Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Penrith > Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park > Reviews

Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park
Hutton Moor End
Troutbeck
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0SX
Tel: 01768 779149
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 54
Open: 06/03/2022 to 04/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 63 Reviews
                8/10 from 63 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pjds 6 reviews from this member

 We visited the C & CC site at Troutbeck for a weekend at short notice having read many of the reviews on this site.

We were not disappointed with any aspect of our visit - fabulous location, great site layout, very friendly, helpful staff and great loos. My wife enjoyed 'singing along' to the classical music whilst washing up!

There was a little blip with the electric on Sunday morning, but the warden was straight onto it (despite me having disturbed his breakfast!) and it was fixed in a jiffy. Great service!

The area has so many attractions, but as walkers we loved the close proximity of walks of many different levels including a lovely circular walk straight off the site.

One very, very minor criticism would be the steps up to the chemical toilet disposal point - it would be much easier as a slope when pulling a full cassette on our little trolley. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Facelift 2 reviews from this member

 First venture out this year. The snow on the mountains was beautiful but very cold during the night. Friendly, helpful staff very knowledgeable about the area,places to eat, visit etc. They make regular inspections of the site and are able to solve any problems quickly and efficiently. Found me a gas bottle at very short notice.

The on site shop is full of local produce and a fine selection of wines.

Toilet block facilities clean and I did not have to queue for showers. There is no mad morning rush as they are closed for cleaning during the afternoon when most people have gone out for the day. Other sites please take note.

Must mention The Mill Inn for food.

So well done to Suzanne and Frazier and assistants Allan and Lynn. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: STARFIRE200 1 review from this member

 My first visit to this site and very pleased to be there, super views across the Cumbrian fells, had a super circular walk which started and finished from the site.

Good on site shop selling local produced food and drink. The free range eggs were from the small farm next door and the wonderful bacon just up the road.

Love sites near water and the sound of the beck (Troutbeck) was very calming, I will be returning back to this site very soon. Well done to the friendly staff that make this site one of my top four in the UK. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stuart l 90 reviews from this member

 Had originally intended just to overnight here on way to Scotland, but a 75mph gale enforced a second night's stay.

Quite conveniently situated about 8 miles from the M6, in a quiet location just off the A66 westbound. The location has brilliant views over the Cumbrian fells - especially from the lower field. There are no children's facilities.

Touring units camp on two levels; upper is all hard stands, whilst the lower has both grass for tents and hard stands for caravans. Beware if towing out of this area - there is a small slope with a narrow exit and loose scree on the driveway. It is easy to skid or stall on this bit.

There are twenty statics on part of the upper paddock - probably an old orchard - with six concealed hard stands behind them. The toilet and amenity block is at the back of this location, and is quite a trek in the rain from the lower field. Once there, the facilities are good - as one would expect from a Camping Club (franchised) site.

The shop in reception sells basic essentials - useful as the nearest shop is several miles away. Newspapers can also be ordered. The local hill walking weather forecast is posted on the office door - useful in that location - especially when it turns inclement.

There are several pubs in the area serving food, but none within walking distance.

The staff were quite friendly and accommodating, but the Camping Club prices are getting a little 'top-heavy' and no longer offer good Value for Money - even for members.

Definitely worth a visit, or useful as a stop on the journey to / from Scotland. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sarah42g 6 reviews from this member

 This site has amazing views of the area especially Blencathra. We stayed for a week and found the site clean and tidy, the facilities were excellent especially the power showers (they played classical music in the toilet block which was a nice touch) and the staff were friendly and helpful.

There were only two showers in the ladies but if you timed it right you didn't have to queue.

Although the site was busy it was quiet during the week, I suppose because it was term time, but it did get busier on the Saturday when we left.

We did our shopping at Morrisons in Penrith but there is Booths in Keswick (just a lot more costly!).

Did several pleasant walks from the site and there is a bus service to Keswick / Penrith a short walk from the site should you not want to use your car.

Only downside is trying to turn right out of the lane onto the A66. Not so bad in a car but when you have a caravan attached it can be a bit of a wait on a busy morning, but we just left a bit earlier so the traffic wasn't so busy.

Will definitely stay at this site again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Squirrelcatcher 7 reviews from this member

 My son and I overnighted here, whilst my wife and other son and daughter slummed it in luxury in the nearby Mill Inn, Mungrisdale.

A nice site with very friendly staff and good ammenities. A small playframe to amuse the children. Clean and modern toilet / shower facilities.

The tent pitching area is in a low area of the site, so the going was damp under foot. There was sufficient area for our small tent to pitch in the dry, but you might have struggled with a larger tent.

A well stocked shop, handy as there are none nearby.

A nice stay in very pleasant surrounds. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Febe3 7 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, great views, especially on bottom field. All staff were very friendly and helpful. The toilets / showers were wonderful. Immaculately clean, fab power showers and classical music piped in!
Good little shop on site for basics. Minus point was; we could hear the main road a bit. Having said that these are minor quibbles and we'd definitely return. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Suensean 1 review from this member

 Stayed for a week at Troutbeck expecting the weather to be lousy, but in actual fact we were very lucky.

We had a great week!

The site is smallish, which we liked, with one of the best dog walks I've ever seen. Right alongside a small river, which was great for hot dogs after a day on the fells.

The play area is on the small side, but still fine for children to find one another. The facilities were immaculate and perfectly adequate for the size of the site.

We had a bit of trouble with the TV signal, though I'm told not everybody does.The nearest caravan supply shop is miles away near Kendal but they managed to sort us out with a multidiectional arial and a signal booster.

The views from the window in the morning are simply stunning over towards Blencathra.

Found a lovely pub in Mungrisdale with cracking beer.

If you like your campsites quiet, spotlessly clean and well run, this is the place for you. We'll definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Doubledecker 1 review from this member

 Stayed for a week at Troutbeck. Great site, nice and quiet, and well located for trips into Keswick and up the hills. Toilets showers very clean and tidy, in fact best we have seen at C&C site. Laughed at Almaz's review, about the warden. I think he is just one of those fella's, don't let that put you off.

After some fairly heavy rain the tent field was getting very soggy, and by this time in season, lots of muddy patches in the grass. But hey it's the Lake District, you don't come for the sun! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: V1a3w 21 reviews from this member

 Excellent site - booked at the last minute & not only had they room but were able to locate us near the toilet block.

The facilities were immaculate but being of ample proportions I found the shower cubicles cramped, however having been told if they were not in use I could use the disabled or family shower rooms I suddenly found I had nothing at all to complain about - except about having to go home!

A good bus service is only a short stroll away -although great care is needed to cross the mighty A66.We managed to go to Hadrians Wall via Penrith/Carlisle & Hexham all by bus. 


Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penrith      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2065 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement