Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Beachcomber Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Berwick Upon Tweed > Beachcomber Camp Site Reviews

CLOSED: Beachcomber Camp Site
Beachcomber House
Goswick
Berwick Upon Tweed
Northumberland   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 58 Reviews
                8/10 from 58 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lincoln Lizzie 9 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful place. Fabulous for those who want freedom, space, beautiful scenery, wonderful horseriding, walking, cycling and golf. Right next to the coastal path, making Holy Island and Berwick very accessible. The beaches are amazing, great walking, great for kids, dogs, kiters,etc.

The site itself is basic (which is what we like), but serviceable. Loos are only cleaned once a day, twice would be better as would facilities for wiping the surfaces around the washbasins (can only speak for the ladies). Good washing up area, with washing machine and tumble dryer and small shop with basic items open a couple of hours during the day. Owner couldn't be more helpful and pleasant. Choose your pitch carefully as the site is lumpy in areas but no designated pitches which make group camping much nicer. The stables were good and horses/ponies well looked after, but if you don't like horses, they are not intrusive. Definitely a site to return to. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wilsonjnj 1 review from this member

 Have just returned from spending 4 nights at Beachcomber Campsite.It is in beautiful location, next to a lovely quiet beach and a cycle path which leads to Holy Island,part of the coast and castle route. We cycled twice to Holy Island!

The facilities are clean, hairdryer in the ladies cost 20p. Reception opens for an hour in the morning and an hour in the afternoon,selling basic supplies and has a freezer for ice packs. We had a fantastic time and will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CarolJon 1 review from this member

 Site was fantastic. The kids loved the holiday, well we all loved the holiday. My eldest child 6 and myself both rode although I ride so was not with him as he was in a lesson but they were both fantastic.

The facilities on site are nice the toilet and shower block are lovely for campers but its a campsite not a hotel, they are cleaned and checked regularly they do get a bit grubby through the day but are cleaned midway through, some people say they need to be cleaned more but I don't think they should otherwise you would never be able to use them.

The site is off main roads and is fairly deserted. The site itself is just a large field with more than one entrance which is fantastic no limited space although the field is quite uneven but what are we? campers we can manage a little bit of uneven ground.

The stables are just fantastic the horses and stables are clean and very well kept, and as I said the rides are just fantastic.

John the campsite owner is very helpful and the stable owners Sheila and Jenny are very kind and helpful along with the girls who help out and are employed.

It is very cheap to stay on the site and is amazing value for money I thought wee were ripping them off.

Wonderful campsite recommended although if I can't get booked in I'm going to regret writing this. Truly can't express how wonderful it is. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bikerchisp 1 review from this member

 Stayed for a one-nighter in our motorhome in late September and the site was virtually empty which was wonderful. We could have had electric hook up (possibly about 8 available) but we opted for a far away spot (which was basically anywhere we wanted in a very large field).
The toilets and washing up facilities were clean (and cleaned regularly) and the owner was very friendly and very helpful. It did say on a sign in the ladies that the heat of the showers could be temperamental due to the location of the site, but I didn't have one so I couldn't comment. There was plenty of hot water for washing and washing up and they had good laundry facilities too.
They have horses (riding stables) there and very easy access to beautiful beaches just over the dunes. Watched the sunset and the sunrise - priceless! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janbev 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from Beachcomber camp site and it was lovely! It is away from the main road, so is very peaceful and the beach is just over a sand dune. We had an excellent pitch with loads of room, you are not restricted to size of pitch. The toilet blocks are cleaned regularly by the owner and have hot showers and plenty of toilets. They did become sandy/dirty after a while due to people having dirty feet and not taking their shoes off before entering the shower cubicle.

The owners are friendly and run a small on site shop which holds the essentials but it would be a good idea to stop for groceries on the way - there is a large Morrisons on the A1 to Berwick which has everything.

A truely relaxing holiday and would definitely go again - the weather was the only let down. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Big Scott 10 reviews from this member

 Rubbish, don't go, because that will leave it empty for me to go back again and again. Me, wife, 3 teenagers and 2 labs had a great time, walked for ages on the beach and walked for ages on the trail.
Laid back, comfortable site. Down Side ??? Ladies toilets were a bit of a mess (according to wife and Girls). Gents was fine. Maybe a little more work into the upkeep and this would be a fantastic site 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Julia27 1 review from this member

 I thought this was a wonderful site. Its basic, but friendly and spacious. We don't like too many frills so it was ideal for us. The facilities were clean and well maintained and although the shop didn't open all the time, it did open regularly and had all the basics plus useful information about tide times and public transport.

There was a good mix of people there and the surrounding area is stunning. There's loads to do - beautiful beaches, rockpooling, old castles, towns, boat trips, golf. The list just goes on.

The beach is more or less next to the campsite, so its a bit windy - the first thing we did was to buy a windbreak !

The riding stables on site are well maintained and the horses are all very fit and healthy. If you are a horse rider, I would thoroughly recommend beach riding if you have never done it before. It made the holiday for me. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Derbys bloke 3 reviews from this member

 The camp site is in a wonderful location, just a short walk over the dunes onto a massive beach, no problems taking the dogs on neither which is handy for the early morning walk. The site is mainly level but it is a little uneven in places, we had one of the 5 hookups which were not to bad. The toilet facilities will never win loo of the year but are adequate. The nearest pub is about 4 miles away. We had planned to stay a week until an old couple pitched next door to us

It was about 7pm when the peace was shattered by what seemed to be their 40 inch TV complete with surround sound was brought to life! It went off around 9.30pm but was turned on at 7am loud enough for us to quite clearly hear the breakfast news on BBC! I asked the site owner (a nice chap) if he could have a word which he did and for a time they turned it down, but always left it on even if they were sat outside reading the paper, sadly it got to much for us so we left early. Why do people go camping in such a peaceful location and insist on having a TV in constantly 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Nalsi 4 reviews from this member

 Stopped for one night on way south. Only 5 hookups available so book to avoid disappointment. We stayed without hook up on grass. Out of the way campsite mainly for tents, but very peaceful. Direct access onto beach and coast path great for walking dogs or access to Lindisfarne. Toilet block tidy enough just what you need nothing flash. Without hook up 2 adults and old woofer 12 for night. About 4 miles off main road but worth it for the peacefulness 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Linnij 5 reviews from this member

 Excellent site. Had a wonderful time even though it was windy and rainy half the time. Basic facilities but were always clean. Although no play area our 21 month old daughter loved the beach and spent most of her time there. Only 10 min drive to Berwick. Found a lovely farm shop at Berwick garden centre! Was close to places we planned to go to but never made it as we were happy to stay on the site.

Small shop on site with basic essentials open 3 times a day and the freezer facility was good for our ice packs.

Only downside was putting the tent up in the wind but once it was up no problems whatsoever.

Highly recommend the site. 


Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4599 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement