Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Beachcomber Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Berwick Upon Tweed > Beachcomber Camp Site Reviews

CLOSED: Beachcomber Camp Site
Beachcomber House
Goswick
Berwick Upon Tweed
Northumberland   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 58 Reviews
                8/10 from 58 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: January 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note this site is closed with effect from 2012 due to retirement. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Waddsp 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a fortnight at this site and would say it has all you need from a basic site.

The shop has all the basic foodstuffs, the toilets and showers were cleaned daily and although they did get sandy were in the main of a good standard whatever time of day you used them.

The free freezer block service was very good as were the free showers. We took our bikes and enjoyed cycling to Holy Island 13 miles round trip and Berwick 17 miles round trip.

The Kids loved the animals and the beach being so close.

Would use again as it was a good base for visiting all that Northumberland has to offer and also the scottish Borders are easily accessible up the A1 which is only 5 mins away. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Morts 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed two nights. Great site, plenty of room despite it been classed as full and a quiet site. The beach is just a stones throw over the dunes and the beach is big and the sea, which is out all day, is far out 3/4 mile.

The facilities are basic but clean, plenty of hot water and free showers. Two toilets, two showers plus 4 sinks, same in the mens and womens. Only 2 sinks for washing up.

The ground is uneven in places but there are flattish pitches.

No pub near by, but Berwick is just down the road with all anyone would need for shopping and eating out. Holy Island is also very close.

Kids and dog loved it, yes we will go again despite it been 3 hrs away. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Samallen 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 1 week at the height of the summer season. Luckily we booked in advance as the site was fully booked and quite busy.

The facilities are clean and well maintained. Unfortunately there are only 2 showers for men and 2 for women.

There aren't any designated pitches so you just pick your spot when you arrive. Some areas of the site are a bit uneven so you need to pick your spot carefully.

There is a small shop but it's only open for 1 hour in the morning and 1 hour at tea time. You can freeze ice packs here.

The site is children and pet friendly.

It's a good location for the beach but a long walk accross the sand to get to the sea.

Good location for Holy Island and other coastal tourist attractions. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Snailspace 8 reviews from this member

 Just stayed here one night as on a cycling tour. For me a bit of a higgidely piggedly site with people pitched anywhere with tents, gazebos etc etc. And cars next to tents. There are few small caravans on site too.

The ground is mixed a bit bumpy in places. People on site seemed really nice and friendly and other campers were respectful and peaceful. Facilities are ok.

The shower could have been more powerful and hotter for my liking, and the showers were very sandy and difficult to keep clothes dry. They have laundry facilities which I imagine could be helpful if staying there longer.

There is a small shop but I think this is only open for an hour in the morning and evening so by the time we arrived in the eve it was closed.

I guess what the best thing about this site is is the location. Walk over the dunes and you're on the beach. And what a wonderful beach it is too! Also not far from Lindisfarne. Probably a bit of a trek walking but great if you're on a bike. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: EssexGirl 5 reviews from this member

 Great location, great site.

It's quiet (and, at night, starry), at the end of a long and rather rutted lane. Just over the dunes is a huge sweeping beach and the sea. We had a picnic in the dunes one evening.

There is a basic shop, plenty of clean showers, loos and washing up facilities, and a washing machine. Helpful staff. Nothing specific for kids to do but so much sand and sea and wind for kites that they were very happy.

Yes, it's miles from anywhere (that's part of its charm) but it still doesn't take long to get into Berwick, or to the nearest camping supplies shop. Lots to see and do locally - castles, boat trips; it's possible to spent a day at Alnwick, which is a great day out (castle and gardens - take your swimsuits for the fountains).

My only gripe was that the pitches were a bit bumpy so I had to sleep at an awkward angle. Also, were it to be sunny there wouldn't be any shade, but this is Northumberland so sun isn't really to be expected.

Despite the bumps, I would go again - but would take warmer clothes as I am a wet southerner who feels the cold. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dmsplat 16 reviews from this member

 Spent a week at this site in our 6 man tent. It's a lovely site in a beautiful location. The site got a lot busier over the weekend, but it wasn't too noisy (although there was a short queue for the showers on the Saturday).

The toilets and showers were always clean. The owners were quite often around on the site and would stop for a chat.

The site is on quite an uneven field, so finding a level pitch can be a challenge - you might end up on a slight incline (nothing too steep).

In all - this is a lovely site with fair facilities, and is fantastic value for money. I hope to go back in the future! 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thegreatwallsendo 4 reviews from this member

 Ideal site for tents and the adventurous vanner.

Location - ideal

Facilities - functional and clean (when near a beach you get sandy floors sometimes. Strange but true!)

Owners - helpful and friendly

VFM - very good

We came and it was very windy and rainy but we'd come again!

Child friendly if you allow your children the freedom to explore and have adventures in the dunes - if you're the over protective type then they'll get bored.

Far enough off the beaten track to feel like you have left the confines of the rat race but close enough to get home again in a reasonable time. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Diggers3 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for a week at quite a busy time. We pre-booked which was just as well as the site was very full. Don't believe on line maps and sat navs for directions and yes you do drive through the golf course.

The ground was pretty rough in places and there are no marked pitches. Choose the ground carefully and you will be fine. It is quite amusing how every time you return to the site after a day out your route to the tent has to change because of the random pitching.

The owners are lovely and helpful. You can freeze your ice blocks for free and if you get into the routine swap them over when the shop is open for an hour in the morning and then again in the evening. There is no charge for this.

The shower block is fine- nothing amazing but serves the purpose. The most amazing thing is the beach which is so quiet and goes on forever.

There was a controlled explosion while we were there too- we just considered it to be added excitement. I guess the part nearest to the camp site is probably pretty clear of unexploded bombs by now.

All in all a great place to stay and plenty of attractions nearby. We would return there. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tcheuki 5 reviews from this member

 Good campsite, stayed over the holiday weekend and on the Fri/Sat the sight was very busy.

As with the previous post I found the showers and toilets quickly became dirty, although partly because the campsite is on sandy soil and so close to sand dunes and the beach.

Overall a good campsite, with a relaxed atmosphere and relaxed friendly management. The children in our group had a great time cutting around the stable yard and were intrigued with the Horses, Ed the Donkey and the free range chickens! The stable staff were always great with the children and always happy to explain what they were doing.

Never saw as much of the local area as I would have liked to, as we spent a lot of time chilling out around the site. Small shop on site selling a few basic goods at reasonable prices

Would definitely return and see more of the local attractions next time. 


Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4776 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement