Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Penrith > Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park
Hutton Moor End
Troutbeck
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0SX
Tel: 01768 779149
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 54
Open: 06/03/2021 to 04/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 63 Reviews
                8/10 from 63 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andyfisher 14 reviews from this member

 Lindsey gave us the friendliest and warmest welcome ever received at a caravan site! During our stay she continued to be very helpful and accommodating, for example to our friends visiting who were staying at a B&B down the road. The site is split into three areas, the first has mainly privately owned static vans about 15, but there is one for hire too. The second has 16 hard standing pitches and the third is mix of hard standing and grass pitches. EHU was available to pitches. Some pitches had seasonal vans on. Most pitches have wonderful views towards Keswick. The site has recently been acquired by the owners and it appears improvement works have taken and continue to take place. Pitches are well spaced with room on it for caravan and awning with car to stand at the front. Pitches all appeared to be relatively easy to get on. The toilets were very clean and had great power showers - never had to wait. A laundry was also present. There is wifi which the kids thought was very fast, but their phones couldn't pick it up on our actual pitch, so often they were sat near reception! Got a tv signal with no booster (good external aerial used) and there was a 4g signal on O2. The reception shop sells some essential items, but not enough things that you could use it instead of going off site, however Lyndsey would help you out with anything! It is in a good location as not far to Keswick. This s a lovely little town. There are great walks around the Lake and the nearby fells including Skiddaw. Also boating on the lake. Ullswater isn't far and the aira force is a good walk. The Troutbeck inn had nice food but was expensive. You could probably walk to Blencathra ok from the site. There's a pub in Scales which you could walk to, probably in about half an hour or so. (Longer coming back no doubt! But we never got chance to try it) There's no dog walk on site, but the old Penrith road provides a spot for short essential walks. There are plenty of footpaths near the site though on OS map. Overall lovely site, lovely owners. We will definitely return! 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: RAINIER 4 reviews from this member

 This is a beautifully situated site easily reached off the A66. The viewes along the valley towards Keswick and the Lakeland hills are stunning. The White Horse at Scales is a 25 minute walk along the old road towards Threlkeld and is a very welcoming inn serving excellent food.

Since taking over the site Lyndsey and Neil have worked tirelessly to transform this tired and somewhat run-down former Camping and Caravan Club site. Neil is working hard to level and neaten up every hard standing pitch and the overgrown hedge at the western end has been cut down to a height that allows more people access to the stunning landscape. Everything now looks cleaner and neater and the whole site is more friendly. Both Neil and Lyndsey are very welcoming and are always happy to help out with any problems

The thing is, don't tell everyone or we'll never be able to get a pitch. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jayem91 3 reviews from this member

 Just spent another few days at this site which has become one of our favourites, and this is the third time this year we have spent time here. Both Lindsay and Neil cannot help you enough and the atmosphere is great. Well worth a visit and we will be back again. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carole14 1 review from this member

 We visit this site once every 4 weeks love the site. Lynsey, Neil and Stuart are great nothing too much trouble. Location for us is perfect as Keswick is our favourite place in the lakes. Carole and Ian 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Staceyvickery 1 review from this member

 Absolutely fantastic site. The NEW owners Neil and Lindsay are amazing as is Stuart. So helpful and friendly. Nothing is too much for them. Including picking up a new tap for our caravan and fitting it! We will definitely be coming back and cant wait already! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Frederico 49 reviews from this member

 Nice easy access when towing a caravan from the A66.

Good friendly welcome and help to site our caravan. Wonderful views from most pitches. Close to Keswick and Penrith for shopping. Good site for mountain walks, Skiddaw and Blencathra in particular. Some flat pitches but many are sloping. Small play park. Toilets and other facilities very good and spotless. One complaint about the toilets was music, a woman screaming out a song. Some people might like it I suppose? Waste water disposal point is near reception and hard work pulling a container up the hill. Four pitches have TV wiring. Paid for wifi but like most sites it did not work. I called at reception, no one about but message on the door said 'Wifi off at present' Used my mobile data ok. Marked facilies 8 because of music and waste water point mentioned. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jayem91 3 reviews from this member

 The site and staff are excellent. Friendly and helpful. We enjoy our stay there so much that we extended it by another 3 days. We also met a lot of friendly people and will be happy to meet up with them again. And probably will.

Only problem we had was turn off to campsite road is not marked and is very sharp off a busy road, other than that perfect to visit keswick and surrounding area 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Alisonme 4 reviews from this member

 Troutbeck is a well located, picturesque site with good facilities.

It's easy to access from the A66, and only a short drive into Keswick. The nearest pub is 1. 5 miles away at Scales, and there is a restaurant at the Troutbeck Inn, 1. 5 miles in the other direction. The site was fairly busy during our stay, but never noisy, and the views are great. There are walks you can do from the site, but we drove to different starting points. The showers are quite possibly the best I've come across on a campsite, and the amenities are kept clean and well maintained. There is a small play area, but the dog walk has been closed.

There are some minor problems, the facilities block is at one corner of the site and the tents are furthest away, but it's a relatively small site so that didn't really bother us. Apparently the TV reception is poor, but again that didn't affect us, and the wifi access wasn't great on the tent field.

The one big issue for us was that following heavy rain our pitch became waterlogged. We were literally sinking into the ground in front of our kitchen, and I have never left a pitch in such a state. The rain on the first night was torrential and it remained wet, but that's not really unusual for the area, so unfortunately I would have reservations about using their grass pitches again. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alderney 6 reviews from this member

 Seriously, it's a pretty campsite and the staff are lovely but it has got to be the worst laid out campsite in the world. The toilet/shower/washing up block is right beside reception. Next to that are the 19 'caravan holiday homes' - static caravans, all of which have their own loos /showers /kitchen sinks. Then come the touring caravans/ big camper vans, many of which have their own facilities. Then come the tents at the farthest away. None of which have their own facilities. We are also beside the smaller campers, like VW vans, also without their own facilities.

As such, there is no way I could recommend this site for families with tents - put simply, accidents will happen. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mcooke4 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. Very clean. Toilets facilities were excellent. Showers were warm. Wardens were very helpful. Pitch was level. Location just off the A66 which was ideal for the North lakes. Some pitches did flood but the rain was very heavy at times. If you're a tele addict like me we couldn't get any channels with our omni directional Ariel but a TVs point is provided on the EHU bollard. Cables are sold in the shop so I was able to have the news channel on! There was a good dog walk which led onto the forestry track. Will definitely be returning to this site. 


Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Troutbeck Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penrith      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3492 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement