Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Morn Hill Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > New Forest & Hampshire > Winchester > Morn Hill Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Morn Hill Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Morn Hill
Winchester
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO21 1HL
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 111
Open: 16/03/2024 to 05/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 59 Reviews
                8/10 from 59 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: IanJ0453 3 reviews from this member

 The site was spotless all the toilet and shower facilities were completely COVID safe.

A little bit of traffic noise.

Tent pitches cannot park their car at the pitch. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rtayl112 9 reviews from this member

 Like others we nearly missed the entrance from the roundabout but the signs are there just look.

The site is split into two sections an upper and a lower with the upper being close to the main road resulting in a small amount of road noise but not that bad.

We went within a week or two of the lockdown finishing so everyone was extra careful which to be honest was nice to see and the staff were very helpful with any questions or requests that we had.

We were given a list of available pitches to look at and choose ourselves, which was a plus rather than "here's a pitch get on with it", then just had to let them know in the office which pitch we were on so that they could allocate that pitch to us and give us the swipe card to get access to the site.

There is lots to see around the area and Winchester is a pleasant 3 mile walk but beware - it's mostly downhill going in but uphill out although there is a bus from the centre of Winchester that stops near enough right outside the site.

We will be returning for sure as we really enjoyed our stat. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LBBK 57 reviews from this member

 Yes, that's correct: grass with electric hookup tent pitch at a Caravan & Motorhome Club site.

Firstly, getting there. The entrance roundabout/turning is busy and somewhat confusing - keep your eyes open & wits about you!

Arrival. We had booked in advance so reception staff weren't unpleasant but still rather too keen to read a list of rules rather than offer a friendly welcome.

Cars are NOT allowed to remain by the tents but have to stay in the main car park. We were quoted health & safety which given the assorted combinations of cars/ caravans/ awnings/ motorhomes/ drive away tents/ pup tents etc on the other pitches was somewhat strange.

The pitch was level and well sheltered by a large hedge. There is a constant background rumble of cars which will bother lighter sleepers.

Water & waste bins were adjacent.

The toilet block was a 2 min walk. It was always clean though somewhat 'tired'. The two ladies showers were very small (you needed to be quite agile to dry yourself!) and would struggle to cope with a full site.

There is plenty of tourist info available.

It takes about an hour to walk in Winchester along a pavement beside a busy road so you may prefer the bus?

We visited the Cathedral 8. 50 for a ticket that lasts a year. The free guided tour was excellent: think St Swithun, Jane Austen & Antony Gormley statue.

There is also a Science Centre within walking distance of the campsite but it looked as if it was aimed at primary school ages so we gave it a miss. The shop has lots of bits and bobs that will make good Christmas presents. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mikeghasmail 7 reviews from this member

 This was not our first visit to Morn Hill, but it is a nice site, with friendly and helpful wardens. As a site it is quiet, but unfortunately very close to the busy A31 and the traffic noise can be extreme. However the proximity of the road means it is well positioned to get to the M3 and A34 in about 5 minutes. For us the location is positive, as we have family living a couple of junctions South just 15 minutes away.

On the day of arrival the site was very wet, with some pitches and one whole area shut off, following a winter of heavy rain. We had rain while there so it was a little muddy at times, and impossible to keep the car clean! There is plenty of room on the pitches for a large caravan plus awning - although on this visit it was not awning weather! Entrance to the site is with an allocated proximity card, giving a good feeling of security. Facilities are excellent, although there appears to be intermittent issues with the water temperature. I reported this on one occasion and it was immediately investigated.

As mentioned by other reviewers the site is split by a private road, but once you have settled onto your pitch, this separation actually gives the site the feel of being smaller than it actually is which we like.

Hinton Ampner House & Gardens (National Trust) is worth a visit - less than a 20 minute drive away. Unfortunately no pubs in easy walking distance, but we would recommend The Chestnut Horse in Easton a short drive away. Good food, beer, and friendly staff in a proper pub. They can recommend a 'friendly' taxi company.

Morn Hill is a site we will use again given the proximity to Winchester and family near Southampton. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gemma1675 46 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a weekend and went to the nearby Watercress Line steam railway for a Day out with Thomas (the tank engine). So this was all about location for us.

The site itself is fine, but the toilet facilities are more dated than most caravan club sites we have used. Biggest issue though was the size of the shower cubicles, when trying to shower with a child it was a nightmare. But they were clean, and the water was nice and hot.

The road was very noisy from 8am Sunday morning with a lot of motorbikes, might be an issue if you like a lie in! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jillhomeuk 21 reviews from this member

 Nice site.

We were pitched on the lower level site. Right at the bottom. Nice pitch, but a steep climb to the loo's. Not a problem if you are fit and able though.

Facilities were clean, and waste and water very convieniently located.

Very convienient for the Winchester Science Centre, where we spent a whole day. Fabulous.

Only slight gripe was about the fish and chip van. Husband went off to get the tea on Friday. Was away ages, I questioned if they had sent him out to actually catch the fish. When he did return, the fish and chips were not of a very good standard. Might just be me, but can't stand soggy fish and chips.

I rated this site fairly low on child friendliness. No specific facilities for children, but mainly because the split location means to get to the shop etc, they have to navigate the road. Shame there is no path between the lower and upper sections. I guess there are issues with rights of way etc. OK for kids for a weekend though! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cazzie62 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site, wonderful clean facilities. Loads of showers and laundry facilities, the whole site was beautifully maintained and spotless. Small shop and local maps available. Close to winchester with local bus nearby. Staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help. Would certainly stay again and highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tlck9 32 reviews from this member

 We joined the caravan club in order to get the reduced rates, and the nightly rate was only 15, so 4 nights would have got our membership for the 12 months back!

The wardens on duty were very helpful, cant fault their service.

The site is split in two, very bizarre, but has toilet/shower facilities on both halves. Facilities were clean and showers were hot. All within easy access of most of the pitches.

The pitches were mostly level and only needed slight chocking.

Ideally situation for Winchester. We managed to find parking in Winchester for a larger campervan which was ideal but I understood from the wardens that there was a bus route close by.

Sadly the pub that used to be at the entrance is now a kitchen showroom.

Would I stay again. Yes.

Value for money. Yes

Clean/Tidy Yes

Helpful staff - very

Please note I'm very critical, location would only get a 9/10 if it were overlooking some fantastic view and facilities if it were heated floors /ultra modern facilities - so please take my ratings with a pinch of salt. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TheMadMonk 2 reviews from this member

 A well kept site oddly split into two halves by a private access road that runs down the middle. I stopped in the 'top field' by the reception and shop which is nicely surrounded by flowering baskets. The shop is ideal for last minute (or as in my case panic) buys; Tesco and Sainsbury superstores are not far away. Both fields are accessed via security barriers.

The site is adjacent to the A31 which, in the summer months, must sound very similar to the TT route on the Isle of Man - clearly a popular motorbike area. That said come darkness it does quieter down. Winchester is 'just down the road' and is well worth a walk round. Access on to the motorway network is easy.

The toilet and shower block are adequate, though perhaps in need of an update. When I was there (September 2013) there was a notice to the effect that renovations would be done in the closed season.

The wardens were super - a quick wave and smile and always there to answer questions. I don't think they were locals but their local knowledge was excellent - even down to knowing bus times and costs to get into Winchester.

A fish and chip van comes on a Friday (I hope it does next year!) and these were gorgeous! What a treat and, to top it all, freshly cooked croissants are available on Saturday mornings in the shop. Who mentioned a diet?!

I walked round the 'bottom field' before I left just to get an idea of facilities there. Very similar to the top field - showers, toilets, washing up area etc etc and more flowers - all looked after by a second set of wardens. This is a quieter field, further away from the main road, this field also protected by a security barrier.

Both fields are nicely laid out without adjacent pitches not too close, the nice curves giving a pleasing look to the layout - the result is that one doesn't get the impression of over crowding.

Given that Caravan Club fees make a big difference to the overnight cost, value for money is excellent. I will be back in 2014. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tonkarav 4 reviews from this member

 Spent 4 nights here early in Sept. Loved the site, very peaceful (dispite the A31). It had the feel of camping years ago, very relaxed and friendly. The Wardens were great, they had made a real effort to make the site look colourful and welcoming with lts of hanging baskets that looked great. Yes, the facilities are dated but they were kept clean and the Wardens did the best they could with them. The bus service to Winchester was very convenient and The Golden Lion pub was very nice with god food and friendly service. Will definitely be paying another visit. 


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Morn Hill Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Morn Hill Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Morn Hill Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Winchester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3147 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement