Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Beacon Fell View Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Preston > Beacon Fell View Holiday Park Reviews

Beacon Fell View Holiday Park
110 Higher Road
Longridge
Preston
Lancashire   (Browse area)
PR3 2TF
Tel: 01772 783233
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 54
Open: 01/03/2021 to 14/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 108 Reviews
                7/10 from 108 Reviews

Photos (11)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  108 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Melsandiford@fsmail 6 reviews from this member

 Can I start by saying I do not usually like to write reviews but really wanted to express my opinions of this site.

I used to go to this site when I was a child and though t it would be nice to return 28 years later to see the changes etc. On arrival we were seen to in the lovely reception area by a very helpful member of staff, check-in was easy and pleasant.

The site is set on a tiered hillside with stunning views over Beacon fell, the toilets are clean most of the time but that is where the good points stop.

The camping field leaves a lot to be desired, seems like it is more of an after thought in my opinion, we later found that a considerable amount of the gravelled pitches (which are much better) were being left empty but so were a little confused as to why we were allocated our plot on the after thought field.

We were told that the whole field was electric based however, there were only 2 electric points, so if you were unlucky enough to arrive later that everyone else you will need about a 200ft lead to reach the electric hook-up.

The camping field is at the very top of the site up 2 very steep flights of steps all very well if it is dry but in the wet they became lethal. You cannot park your car next to the tent and the field is far from secure as it is directly on the road which resembled Silverstone race circuit most of the time.

The field itself is not level, neither is it very well drained so becomes very muddy with a little rain.

The toilets and showers were mostly clean. The 2 shops on site were reasonably well stocked although there was not a great deal of choice on food. The 'cafe' was just like a little burger van who's staff never seemed to want to smile - although they did do a good breakfast!

So, to summarise, if you like hiking up steep steps, want a no frills 'field' to just set up in and lots of noisy and rude teenagers/men hanging about then this is the site for you, however if you want a nice quiet relaxing weekend (in keeping with the beautiful scenery) then find another site.

Would we return to Beacon fell - very doubtful. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alliea99 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent site, friendly staff. We had a problem as our pitch was already occupied and this was resolved quickly and without fuss by the excellent reception team. We also forgot our passes to the pool and after checking our details, the reception team let us into the pool. Top service.

Only downside is that the small swimming pool was a bit dirty around the outside, apart from that, the site was really clean, the toilets were clean and site staff seemed to be working constantly to keep the site tidy.

Our 4 year old loved the indoor and outdoor play areas.

The views from the touring pitches are stunning. Would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hazeybabes 2 reviews from this member

 Arrived Thursday pm had the whole field to ourselves, on inspection quite stony and small pitch.

Campsite is directly of the road which is used at night as a race track and with your car not next to your tent security was an issue so could not use facilities the first night.

Felt more secure on Friday when more people arrived then discovered the very steep steps to the toilet block, not good for people with walking difficulties or children.

Overall clean toilets and a good size pool but poor value for the money. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Angie73 5 reviews from this member

 Excellent site, although pitches were on the small side, we had a large trailer tent but eventually ended up with a great spot and great views. Swimming pool was really good and I never saw it really busy which was a good thing.

We never went to the bar at night but had drinks there during the day and prices were reasonable. The staff were very friendly.This is an ideal place for exploring surrounding areas, we went to liverpool, blackpool, morecambe etc.

Had a problem with showers not working but we could use showers in 2 of the static vans so not a big problem, the site has a lot of seasonal tourers on it but they we're very friendly and made us feel welcome. We had a really good week with lots of sun as well and we would return again. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: OLLIEB 8 reviews from this member

 Just spent the bank hol weekend here.

First the good; lovely bar, pool, staff,kids club.

Now the bad; set in a disused quarry that looks like its in the process of being landfilled and amongst the rubbish, there's a few statics plonked here and there.

The pitches (tourers) are all cramped, some vans even had their tow hitches in the road / track. Our pitch sloped so much that you couldn't even ground the awning without sloping the van, then of course the fridge / plumbing went all to cock, as the van wasn't level.

Toilets / showerblock;

Take your own looroll as it soon runs out and even though they get mopped out, that's where it stops, trap doors kicked and battered.

There are some seasonal tourers that are dug in and I mean dug in with no organisation amongst them, (we experienced a lot of late night noise through to the small hours from them). 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Outwellgang 1 review from this member

 Very nice site great facilities for the price excellent value for money. Children loved it. We went with several other families and had to camp on hard standing due to problem with camp field. However it was a great compromise no messy grass & mud from children's shoes. Only downside was ladies showers way too hot / scalding and men's freezing.

Staff were very helpful and accommodating eager to help and customer service excellent. Pool & sauna very good thoroughly enjoyed our five night stay. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jessica rabbit 8 reviews from this member

 On arrival I went to reception to book in and we had to pay a 5 deposit (refundable) for the toilets and showers. We were handed a map with our pitch on it.

The pitches were very small and we found it a bit of a pain to get in as our caravan is fairly big. The pitches were hardstanding so good pegs are required if you are putting an awning up. The views were lovely from our pitch. We loved this site and thought it was great for families.

The facilities were clean all of the time. There is music in the toilets / showers. The showers took a while to warm up but once they did they were hot (if anything I would say a little bit too hot for toddlers) There is a fast food van on site which we did try one day and the food and prices were both reasonable.

There is an indoor swimming pool and sauna which we took our kids too and they loved it. The pool is clean and doesn't get too overcrowded. There are also two parks for children and a kids club each day.

The staff were very friendly on this site. We went into the bar area to have a look around and found there is also a small 'wacky warehouse' style play area. It was closed when we got to it at 3pm as it closes from 3pm until 7pm but the lady on reception gave us the key and said we could use it as long as we stayed with our kids to supervise them and didn't let any other unsupervised children in. This was great for our children as well as our friends children who just had the place to themselves.

The bar area is good too (although I think the drinks were very pricey) There is a kids disco in the evening with a kids entertainer. There was a race night later on for the adults which was good fun. We will definitely be returning to this site. Its great for families as there is plenty to do for kids (you could also hire bikes from reception) 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stanamara 2 reviews from this member

 Having used this Site for my first ever break away in a touring caravan in 1978 when I was 20 years of age I have continued to use it, elevating from a Tourer to a Static. My mother, my sister and I all owned Statics on this Site when it was Haven Warners. Over the years we spent there, between us we actually swapped and changed our 'vans to the extent of a total of 16 Static Caravans. And boy oh boy, were we ripped off. We all left the Site and carried on doing our own things.

However, I digress, after the Static my partner and I decided to take up Touring again and our first Port of Call was Beacon Fell. What a difference since Haven sold out. The Site was run down, litter everywhere, toilet facilities were dreadful. We vowed that we would not return.

But we went back in August for a long weekend. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, the Site has made a come back. The Staff are fantastic and go out of there way to help you. Yes, there is noise at all times, but it is a FAMILY Site, what else can you expect? I do agree with several comments made about dog fowling, (Come on dog Owners-don;t let the side down) all you need is a scoop bag.

I have to totally disagree with a comment made by AHITON in the review where he/she says that they could not find many places to take a walk. What???? Beacon Fell Caravan Park is situated in the midst of the most glorious countryside that Lancashire has to offer, you have merely got to go to the Site Entrance and turn either left or right and you will have all the walks that your heart could desire.

Tenters, ever heard of obtaining pegs which are specifically made for hard ground?

I am so satisfied with this Site that I have booked again for the end of this month, along with a further 8 members of my family and friends.

Beacon Fell Caravan Site is a Site for Families. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vicster67 1 review from this member

 Just came back from the site and thought the site was marvellous. Good pool.Sauna, kids loved the play area,club n pub all good.Showers and loos fine too. Felt very at ease and safe. Very tidy site too with friendly folk. So we will be going back definitely. To sum up it was a very family friendly site in a pleasant surrounding

And is highly recommended.Nearby there plenty of restaurants and other shops should you require anything. Plenty of scenic walks too.Not that we did any like ! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 1974liz 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 1 night after, we used to stay often many years ago and decided to give it a go. What a site this is how camping should be.Clean toilets/showers/pot wash. Clean site, good lighting a warden patroling (but not moaning),great park,and clubhouse(75p for 2 hrs in the wacky)and the best swimming pool with a sauna in.This is by far the best site we have stayed on only down side is 27 per night is slightly expensive,but I guess you get what you pay for! plus probley not good for disabled access for people with prams has steep steps down to facilities. We cant wait to return to this site, this is not camping but glamping! 


Previous     108 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Beacon Fell View Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Beacon Fell View Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Beacon Fell View Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Beacon Fell View Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Preston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5587 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement