Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Penrith > Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park > Reviews

Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park
Hutton Moor End
Troutbeck
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0SX
Tel: 01768 779149
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 54
Open: 06/03/2022 to 04/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 63 Reviews
                8/10 from 63 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dave+Angela 7 reviews from this member

 Troutbeck Camping and Caravanning club site is wonderful .

The tent field , is seperate from the caravan pitches ,which looked to be all hard standing .

The tent field is so very picturesque , with a stream running alongside it , and surrounded by the mountains of the northern lake district .

We used our large tent , ( an Outwell Montana 6 , with a front extension ), approx 7m x 4m , and this was not a problem when booking .

The campsite is very easy to get to , virtually just off the A66 .

The toilet and faciities block was modern and spotlessly clean .

Small shop on site sold the essentials , and you could order your daily newspaper for the duration of your stay .

There was a small childrens play area , with swings and a slide .

Great location for visiting Keswick and Lake Ullswater areas , whilst being far enough away to escape the crowds of the popular tourist spots .

Rheghed with its giant cinema screen ,and shops is nearby and worth a look .

We will definatly be camping at Troutbeck Camping and Caravanning club site again . 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chris + Di 3 reviews from this member

 Just had a very eventful Easter at this wonderful site. What a fabulous location and the most immaculate toilets and showers we've ever seen (and we've seen a lot!). Fantastic FREE power showers and heated toilet blocks. As predicted the weather for the 3 days we spent over Easter were very unpredicatable.

There were some issues with electricity on the Thursday and the boiler packed up on the Good Friday, but Suzanne and Fraser were brilliant and sent notes to everyone apologising for the unfortunate events. Think this was the busiest they had been since they closed at the end of summer 2007, but I'm sure that the next time we visit (and YES, we will DEFINITELY be back!), all these teething problems will be ironed out!

As for the weather, the heavy snow on Saturday night convinced us enough was enough (especially when the weight of snow broke a pole and a knuckle on our Khyam XXL), but what a fantastic experience!We are very hardened and experienced campers (this was our third camp since the New Year!), but I have to say, this is one of the best sites we have stayed on (if not the best!). Many thanks and we'll be back! 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rachelina 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, very friendly owners, camping field good size, toilet block very clean, didn't use the shop so can't comment on that, great location at the foot of Blencathra and surrounded by the fells but not too far off the main A66

My only niggle would be the distance to the toilet block from the camping field, on the morning we were leaving the weather was atrocious and we had to drive the kids to the toilets! otherwise we would have been drenched 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LisaK 3 reviews from this member

 This was our very first camping trip and we loved it. Very friendly and helpful wardens. Lovely clean toilets and showers with free hot water. Beautiful views. It was a very wet weekend and we ended up stuck in the the mud as we were leaving as the tent field is lower than the caravan pitches.Wardens and other campers helped us out. The only criticism is the family shower room that wasn't big enough to swing a cat in. Other than that nice facilities and lovely area. 


Date of Visit: March 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chrissie C 2 reviews from this member

 This is a FANTASTIC new site with great views all around and a few good walks directly from the site.
On good regular bus route within a few minutes walk from site entrance.
There is a small shop on site and a newspaper delivery can be ordered for you too.
All facilities/amenities are really good and the team running it are so friendly and helpful.
Highly recommended site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 608 reviews from this member

 A superb, small site in cracking location. Well located for Blencathra and other fells. Facilities are brand new with power showers. Staff were really friendly and accommodating. Shop sold essentials - food, alcohol, maps / books etc. 7 miles from Keswick, bus stop 500 yards away and a couple of pubs within reasonable walking distance. I'd definitely recommend this site and will be returning.  


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Robertsse 1 review from this member

 Our first visit to this site since it became part of the Camping and Caravanning Club and we absolutely loved it. A brilliant site if you have dogs (we have 2) in fact there seemed to be more units with dogs than children!
 
The facilities are excellent and very clean although the newly revamped toilets are rather a snug fit when opening and closing the door! Our caravan was on one of the lower pitches so we had the entertainment of watching loaded cars struggling to leave the camping field - it is accessed by quite a steep gravelled slope. We saw more than one lot of campers having to get out of the car and walk up the slope. Having said that, the field looked super and I wouldn't mind being in a tent there.
 
We will certainly return. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ghostrider293 1 review from this member

 Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The toilet blocks and washing facilities were immaculate. And the shop well stocked and informative.
 
Only two electric hook-up points available for tents, and they do require an extension lead due to the distance they have to run. The staff lent us one thankfully.
 
The entrance to the tent park is very narrow and steep, so if you have a wide unit, I'd check in advance.
 
We had a fabulous pitch and loved every minute of our stay. 
 
Great location for exploring the Lakes, and great views from the site itself. Would definitely return.  


Date of Visit: July 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debbz 3 reviews from this member

 Cannot fault this site - it had everything! Very, Very clean, very quiet too, the owners were very helpful. Books that you could borrow for the day for walks. They also had a exercise field for the dogs (which proved invalueable!) Fully equipped shop, all you could need! The toilets were kept inpecably clean, the family room was very helpful too! Perfect for kids, perfect for dogs, perfect location! Definately will be going back next year! 


Date of Visit: July 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jontymb 1 review from this member

 Visited this site as part of a coast to coast group in July 2005. Very quiet and pretty location. Facilities excellent. Owners couln't have been more helpful(to the point of lending us equipment if required) We were able to have an electric hook-up for our tent which was great.Although there are no pubs or shops within walking distance the site does sell basics and Keswick is within easy reach. 


Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penrith      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2841 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement