Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Twitchen House Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Woolacombe > Twitchen House Holiday Park Reviews

Twitchen House Holiday Park
Mortehoe Station Road
Woolacombe
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX34 7ES
Tel: 01271 872366
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: Pitches 292 / Units 285
Open: 27/03/2021 to 02/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 59 Reviews
                8/10 from 59 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Allenk 1 review from this member

 Site was lovely and clean loads of toilets and showers.

Large wash up room.

Didnít have time to use many facilities but there was a good size shop well stocked

Bus stops at end of drive 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: TheChristerFamily 12 reviews from this member

 Just returned from two weeks camping. The site is clean and very well maintained. Plenty of toilets and showers never having to wait.

The camping area has variety of pitch types from grass to hard standing. We were initially pitched in field K which has lovely views over the bay. However it is very slopped and exposed to the wind. Unfortunately we weren't blessed with the weather and with strong winds forecast we asked to move pitches.

Staff very helpful and we moved to a more sheltered (gravel) pitch, it meant we needed to buy new tent pegs but worth it. We survived the 50mph winds unlike some, many people left in the night and several flat tents the next morning.

Apart from the weather the site is in a beautiful area. Walk down through the woods to Woolacombe it's lovely walk. Have a curry at the Barricane Beach cafe.

Walk into Mortehoe and to Mortepoint.

The on site restaurant is reasonable and you can take dogs in but only a small section.

Outdoor pool warm but very busy. Found the indoor pool good fun with the flames.

The British Weather has put us off returning. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: TrevorSm 1 review from this member

 First the good part. The shower block was very clean and modern. The entertainment and activities are good. However the caravan park is not really what is advertised. The pitches are advertised as 10x10M and level. Ours was less than 9x9M and not level.

In fact concrete blocks are provided to help level the van. The space between the rows was only just wide enough to get the caravan down and so it would be extremely difficult to reverse the caravan onto the pitch. A motor mover is a must, it was awkward even with one.

It was not easy to get the car alongside the van on the allocated space. Some pitches have a kerb to get over. We would have had great difficulty getting the van out when we came to leave without our motor mover, as the site was still very full.

I realise we were there over Easter and it was expected to be busy, but it felt very cramped. There is no where for the kids to ride their bikes and signs banning this.

The advertised sea views were certainly not to be seen from where we were! We were generally disappointed. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bobadz 1 review from this member

 Just spent 4 weeks with only 3 misty days at this well run and friendly site with good clean facilities. All staff were courteous knowledgeable and helpful. All facilities were well managed.

We will book for golden coast next year Only because of the narrowness of the approach road (station road). I am extremely surprised that the problems with this very narrow road with passing places has not been high-, lighter before.

The road is often closed due to vehicles becoming trapped in gridlock. At busy times it can take up to two hours to travel the two miles to the site ( even without a caravan!)

The local authority and the many sites should widen this minor road for the convenience of all users. When the road is sorted out we would return. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: GlampingChris 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from Twitchen House - we won't be returning either. The toilet block looks good, but stank for the whole weekend we were there. The main camping field is on a ridiculous slope so much so that there were a number of occasions where members of our family slipped over in our bell tent (and we managed to get on one of the flatter bits).

There are no pitches marked out on the main field so that it becomes a free for all with tents crammed in on the flatter spots - this to the extent that we were unable to get our car out at all at one point.

The outdoor pool is just okay - warm enough, but with many tiles missing which scratched my daughter when she bumped against one spot. The changing facilities for this one are tiny. The cubicles are the smallest possible - you can just have room to turn around once you shut the door.

The site shop is well stocked and reasonably priced. The bar overpriced and understaffed.

We do a lot of camping and I've never seen so many dogs on a site. Most were under control, but a number were just roaming about the pitches, relieving themselves wherever they went. When it came to pack up I had the inevitable joy of cleaning crap off the bell tent ground sheet - a fitting farewell from this site.

It feels like this site is geared up toward static caravans with little consideration given to touring/camping. Despite the stunning views, I wouldn't recommend this park to anyone. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mickfishing 8 reviews from this member

 Just back from Twitchen house this was a prize that we won from UKCampsite, the site is well laid out facilities very good toilets clean, site very hilly local town/village Woolacombe clean but busy ( what it would be like in main season who knows ) approach road can be a bit testing if you are towing (especially if you meet the site bus who seems to think it is great to FORCE everyone to reverse even if there is room to pass ). Their are 4 camps in the group and you can use the facilities on all 4 which can be good if you have a young family, Can only recommend this site/sites to all. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lovemotorhomes 3 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to this site.

Its a lovely site, well maintained and clean.

Easy to find, although the approach road is narrow, but as long as you drive slow its not an issue.

The toilet and shower area is kept clean.

The washing up area is large.

Facilities on site are excellent.

Restaurant served great food.

Reception staff friendly and helpful.

Pitches are big with plenty of room.

Internet, telephone and TV reception we found poor.

We love exploring all the little villages.

We would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Limecc 14 reviews from this member

 This is my second review of this site and can add further comments hopefully they are helpful.

We wanted to avoid crowding because the pitches are close together so we came for the first two weeks of June. There was no need to worry we had no neighbours in the 'I' field which is the best bet for long twin axles.

Once again the staff were beavering away, they are all industrious and take a pride in the upkeep. The outdoor pool was open this time and it was like a warm bath (27deg) so there was absolutely no shock getting in. Shame it's too shallow but mums will be pleased about that. On the one day of rain we had a great time pottery painting I made an cartoon pic 'Ugly' mug. Once again we had some days of high winds it really is an exposed part of North Devon. The sea was full of jelly fish, but it didn't seem to put the surfers off - a hardy bunch.

We enjoyed the bowling at Golden Coast but make sure you buy the goes when booking the holiday. The Twitchen cinema was also first class. Don't expect much internet either from wi-fi or mobile phone. Whatever the network it is dire and this was a disappointment. I struggled with Freeview because we were sited quite low down but I had the satellite dish as backup. I could use a mains adaptor for my Aquaroll because most pitches have their own tap. Great!

I thought this would be our last visit because we prefer to discover new places, but I was wrong. We will be back! 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mattyboy1 8 reviews from this member

 Decent site although you have to take a short drive to go anywhere as its in a slightly rural location. Clean toilet and shower block which had music blaring out the whole time. Didn't really bother me just never been into a disco toilet before. The area set a side for tents is very bumpy with limited flat spots. During the week it was quite empty but when the weekend came we were packed in like sardines which has put me off going there again. If you don't use ehu you can pitch where you like so it did get very crowded.

Decent shop and all the other facilities like cafe, bar, swimming pool you'd expect for a commercial site.

Nice sea views too. Probably wouldn't visit again but only because I don't like being crowded in and like to have a bit of space. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KarraRothery 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed on the site Easewell, but we came across and used the facilities of Twitchen every day.

The restaurant has some brilliant options for our group of 4, which included two vegans, a veggie and a meat eater. We all found multiple meals we could have, all very enjoyable. They even let us use our own vegan cheese on their pizza! Drinks can be a little over priced, but to be expected on a site like this.

We have used both indoor and outdoor pools and they were brilliant, good size and temperature. Just be aware if your an adult wanting to swim lengths it can be impossible! There is no separate lane and families like to spread themselves out across the entire width of the pool playing ball games. The pool and sauna could also have been cleaned more regularly, the sauna had the same dirty bags and bands in it the whole 4 days we were there.

The main reason we came over and used Twitchen was for the evening cabaret. It was so shockingly terrible that it was brilliant, and we were completely hooked! There was also a brilliant arcade and me and my boyfriend got very competitive at the skittles!

I highly recommend Twitchen for young families. For couples I would suggest staying at the quieter more mature Easewell and taking the 10 minute walk to use Twitchens facilities. 


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Twitchen House Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Twitchen House Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Twitchen House Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Twitchen House Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Woolacombe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2503 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement