Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Beachcomber Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Berwick Upon Tweed > Beachcomber Camp Site Reviews

CLOSED: Beachcomber Camp Site
Beachcomber House
Goswick
Berwick Upon Tweed
Northumberland   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 58 Reviews
                8/10 from 58 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The wain travellers 3 reviews from this member

 Planned to stay 3 nights, only ended up staying one! Nice peaceful campsite, just over a sand dune to the beach, people very friendly and toilets clean. However, just on the coast - too windy for us, about 8 miles from a town or pub - a little bit remote for us. With a 5 year old, and the wind, it wasn't ideal.
The beach had 2 warning signs - one for localised quicksand and the other to avoid touching metal objects as an ex mod firing range - I know these signs are for safely, but it was a little off-putting. I imagine a larger group with older children to cycle or horse ride and party together would be fine, but the wind and weather forecast expecting rain, made up our mind to move on. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zinbalam 1 review from this member

 Had a fab three night break at Beachcomber Camp Site. Although it was very cold and rained an awful lot. The site is in a fantastic location on the Northumberland coast with the attractions of Holy Island and Berwick Upon Tweed only a few miles away.

The site itself is fairly basic, but the toilet blocks and dishwashing / laundry areas were clean. There's only 5 elec pitches, so make sure you book early if you need one of these.

The ground is quite uneven and so finding a level spot could be tricky if the site was busy.

There are a couple of pubs nearby which serve food (the Lindisfarne Inn is particularly good) and it isn't far to Berwick for stocking up on the essentials.

The shop on site is small and the opening times are limited to a couple of hours in the morning and a couple in the afternoon. This also means that there isn't necessarily anyone around when you arrive.

Overall: a fab site in a lovely location and well worth a visit. We'll certainly be back (although we'll wait for the weather to pick up!) 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chris220480 3 reviews from this member

 We've just dragged ourselves away from a great weekend away at Beachcomber.

This is a lovely friendly small site with fairly basic but clean and well maintained facilities. The small shop is well stocked with the essentials considering the size of the site.

There is plenty to do on and around the site. There's the biggest sandy beach I've ever seen just over the other side of the sand dunes, which provide shelter to the site from the North Sea winds. On the other side of the site there's a well maintained and popular golf course. On site there are stables providing horse riding. We will be back with our dog (it's doggy heaven)in the sunnier months to enjoy these facilities to the full.

There are also plenty of places to visit. We visited Seahouses and Holy Island, which are steeped in ancient history, for the oldies like us, and provides for the younger generation too, with commercial attractions and the usual seaside facilities. Berwick is a lovely market town too, providing adequate facilities for a shopping day or two, and some very nice walks around the town walls. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amh61 5 reviews from this member

 Very remote and peaceful site - at the end of a single track road through a golf course and fields of sheep and just over the dunes from an enormous beach, but only 10 minutes drive from the A1 so easy to reach. Lovely coastal walk from here to Lindisfarne, but be warned, it took us over three hours.

Very friendly welcome. No marked pitches (except for pitches with EHU) and the site was three quarters empty so plenty of space.

The facilities are a bit basic but clean and there was plenty of hot water, for showers and washing up. The (small) shop is only open for a few hours a day, which was bit inconvenient for changing ice blocks in the freezer provided.

If the shop was open for longer and there were a couple more loos and showers, this would just about be my ideal site, as I like them quiet! 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Johnsmed 1 review from this member

 Just as I like it. No frills, low cost and an excellent, isolated location. Read some reviews about dirty toilets etc, nothing of the sort while I was there. Best of all - no patronising signs (don`t do this, don`t do that, ask permission etc.) and no drunks with car stereos playing into the early hours. Quite civilised. Recommended. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Flyingsally 1 review from this member

 I've just returned to 'reality' after a 9 night stay at The Beachcomber Site and I have to say I'm gutted - I didn't want to leave!
From a warm greeting on arrival to hugs when leaving - the hosts are VERY friendly, approachable and helpful. John, Sheila & Jenny have made the site what it is, with their relaxed and informal attitude to kids, dogs and some adults ha ha!
The facilities are clean, well maintained and modern and I fail to see what anyone can complain about. The fact that the site was full (without being over-crowded) for my entire 9 nights and a lot of the campers were people returning after previous visits says a lot - people don't go back to somewhere they're not happy, that's a fact!
The stables & horses were clean and well maintained with rides out along the beach and/or lessons available, and their care and attention to riders of any level is first class. People of all ages were allowed to muck in and help out to their hearts desire but safety was monitored at all times.
For a 'proper' family holiday, where the adults play and interact with the kids instead of them disappearing to some arcade, for the beach sports people or someone that just wants some peace and relaxation - I can't recommend this place highly enough - it's heaven on earth! 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The camping family 1 review from this member

 Lovely camp site, cheap, choose your own pitch (the best one for tents is beside the wall a the back right hand corner). Huge beach that you can walk all the way to the causeway. Or walk out to the water but it does take half an hour to do so when the tide is out(dog loved it) Great for sand yachts, surfing or dune bombing (at the far-ish left hand side of the beach ) Although you may have to queue for a warm shower in the heated toilets in the morning, you can control the temperature unlike some campsites. Horse riding for the kids. Overall friendly, good fun 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spookt 5 reviews from this member

 Enjoyed our stay here although the first night was very, very windy!

The site is basic but the facilities are good with hot water at all times of the day and night. The showers were fine although the floor in the utility block did tend to get a bit gritty by the end of the day. It's a pretty relaxed site, we were told to pitch where we liked. Plenty of room for kids to play and a short hop over the dunes to the beach.

Obviously popular as from the Monday evening onwards the owner had his full sign up.

We'll certainly be visiting Beachcomber again in the future.
 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rothkocat 1 review from this member

 Peaceful campsite on the coast.
 
Enjoyed our stay at the Beachcomber site, even when full tents are still well spaced.
 
The beach is a excellent even if you need the binoculars to see the sea
 
Only issues were the distance from a pub although I imagine the local golf course has a good 19th and is working distance and the shower blocks could do with an upgrade but that said well worth a visit.
 
  


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mattbarlow 1 review from this member

 Really nice site. Not too busy even when full. Great facilities, loads of hot water (boiling hot - take your marigolds!) It's near the beach, but the sea is miles away and it's not really the sort of beach you'd want to spend the day on. Good for romantic dusky walks. Really nice chilled out owner who was really helpful. Shop that sold milk, sausages and bacon and ice creams (what more do you want?) Only downside, bit out of the way so no pub or village to walk to. 


Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4421 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement