Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Beachcomber Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Berwick Upon Tweed > Beachcomber Camp Site Reviews

CLOSED: Beachcomber Camp Site
Beachcomber House
Goswick
Berwick Upon Tweed
Northumberland   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 58 Reviews
                8/10 from 58 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Robinho08 4 reviews from this member

 Cracking campsite off the beaten track and by the beach.

We really enjoyed our stay here as it's the perfect base for visiting Holy Island and Berwick.

We arrived on Good Friday and being the Easter Weekend it was busy. However it didn't feel crowded on the site.

My one negative would be the toilets/showers cannot handle busy times. Queues formed for a shower and they got dirty quickly due to the high demand. My advice would be avoid holiday weeks if possible. Other than that the toilets blocks are basic but adequate.

I would stay here again on a quieter weekend. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jen41 5 reviews from this member

 I have just returned from spending a week at Beachcomber and would have loved to stay longer. It is next to an amazing beach which I walked along most evenings and early mornings. Great site if you enjoy walking as I walked over to Holy Island and along parts of the Northumberland coastal path.

The toilet block always appeared clean. No playground at the site, but the children who were staying there appeared to have great fun on the vast beach.

I enjoyed the isolation of the site and will certainly visit again.

If camping please take a good quality tent due to the winds, mine handled the conditions very well but others appeared to end up in the bins! I do have 1 bent pole from putting it up on my own when very windy! 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Metalhead 33 reviews from this member

 This is a little gem of a campsite. From the A1 the signpost shows a tent symbol and little more so it may get overlooked by camper vans and motorhome users, but Iíd read about it on here so it was worth checking out. Thereís a few small roads to get to it, drive on through the golf course to get there.

Itís located midway between Berwick and Holy Island, both places worth a visit. Thereís a limited amount of electric hook up points on the wall close to the stables which is probably why itís more suited to tents. The hill behind this shelters the campsite from the sea breeze a little, but climb the hill and youíre virtually straight on to a nice, wide sandy beach. Thereís plenty of grass area for tents though.

The facilities are good, though may get a little stretched if the site was full of tents in the peak season. There were only 3 or 4 other units on the site when we were here at the end of September.

We cooked food in the van that night. Iím not sure where the nearest pub/food place would be, maybe at the golf course club house? They might be for members only too? Berwick is only about 5 or 6 miles away though which should offer plenty of choice. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dirty dozen 1 review from this member

 Wow! we just got back from a great stay, booked for 4 nights, stayed 5 and would have stayed longer but campsite full. The facilities were more than adequate, the owners more than helpful and the whole stay more than we expected.

We were 12 people in 3 tents, the weather gave us torrential rain, gale force winds and finally brilliant sunshine. The beach is amazing the kids just ran wild along it and it is safe as the sea is a long way off even at high tide.

Although,I wouldn't recommend it for families with young children as there is nothing to do other than explore. The only thing we didn't expect was the unexploded bombs! We were evacuated from the beach as the RAF blew up a couple of left over bombs, we didn't read about this in any reviews although apparently it is not an uncommon occurrence.

The plus side of this was that we relocated up the beach to the next bay, this was almost deserted with wonderful sand dunes and waves to rival anything on the South Coast.

Our only disappointment was the horse riding some of us were looking forward to was no longer available, (much to my husbands relief) the stables being for livery only.

I read lots of reviews before booking but found none of the problems other people reported, the camp was not at all noisy, the pitches can be a little uneven but just choose carefully, there is plenty of space, and our minibus managed the road without any complaints. The toilets ans showers were acceptably clean and free!

There is so much to see and do in the area we can't wait to go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Delatron 3 reviews from this member

 Just got back from three nights here and wanted to leave a review straight away. First time of camping since I was a teenager and I think a visit here has given us all the bug for more!

Nice friendly site (staff and campers - a stranger stopped to help us pitch in a thunderstorm as we arrived). Open and relaxed - with the exception of some electric hookups it was park and pitch anywhere. Was busy without ever being overcrowded.

The facilities were basic, clean and tidy (only cleanliness issues were with people who can't remember to wipe their feet)and the site shop sold the bare essentials when open for an hour each in morning and at teatime.

The beach was a bare minute away over the dunes and a real bonus - no need for a playground when you can build sandcastles. The site itself is isolated down a country lane so traffic is not a problem but the lane itself is a little narrow and potholed in places.

Lots in the surrounding area - Saw Lindisfarne, Bamburugh, Berwick, etc. And everything is up and down the A1 so pretty easy to get to.

Very windy, but to be expected for a northern coastal site (we certainly learned a lot about where to pitch for next time!).

My wife assures me that vacant/ engaged signs on the ladies loos would be welcome, but minor quibbles aside we would happily return and will likely do so next year for a longer stretch. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Waggyfromderby 37 reviews from this member

 Arrived mid afternoon, had already booked in and paid deposit. No one to book in with as shop opened at 5-6pm and 9-10am. Both times no good for cycle campers. Site full with only 2 places to pitch tent - one was so rough and other not much better. I had reserved this weeks ago!

Toilets clean upon arrival, probably just been cleaned, but by later on when I wanted a shower (after an expedition by bike to holy island) the showers were filthy and the roller towel was broken

Berwick is a wonderful town, The Leaping Salmon (Wetherspoons - great for beer and food), A must is the town tour from the TIC.

Holy island has too many tourists, not enough facilities, with really crap food shops, but the castle is worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Jug 7 reviews from this member

 OK, the weather could have been kinder during our 4 day visit, but with the deepest respect to Patbhoy, but as an ex-Mountain Rescue Team member and now ex climber - this site is far removed from 'wild climbing'.

Having an equestrian in the family + a young daughter and not too far away from home for this short break, we researched the site and found both John & Sheila most accommodating.

Agreeing with Patbhoy, some areas of the site could have been tested with a spirit level - but hey, we were both either unlucky in the pitch we selected or we were too much in a hurry to pitch (due to the prevailing winds) anywhere without carrying out a proper recce. The latter, I take full responsibility for!

The toilet block does not match the Hilton or will win any awards for the very latest environmental health techniques employed therein, yet we decided to camp on a site with 'full' and perfectly adequate facilities and Mrs. The Jug would have protested if they were deemed to be unsavoury - to which they were most definitely not.

It is on the doorstep of Berwick where there is full access to any retail experience and the shop having restricted opening hours is perfectly acceptable given the fact that we had no intentions of doing the 'weekly shop' there and used it only for emergency milk supplies and the re-freezing of our cooler box blocks.

For a family who enjoys the outdoor life (+ the bonus of having an interest in horses) this, in my humble opinion, is a pretty good site where you are not fleeced for parking up a small trailer, having a shower or having a dog etc. Our dog, incidentally, was tied up for the duration, only escaping once to be pampered 'next door'.

It is categorically not the Burj Al Arab Hotel (Dubai) of campsites but is far from Fawlty Towers. We enjoyed are too-short stay and would not have any hesitation in recommending the Beachcomber if your family do enjoy the 'outdoor' life.  


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jules134 4 reviews from this member

 Spent a lovely weekend at this camp site, very laid back attitude as we arrived late and were told just too pitch anywhere along the wall for EHU and they'd catch up with us in the morning.

Friendly staff. Kids loved the fact the stables were right next to us and the stable hands were lovely allowing the kids to stroke the horses and answer their questions. Kids loved the fact that their was dogs, cats and chickens roaming free, although the chicken who woke me every morning clucking from 5:30am was destined for our bbq if I'd got my hands on it!

The huge beach was a two minute walk down the path.

The dishwashing area was clean and plenty of sinks and had a washer and drier in. The shower areas needed a mop and bucket as you were unable to clean up after yourself therefore floor was dirty and crocs were needed however the showers were lovely and hot and free. Busy campsite but I never had to queue.

It was the first weekend of the summer holidays on our visit and the camp site was very busy, luckily we arrived when we did and pitched close to the entrance between two tourers which not only sheltered the wind but also gave us some privacy.

The other end of the field tents were jam packed together and a lot of these were groups. Don't know if it was just our bad luck but this was a noisy site, a large group of teenagers ran around shouting and screaming from teatime until 11:00pm, when they were sent to bed,Friday night the camp site was all quiet by 11:00pm however on Saturday the alcohol seemed to take over and I was kept awake by a drunken group of men singing until 3:00 in the morning, (oh and don't forget that chicken started two hours later!)

None of this spoiled our weekend though we would return to this site however I must admit we wouldn't stay longer than a weekend as my kids are just little and a playground would make this site perfect as they are too little to go off exploring on their own and there wasn't a great deal of room for ball games due to the large numbers of tents 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Patbhoy 5 reviews from this member

 Would we stay at Beachcomber Campsite again, the easy answer is a big 'NO'

This is the closest you'll ever come to wild camping but with the privilege of paying.

If you want a level pitch for your tent, bring a JCB, its the only way you'll get one.

The informal way in which the site is run, i.E. Find a spot and pitch your tent sounds good, but not when you have people pitch within 6ft of your tent and you can literally hear every part of their conversation.

Not that it was necessary for them to pitch so close but they were trying to use us as a windbreak, had pitches been allocated I'm sure they would have not been allowed so near.

Now for the facilities, all we can say is 'Absolutely Disgusting'.

Of all the sites we have stayed on this site easily rates as the worst, there was years of grime everywhere, the only form of cleaning that took place was a quick swipe of the toilet bowls and sinks, it appears that ledges are invisible, or perhaps they could not be seen for the dirt.

The site rules also state that dogs should be on a lead at all times, a rule that is blatantly ignored but is not helped due to the fact that the owners dogs wander freely and no attempt is made to lift the dirt they leave behind.

Its a real shame that this site is so neglected as it has the makings of being fantastic, its a stones throw from what is a beautiful unpoilt beach and is also in a wonderful location away from any passing traffic but fails to take advantage of any of its assets.

Perhaps one day the owners will realise the goldmine they are sitting on and bring the site up to scratch, until then we wont be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ruthie78 2 reviews from this member

 A fabulous place for kids. As previously mentioned a hop over a sand dune and you are on the beach - kids played all day and no worry of water as the sea is about a mile away!

Some animal owners should take more control over their animals as did see a dog do its business in the long grass at the centre of the field

If in the area visit the honey farm further up the A1, its got a nice little visitors centre and the honey is divine. Lovely tea room - a converted bus!

We had a flat pitch and slept well.

All facilities adequate, and we will return. 


Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4591 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement