Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Twitchen House Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (North) > Woolacombe > Twitchen House Holiday Park > Reviews

Twitchen House Holiday Park
Mortehoe Station Road
Woolacombe
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX34 7ES
Tel: 01271 872366
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: Pitches 252 / Units 311
Open: 22/03/2024 to 04/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 63 Reviews
                8/10 from 63 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LinMar 4 reviews from this member

 First time at this site and what a great site. Facilities were as mentioned in previous reviews and could not fault anything. Village of Mortehoe very nice with a few lovely pubs. Woolacombe has a lovely clean beach.

Our pitch was slightly sloping but a couple of blocks sorted it. Make sure you carry rock pegs for your awning as the ground is quite hard. Oh one thing I would mention, the shower block shuts at 9pm! Very pleased with this site and will definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Macmoore 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for the bank holiday weekend, what a treat! We had our typical bank holiday weather - rain on our first day, but we had nothing to worry about as there was lots to do. They had entertainment for the children during the day and the evening.

Staff were very helpful and friendly.

The indoor pool was basic but warm.

The shower blocks were clean, and even though the campsite was full we never queued for more than a few minutes. The water was always hot.

We used the shop and the takeaway restaurant - we found these to be fairly priced.

We went to Woolacombe beach - make sure you take your windbreak to claim your bit of beach as everyone else seems to. The beach itself was beautiful and the sea full of surfers and body boarders of all ages.

Parking in town is £5.50 regardless of your length of stay, this campsite provides a bus to the beach and sister sites. We never used this but intend to during our visit in August.

I would recommend this site to anyone as there is lots to do rain or shine!

We enjoyed it so much we booked to go again for a week in August. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tomandchris 32 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 10 day break over the Easter holidays to Twitchen. What a great site.

From when we arrived at Reception everything went smoothly. We were booked in very swiftly and were given wristbands, we got told these were a new idea, not a good one, they just don't last. We also got an entertainment guide and loads of local information.

The park is one of four, Woolacombe Bay, Easewell, Twitchen and Golden Coast and you can use the facilities on any of these sites, with the wristband! There is a big yellow bus that circulates between the sites and the beach and you pay £3.00 per stay and can travel on the buses as many times as you want, although it only runs until about five o'clock.

The pitch we had was a hardstanding, it was small and was on a slope, loads of blocks were needed to balance it out. It also had EHC. The toilet block was just behind which was always warm, plenty of showers and toilets. There was also a sauna in here too but although we seen it working we didn't use it ourselves.

The site has good entertainment every night and a sports bar which shows the footie etc. It also has an amusement arcade, mini golf and indoor and outdoor pools. There is a shop on site which in my opinion is the best site shop I have come across, stocking all basic items and some not so basic too, and the prices were a little dearer which you expect but not really expensive. Other reviewers said that the restaurant and take away were reasonably priced - don't know where they were from but I thought it was really expensive, nearly £6 for a jacket potato!

The surrounding area is great too, Ilfracombe is lovely and the actual village of Mortehoe is idyllic on a lovely sunny day, it has a few pubs for your liquid refreshment en-route! For eating out, try the carvery at the Fortesque, just across the road from Golden Coast, it is to die for and at only £8.95 a good buy. We went twice.

Between the sites you have 10 (I think!) swimming pools, a golf course, cinema, 10 pin bowling alley, ceramic centre, horse stables, bars, arcades, sports bars, mini golf, saunas, a health spa, restaurants, basically everything you need for a great holiday.

Would we go back? - try and stop us! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Newcampers7471 5 reviews from this member

 Our first ever camping expedition was marred by a spell of pretty grim weather, but this did not effect our fun. Twitchen is a great site with an amazing eco friendly shower block, great views and a very friendly atmosphere. We pitched in pouring rain and howling wind, close to defeat, beginning to wonder why we chose camping.

Our pitch was serviced with electric, personal water supply, dusk to dawn lighting and a TV aerial connection and a beautiful view of the Atlantic :-). The camping playground was just behind us which was ideal for the kids aged 5 and 7 who had a whale of a time. We visited the clubhouse and pool areas on site. Bar was reasonably priced. The Chippy / restaurant on site was surprisingly good value and very tasty with a sit in option offering far more meals than just fish and chips.

Right, the wind. Yes it did blow. And many of our neighbours succumbed to the wrath of mother nature but don't let it put you off. The still days were divine, peaceful and what camping should be about. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wetcampers 2 reviews from this member

 Great if you like big sites. Club and entertainment good kept kids amused. Went in the indoor swimming pool during bad weather, which was good.

Bus very useful to and from the beach and other parks saves the parking money.

Woolacombe fantastic place with wonderful beaches you could ask for a better setting.

Whilst staying here we had the worst winds, we managed to survive the night just some of our other campers were not so lucky. No protection from the wind as the main tent field is on the cliffs.

Great play area and very clean showers/toilets and washing up room. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jacqhale 10 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of July with our 2 year old son. Everyone on the campsite was very friendly, we had a pitch with permanently sited caravans so when we got into trouble putting up the awning for the first time there was a lovely family on hand to help. Our pitch was pretty flat but some of them are on quite steep hills so would not like to pitch up on those. The standing is on gravel, no grass around.

Near to water and electric hook up so set up was very easy. New toilet blocks with sauna and steam room were lovely.

You can also use the facilities at the other 3 parks nearby. We used the swimming pool every day which is fabulous but there are no lifeguards in attendance.

The crazy golf is a little unimaginative and the kids club for the under 5's seemed to be run by little more than kids with a few nursery rhymes.

Evening entertainment a bit tacky but good fun. Of course an amusement arcade for 'pester power'.

Generally the facilities are great and very child friendly. A lot is included in the price so you don't have to keep forking out on every activity. Our son loved the indoor play area but it is quite small.

The weather wasn't brilliant - it rained most of the time which I think spoilt our view of the place and leads me to be a lot less enthusiastic than I would normally be! However even in bad weather there is still plenty to do.

The surrounding area is gorgeous - beaches and cliff scenery are unrivalled. We spent a day at Arlington Court - a National Trust property nearby. There are also lots of National Trust car parks if you are a member.

Barnstaple is a lovely town and Ilfracombe is very pretty.

All in all a great place to visit, especially with kids.

We had a cheap deal (£27 for 3 nights) through a Daily Mail voucher offer. If I get the same deal again I would definitely go back next year but not sure if I would pay the full price £35 a night without trying other places first. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Drfje 8 reviews from this member

 Great base for touring the coast. I am not a greatly experienced caravanner and was a little daunted at first sight of the lane leading down to the camp (approx 3/4 mile) however, plenty of pull in points all along so meeting traffic was no problem.

This site has the least facilities of all three affiliated camps but undoubtedly offers the best location for beach. Contrary to the last review there is a village with three good pubs all serving food and several small shops within very easy walking distance of the camp, the walk to the village taking around 15 mins.

The site has a take away, restaurant, indoor and outdoor pools, crazy golf, children's playground etc. You also have the use of the facilities on the two other sites which expand the entertainment for children tremendously. Beware many of the attractions on site require a small charge though this is far from expensive, pools and playgrounds etc are free and have long opening hours.

Twitchen House has two saunas one in the indoor pool area and a second in the utilities block, again both are free. The utilities block is simply outstanding. No shower blocks here, you are treated to approximately twenty private shower rooms about 10ft square with changing bench, wet room shower and hand basin.

The park is quiet at night. There is entertainment every evening at the club house though the standard of entertainment was moderate during our stay, I also thought the drinks were a little expensive. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful making this park a delight to visit. Very pretty surroundings.

We booked a super pitch at the site which gave us grey water waste, fresh water point and a cable tv point. My only criticism was the quality of the pitch which was a little rough and on a slight slope, both of which didn't cause a great problem. The super pitches are not hard standings. I have to say that the pitch was very clean and also very good value for money.

To sum up I would say this park offers a great base, great value for money great facilities, I will certainly be making a return booking. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Homebird2003 19 reviews from this member

 We've just come back from a short break here in a Static Caravan. The site is divided up into fields, with the statics sited around reception/clubhouse etc. Parking is in bays or the main car park, and in the field we were in we had to climb around the caravans to get to our own, so if anyone in your group has difficulties in walking make the park aware of this. The touring fields were a bit further away. The fields we saw seemed to be terraced and looked quite regimented ie all in neat straight lines. We saw one tent field which was quite sloping but it did have a good view of the fields & hills. The amenities block looked new but we didn't go inside.

The clubhouse was very hot and smelt badly of old chip oil. We didn't use the swimming pools but they looked good. The bus to the beach etc is now £2.50 and covers you for the whole break but we didn't know this until halfway through our holiday so we didn't use the service or visit the other parks. The walks to the beaches are lovely except the ground was a bit slippery in places because of recent rain. Its really fun to walk through a field of sheep! The play area was large enough for all the kids to enjoy, crazy golf is on 2 levels but not very exciting. The on-site shop was quite well stocked and the prices were very good. We didn't find any local shops or pubs in easy walking distance so unless you make full use of the parks facilities you need to jump in the car for entertainment.

Although quite packed, the park was quiet and very peaceful in the night - the only noise came from the birds busily building their nests and a pair of ducks who wandered around looking for scraps.

All in all a pleasant place. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Howdycampers 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed here last year and had a great time, everything was perfect!

We were very disappointed this year! First of all their was new wardens and on arrival they were to busy cutting the grass to help us so we ended going back and forwards to the reception!

The pitch we had booked was the same as last year and on arrival it was disgusting, there was litter everywhere and when we asked to be moved the wardens weren't interested in helping and hence we ended up making another trip to reception.

The good points were lovely shower block, great bus service, and nice views and a couple of days of sunshine!

Would not go back to this park 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Greyfox 16 reviews from this member

 We arrived at Twichen having pre-booked 10 nights at Woolacombe Bay only to be told on arrival that they do not accept touring caravanís only tents? After some heated words we were offered a pitch at Twitchen having parted with an additional £97! We arrived at the park and were put on to a field where dogs were not allowed, despite our booking including one (a very small king Charles spaniel)? 2 days in to our holiday the field manager arrived at our caravan and told us we would have to move because dogs were not allowed on this field?? After yet more heated words she agreed to refund us the additional £97 we had been charged but amazingly moved us to another non dog field??? When we went to reception to clarify this and found we were in a queue of people who's bookings had been messed up! So my advice to anyone booking this site is to treble check your booking before you set off.

As for the site, it is situated in a good location for the local beach. There are plenty of walks and the Tarka trail is not far away if you take or hire some bikes for the day. There are lots of facilities on site but given the site of the park these facilities are just too small to accommodate everyone. The weather while we stayed was atrocious and destroyed a lot of tents and awnings due to the fields being fairly open and exposed. (Great for good views in nice weather but a nightmare when you are experiencing 60 MPH gusts) It rained for most of the 10 days we stayed which makes the ground very soft and so difficult to keep tent pegs in the ground and mud flows down the hills and gets everywhere due to poor drainage. The elsan point was blocked on a couple of occasions which I have never come across before and was disgusting! The field warden and his friend seem to just be there to work during their collage holiday and not really able to deal with any issues that arose!

On the plus side the toilet block is by far the best I have ever seen lots of large showers with hot water and steam and sauna room (free) large toilet block and good Laundry and washing up facility.

Sadly due to the poor weather and aggravation we had during the 1st few days with the administration at this park I cannot openly recommend this place to anyone. If our booking had gone smoothly and we had a bit of sunshine then of course my review would be a bit different.

Will I go back to Twitchen? Normally no I wouldn't but our Daughter won the talent competition so it seems we will have to visit again in November, I don't suppose the weather will be much better then either :( 


Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Twitchen House Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Twitchen House Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Twitchen House Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Twitchen House Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Woolacombe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3040 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement