Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Twitchen House Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (North) > Woolacombe > Twitchen House Holiday Park > Reviews

Twitchen House Holiday Park
Mortehoe Station Road
Woolacombe
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX34 7ES
Tel: 01271 872366
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: Pitches 252 / Units 311
Open: 22/03/2024 to 04/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 63 Reviews
                8/10 from 63 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Swindon town 1 review from this member

 Just come back from a week here.

Was on a super pitch which was pea shingle, good pitch but on a bit of a slope,

new shower block was good except last day when ceiling in my shower was pouring water through all holes.

Site was lovely but be very aware that when it is windy it really is very windy and for this reason would not return again.

The beach at woolacombe was lovely and the bus which goes around all the sites and to the beach was reasonable at £4. 00 each person for the whole week.

Some spectacular views. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Trish426 2 reviews from this member

 Just came back from weeks camping at twitchen house. We stayed on a super pitch which had water, drainage and electric hook up. Because we were on pea shingle when it rained at night (and we did have some heavy rain) it did not flood.

Showers were fantastic and very clean. Shop was ok and not too expensive. Restaurant was not as good as it could have been as it was just like a chip shop that sold more than chips but food was ok.

Bus running between other sites and beach was brilliant but could have done with being every half an hour not hourly.

My only negative for this site is that due to the fact that you are so high up and close to the sea the wind is a real problem. If you are camping in a tent be prepared for some sleepless and very scary nights as I could not even begin to describe how windy it gets on this site and there is no shelter at all.

I would not recommend this site for tents at all. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tas67 3 reviews from this member

 We had a great but very windy 3 days camping at Twitchen House.

As this was my first camp I have nothing to compare it to but this is how I found the site; itís a well kept family site with all the usual entertainment facilities to keep children and parents happy. It was quite quiet when we were there and we had no trouble with noise late at night.

The main toilet block was superb, very clean warm and plenty of hot water, I loved the fact that the showers were not segregated for men and women as it meant my 9 year old son could use the cubicle next to mine which made us both feel safer.

The pitches were of a good size with sea view, I booked an electric grass pitch (K53) which was a terraced level pitch with a water tap, night light and an aerial, the ground was very hard and rocky without much grass and I had trouble getting the pegs into the ground.

The site is around 20mins walk to the beach we took longer as we kept stopping to look at the gorgeous views, there is also a regular bus to and from the beach. I would happily go back again but only with lots of rock pegs! 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mkjustuk 3 reviews from this member

 Twitchen is a great site with some of the best amenities you'll find. The newer shower block is amazing, the shop is great and the entertainment/bars are fab too if that's your kind of thing. The bus to the other sites is a brilliant idea and allows you to see other sites that you might go to again.

For people in Tents - the open field is on a hill, this means it's often windy, very windy or ridiculously windy! It's all on a slope too but does have hookups dotted around. The best option is to ensure you get a numbered K pitch which are in terraces, more private and sheltered.

I'd go again but only if I could avoid the open field as it's too windy and sloping with a lot of noise that goes un-policed. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Callie968 56 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site that is unbelievably well managed for such a large site, warden very helpful who zips around on a quad bike to ensure the easy running of the site.

Great facilities for children, the adventure park though is away from the camping area next to the swimming pool which is a shame I feel it would be better sited in the touring /static area.

Shower block fab with individual shower rooms I never had to wait even in peak season, sauna and steam room and loads of toilets piped music and plenty of hot water warm and clean top marks for a site of this size

Both pools good children enjoyed them.

Pitches adequate size with full services on ours did feel a bit like a car park though with just pea gravel no grass for sitting out I think the K area is better but quiet and peaceful

One word of warning there are children everywhere on bikes/scooters etc and on the main hill there are no pavements so be very cautious I saw a few near misses which I think is more down to the vigilance of parents when walking to the main complex.

I liked the fact that the clubhouse arcade shop etc was all at the entrance to the park by reception so the touring areas were very quiet and kept traffic to a minimum around the pitches.

Usual slight problem of toilet paper running out but it is a large site !

Good takeaway on site and the shop was one of the best I have used on a site very very cheap stocked everything including rock pegs which you will need, fresh bread daily lots of meat alcohol papers and more than the usual essentials found in site shops.

Good drainage on site staff friendly used the pools crazy golf and arcade but not the clubs/entertainment so cant comment on that.

Dont bother to take fishing rods although it is advertised it is not a used facility just a muddy pond where everyone on site walks their dogs.

Good walk to Morthoe from the site across fields lovely little village few shops and pubs

Use the bus if you can as parking in Woolacombe is £6 per day and traffic wardens are everywhere you have been warned !

Beach lovely clean and good surf

Have booked again for Easter 2012 that's a first ! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CarelessComic 1 review from this member

 First camping trip with the family so wanted something with plenty of facilities. We were originally pitched on the k field (right at the top of the hill) which is almost like a free for all (in the middle of the field it is!) so if you like privacy you may want to pitch on the outskirts of this field or opposite the shower facilities.

We asked the warden to re pitch us and as it wasn't busy he was happy to do this. We were bang opposite the shower/toilet block so the women were happy! This pitch area was also level unlike the middle of the k field which is on a slope.

The shower/toilet washing up basins (inside)were absolutely spotless and they have a family bathroom which has a bath as well as an overhanging shower free to use with a small deposit for the key.

Didn't have to queue at all at the start of the week when it was at it's busiest (last day before the bank holiday ended) Sauna and steam room was working although the steam room wasn't particular hot so used the sauna instead. Two built in hair dryers in the bigger block which I could see would be a queue for this as there was only two of them and a cabinet of lockers which are not secured just to store your towel I guess and flip-flops if you were using the sauna.

They have a vending machine in this block and a radio. There are electric points you can use but would be advisable to stay with your stuff and not leave it 'charging up' (common sense really!).

They have another block to the right of this main one which was opened the first few nights obviously to cater for all the campers but as soon as everyone went home they just had the main block open, this smaller one of the two was clean and spotless.

Good mixture of standard and EH pitches, as well as some gravelly and grass pitches, we pitched on the grass with a hookup although didn't use it.

As its been very dry the ground as expected was slightly hard only bent one or two pegs, this would be the same anywhere so not a bad point on this site.

The bins scattered around the site for all your rubbish was emptied almost daily and the warden was always doing his rounds cleaning and putting some sprinklers on in the k field when it was empty.

Shop was relatively cheap and had most things. We done a bigger shop down at tescos in Ilfracoombe which was a short drive 3/4 miles away. We didn't use the pool facilities, outdoor pool opens late May onwards but the indoor pool did look busy.

Normal clubhouse (bar, beer, kids drinks) all catered for, 5/6 pool tables in the other room and a games room, entertainment was okay only went out the one night as we spent majority of our time on our pitch.

We took a stroll down to the beach, going down was okay (25 mins or so) if you have a buggy and unfit got a load of small children it will be a strenuous walk back up the steep hills!

The outside adventure playground is more for 4/5+ upwards and doesn't really cater for smaller children like our 1 year old, you would of had to climb up some of the frames and drop them down the slide with someone at the bottom, didn't have any swings which was a shame.

The site overall was really good, woolacoombe beach was great and had a dog area plenty of fish and chip shops, I preferred Ilfracombe for its shops and food. If you park on the pier end in Ilframcombe the very first pub at the start of the car park is dog friendly even in the restaurant. Main local drink is Thatchers cider

We did visit the carvery (top of the road you turn into to go down the campsite not coming Porthoe / woolacombe end), as it was classed as out of season the carvery wasn't open but they done some real nice food and again was real good value.

You wouldn't walk to this site unless you were a single couple and happy with the country lane which was busy with caravans and campers coming and going (the other woolacombe bay park was down this road as well. All in all a superb site and good clean facilities and woolacombe and Ilfracombe being the two different nearby small towns there was plenty to do.

I only gave the child friendliness 7/10 purely because the adventure park on site didn't really cater for the smaller children as stated above 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tonyb21 22 reviews from this member

 Spent a week at Twitchen House first week in September. The weather for the first couple of days was very wet and very very windy. The site is very exposed when it is windy and the tents took a real battering.

We had a pitch on K field which was ok but could have done to have been a bit bigger to fit our outwell montana 6 with the awning. On the days the wind was calm it was lovely.The higher pitches could do with some hedging to help break the wind. The park is well looked after and well run.

The shower block is brilliant and always clean. Well stocked shop and reasonably priced. There is entertainment in the clubhouse if you want it. The walk to the beach is quite a way but very pleasant, not suitable for pushchairs at all though.

Woolacome beach is amazing and there is lots to see in the area. Would not go again though but only because of the wind. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dodi164 17 reviews from this member

 Please be warned if you are using a 'Sun' newspaper voucher that you will not get a cheap deal here! It cost us less than the normal price, but was the most expensive site we visited in 2 weeks at £17! If you enjoy a Butlins type atmosphere, then this is a good deal, as included in this price are the clubs etc.

However if you loathe such clubs as we do, little point in using your sun voucher as they made us pay for two club tickets costing an extra £8 which we neither wanted or used! We had the wrong type of 'wire' for the TV aerial, so had no TV, were parked on a gravel pitch with a tiny strip of grass and felt very happy when we left the next day!

In their favour I can state that the showers were superb and it was relatively quiet despite being a 'family' site! They also sent us a technician quite promptly to tell us about our 'wrong' wire (which had worked at other sites!) and staff were helpful. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kirbinator60 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Twitchen house in July for 1 week. Although the weather wasn't brilliant we still managed a few days on the beautiful beach, which was a lovely 15 minute walk down a wooded footpath and through a field. The hard standing pitches were excellent, but I would advise taking hard ground pegs for awnings. The kids really enjoyed the outdoor and indoor heated pools, and the amusement arcade was very handy when it was raining, which was quite a lot. The on site shop stocked all the essentials required. The clubhouse was well situated and presented and the evening entertainment was very good. The shower and toilet block very clean and well maintained with a steam room and sauna free to use. The staff and wardens were very pleasant friendly and helpful. We will definitely be staying here again in the not too distant future 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stocky13 24 reviews from this member

 We arrived and pitched our tent we were on k17 so had plenty of space although on a slight slant.

We did find the walk to the beach to far as we were pushing a push chair it was too hilly.

The shower blocks and washing facilities were spot on.They were cleaned a couple of times per day.Although as per usual they were left a bit scummy by other campers not the fault of the owners just inconsiderate people.

In the main shower block we used the steam room and sauna it was kept very clean,the only problem was some older children did hang about in the shower area probably because the weather was wet.

We used the club house twice and found it ok they entertained the children ok,Played bingo,watched some entertainment.

The indoor pool was ok but not a lot to do other than swim or have a sauna.Ie no children's shoots or slides.

They have got them on the outdoor pool,but it was too cold for us to use it.

The shop was well stocked and we did not find it too expensive.

We used the take away on site and did think it was very over priced.

We drove out to other areas Ilfracombe twice eating out.(Do not go to the Harbour Lights restaurant the food was far to expensive for what we got it was all frozen food zapped in a microwave we did complain but they seemed to think it was ok they knocked some off the meal.

The shops around are the normal beachy type.

There is Indian and Chinese restaurants in the town.

Also a Lido's where we did stock up.

The beaches in Woolacombe are wonderful, kept clean and they had fish and chip van on beach,food ok for quick snacks.

Also the beach at Putsborough beach was very nice.

There is plenty of super markets in Ilfracombe also a tesco just outside,

We had hit and miss weather so were not able to stay on the beaches for long and am sure we would have got out and about a lot more other than the rain.

We did not use the other sites so cannot recommend them.

It is a very hilly place so if you are not into walking be aware.

To sum up the camp site I would give it a 10 out of ten but I do think it is a bit pricey. 


Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Twitchen House Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Twitchen House Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Twitchen House Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Twitchen House Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Woolacombe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3177 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement