Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Beacon Fell View Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Preston > Beacon Fell View Holiday Park Reviews

Beacon Fell View Holiday Park
110 Higher Road
Longridge
Preston
Lancashire   (Browse area)
PR3 2TF
Tel: 01772 783233
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 54
Open: 01/03/2021 to 14/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 108 Reviews
                7/10 from 108 Reviews

Photos (11)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  108 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Raston 7 reviews from this member

 This place was not for us - I'm sure it suits some people but we did not like this site. We may have felt differently if our hard standing pitches didn't feel like a tesco car park. Small pitches overlooking a park full of screaming kids is not my idea of a break. The toilet block was dated and not the cleanest I've seen. The pressure on the taps is very good and will drench you when washing your hands. The showers were good though but a little annoying when the button has to be pressed every 5 seconds.

The staff were friendly and welcoming on reception but this did not compensate for a tired site. Not much to do in the local area so felt isolated once the camper was pitched.

There was an entertainment programme mainly aimed at children and we didn't visit the bar or swimming pool. I'm sorry to say that we couldn't stay and left after the first night even though we were booked in for 3 nights. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Blackpoolmartin 6 reviews from this member

 Hagan's beacon fell. Just returned (a day early) from there, very very disappointed. Where to start

Good points. Reception staff very helpful, views stunning. That's it.

Bad points. Pitches so tight together, not level and full of weeds and grass even though hardstanding.

Noise. A party went on till 3am in the camping field 1st night we were there. I went to reception to complain the next morning and she said they don't have 24hr security on this time of year. Hang on, its bank holiday and full. I told her I would ring the police if it happened again.

Toilets and shower block ( only 1) dirty and most of time half of them had either no paper or was blocked. Entrance to toilets was an assault course due to being flooded outside the doors.

Kids park was a bog due to being in the woods so muddy and wet.

Crazy golf for kids half of it was falling to bits or already broke.

Entertainment for kids during day virtual non existent unless the kids happy to sit in front of a screen and watch a film.

Entertainment at night for kids and adults, the most amateurish I have seen and the clubhouse has nowhere near enough seats and tables to get everyone in, we were in from 7pm and it was packed already.

Swimming pool, well who has a pool but no showers ?? People was leaving the pool and wrapping towel around them to walk the 100yards to showers. Crazy.

Toilets in the bar area. One of the urinals was blocked when we arrived on Saturday and still blocked Sunday evening after being reported.

2 pool tables and 1 was broke the whole time we were there and was not willing to wait an hour to join the queue for a game. Arcade a joke.

Overall, I did research the site and it looked ok but to see masses of caravans and tourers leaving early I am not the only disgruntled camper. Bank holiday and they cannot get it right then they never will. Would I return ?

Never in a million years or if they spent millions on total refurbs. A camping neighbour of ours said their other site in no better. Another off the list. Save your money and go elsewhere 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Silkpilot 5 reviews from this member

 Just enjoyed a weekend break here. The site is well laid out with tourers and tents pitched in a reasonable location not too far from the toilets and the play area which proved a massive hit with the children.

The hardstandings are not massive and at a pinch you can get the 'van, awning and car alongside but then there is no room room to site outside!

I couldn't fault the friendly attitude of all the staff who do make an effort to ensure everything is as good as the facilities allow.

The swimming pool made a very pleasant change to the sites we normally visit and again this was well run with friendly approachable lifeguards.

On the Saturday evening we ventured into the bar and enjoyed some good entertainment. More importantly we were made to feel welcome despite the significant numbers of regulars from the static/mobile homes residents. The kids enjoyed the indoor play area tremendously, again well supervised even late on a Saturday evening.

We treated ourselves to fish and chips on the Friday evening from 'Tony's Top Chippy' less than a mile down the road in Longridge. Superb was the verdict.

As previously pointed out the toilet block is definitely in need of a revamp. Missing mirrors, missing toilet seats, makeshift locks all left a disappointing taste to what otherwise is a lovely site. We will return to enjoy what is overall a pleasant site. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ethan0796 16 reviews from this member

 Just had a great weekend at this site in our tent. Was given a pitch in the top field which is a small field not very level and is said to have 10 pitches in total. Thankfully only 6 set up for the weekend. Would imagine it would be pretty cramped if they allowed 10 tents, more so if the tents are large tents. Not able to park your car on the pitch, little graveled area next to the field. We had ehu and had no problems with it. The field was just round the corner from the children's play area, down steep steps- little ones will need help. Not the best play facilities but the tire zip thingy seemed a hit with the kids. Just needs a little face lift, looks tired and a little untidy. Shower facilities not bad but again need a face lift. Was also told by other campers that the showers are one temperature only- freezing! needless to say I opted for a shower in the pool area which was lovely and hot, but to hot for little ones. Toilet roll was also hit and miss- my advice take your own. The pools are great and no need to book, like at other sites. My only gripe was it was the hottest day of the year (sat 6th July) and all the doors needed to be opened but was told due to safety- must stay closed!

Had a drink from the bar which was slightly expensive at over 5 for a glass of white wine, didn't venture in again for entertainment, so not able to comment. Staff at reception very friendly. Pot wash facilities 2 sinks but one hot tap not working- could be better. Would I go again- yes, my kids loved it, but think I would prefer a pitch opposite the shower block to save having to walk up and down the steep steps each time you wanted the toilet, shower, wash pots, empty rubbish. But only a couple of pitches and on a slope. Marks out of 10-7 paid 50. 82 for 2 nights with hook up.

One last thing, looking for somewhere nice to eat head to corporation arms only 20 min walk via local foot path. Lovely beer garden and food excellent, kids meals great value for money- large portions. Chicken & bacon salad 10. 50- so not the cheapest place to eat but lovely. Will go again. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Glennonjd 13 reviews from this member

 Not visited the site in 18-months and not too much has changed.

The grocery shop is now adjacent to reception (where the gym used to be). The gym is now in the unit next to the shower block that used to sell camping equipment. The portable snack van behind the clubhouse is gone for the moment. All else structure wise looks the same to me.

The team has changed with a couple of dedicated staff taken on to look after entertainment. We were there over the May bank-holiday and we caught the bingo, kids dances and a superb Neil Diamond tribute act. The Yes/No game was fun also. Although there was much laughter from my family describing the entertainment on the Sunday night, noting the young ladies are awful singers with lots of enthusiasm dragging down a talented singer.

Anyhow, delighted to say we had a great stay. The pool is immaculate and the life-guards diligent and courteous. They close 30-mins before the stated time but that's well stated in the literature. There was no litter around the site and the grass and flowers were in great condition.

The shower/toilet block has seen better days and needs a re-tile/refit to bring it up to spec. Saying that, it was clean and the showers unlimited, spacious and hot. A few hooks wouldn't go amiss.

The sluice room is big and useful for emptying chem toilets and grey waste. Put your lid and flaps to one side - I've dropped mine in the sluice once before - won't make that mistake again. !

The touring pitches are not huge and do slope so ensure to use stackapads / wood blocks or find some bricks for you rear steadies. The slope on the pitch and proximity of the van to the wooden pitch stakes can make manoeuvring precarious and difficult. Thank heavens for motor movers :). Saying that, we had space for our large van, a good size porch awning and our car so not too bad.

The pitches are all hard standing with large gravel / stone base - so storm pegs only for your awning folks.

We found all staff and visitors to be friendly. The kids tend to congregate around the play park or arcade. Minimal noise up to around 11pm or midnight as people go back to their units, but no big issues for us and no nuisance neighbours or large parties.

We took a great walk down from the picnic area to the reservoir and enjoyed a walk around it. En-route back to the site, we actually saw two roe deer which was a charming surprise.

We ate at Francos Italian Ristorante just outside Longridge on the way to/from the M6 a couple of times. We always enjoy the food and team there. Get there Friday night or Sunday afternoon to catch Jason Rea their table-hopping magician. Makes Dynamo look like an amateur.

A good site with a great team, just needs a little tlc here and there.

Go and find out for yourselves. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cheryl.mark 91 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a weekend at Beacon Fell. We have visited this site several times but not been for a couple of years as last time we went we weren't impressed. Things have changed since my last review and for the better. They have tidied the site up. The entertainers at night were really good and there was bingo and quizzes and a singer on Sat, we enjoyed it. The pitches are gravel and you will struggle if you have a large twin axle so make sure you inform the site prior as some pitches are not big enough for large units.

I cant comment on the toilet block as we don't use them we use our own. The pool temp was warm and the showers were lovely in the pool area, the sauna was also really nice, we had lovely time on the Saturday. We had a walk around the statics on the Saturday and were amazed at the amount of empty static pitches dotted around the site.

We only paid 21 for the weekend and they are doing offers for 50% off touring pitches if you book by a certain date which is brilliant. I wouldn't want to pay full price, however, It does look like they are trying to make improvements.

The only negative I would say is there were lots of older kids hanging around the clubhouse pool table area at night and they were swearing, I did mention this to management, there are a lot of static and seasonal tourers on so there is a community on this site which is evident, however, everyone was friendly and the staff were too.

We will be returning to this site later on in the year on one of the offers. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrsstanley 4 reviews from this member

 We have just got back from here and had a great time, this is a lovely site with very friendly helpful staff. We had a good sized pitch opposite the shower block with electric hookup. Toilets and showers were clean indoor pool was great with a life guard. They also had a nice bar with a stage area entertainment every night, with kris and Sarah who were fantastic.

We paid about 22 for 2 nights camping and will be going again soon my husband and son were very disappointed to be going home a good time for all highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Benrivo 12 reviews from this member

 We were unfortunate to be at Beacon Fell on a very cold bank holiday weekend. The weather was compounded by the freezing cold amenity block which had no apparent heating. Apart from the subzero temperatures it seemed that nothing had changed in there in the last 20 years! Very depressing and grim!

The caravan pitches were rather cramped but most did offer good views but it would be a struggle to fit an awning on and park the car. It was very noisy and not at all relaxing with kids playing footy against our caravan.

The clubhouse was relatively new but cold and there were some children playing football around the tables. We were too cold to even contemplate the pool.

It is a bit of a walk into Longridge from the site. If you don't mind using the car there are a few nice pubs in the area. We made the mistake of going to the Sun Inn in Chipping which was overpriced and cold, not offering much in the way of a decent meal. All in all we won't be returning to the site 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Microwave64 8 reviews from this member

 Just returned from an easter weekend at this site. Overall very nice but few points, shower block left a lot to be desired, never saw a cleaner, and hardly ever any toilet roll. Had one hot shower, one tepid shower and one cold shower. Staff were very helpful. Swimming pool was very good, entertainment area didn`t see cleaners by the looks of it either, except for the receptionist we saw on sunday cleaning after reception closed. 3 p/p for the crazy golf was a rip off, no score cards given. Entertainment was good, from what we saw, could do with selling a bit more food in the bar, Pizzas were the only thing they sold. We would go back, the cost was great. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TheCarrolls 4 reviews from this member

 Booked a 2 night stay in our touring caravan in April and we were very disappointed.

My Husband has played pub football for many years and safe to say the council toilets and showering facilities were much cleaner!

The children's play area looked like it had been abandoned 20 years ago and the staff on reception were quite rude.

If you are after a site that offers beer, crisps and pizza with a swimming pool to entertain the kids whilst you're in the pub, then you may find it quite good but I will not be visiting the site again 


Previous     108 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Beacon Fell View Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Beacon Fell View Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Beacon Fell View Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Beacon Fell View Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Preston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3661 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement