Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Penrith > Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park > Reviews

Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park
Hutton Moor End
Troutbeck
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0SX
Tel: 01768 779149
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 54
Open: 06/03/2022 to 04/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 63 Reviews
                8/10 from 63 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chris/Lynn 13 reviews from this member

 We had three nights at this site over the Royal Wedding bank holiday weekend and were met on arrival with Bucks Fizz and nibbles.

The staff were personable and professional and we were shown to our pitch in the touring field. I have to say that the pitch was the best I have ever had to put pegs into - no stones, just good, firm earth, and nice and flat.

It is also well sheltered given that it was a howling gale just uphill. It has a decently stocked little shop which is in keeping with club sites and the site is well maintained and clean - it's clearly well managed.

Unfortunately, it does seem that the site is primarily set up for statics, as there are a good many of them at the top of the site, and the only toilet/facilities block, although spotless is located by the entrance next to three of the biggest statics I have ever seen.

The facilities are as far away as you can get from the touring field and are next to the statics which don't need them. The consequence is a 5-10 min round trip, up the hill, along the noisy and loose gravel paths in the middle of the night for a trip to the loo! Each crunchy step seemed to set off a volley of barking dogs in the caravan awnings. We were blessed with warm, dry weather but I would hate to have to make the trip to the toilet or the dish wash in the cold and rain.

The facilities were closed for two hours a day for cleaning too which proved inconvenient as the alternative was the one disabled toilet.

At 107 for three nights on a club site (a C&C Club family deal for 2 adults and 2 children - I accept a premium for Bank Holidays, but this was excessive in my opinion and 40 more than the Easter bank holiday weekend in Wales cost us), I was unimpressed -

the site liked to crowd in the tents too - with cars next to them, there was no space to manoever and no space for the kids to play (the play area amounts to a small climbing frame and two swings and is also located amongst the statics). It resulted in footballs, children and bikes between cars and tents.

This is our third poor experience of C&C Club sites as a camper and we subsequently feel that they offer poor value for money and overcrowding at busy times.

It's worth noting that the nearest pub, the White Horse at Scales is now closed following flood damage in November so it's into Threlkeld for the Horse and Farrier or Salutation Inn (good food and beer at both, though the former is more pricy) or the Troutbeck Inn back up the hill towards Penrith (good beer, didn't eat there).

Potentially a good site with stunning views of sunsets over Blencathra, but let down massively by the clear focus on the lucrative statics - the tent campers seem to be an afterthought.

The addition of a facilities block in the touring field would make a world of difference. I am afraid we will not be returning to this site again. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Black Kat 5 reviews from this member

 Just got back from Troutbeck, stayed two nights. Managers seemed friendly and helpful, booked in and sorted into a pitch very quickly.

The site's fees are quite expensive, but the site is very clean and well-maintained, so not an issue.

Showers and toilet block very clean and the showers are immense, powerful and hot, especially after a long slog around Blencathra. A minor thing is that the hooks to hag clothes etc were not very big and hence things kept dropping on the floor!

We used the site as a base for walking and cooking in our van so were not concerned about the lack of facilities in the immediate area (White Horse pub now shut due to flooding last year, nearest pub now about 2 miles away, so difficult if you didn't want to drive there).

We didn't have children or pets with us but the site seemed pet-friendly and good for children, a play area and safe etc. Only grumble is that the shop's stock was running low the day we arrived there, but it was replenished the next day; good local foods etc. Alcohol on the expensive side, but I guess cheaper than going to the pub! 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: X5Avante 2 reviews from this member

 What do you want from a campsite? A good location, good views and a good toilet block? This site has it all.

The Location

A few miles east of Keswick and just off the A66, the site is an ideal base to explore The Lakes by car, bike, canoe or foot. Walks form the site include up and around Blencathra and Sharp Edge. Cycle routes include the Coast to Coast and a route using The Old Coach Road.

It is just north of Ullswater and Derwent water is just past Keswick for the canoe. The only negative is that there is only a pub to walk to if you want to spend money.

The Views

Looking west from the site you are looking down the valley with Blencathra on the right and Clough Head on the left and the Lakeland fells stretched out before you. It is one of the best views I have seen from a campsite.

The Toilet Block

This really is one of the best facilities I have seen on a campsite. The building is a little dated but I can honestly say that the showers are the best I have ever experienced, clean, modern, hot, powerful. They beat hotel showers!

In summary, we have now been twice, will go back and would recommend it. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DebsMcHale 5 reviews from this member

 The site is lovely but very small. The receptionist was absolutely lovely and so helpful but when she guided us to our pitch we then found that we were packed in like sardines and heavily overlooked by the other campers and the on site statics, so unfortunately our blinds came down very quickly for privacy which was a real shame as there was a fantastic view to be had and the sun was shining.

The site is good don't get me wrong, the shower block is brand new, well equipped, spotless and power showers that you don't need tokens for but we realised our 'mistake' quite early on but we were tired after our long drive home from (sunny) Scotland.

I also found it a little on the pricey side for the 'cramped' conditions. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Joanne Best 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a two night weekend break. Lovely picturesque, peaceful site. Would recommend a car to get out and about from this location as shop very basic. Does have late arrivals area which is useful and has electric hook-up. Showers are lovely and clean. Staff friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for walking and having a really peaceful and relaxing break. There is a small take away van that visits the site on a Friday and Saturday which sells jacket potatoes. The pitch we had was hard standing and of a decent size. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Superstoupa 1 review from this member

 Just back from a 4 night stay at this lovely spot. We found it quite by chance as our usual site was full-and what a find. We will certainly be back!

Ideally located just off the A66-yet perfectly peaceful with the most stunning views.

We have a large 29 foot motor home and find access on some sites difficult-not so at troutbeck, very easy to manoeuvre around, decent size pitches with no sense of overcrowding.

The lady owner is simply delightful, the site shop though small, is more than adequate and the prices very reasonable.

The level of cleanliness in the toilet blocks was exceptional, excellent showers, heated toilets and no queues.

I think this site is perfect for adults or tots - I should imagine teenagers would be bored, as no facilities for them (due to size constraints) and no nearby village to walk into.

Perfectly good local pub at Scales- The white Horse- the landlord will pick you up and drop you back at the site- the food is basic, well cooked pub fair.

We always do our shopping at Booths in Keswick, as it has a coach park to house the camper and the whole shopping experience is delightful. The farm shop at Tebay services on the M6-is also a must.

I would highly, highly recommend this delightful site. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joe+2 4 reviews from this member

 Spent five days on this site which for august was relatively quiet even though it was always full, in relation to some sites. The mornings where lovely and peaceful set in amongst the hills creating a terrific atmosphere being at one with the landscape. The shop was minimal, just covering some essentials. Nearest shops with better service was about ten miles away and proved to be costly in my view. The kids play area was poor really, just two swings for little children and nothing else. Toilets and laundry room proved to be clean and tidy. Did not visit any pubs so cannot be of help about these. Visited the ospreys whist on my travels which was spectacular seeing all four birds in flight and on the nest. Ullswater is my favourite lake and enjoyed a walk around as well as a boat ride on the lake with my grandson who also loved being here,used tesco tokens to cover this cost. All in all a good base for exploring if you enjoy the beautiful lakes and walks on the hills. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lolaandbill 2 reviews from this member

 A good solid site. Nice welcome, very clean facilities and belting views!

Located near to Keswick in the beautiful Troutbeck Valley, easy access to Ullswater and Bassenthwaite.

Keswick is a lovely Saturday morning outing, a wander round the market, a coffee in one of the many coffee shops and a delicious loaf of bread to take back to the site (fabulous bakery opp the Rohan shop on the road to John Fishers)

We had really nicely kept lawn area as part of our pitch which was much appreciated by our 9 month old crawly baby.

A little pricey perhaps but that's club sites for you. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Facelift 2 reviews from this member

 Yet another wonderful stay at Troutbeck, fast becoming my favourite site for 2010. A bit blustery this time but its location and amenities make up for the weather.

Made friends with some 'static people' this trip and they welcomed me to a few drinks and some fun stories about staying at the site.

Sad to see that Alan and Lynn will be finishing their season in a few days. I have always found them helpful and professional and a credit to the site. Also Patrick who keeps the toilets spotless and is always friendly and has a good irish sense of humour.

The site is close to Keswick and a short distance to my new found place of Bowness near Windermere.A delightful place, plenty of shops and tea rooms.

The Mill at Mungrisdale offers lovely meals. The fish and chips are great. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Ipblake 1 review from this member

 A good site in a great location!

Under Blencathra, and quieter than you'd believe in the Lake District. If you dread the massed hordes of Ambleside you'll like it here. Easy to get to.

Had a good meal at the White Horse in Scales - don't forget your 10% discount for pre-booking!

Wardens friendly and helpful, shop is small but has basics and some local food - try the Hesket Newmarket beer! Weather forecast goes up early (before 7) which is useful.

Toilet block a little small for the size of the site and at the opposite end to the touring pitches, though it's not an enormous site and was never a problem for us. But very clean and well maintained. 


Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penrith      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3470 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement