Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Morn Hill Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > New Forest & Hampshire > Winchester > Morn Hill Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Morn Hill Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Morn Hill
Winchester
Hampshire   (Browse area)
SO21 1HL
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 111
Open: 16/03/2024 to 05/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 59 Reviews
                8/10 from 59 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Geoissa 2 reviews from this member

 We used this site as it is the closest CC site to our house as a place to get away for the weekend.

Positives- Really lovely pitches, friendly staff, fish and chip van on a Fri, close to Winchester which is really nice.

Negatives- Shower block needs updating (still clean), no swings for our children, a bit close to the A32, so traffic passing can be heard.

There is a Tescos and Homebase etc 10 minute drive away.

We probably wont use this site as a regular getaway as there are no facilities for children, although there is a patch of grass with a football goal in the lower field. My daughter does not do football! 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Taman 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a great weekend at this site. Nice place, could do with an up-date to the shower block in the upper area, didn't use the other block but this did look newer.

Grounds well kept and staff welcome was fine. Watch out for the older warden, rather easily upset if you park in the wrong place, only doing his job!

Nearby road can be a bit noisy at times. Winchester a lovely place, make a visit to the [working] National trust Mill, very good !

In all a site we could go back to without doubt. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cufcbarside 68 reviews from this member

 There isn't any bad bits really, just odd bits such as leaving the caravan club membership card in exchange for swipe card. Otherwise is token entry / exit arrangements

Getting out onto main dual carriageway can be tricky but not a lot

Good bits then

Shower in the mens is awesome. The power is quite brilliant. Dated, but very clean and tidy

All grass pitches and with the rain we have been having well drained pitches as well.

Site is set out on 3 levels top pitches are the quite ones, middle level is mixed, lower level families in a fashion.

Reception area is on the top level with two sets of facilities.

Winchester within 5 miles is a huge tescos, halfords, all you need ever !

Summary.

We will be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Steve Poppitt 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for one night with our two sons on our way to the Isle of Wight. Even though we’ve been CC members for over a year it was the first CC club site we’ve stayed on and it lived up to it expectations being very well kept and tightly run.

Washroom facilities a little dated but immaculate and most of staff helpful (see below). Little tricky to get to on the final stages as the exit off the nearby roundabout is a bit confusing and easy to miss (had to do a swift U-turn further up the dual carriageway).

Found the one warden quite abrupt and not exactly friendly, the sign to the gents loos was obscured and when I asked him where the gents loos where I was questioned as to who I was and made to look a bit of a fool. Must have been having a bad day, the rest of the staff were very nice.

The pub next door has closed down and was boarded up but we were directed to the new Holiday Inn hotel just over the road. We had a superb meal in their restaurant and we were given 20% discount when we mentioned that we were staying at the campsite. Even though our stay was brief we would stop here again. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 33046merlin 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for two nights in the lower field, road noise was not a problem. I found the site to be very good but the toilet block despite being very clean needs updating, only two showers mean you had to wait. The staff very very friendly and helpful.

We went to the Tichborne arms nearby for a meal which was excellent. There did not seem to be a play area but as I do not have kids this was no a problem. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nyala69 25 reviews from this member

 I didn't know what I would make of this site after reading very mixed reviews. We used it for a one night stop over on are way to the isle of Wight. The bottom field of the site seems to be the best one but I think they only use this for one nighters. We didn't find road noise a problem and had a nice peaceful night. I do agree that the toilets are in need of upgrade but all in all it was a ok site. If you use the percy hobs pub at site entrance don't expect pub grub, not a gammon and chips in sight. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GailV 10 reviews from this member

 A well located site, with pubs serving food nearby. Walking distance to 'Percy Hobbs' with its disappointing and pretentious menu. Wardens much improved on those there in the previous couple of years. This site is noisy from the road and, on a Sunday, from constant grass cutting from early in the morning. New Alresford is well worth a visit (7 miles away) for a ride on the Watercress steam railway, go 2 for price of 1 with CC voucher. Excellent value for a couple of hours of nostalgia. Visit also Winchester Cathedral, and Jane Austen's house. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tipsy620tony 23 reviews from this member

 We had stayed here once before over 3 years ago. One of the things that seemed to have changed is that there now seems to be more focus on the bottom field pitches. There was some talk of an upgrade in the pipeline for this site. We were not to keen on the mixing of vehicles and tents in the same area, as this seems a recipe for an accident. The staff were helpful and friendly despite what has been said previously. I agree with previous reviews regarding the toilet/shower blocks definitely not adequate for the number of people. The last time we stayed here the Percy Hobbs pub next to the site was a Brewers Fare, and seemed better organised. The family that run it now seemed on edge all the time as if they were struggling to cope. Having said that the prices were fair and the beer was good. Didn't have a meal this time.

Near to the Percy Hobbs pub there is a bus stop with regular services into Winchester. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Charbil 15 reviews from this member

 On arrival you are asked for your club card and given tokens to go through the barriers to find your pitch. When you inform wardens what pitch you are on they then give you a swipe card to use at barriers. Don't forget to take it back to get your card back. This site is divided by a private path which you are informed that you cannot walk or drive on. There are two facilities blocks which are not CC standards. This site has 120 pitches but only has two showers and not many more cubicles in each block. There is no tent field here so tents pitch in between caravans. If and when this site is upgraded this could be a lovely site as its in a great location. The pub at the end of road has reasonable priced beer and also serves food.  


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pitchupcyril 7 reviews from this member

 Given short shrift on arrival during official opening hours and informed we were too late to register - at 1805. Focus seems to be on cashing up the till promptly rather than customer service. Same attitude received on departure. Somewhat surprised given we booked via the CC and even phoned in advance to advise our ETA.

Site is well kept but pitches are not particularly flat. We were in the top field next the busy A31 which was a bit distracting. Nearest toilet block had only two showers for each sex which were basic but clean. Some queuing noted at times. No power issues from the readily available hookups.

Pub just a couple of hundred yards away is dog friendly and serves food, though not unreasonably priced we found a bit disappointing in quality.

The location is very good for Winchester which has much to offer. 


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Morn Hill Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Morn Hill Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Morn Hill Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Winchester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3391 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement