Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Twitchen House Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (North) > Woolacombe > Twitchen House Holiday Park > Reviews

Twitchen House Holiday Park
Mortehoe Station Road
Woolacombe
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX34 7ES
Tel: 01271 872366
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: Pitches 252 / Units 311
Open: 22/03/2024 to 04/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 63 Reviews
                8/10 from 63 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Mickfishing 14 reviews from this member

 Been to this site twice before facilities are good but some need a bit of tlc,

Pitch was full service with hard and I mean hard standing bent rockpegs knocking them in,

Check in good guy who checks you in is a bit of a comedian but very friendly, staff very helpful,

Grandkids said pool is great,

Food is good a little pricy but Good portions, service can be hit and miss only two serving points in food/bar area you order food and drinks a same points so if you have eaten and want another drink you have to queue with people wanting food which does slow service.

Entertainment is family orientated but very good,

Would we go again yes. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Michel 1 review from this member

 I would say if you want a quiet campsite, don't go here! Entertainment is on tap and you get to enjoy it on all 3 of the Woolacombe Bay Campsites.

There are swimming pools, evening entertainment, play parks, pottery, children's activities and probably more!

We stayed for 2 nights and for us that was enough, it was definitely a change to the usual quiet sites we go to. We embraced it and enjoyed it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Daves mate 23 reviews from this member

 We'd been changed to Twitchen House from our original booking at Golden Coast, on reflection I'm glad, it's a little bit quieter and has a better indoor pool.

As previously stated some of the pitches can be hard to get on without recruiting a small army. As the Covid restrictions at the time had shut the toilet block we'd booked a fully serviced pitch and had no such problem.

All the pitches in our area were gravelled hardstanding meaning it looked more like a car park than a campsite field. The pitch was spacious enough but on a slight slope with the grey water drain at the top. If anyone has figured out a way of getting waste water to drain uphill from a caravan please could you let me know!

This was the 1st week the site was open after lockdown and certain Covid restrictions were in place, the cafe bar was outside seating only and everything needed to be ordered via an app. This worked well during our stay. The pool could only be used in pre booked 1 hour sessions, very frustrating but this site is not alone in this.

The beauty of this place is that you get to use all the other sites in the group. Golden Coast is a 10 min walk along a footpath and is where most of the activities take place. They all need to be pre booked but were very good. The wave rider is great fun as are the segways. Mrs DM also enjoyed a pamper in the spa.

There's another footpath that takes you down to Woolacombe in about 30 mins. The cafe on Barricane beach does a great curry and I can recommend the waffle place by the adventure golf. Ilfraccome and Croyde are also worth a visit.

It's not an area we visit much but we will return to Twitchen House one day. Staff did a great job but I imagine it's so much better without Covid restrictions. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hollidaysjohn 3 reviews from this member

 Great location but terrible pitch. Pitch had a substantial curb and a narrow roadway. It took motor mover and three strong people to eventually move onto the "pitch".

Pitch is tarmac with a narrow grass strip only the width of the awning and not width enough for guys. Very tight space to next pitches. Very little space to sit out.

Site also allowed someone to pitch wrong way taking up the wrong awning space so our daughter had no awning space on her pitch.

Site is as steep as a caravan can handle even with the use of deep concrete blocks under the front stays. This also means that the waste drains are higher on many pitches than the caravan.

One of the worst sites we've stayed on. None of the touring caravanners we spoke to were planning to return again. And all for £70 a night. :(

Toilets are good. On site mini supermarket is well stocked. Grandkids loved the swimming pools. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Allenk 1 review from this member

 Site was lovely and clean loads of toilets and showers.

Large wash up room.

Didnít have time to use many facilities but there was a good size shop well stocked

Bus stops at end of drive 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: TheChristerFamily 12 reviews from this member

 Just returned from two weeks camping. The site is clean and very well maintained. Plenty of toilets and showers never having to wait.

The camping area has variety of pitch types from grass to hard standing. We were initially pitched in field K which has lovely views over the bay. However it is very slopped and exposed to the wind. Unfortunately we weren't blessed with the weather and with strong winds forecast we asked to move pitches.

Staff very helpful and we moved to a more sheltered (gravel) pitch, it meant we needed to buy new tent pegs but worth it. We survived the 50mph winds unlike some, many people left in the night and several flat tents the next morning.

Apart from the weather the site is in a beautiful area. Walk down through the woods to Woolacombe it's lovely walk. Have a curry at the Barricane Beach cafe.

Walk into Mortehoe and to Mortepoint.

The on site restaurant is reasonable and you can take dogs in but only a small section.

Outdoor pool warm but very busy. Found the indoor pool good fun with the flames.

The British Weather has put us off returning. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: TrevorSm 1 review from this member

 First the good part. The shower block was very clean and modern. The entertainment and activities are good. However the caravan park is not really what is advertised. The pitches are advertised as 10x10M and level. Ours was less than 9x9M and not level.

In fact concrete blocks are provided to help level the van. The space between the rows was only just wide enough to get the caravan down and so it would be extremely difficult to reverse the caravan onto the pitch. A motor mover is a must, it was awkward even with one.

It was not easy to get the car alongside the van on the allocated space. Some pitches have a kerb to get over. We would have had great difficulty getting the van out when we came to leave without our motor mover, as the site was still very full.

I realise we were there over Easter and it was expected to be busy, but it felt very cramped. There is no where for the kids to ride their bikes and signs banning this.

The advertised sea views were certainly not to be seen from where we were! We were generally disappointed. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bobadz 1 review from this member

 Just spent 4 weeks with only 3 misty days at this well run and friendly site with good clean facilities. All staff were courteous knowledgeable and helpful. All facilities were well managed.

We will book for golden coast next year Only because of the narrowness of the approach road (station road). I am extremely surprised that the problems with this very narrow road with passing places has not been high-, lighter before.

The road is often closed due to vehicles becoming trapped in gridlock. At busy times it can take up to two hours to travel the two miles to the site ( even without a caravan!)

The local authority and the many sites should widen this minor road for the convenience of all users. When the road is sorted out we would return. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: GlampingChris 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from Twitchen House - we won't be returning either. The toilet block looks good, but stank for the whole weekend we were there. The main camping field is on a ridiculous slope so much so that there were a number of occasions where members of our family slipped over in our bell tent (and we managed to get on one of the flatter bits).

There are no pitches marked out on the main field so that it becomes a free for all with tents crammed in on the flatter spots - this to the extent that we were unable to get our car out at all at one point.

The outdoor pool is just okay - warm enough, but with many tiles missing which scratched my daughter when she bumped against one spot. The changing facilities for this one are tiny. The cubicles are the smallest possible - you can just have room to turn around once you shut the door.

The site shop is well stocked and reasonably priced. The bar overpriced and understaffed.

We do a lot of camping and I've never seen so many dogs on a site. Most were under control, but a number were just roaming about the pitches, relieving themselves wherever they went. When it came to pack up I had the inevitable joy of cleaning crap off the bell tent ground sheet - a fitting farewell from this site.

It feels like this site is geared up toward static caravans with little consideration given to touring/camping. Despite the stunning views, I wouldn't recommend this park to anyone. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mickfishing 14 reviews from this member

 Just back from Twitchen house this was a prize that we won from UKCampsite, the site is well laid out facilities very good toilets clean, site very hilly local town/village Woolacombe clean but busy ( what it would be like in main season who knows ) approach road can be a bit testing if you are towing (especially if you meet the site bus who seems to think it is great to FORCE everyone to reverse even if there is room to pass ). Their are 4 camps in the group and you can use the facilities on all 4 which can be good if you have a young family, Can only recommend this site/sites to all. 


Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Twitchen House Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Twitchen House Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Twitchen House Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Twitchen House Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Woolacombe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2099 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement