Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Penrith > Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park > Reviews

Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park
Hutton Moor End
Troutbeck
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0SX
Tel: 01768 779149
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 54
Open: 06/03/2022 to 04/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 63 Reviews
                8/10 from 63 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Almaz 37 reviews from this member

 I've got mixed feelings about this site. On one hand it had some really nice features but there were one or two things that might just stop me returning.

When we arrived it had been raining quite heavily and the warden had apparently been receiving complaints from campers whose tents were in the line of the flows. Nothing he could do about the weather but that cloud seemed to stay over him during our stay. Whilst he directed us to our pitch he seemed to want away as quick as possible.

Toilet block was spotlessly clean but the block was quite small, there were only two shower cubicles in the gents and there were often queues.

The on site shop had some essentials and proved quite useful and it has to be said prices were reasonable too.

We were at the bottom end of the site and that was quite a trudge to the toilet block at the top.

When the sun shone it was a really lovely setting and Keswick is only a short drive away. The nearest pub is in Scales which is about 1.5 miles up the road. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ljw69 3 reviews from this member

 Turned up out of the blue having not got in anywhere else, really nice site. The owners very very friendly and nice. Lovely site, very nicely situated and nice pitch. 15 mins either side from either Keswick or the M6.

The shop is stocked with all the basics that you would need but head on into keswick for all your needs, ether at Booths or Co-op.

The toilet block and shower very nicely maintained, laundry quite a surprise as it has added extras like a coffee vending machine.

Slightly pricey, for tent and electrical hookup for two nights 50.50, but with facilities to be expected I suppose.

All in all a very nice site, not too far from the madding crowd or too far away. Recommended. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Cosypony 2 reviews from this member

 Very good site. Clean with good facilities.

Friendly obliging owners (asked for TV hook up on arrival as reception poor only due to the splendid Cumbrian Hills) and was given a pitch without hesitation. Highly recommend. Beautiful location and a credit to the owners. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Graeme_ncl 15 reviews from this member

 We really enjoyed our first visit to Troutbeck. It's a quite small, nicely laid out site only 15mins from the M6, and a minute from the A66 (though there was very little road noise evident). As others have said, the site is situated in a beautiful part of the north Lakes in view on Belncathra. The on-site facilities are good and spotless including power showers that put ours at home somewhat to shame. There's a small kids playground with slide and swings which our boys loved, and a good little (licensed) shop. There's doubtless loads of good walks in the area, but even for the less adventurous there's a well marked circular route running along the stream and through the nearby sheep-filled fields. We found the site to be very friendly and well maintained, and we're sure to be back again. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Babyduck 4 reviews from this member

 If you are looking for a small quiet site on the edge of the northern lakes then this site is for you. The views are great, the toilet / shower block is clean, and supplied with loads of hot water.

Unfortunately when we were there the grass areas of the site were struggling to cope with the heavy rainfall and the tent field was in a right state.

Thankfully we had booked a hard standing pitch which never 'flooded' despite all the rain. Our pitch was one of five next to a wall, and directly behind this wall were static caravans. This meant these statics directly overlooked our pitch and the others in the row. We found this lack of privacy slightly 'off putting'.

I would possibly return to this site without our kids (aged 15 and 11) as I think it is ideal for couples or families with small children. However, there is nothing for older kids to do. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jaycee13 3 reviews from this member

 Third time I've stayed here.Very clean and well maintained site. Toilet and showers were immaculate.The camping area is located next to the river glenderamackin and come dusk it does attract the midges, but that is only a minor gripe because the views of blencathra ,clough head and great dodd are fantastic. If you like to stroll down to the pub then maybe this site isn't for you as they are driving distance really.

A good base for the northern lakes and plenty of fells to walk to from the site makes this a site to recommend. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Cheshirechick 1 review from this member

 My visit to this site was also my first trip in my trailer tent and my first trip to a campsite in many years, so it's difficult to compare it to other sites but I'll tell it as it was.

I loved the site and would definitely go back.

The facilities (including dishwashing and laundry) were a lovely surprise as they were far better than I would have expected.

The camping field was very wet, probably typical given the weather we've had, but as I say I can't compare to other sites.

The site was very easy to find, as just a short way off the main road, but all local pubs were a good drive away. No local shops other than that on site, which had the basics.

The location was spectacular, with excellent views of the nearby mountains and those in the distance.

Overall, an excellent site and I hope to return. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Atherwitzend 7 reviews from this member

 This site is in a lovely location, very handy for Keswick and the northern lakeland fells. Penrith is also nearby.

The toilet and shower blocks were immaculate, and there is also an additional unisex disabled room and a small family room. The showers were the most powerful I have come across on a camp site.

There is an indoors potwash room and laundry.

There is a small shop selling basics plus local produce based in the reception.

There is a small childrens playground, with a couple of swings and a climbing frame with a slide and a den built in. Suitable for upto about 8 year olds. Although located a little away from the pitches, there is a picnic table and benches to sit at if you want to supervise the kids.

The tent field is separate from the hardstandings which gives some of the atmosphere found on tent only sites. There is a river that runs along one side of it and we found this caused a bit of a 'midgie' problem on our warm wet weekend so be prepared with some insect repellent, just in case. The previously mentioned gravel slope to the field has now been tarmacked over, a good improvement.

The only niggle we had was that the toilet/shower blocks were built away from the tent fields (near some static caravans that don't need the facilities). I suspect though that this is down to planning regulations by the national Park rather than a case of poor design by the site itself.

We will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: PaulineG 2 reviews from this member

 This must be one of the most beautiful sites in the Lakes- the view of Blencathra from our caravan was breathtaking. The facilties are some of the best we have exprienced and kept in first class condition- and Susan and Fraser could not be more helpful.
Lots to do around about as both Keswick and Penrith are close by. Quiet at this time of the year so not sure I should be recommending it- should be keeping it to ourselves! Hope to return later in the year. 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Freedom4us 41 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for the weekend. Weather was usual Lake Distrrict-pouring down! however it didnt spoil our break one bit. The shower/toilet blocks are kept to a very high standard. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The pitches are a good size and plenty of space betwen pitches. There is an excellent dog exercise area leading into the forest our dogs thoroughly enjoyed themselves. The pub (Troutbeck Inn) is not really walking distance but served good food and real ale with a friendly smile. We will return! 


Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penrith      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3434 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement