception we were finally moved to sister site Twithchen House. Site Manager 'Martin' was a great help in this.

Staying on 1 site allows you access to all of their sites locally. There is a bus that takes you around all the sites and to the beach (small fee).

The pitch we had at Twitchen was again hilly. Experienced visitors / seasonal pitches had concrete blocks under one set of wheels to level up.

We had young children (2 x 2 years old) and the playground on site is not suitable for them. Although, we saw it rather than use it - the playground at 'Easewell' is much better suited.

We visited the clubhouse of an evening. Very much as you would expect for a large commercial site. Kids disco, bingo followed by a band. The 'free' entertainment must be heavily subsidised by the bar - 4. 10 for a pint of lager! I could understand why many people I saw were sneaking in their own drinks and snacks. Friends who have a seasonal pitch make the 15 minute walk into the beautiful village, with 3 pubs, out of the site and turn left.

Depending on where you are on site depended on the quality of the shower block. Our field had a block that although clean was looking a bit 'tired' however a further 30 second walk took you to the main shower block and they were great. Very large shower cubicles (we got a family of 3 in them) sauna and steam room.

We will be visiting the area again as Woolacombe is fantastic. Great beach and town. Not sure if that stay will be at Twitchen. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Callie968 56 reviews from this member

 We revisited this site for the second time after booking last year with the 50% rebooking offer and yet again we have rebooked for Easter 2013 but its only 30% off when you pay in full before you leave this year.

I still maintain these are the best toilet facilities on a campsite you will find loads of toilets and showers very warm radio on in the background, lockers vending machines a sauna and a steam room superb never queued very clean I love them !

Pot wash superb boiling hot water lovely deep sinks very good, the only issue is they shut this main block at 9pm which is fine for us, but for people who use facilities at night it means being relegated to the old fashioned block across the car park, very cold and dismal, but didn't effect us.

Staff great and friendly, but needs more staff on reception as there were terrible queues, especially on check in.

Site clean and tidy, warden very helpful. Nice and quiet at night, no problems with noise

Very windy, 2 tents were lost off the hill. We were on the super pitches and although more sheltered, we had to take the awning down a night early due to high winds. The tent hill is very exposed to the elements.

Great shop, very cheap and well stocked, they charge 10p for carrier bags, but fresh bakery. loads of papers and mags and a great selection of meat, fruit and frozen goods.

Fab position, lovely walk to Morthe and Woolacombe. great central position for touring North Devon. beware nearest chinese if you fancy a takeaway is Ilfracombe and nearest big shop Tesco is Ilfracombe too.

Must visit is Squires award winning fish and chips restaurant and take away in Braunton, we go every time, it is superb! 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dozie77 5 reviews from this member

 Have just got back today from a weekend at this lovely site.

All of the staff were helpful/happy/friendly.

All of the facilities were fantastic, clean and well presented.

Prices for takeaway / restaurant / bar / supermarket were reasonable and not over priced.

The toilet / shower / sauna / steam room / plate wash block was amazing! One of the best that we have been to. Water was HOT! and we found this at all times.

Indoor pool lovely (maybe could have done with being a couple of degrees warmer especially in the smaller pool)

We didn't get to try out the play park or the outdoor pool as weather was atrocious while we were there.

The pitch size that we had was great, we managed to fit our hartford xl on with space for car on one side and space for play/bbq on the other. Although that didn't happen! We loved the night-light and water tap on the hookup stand but if we come back we won't be staying in a tent again for the simple fact the camping areas are at the top of a hill and are always very windy. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Martinjb 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back from 5 days at this lovely site.

Me, my wife and our 3 kids(age 4, 7 and 9)had a great time.

Site is very clean and staff are very helpful.

We used the indoor pool everyday and although not very big it was clean and fairly quiet.

Used outdoor pool just the once. Too cold for me!

Site has some lovely walks direct from the park, we took our dog and everyday we found a different walk. Beach is 15 minutes as is Woolacombe. Uphill all the way back. Be warned!

Surrounding area is beautiful!. Woolacombe beach is lovely but our favourite was Putsborough Beach which is amazing and only about a 15 minute drive.

Cant really fault the site at all, but I'm guessing it gets really busy during the school hols.

Would go again! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hale0768 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from an excellent weekend at this camp site.

The facilities are very good, especially the new Shower Block which was very clean and had some good features such as a family shower room.

For people in Tents - the open field is on a hill, this means it's often windy, very windy or ridiculously windy! It's all on a slope too but does have hookups dotted around.

The best option is to ensure you get a numbered K pitch which are in terraces, more private and sheltered.

The owners were very helpful and were happy answer any questions or queries on local amenities and facilities.

We shall be visiting this site again, we hope sooner rather than later - holidays permitting! 


Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Twitchen House Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Twitchen House Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Twitchen House Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Twitchen House Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Woolacombe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3963 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement