Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Beacon Fell View Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Preston > Beacon Fell View Holiday Park Reviews

Beacon Fell View Holiday Park
110 Higher Road
Longridge
Preston
Lancashire   (Browse area)
PR3 2TF
Tel: 01772 783233
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 54
Open: 01/03/2021 to 14/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 108 Reviews
                7/10 from 108 Reviews

Photos (11)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  108 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Beckyjamesdad 3 reviews from this member

 After staying here for the weekend, I hasten to say I was disappointed, the toilets need to be knocked down. If not refurbished, either blocked up or no toilet tissue. Bar area was ok. Cracking indian takeaways near by. Allowed to take it in bar area which was a bonus, some staff need customer service training as they showed a lack of interest in our needs, 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bailey tourer 2016 2 reviews from this member

 Pitches are way to close together. No waste water points, had to empty waste water in smelly chemical toilet block which is hard to access due to steep hill/ steps.

More importantly the toilet and shower blocks were quite frankly disgusting. There were no locks on cubicle doors. Toilets were always blocked or wouldn't flush and rarely had sufficient toilet rolls.

Some of the staff we found abrupt and unhelpful little start ups! 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lewiss22 7 reviews from this member

 This site has been an excellent site in years gone by. With excellent facilities but now need serious TLC.

First pitches for touring way to small, we took up 3 pitches on top tier as we would not get doen to others, road to narrow good job it was quiet Easter Week!, Half the toilets not working in shower block and not cleaned properly. Showers lovely and hot but only stay on for 30 seconds at a time(Honest). Swimming pool lovely but needs TLC, Sauna Not working, Site grounds really think the wardens need to do more very unkept in area's. Staff reasonably happy and helpful but management not very professional, telling bar staff 'off' whilst he was serving me! Also prices of drinks to much 2. 50 for a can of coke!

All in all even after our experience I would go back to see if it has improved but I would not pay over 30 pn. 


Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Happy gang 3 reviews from this member

 We visited the site near the end of 2015 season. This was our second visit and we decided to try the site again as there had been some positive reviews for 2015 season. The staff in reception seemed more interested in shopping on the internet than booking us in.

When we eventually arrived at our pitch, along a road full of pot holes, we found the pitch to be very muddy although it was supposed to be hard standing we called reception and was told to just find a pitch we liked. The toilet block has had heating added but still half the toilets did not work, this was not a problem as there were not many caravans on site. This was a little surprising a we were told there was a bonfire but we could not find it. This applies to other facilities advertised but not on site.

The playground is ok for under 6 year olds but nothing for slightly older children. The crazy golf had more broken holes than good ones. The club had limited opening hours and no entertainment, (maybe because this was the end of the season). When it was open the staff were ignorant and the club dirty, used glasses left on tables with empty crisp packets.

The site has lovely views from your pitch. Longridge is a lovely little town with plenty of shops, supermarkets, pubs, restaurants and take aways. These were very useful as the shop on site had not much stock and was hardly ever open.

The site it self could be lovely but needs updating and a lot of attention to tidy it up. The site could benefit from staff who are interested in their job and willing to help.

I do not think I will visit again as there are plenty more good, clean sites around. It is a shame really because the site is in really good location. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Single Dad 1 review from this member

 This is our 2nd stay at this site and both times we have been happy with what's on offer for the price.

Kids clubs, swimming, sauna and crazy golf are all included and my son and I both enjoyed them all.

There are some nice walks nearby and fantastic scenery all around.

5 min from a supermarket and Takeaways so that's a bonus when the weather turns or you run out of hot dogs!

There is a shop on site and it has pretty much all you need from swimming equipments to food and camping supplies, although it is only open 9ish til 6ish.

There are only 2 things for us that let this site down.

1. The steps from the Tent Field to the main site can be a little tricky at night or with little ones.

2. The staff have changed since our last visit and although the reception staff were able to deal with any issues some of the others were rude and sometimes ignorant. (They could of just been having a bad day! We all have them).

All in all a good stay on both occasions. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ringding 3 reviews from this member

 The reviews made us wary but we were pleasantly surprised.

I am not sure what some people expect from a caravan site and although it's no Haven it gave us parents a good break and the kids (8 and 6) were very happy with all that was on offer. OK so its not perfect. But I'm not expecting it compare with an all inclusive for 4k in the Canaries either as some seem to.

The touring area isn't the best we have used as access can be awkward as there are 3 sections located on a hillside and a 27ft van was a challenge to park. But it was quiet and had a gravel base so stopped the caravan getting mucky. Our hillside view over the fields and hills was exceptional.

The bar area and complex was better than expected and the DJ and a fellow DJ/entertainer kept the kids busy with traditional party games and karaoke. Don't expect party reps, but they kids were very happy. On the Saturday night they had a female singer on who was quite good and while we enjoyed this the kids were in and out of the arcade and ballpool with friends they had met whilst there.

The pool was welcoming, warm and bigger than I expected from the photos and has a small steam room alongside (and showers). The kids loved the pool.

Everywhere was generally clean and tidy and the toilet block was acceptable to be honest when I popped in. We have a shower and toilet in our van and we use this most of the time.

If I had to complain, I would only say that some arcade games were out of order and they had no 2p's in the change machine for the 2p pusher games and these are the kids favourite.

They do not serve food on site so bear this in mind but there is plenty locally. When we asked they stated they are building a kitchen. They did recommend the '5 in 1' takeaway in nearby Longridge and it was very nice to be honest.

We did go at the back end of the Easter holidays and it was quite quiet considering, so did not struggle to sit down. I can imagine that if its busy it could get quite hectic and yes there isn't a great deal of seating.

If I had not disregarded some poor reviews we would have missed this great site. Definately going back. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alanca 4 reviews from this member

 Read many of the reviews on this site, decided to gamble two nights for 50. 40 inc. EHU. Unfortunately tenters this is not for us. The tent field is a small bog. The toilet block is down 25 very steep steps. The toilet showers are dated and often flooded. The bar/entertainment was OK. Pool area good however it was not busy. Reception pleasant. But that field for tents is BIG NO. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crabbie666 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned early from a stay at Beacon fell. The tent field is small, uneven and slopping at points, to say its muddy is an understatement, it put Glastonbury to shame! The toilets and showers are located at the bottom of some very steep steps, the showers are extremely hot to the point where I could not stand underneath them let alone let the children use them, on a plus side the showers in the pool area are great. The toilets themselves are in poor condition, locks missing off doors, often unclean. The site looks a little un-kept and outdated, would not recommend it for camping and unfortunately would not return. The entertainment provided in the club house was great and the kids all enjoyed the pool. This site has the potential to be great if a little time and money was spent in updating the camping facilities and servicing the tent field. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Poulton camper 2 reviews from this member

 We arrived Friday 29th August about 16:00hrs We decided on this park to try out our new Tent to see if the Grandkids would enjoy Camping, well kids being kids they had a good time.

However from a Camping Adult here is my review, we arrived after a rainy start which got worse as we put the tent up left kids in car in car park whilst we set up.

The Tent field on this site was a mudbath it was more like Glastonbury on a wet day.

The Toilet block was a 5 minute walk with a 3 year old, and down steep steps 27 in total, not ideal for young families,

On the next day Saturday the Womens Toilet was flooded and stayed that way for most of the day, the Gents toilet block was in need of upgrading, the Toilet door locks had be broken off and had been replaced with a hook and eye sort of thing once you were inside, one of the Gents Toilets was out of use and most had more paper on the floor than in the wall mounted dispenser, and the floor had a big pool of water in the entrance doorway, the showers were far too hot! so the kids were not allowed in them. Having said all this the site had some nice views of the surrounding areas.

The reception staff were all good and so was the kiddies entertainer in the evening, we took the Kids out for a walk on the Saturday, although the Sun was shining on the Sunday we decided to leave early, I don, t think we will be coming back. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ballycfc 5 reviews from this member

 We came for my daughters birthday, bringing her and some friends away for the night, it's only 8 miles from home but could be 80 when you are there. Nice large plots, although not very well marked, bit of guess work from the little diagram they gave us a check in. Plenty for all with entertainment and swimming pool. Kids enjoyed some freedom in the play area. Only slight niggles, toilet block is a bit tired and could do with upgrading and very steep steps upto the camping area (although we did find a walk around slope as we were leaving)

Will definitely use again as we can escape for weekends away and if the girls have and clubs or parties we can still nip back with them. 


Previous     108 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Beacon Fell View Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Beacon Fell View Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Beacon Fell View Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Beacon Fell View Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Preston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5444 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement