Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Penrith > Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park > Reviews

Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park
Hutton Moor End
Troutbeck
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0SX
Tel: 01768 779149
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 54
Open: 06/03/2022 to 04/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 63 Reviews
                8/10 from 63 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sludge78 3 reviews from this member

 This was our first time away in our caravan and when we explained to reception that this was our first time caravanning they were helpful in allocating a pitch that we could drive straight onto.

Nice scenery of the hills and enough space between the caravans though we never had our awning up due to the torrential rain.

As per previous reviews, only 2 showers for each sex plus a family one, even at this relatively quiet time of year we had to wait 5mins to access one. Toilet block clean enough with one hair dryer.

Washing up station with four sinks and a washing machine and dryer available as well as an ironing board.

Park area is basic with one slide and two swings (one toddler swing) but as we never saw any other children our daughter was happy with this.

Short drive to Keswick or to the lakes. Turning from the A road was sharp and just after a bend so could foresee and accident if taken too fast. Main road can be quite busy for access/exit.

Due to the heavy rains it was quite wet underfoot especially when walking the dog but can't do anything about the weather.

Shop sold sausages, eggs etc and nearby farm shop.

If looking for a simple base to travel from then would say this was ideal. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andy26har 2 reviews from this member

 Nice layout, very easy to access and wardens friendly and helpful. Only 1 toilet block on site which has excellent showers(best I've seen on a site) but there are only 2 showers and I had to queue both days for 10 mins to get in them, site was busy but another shower block would really benefit the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 608 reviews from this member

 Spent a few days on this site while touring the lakes.

Location

Just off the A66 and 8 miles from Keswick. It's definitely worth a visit - great pubs in Threlkeld and a great atmosphere. The surrounding countryside is stunning and a good base for hill walking.

Facilities

Well stocked shop on site. Spotless and modern shower block.

Price

Around 23 per night for two people with electricity.

Great site! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ChrisandKay 3 reviews from this member

 Disappointing. This sight is in a fantastic position with Keswick and plenty of hiking in easy reach. Unfortunately unless you are at the top end of the site the toilet block, which includes chemical waste disposal, is an awfully long walk. Tents are all situated at the bottom end necessitating this long walk whenever these poor souls needed to pay a call. There are only 2 male and 2 female showers and although spotlessly clean this is not enough for a site this size.

We have previously stayed at the caravan club site nearby and this has far more facilities including a drying room.

In future if staying in this area we will use the caravan club site which is a similar price. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Horsefish17 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 4 nights in our folding camper. Beautiful site clean, tremendous views. Toilet blocks and showers were spotless. Our two boys loved it. Beautiful walks and very central for touring the lake district. We called into Keswick for the day and discovered booths, a great supermarket and not too expensive. Being a hot day (very unusual) we lay by the lake paddling and skimming stones. :) we loved it that much we are returning end of July. It is a little pricey however it is expected for the lakes. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Blanche29 4 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a week at Troutbeck and have to say that I really cannot understand why it has such a high rating. The location of the site was disappointing, mainly due to his closeness to the main road (its a very busy road, which you can hear all night long). The reception/shop is opened very limited hours and on arrival we were greeted by a rather non-interested warden. I understand that it rains a lot in the Lake District, however it looked as if the grass on the site had not been cut for a good few weeks which meant that everything was looking a bit sorry for itself. The toilets and shower block were clean and perfectly adequate. The closure between 10. 30 & 12. 00 everyday not very convenient and caused a problem for us on more than one occasion.

The view from the campsite over the hills is pretty stunning and the dog walk from the corner of the site was very handy. A note for all you TV fans, the reception here is not good so you may need an extra boost on your aerial. I wouldn't recommend to my friends and I wouldn't go back to this particular site. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brumb 6 reviews from this member

 Just had 3 days away at this site. The campsite was busy but not overcrowded. We had a second car and they were fine about this, we parked it near reception without any issues. The staff were friendly and welcoming, showing us to the pitch and also pointing out a couple of nice dog walks which we used.

The toilets and showers were exceptionally clean- its no the wonder they are closed for cleaning 2 hours a day- which isn't a problem as the disabled toilet is still available.

The site is a good spot for exploring the lake district.

I knew before going about the toilet block being a distance away from the tents, so totally expected this. It is a little bit of a walk and if I was to find any faults with this site that would be it, a couple of loos in the bottom field would make this site perfect, but this would not put me off visiting this site again. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: FNot 14 reviews from this member

 Just back from 3 night stay over Bank hol weekend. This is the 3rd time at this site in the past 3 years. Views from touring field at superb. Friendly and helpful owner.

Allowed me to park my car near reception (I had been at funeral in Newcastle whilst OH brought van up. Saved me driving back south only to turnaround and drive back with husband). This was a nice touch at no extra cost. Not often you find this!

This is a site that you will never get tired of visiting.

It wasn't full when we there which was surprising. It's kept immaculate and the showers, although small, are always clean. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Teacake 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here over the Easter weekend in a borrowed motorhome. Very typical C & CC site. Very nice welcome, neat and tidy pitches set in picturesque setting beneath Blencathra.

Toilet block is tucked away in one corner of the site but as long as its clean and tidy that is surely more important, which it was. Quite straight forward to find from the Penrith side and bus stops to Keswick and Penrith are in easy walking distance.

We had a nice walk to the White Horse pub in Scales. The walk is fairly uphill along the road and takes half an hour but is just right for families.

We had a lovely meal and pint next to the log fire and the staff very kindly dropped us off back at the campsite when the heavens opened, as taxis are extortionate.

Highly recommended for a base to tour this part of the Lakes. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Somersetken 3 reviews from this member

 I thought this site was fantastic. The staff were all very helpful and informative and our thanks go to them for being fantastic.

The previous moans of the toilet block being too far away from the tent section is unfounded. Thats what camping is about - Not being next to the toilets, I have walked further on campsites.Plus in the Lake District you expect to walk up a hill sometime.Its not as though it is a steep hill.

The kids had a great time running up to the play area, playing in the beck and running round the site plus the field. All the children got on and had a good time. Children can make their own games so a small piece of play equipment is not a problem.

The showers were particularly good and not over used. I never had to queue once even though there are only two showers in the gents considering the site was full it was not a problem. The water went cold a couple of times and I did have a luke warm shower but according to the staff it was an error on their part and they assured me this was rectified.

The washing up facilities were clean and at maximum there were only two sinks used even at busy times.

Its a little bit pricey for a site but its worth it. You expect to pay a premium in the Lakes these days so good on them for making some cash. Everyone needs to make a profit and make improvements for the future.

I could not fault the cleanliness of the site and the amenities but we were never around when they were cleaned as we went out to explore.

The top part of the site is mainly statics or Caravans/motorhomes on hard standing. I can see why as they can level up as the top part of the site is sloping.

All in all I will go back as there is so much to do in the Lakes. It was a great friendly site and we as a family loved it. Brilliant. 


Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penrith      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1996 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement