Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Morn Hill Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > New Forest & Hampshire > Winchester > Morn Hill Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Morn Hill Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Morn Hill
Winchester
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO21 1HL
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 111
Open: 16/03/2024 to 05/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 59 Reviews
                8/10 from 59 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: HermanHymer 15 reviews from this member

 Stayed twice last year en route to and from the Portsmouth ferry. Very clean, well maintained site, wardens efficient, friendly and helpful.

Glad to read from another poster that the older, lower field bathrooms are to be renovated. There had been extensive delays caused, they said, by waiting on approvals from planning. Short walk to bus stop to Winchester - what a lovely city that is and so interesting. Recommend the city walk with tour guide from the Tourist Office (near the bus station). There are a number of options. Don't remember how much the fee was but not pricey. Lovely pub meal at the Golden Lion just down the road. Really convenient for a short drive down to the port. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Adamcraigscott 50 reviews from this member

 Nice site used as a stop over on out journey to I. O. W Southampton about 40 mins away. Facilities were clean but only 2 showers thought this could be a problem if it was busy. Reception staff pleasant and helpful directed us to a pub about a mile and a half away. There is a dog walk on the lower site and a fish and chip van on the friday night delicious!Didn't see a play area so can't comment on that. In reception were some basic provisions, would definitely stay again. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Remus927 25 reviews from this member

 A nice site with all you would expect from the CC. Site is on two levels with sanitary facilities on each level.

For motorhomers and others with no transport off site (like us) there is a bus stop within 5 minutes walk. Buses to Winchester run every half hour. Our free bus passes were accepted ok. Going the other way you can get buses to Alton and Alresford - with connecting services to Guildford. Bus/rail timetables are available from site office.

Site staff were friendly and helpful. If your m/h is over the 8 metre limit ring the site direct and chances are they'll be able to fit you in - I'm sure that our 8. 5 metre m/h could have gone on most pitches with no problem. Satellite TV reception was poor on the lower level so we moved to the higher level and got good reception as there are fewer trees up top. There's a Holiday Inn with a restaurant (near the bus stop) if you don't feel like cooking.

Niggles about this site? One or two but I won't mention them as they would really be dredging the bottom of the nit-picking barrel. Overall a good site and we'd be happy to stay here again. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lehovel 3 reviews from this member

 Arrived at the campsite not having pre-booked however there were no issues with getting on the site. First impressions were very good as the grass was well cared for and everything was neat and tidy (as most CC sites are).

The site is in two halves with the top half being near the A31, we thought that there may have been a problem with noise because of this but there wasn't. We only used the top half of the site so cannot comment on the bottom half which is in a much more secluded position.

As usual with CC sites, the ablutions were very clean and well cared for albeit rather small but it is understood that the site is due for refurbishment in the near future. Although located approximately 3 miles outside of Winchester there was no problem getting into the city centre as buses are every half hour and we were told that there is also a good park and ride service. There is a large hotel outside of the campsite which no doubt has a restaurant and bar.

As CC members the cost of an overnight stay was 19 something for a pitch, EHU and two adults.

Overall impression - very good. Would we stay there again - yes. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mikels 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed for the first three nights the site was open for the season. I should think there was about 20 or 30 units there. Freezing and a lot of rain.

There are four wardens who are new to the site so don't have a lot of local knowledge as they have only been there for enough time to set the site up, however they were all very helpful and cheerful.

The site is on three levels, the lower one was still closed, well laid out and with pretty level ground. There is a small block on each level. The block on the level we were on (top) only had two shower cubicles that were on the small side, but were well cleaned and plenty of hot water. I should imagine there could be quite a wait in busy times.

All in all this is a very pleasant site in a good location and is well worth staying at. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rizzo 12 reviews from this member

 I feel compelled to leave a review of Morn Hill. We go here often and feel some of the reviews here are harsh. We have just returned from this site, the wardens were great, friendly, nothing was too much trouble and an extending our last afternoon was no trouble.

Yes the facilities are dated but they are clean and sufficient. The pitches were in excellent condition for the end of August.

Yes, there is a slight buzz of traffic from the A272 and it's a shame the pub has closed and that occasionally there is music drifting across but this is out of the Caravan Club's control.  


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Experienced camper2 2 reviews from this member

 This site has a pleasant outlook and the pitches are of a good size and distance apart from each other, and the trees around the perimeter offered good shade.

The toilet block was clean but very dated. There is a dual carriageway which runs along the side of the site which concerned us but the traffic noise was insignificant in comparison with the noise coming from a 4 day music festival a couple of fields away. The music was so loud it kept us awake until 4. 30 in the morning.

We knew it was continuing for another 2 days and so left the next morning, and ended up paying a charge for leaving early! On speaking to others who decided to leave early, we were all surprised not to have been told of it as it had been a yearly event for several years.

So if your going to book up, check what's on locally first and I'm sure if nothings on you'll have a pleasant stay. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Foxycubs 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here over a long weekend.

Well maintained site and facilities. Choose a pitch on the side away from the road for the quietest pitch. Although well shielded by hedges and trees and so not noisy anyway.

Fish and Chips on a Friday were good. Didn't get to try the Pies and Pasties that arrive on other nights, next time.

We visited the Intech science centre and it was worth it. The Planetarium experience was worth the extra 2. 20.

Convenient to get to Winchester and the Watercress Line. Both worth visiting.

Pub at end of road now closed and is a kitchen distributors. Holiday Inn gives discount for caravan club members.

We would go there again. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Adambrown2499 31 reviews from this member

 Didn't get a very warm welcome when we arrived.

Site was very busy but was well spaced out on three levels.

Perhaps its me but the directions in the handbook didn't get me there I couldn't make out what they meant but it was easy to find when not looking at the handbook.

Winchester was a nice place to visit with a market on a saturday and a nice cathedral.

Would return because of location. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jburnham5 1 review from this member

 Have read other reviews and just wanted to add that this is a great site!

It's well looked after, two of the wardens are friendly and helpful, the facilities are fine and it is in a wonderful situation. Some of the other visitors were very friendly and they all seemed to have a good time.

If there was anything I could change (apart from perhaps the weather) it would be the shower block (although always immaculately clean) and I can't wait to go back again for another short break.

Winchester is wonderful (parking is easy) and it's so close to other places of interest - just a hop and a skip away from the Isle of Wight ferry. Andover is lovely, as is Romney. Well worth a look! 


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Morn Hill Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Morn Hill Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Morn Hill Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Winchester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3817 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement