Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Beachcomber Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Berwick Upon Tweed > Beachcomber Camp Site Reviews

CLOSED: Beachcomber Camp Site
Beachcomber House
Goswick
Berwick Upon Tweed
Northumberland   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 58 Reviews
                8/10 from 58 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Seren73 5 reviews from this member

 I just don't get why people are submitting reviews complaining about it being 'remote' or the shop 'only open for 2 hours a day' if you want a fully serviced campsite with all the whistles & bells, go to a family orientated site with all that rubbish & leave this good, no- frills site to those of us who like it that way!

The showers/toilet facilities were very good- John always seemed to be around cleaning them, so cleanliness wasn't an issue. The shop sold basic items-great for bits n' bobs

Although the site was heaving over the bank holiday weekend, there was no issue with rowdiness or loud music,& tbh, after a days walking on that fabulous beach the last thing you want is to be kept awake at night!

Our party consisted of myself, my husband, 2 Springers & a huge awning on our 26ft caravan. 10 days cost us £156-an absolute bargain!

Try The Cat Inn, just on the junction as you turn off the A1, great home cooked food & some lovely real ale!

We'll be coming back for another visit to Beachcomber very soon! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jlp76 5 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from a Friday and Saturday night stay here.

The site was full when we visited, it being the last weekend of half term. It didn't feel too crowded but it was busy.

When arriving we were unsure where to call to ask where to pitch, we asked another camper and called at the back of the house. We were told to pitch anywhere along the white wall as we had booked EHU.

Later we were asked to move our car by the owner which was fine but he did say we were taking up 1 and 1/2 pitches with our large tent (Michigan XL, 9 sleeper) - we did feel a bit told off as there were 7 of us, we'd paid for 7 and we did need the size of tent that we had. We did have a porch that we hadn't put up at that point due to the wind and after that we didn't feel able to. Later we were asked to move the other car and also to plug the EHU into another socket - all fine but maybe if we'd been directed more when pitching, we'd have had more of a clue. Owner was polite and friendly however when asking us to move things.

There were 2 ladies showers, and I think 4 WCs and no queuing during our visit even though the site was full. Showers were free and 20p for the hair dryer. Kept as clean as possible which mustn't be easy on a campsite.

The stables were right next to our tent and there were chickens wandering round the stable area.

As others have said the shop opens selling the very basics for an hour twice a day which is all that was needed really. I was very glad of it as I'd forgotten tea, coffee and milk!

The beach is 2 minutes away past the look out tower, it's vast and flat and lovely. It must take about 15 to 20 minutes to walk to the actual sea from the beach edge. Our boys loved it.

We visited Seahouses and had a lovely trip to the Farne Islands where we saw puffins and seals and had a trip up a lighthouse.

It is quite a way from pubs and the like so we had BBQs for the 2 nights we were there.

All in all I think we'd return, the site had all we needed and the vast yet quiet beach was perfect. Only downside of the coastal location was the wind sometimes. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hsheff 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed the BH weekend/first week in May(a very cold and windy week!). Lovely away from it all campsite, just what I wanted.

Busy over the BH weekend but enough space not to feel too crowded, and then very quiet. Facilities basic but more than adequate. (remember 20p pieces if you want to use the hairdryer)

Good location for exploring the area - Berwick, Bamburgh, Alnwick, Craster, Lindisfarne, Farne islands. The beach was just over a sand dune or two for fantastic evening walks along the virtually deserted beach.

I would go back again. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: KeithChesterfield 12 reviews from this member

 This is a basic campsite at the end of a three mile twisting narrow pot-holed road and our Motorhome bounced around like a pea on a drum even at 10 - 15 mph.

The site has hardly any flat pitches and we had to use all our blocks in an attempt to try and level the vehicle.

The owner is friendly and helpful when found.

The facilities were adequate but not of the highest standard.

The beach is just over the sand dunes and is one of the flattest and longest beaches we've ever seen. It goes for mile after mile and the sea is at least half a mile from the shore line. Truly exceptional.

The 'shop' sells basic items but is only open two hours a day.

Peace and tranquillity were mentioned by other reviewers and I would agree with that except for one thing. A dozen sheep kept appearing on the site at regular intervals throughout our stay and the sound of bleating sheep next to a tent at 6am is probably a tad disconcerting to tent dwellers.

The nearest shops, eating establishments and pubs are miles away from the site so you'll need to take virtually everything with you or have a long trek for provisions.

I will not use this site again but it may appeal to those who wish to get away from the crowds and enjoy moments of peace and quiet. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Eckyathome 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here once and are desperate to stay again, lovely peaceful site, we only had 2 other neighbours. The sound and sight of the horses behind us and the chickens pecking around in the yard made it feel like home. The short walk to the never ending beach takes 1 minute and the view takes your breath away. Perfect for peace and tranquillity. We will be returning, facilities clean and it was very quiet so no queues. Also very few children which we like and dog friendly, good local facilities and within sight of holy island, what more could you want ? 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Waterlover7 7 reviews from this member

 I stopped at this site for 3 weeks in a bell tent in august 2009. There was myself, my son aged 10 and my hound. Other folks joined us throughout august too.

The site owner john is very friendly and makes sure everyone is ok in morning with his walk around. He make sure who is on the site should be on the site and books people in who turned up the previous day. You can pay daily or at the end of your stay or at the beginning.

There is a very small shop that sells the absolute basics but its enough if your stuck. This is open for an hour in a morning 8am till 9am and an hour in an afternoon 4 till 5.

The shower block is very clean, though sometimes the water pressure will drop and leave you without water temporarily. There is a dish washing area and a washer and a drier. Washing machine was £2 per wash ( took 120mins) and £0.50 for the drier which was for 12 mins.

The site is very relaxed and friendly. With excellent access to the beach which is enormous! high tide is only really high perhaps 5 -6 times a month otherwise the water is along way off.

A wander down the beach is wonderful and there is a river to explore a little further up the beach.

Holy island is walkable across the beach which s about 2miles in a straight line! most of the time accessible.

Horse riding is available at the stables on site and can be busy, but there is no rush and the stables do not have strict time keeping!

The site cost £7.50 for me and £3 for my son with everything else inc.

John asks for first night as deposit but pretty cool about when you pay the rest.

There is a really good Morrisons and Sommerfield in Berwick ( 8 miles away) and an Aldi. Good takeaways, a market and pubs galore.

Teh oak inn, Alnwick way was an excellent pub to stop at. Very friendly good portions and didn't break the bank.

In the area is Lindesfarne prior and castle. Castle pricey for what you get. Bamburgh is good value and worth a visit. Barter books in alnwick is worth a visit. Take old books and exchange for new. Or just read browse and buy. God on a wet day. Good swimming come play leisure pool in berwick with slide, waves and fountains.Great for kids and cheap Swimming pool in Alwick was expensive and was just a pool, great for lengths.

Edinburgh was about 70 miles up the A1. If you go during fringe festival. Get there early, parking no problem, later on got extremely busy but worth the visit. Train fare return from Berwick to Edinburgh was £19 return per adult and £10 per child. We worked it put that for a car. 2 kids two adults and parking was cheaper to take car.

Beaches along the Northumberland coast are spectacular and loads to visit. Farne islands are accessed from seahouses, costs between £10 and £14 per adult for hour and a half trip. Loads of seals and sea birds to see. Good commentary from skipper.

Eyemouth harbour you can feed the seals. Great for the kids. St abbs was a lovely beach to kayak and surf. Safe as there were lifeguards on duty and alittle cafe.

Will be visiting the campsite again. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sullivan2007 25 reviews from this member

 This site could be an all-time great. Yes, everyone was friendly and helpful (when you saw them), but the shop / reception is only open from 8-9am and 4-5pm. No phone number or other contact details for outside this time

A freezer is in the reception for iceblocks, and they sell a few basic supplies like milk. Signing in and paying isn’t very well organised – I never felt that anyone actually knew who I was, what tent was mine and, after booking and paying for my sister’s caravan as well, they were approached on the last day with a bill!

To get the rest of the downside over and done with: the showers were nearly lways dirty, as are round the sinks. All that they’d need would be a sign or two asking folk to clean up after themselves, a mop and a few dishcloths by the sinks. One of the ladies showers (the first you come to) will stay more-or-less warm, the second depends on whether the first is in use – my sister and I ‘guarded’ the first shower for each other, because the second one has proper drainage and is lovely and hot (when not icy cold of course!). Proper electric showers like you’d have at home, which is nice after so many sites having push button fixed head ones.

The washing up area is in the laundry block, unfortunately getting hot water in the evening is pot luck (no pun intended!). Big laundry sink – can fit a 1 year old nicely. Free roaming chickens and, of course, the horses provide entertainment for little ones.

Location is lovely. You don’t get a sea view, but the wee hill/sand dune protects you from the worst of the sea breeze (though when we were there the wind came from every direction but!). Couple of minutes and you’re on a massive beach, views of Lindisfarne and Banburgh Castle, sea in the distance (never actually saw the tide in!).

Decent pub food down the road at Lindisfarne Inn – not good for beer, but the food specials were excellent. Lots to do in the area – 4 days was not enough! Honey farm worth a quick visit with kids – you can see an indoor bee hive. Please do note the tide times when crossing to Lindisfarne, I got the feeling the locals were a bit fed up of all the tourists who either couldn’t be bothered or ‘knew better’ and got stranded.

Another good point for campers with big tents – no marked pitches and the cost is per person, not based on unit size. We felt quite dinky in our 5 man, surrounded by 8 and 12’s! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yorkshire Louise 1 review from this member

 Lovely location Sandunes down to the beach, Weather was fabulous friendly people, Horse riding was fantastic. Only downside was WC and showers were below standard and you need to wash them before you used.

Ideal base for other attractions bamborough castle, spittal beach, Alnwick gardens, Berwick. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TrissN 9 reviews from this member

 Arrived on site on a Saturday afternoon - good thing we had booked - the site was full! But by Sunday afternoon - empty (well, nearly!)
Facilities a bit basic but having said that, there was plenty of hot water in the washing up place and the showers were very hot and free.
We paid £12 a night for the two of us which is quite reasonable compared to some of the other sites we looked at in the area. Good place to visit Holy Island (fantastic place) Alnwick and Berwick. Nearest shops seemed to be in Berwick.

The only downside - the wind - but then there were only sanddunes between the sea and the site! 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Linda16 3 reviews from this member

 The site is in a lovely area, we went on a motorbike and it was a very uneven site, we camped at the far end of the field, and after a couple of days realised that we were camped on what must have been a nest of earwigs, they were everywhere and the people in the next tent had them too
The facilities are basic, and in my opinion the ladies could have been kept cleaner, especially the sink area, but it was OK and a lovely place for touring from, our friends stayed in a caravan the other side of the field and had no problems. 


Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4334 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement