Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Beacon Fell View Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Preston > Beacon Fell View Holiday Park Reviews

Beacon Fell View Holiday Park
110 Higher Road
Longridge
Preston
Lancashire   (Browse area)
PR3 2TF
Tel: 01772 783233
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 54
Open: 01/03/2021 to 14/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 108 Reviews
                7/10 from 108 Reviews

Photos (11)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  108 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Suzuki06 1 review from this member

 No drains in touring area for waste water, you have to go down the toilet block. Steep steps down and rough ground walking.

A holiday park with no food on sale no chippy or cafe. Location and views ok. Swimming pool a good size, there's an adult bar with tv to get time away from kids. The concert room at the top end has pool table and table football, big screen tv and leather sofa to sit on.

The bottom end opposite stage has like dining room table and chairs hard to sit on all night

There's a covered smoking area beside the shop. Table and benches to the side of the club house and crazy golf on the other side.

Staff friendly and polite 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jessicaemily 4 reviews from this member

 We have stayed here twice in the last 6 weeks as we are new campers and it is very close to home. The site is clean and well kept. The shower block with it's 24 hour music is cleaned regular.

The bar is ok but the entertainment is aimed at the kids with a mini disco etc. This was fine for us although the main bar was always closed so you had to go to the small bar area to get a drink. Not enough staff was a comment when I asked about it.

We were charged 33. 50 per night for Sunday, Monday and Tuesday which I thought was a bit steep for no entertainment (adults) and no bar staff.

The pool was great, clean and warm. Overall we will always go back as it is so convenient for us but if we are paying peak season prices for out of season service we might as well save it until out of season. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mr_jprice 6 reviews from this member

 We booked this site after reading about the facilities on site (in particular the swimming pool) as we had three children aged between 4 and 7.

The pool came in very handy when it rained, it was warm and a great place to entertain the kids for a few hours. There was also a very good great play area for the kids with rope slide and swings etc

The pitch was in a field elevated slightly above the main site which made the walk to the toilets a little over 3-4 minute down some fairly steep (if you are under 10) steps. Not much of a problem during the light but a bit of a trek at night time.

The pitches weren't clearly marked but this didn't cause too many issues as the site made sure there was no overcrowding with no more than 9 tents allowed.

Upon booking in each pitch is given a key to the toilet block (5 deposit). The toilets were stocked regularly throughout but the hand dryers didn't work, there was no soap provided - it just felt like it needed a bit of a refurbishment / freshen up.

The on site shop wasn't well equipped but there was a good shop off site towards the town only 5 minutes drive away. The main town of Longridge was also worth a visit as there were two supermarkets that had everything you could need.

This might sound picky but the price of the pitch was 28 a night I would of expected slightly better washroom facilities.

I would consider going again and would recommend a visit to make your own mind up. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Delboy5465 20 reviews from this member

 A great site, the pitch was big enough for our folding camper though some larger vans struggled to pitch. Only stayed one night. Great field for exercising your dog.

Being only 25 minutes from our home we were hoping to be able to use it again but after listening to the noise from the clubhouse blasting out till 12 midnight and the noise people made on the way back to their pitches filling the air with colourful language and not forgetting some seasonal pitched visitors thinking its ok to sit, drink and play music in your awning till the early hours.

Other than that the site was easily accessible, great views, friendly staff but due to some of the people it seems to attract and the wailing noise of so called singers from the clubhouse we will not be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Stereferee 3 reviews from this member

 Having heard some mixed reviews of this site I thought only fair to decide for myself. I was very surprised at how good this site was. The pitch was hard standing, but underneath the the stones was a soft layer meaning the awning went up no problem. Electric hook up included in the price was very welcome. My little lad made friends very easy and made the most out of the excellent pool facilities and the children's play park. The toilet block was to a good standard with plenty of washing/shower cubicles on offer. I would recommend this site to anyone, and I will certainly visit again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Schmorgie 9 reviews from this member

 Booked this site for a last minute quick weekend break over the kids easter holidays. We chose the site because we didn't want to trek too far (it's only a 45 min drive away from home).

We normally don't go for large sites with clubs and entertainment but were prepared to give it a go for a couple of nights. On arrival, we were greeted by friendly reception staff who gave us a map of the site, toilet key (for 5 returnable deposit) and information on the weekend's entertainment.

On driving round to our pitch, we could see quite a number of people sat outside their caravans drinking and having two small children, we were concerned whether things would get rowdy at night. However, we needn't have worried as, apart from a bit of noise from people returning to their vans around midnight, the site was otherwise nice and quiet.

The pitch was a reasonable size (we've been on bigger and smaller) hardstanding, but we were on quite a slope - the hitch was practically on the floor by the time we'd levelled up!

On looking round, the general surrounding area looked like it could have done with a good tidy up. The fences separating the pitches needed repairing and a lick of paint and the grass areas needed a good cut. T

here was broken glass all over our pitch and someone had left a dirty dishcloth over the fence at the back of our caravan. There were no wardens visible in the time we were there.

The toilet and shower blocks weren't the best we've been in. There was muddy water all over the floor near the hand basin area and in a couple of the toilets, the sanitary bins were literally overflowing and these weren't emptied the whole weekend.

The children's play area was good, although there was some waste land to the side which had 'keep out' signs around it, but not fenced off enough to keep inquisitive children from straying into it.

As the site is in an ex-quarry, this did leave me worried as to what hidden dangers might be in there! I cannot comment on the swimming pool or gym - the weather was so nice while we were there that we spent all our time out and about.

Beacon Fell is lovely for walking and there are loads of great country pubs for eating around Chipping and Inglewhite. Longridge is a lovely little village with a supermarket, boutiques, restaurants and takeaways.

Back on site, we ventured into the bar one evening to catch up with the Man you game and this was really nice, again with very friendly staff and the adults only rule was well adhered to.

The club next door also looked very smart, although we didn't go in for the entertainment as we went to visit some friends who lived nearby in the evening.

There was a well stocked shop on the site and a small arcade which I should imagine would be a hit on rainy days. So to summarise, this has the potential to be a lovely site - it just needs a bit of TLC.

The views are lovely and the surrounding countryside is some of the best in Lancashire. The entertainment looked fantastic, if that's your sort of thing and it's a site very much geared towards children. If you like somewhere smaller and quieter, then I would suggest this site isn't for you.

I doubt we will return, but it was by no means a bad experience, just personal preference. 


Date of Visit: November 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Glennonjd 13 reviews from this member

 Just visited Beacon Fell View for the second time this season. We pre-booked a touring caravan space to be there over the popular bonfire weekend we'd been told about by others back in May. Unfortunately, due to health and safety regulations, the site can't run this anymore - though you can bring your own fireworks ironically!

Not to matter, the site gave us two weeks notice and put on a great alternative weekend of entertainment.

First a few things about the site. It is hilly as it's an ex-quarry. There are many holiday homes and static caravans and it looks like there are around 80 touring spaces - all hard standings with hook-ups. The pitches run off a winding road and as they are on a hill are not level so when your van is level, you'll find the hitch very low to the ground and the rear very high - maybe off the ground and you may need a couple of rocks or blocks in order to get your van level even with the steadies fully extended. Saying that, as the road and pitch are hard standing, you're never trudging mud around and into your van.

The toilet and shower block is large, heated and clean. I've never seen it busy. Next to it is the chemical drain room that can take 4 users at once. These facilities are locked at all times with access being gained by a key you receive from reception when you check-in for a 5 return deposit.

There are two shops - the Pitch shop selling a very large range of caravan and camping accessories at good prices and also a well stocked general store too. During high season, there is a snack bar on site setup under a few gazebos that serves good value basic food. A top tip from others - the number 5 takeaway in Longridge delivers to the site site and touring units too :)

The large club house is very modern, new, clean and well equipped with a large bar, dance floor, modern furniture, large screen TV's and a stage. The bar prices are fine and the Guinness is lovely. There is plenty of seating and the room does get busy at weekends. There is an adults only pub/bar (Maloneys?) at the rear and this was respected and kept child free apart from the odd visit from the kids asking for more money for the small arcade area next door.

After the arcade there is a reception where the staff are friendly and helpful and also deal with bike hire, gym access, mini-golf clubs, check-in etc. Walking on past the gym, you walking into the pool which is immaculate and a good size. The water is clean and nice and warm. It's not too deep and the life-guard is strict and ensures the kids are safe. There is a smaller circular toddler pool also. Quite a few tables and chairs in here too if you just want to relax. Outside there is an all-weather mini-golf.

We loved the site as it is very family orientated. The adventure play park is safe and all the kids played well together. The entertainment has starts with a kids mini-disco, bingo, cabaret of a good quality and sometimes other things like a quiz or karaoke.

The weekend we visited, there was a fancy dress party with nice prizes for the kids and adults who joined in; bingo (I won a fiver dressed as a Mexican!); on the Saturday a 3-hour magic show - excellent for everyone; a superb birds-of-prey show that had the adult and kids spellbound; mini-disco and a great cabaret singer and disco afterwards. On the Sundays, they often lay on a free bouncy castle and some outdoor toys on the nice balcony outside the bar.

We also found two great restaurants nearby in Longridge worthy of mention - Thyme in Longridge itself (at one end of the high-street) and also Frances Italian Restaurant on the road back towards the M6 after Longridge. Both excellent restaurants with good choices for the kids.

We've really enjoyed this site on both visits and for sure will visit again next season. 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bluey 8 reviews from this member

 Just had 3 nights here,really enjoyed it as it is not the type of site that we usually use.We used the pool and sauna all included in the price.

Toilets were clean with lots of hot water in the showers,the prices for small bottles of wine were 3.45 bitter 2.90 but seeing as the pool was free it is'nt too bad. The kids loved the indoor play area and the kids karaoke in the evening. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Derek77 4 reviews from this member

 Just back from a great weekend at this site. All facilities were very good. Toilets and showers clean and site is generally well maintained. Kids (aged 8,6,4) were impressed with play park, kids club and indoor play area.

The swimming pool was clean and warm. All staff very friendly.

Only drawback is that tent area is at the top of steep stairs away from main area of site. It is ok for the fit and able bodied. The handrail on the flight of stairs could be improved and surrounding bushes pruned back to allow easier access to stairs.

However this was a very positive experience for our first ever camping trip. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Librasam 20 reviews from this member

 On arrival the reception staff were very friendly and helpful, the indoor pool and gym are adjacent to the reception and appeared well used and updated. The bar/clubhouse also presented as pleasant, with doors opening out onto a terrace.

The site being on a hillside appears to be made up of terraces of different levels, with views out over the valley.

We were instructed to drive out of the site to access the tent field, which was a 10 second drive to the next entrance. This has a small gravel car park with wooden barriers preventing access onto the field. Unfortunately the field was of very poor quality with more weeds evident than grass.

The field sloped away and the ground was extremely sodden and water logged. The field is very small and almost triangular shape with high wire mesh fencing and trees surrounding the field, which obscured the view of the valley and caused a closed in sensation. A small gate in the far corner leads to steep steps to the terraces and facilities below. As there were some tents already pitched, the only space available did not have electric near it and would have meant trailing cable across the field or across the gateway.

In view of the field being of a very poor quality and cables not reaching the ehu, the manager was informed, extensions were offered but even then would not have reached. In the end we declined to stay, which the manager was understanding about and a full refund was given on the next working day.

I wouldn't recommend the tent field, however the touring terrace below appeared to be better, although as stated did appear to have small pitch sizes. I am unable to fully comment on the facilities as the the toilets were used only briefly, but presented as clean and basic. 


Previous     108 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Beacon Fell View Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Beacon Fell View Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Beacon Fell View Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Beacon Fell View Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Preston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4506 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement