Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Beacon Fell View Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Preston > Beacon Fell View Holiday Park Reviews

Beacon Fell View Holiday Park
110 Higher Road
Longridge
Preston
Lancashire   (Browse area)
PR3 2TF
Tel: 01772 783233
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 54
Open: 01/03/2021 to 14/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 108 Reviews
                7/10 from 108 Reviews

Photos (11)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  108 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrs Hob 2 reviews from this member

 We booked this site for the Easter weekend. We read the reviews and though we would give it a go because of the extra facilities (pool & club house).

Pro's - the town of Longridge is lovely and the pubs and restaurants are child friendly with good food and reasonably priced. On the site - the evening entertainment in the club house was good especially the entertainment team.

Con's - The toilet/wash facilities are on a par with town centre toilets! They were grubby with no heating and no separate sink cubicles. Some of the toilets were blocked and just left and not all had toilet roll. The showers are very dated and in need of replacement and if you don't get there early enough in the morning there will be no hot water - as I found out at 10am one morning - only to be told by reception that everyone must have had a shower that morning. The electric on site was hit and miss especially for the voltage. Our fridge has an indicator that tells you what the problem is and every night it was flashing insufficient voltage. The pool was also grubby and only one of the two showers working.

I could go on but I won't. Would we visit the site again NO - was the entertainment good YES. For money that the site charges you would expect it to the clean and in good working order but it was a let down. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lollyrose 2 reviews from this member

 We visit this site as its near to home, we usually go after work on Friday and stay over until Sunday. We love the site its in a lovely location with nice views.

The pitches are small so make sure you ring first and tell them the length of your caravan. The entertainment is the club house is good and our 8 year old daughter loves it.

The pool has always been clean and tidy, with a lifeguard present at all times. Overall this site is a nice family site with great helpful staff and in our opinion good value for money. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cazza20 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our first weekend at this site.

We booked online which doesn't give you the opportunity to enter caravan length, therefore on arrival we found that our 24ft caravan was given a 16ft pitch, however the staff were very helpful and allocated us 1 of the 2 remaining larger pitches, downside was that we were located under the trees next to the seasonal tourers where the staff live so we did feel a little isolated but at least we have no complaints about noise even though we were next to the park. (not sure what we would have done had there been no spaces)

As mentioned in a previous post, the pitches are sloping but fortunately we had blocks to put under the back legs.

Because of where we were located, there wasn't much room to manoeuvre the car to hitch back up so struggled a bit this morning trying to push the caravan (no mover). On looking at the other touring pitches on the higher levels this would not have been a problem so advice would be to anyone with a larger caravan and booking online to ring the site first to check availability (this was advice given to us by a member of staff).

The showers were okay but again as mentioned previously could do with a bit of sprucing up, although in the shower I used the water only ran for a couple of seconds before having to push button again - they were warm enough though.

We did use the bar, however bearing in mind it was happy hour, I think more staff could be working behind the bar (there were 3 but only 1 working)! so advice is to order a couple of drinks when you first go in as you won't get another before the cut off time.

The area around the site is outstanding and the site is ideally situated for nipping into Longridge for Takeaway - supermarkets (Sainsbury & Booths) I can highly recommend Happy Valley Chop Suey takeaway on the main street.

I think this site would be good for families as the facilities for the children seemed excellent, would probably take the grandchildren but only if I was located in a different spot and it was on a cheap weekend deal again. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Towbarjim 20 reviews from this member

 High season rates at 28/night for pitch with electric. There was a 20% discount included which brought the price down, but then there was a 20% vat included which brought the price up again to 28/night. We were accompanied by two small grandchildren, who thoroughly enjoyed the play area and the superb swimming pool, of which they made the most of, every afternoon.

The heavy daily downpour of rain put a slight damper on the stay, but that is UK weather. There was a kids club and there was evening entertainment with a licensed bar. There is a shop for minor items. We were disappointed with the appointed pitch being directly next to an overflowing communal bin, which attracted every fly in the neighbourhood and the local cat, but after 3 nights the matter of the loose bags was drawn to the attention of the management and the bins were emptied - some problem with their contractors. Had we been positioned on the next level, where space appeared plentiful, we would have been free of the bin problem and enjoyed an open view of the countryside.

Having said all that we shall be returning sometime with the grandchildren and it is a site I would recommend for a family to enjoy. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sue21raw 1 review from this member

 We've just come back from a 5 night stay at the holiday park and it was great. Although it was quiet whilst we were there, it soon started to fill up on the Saturday morning we were leaving. I'm glad we left when we did, as it would've been too busy and noisy.

The pitches are very close together, so when the pitches both sides of us were taken, we felt like there was no privacy and felt we were being overlooked.

Up until then, we had lovely views and it felt tranquil. I would stay there again, but it will definitely be mid week again. The toilet block was excellent, just a shame there was only one.

The showers were nice and hot and there was always toilet roll in the loos. The playground was a bit sparse, but what it did have kept kids laughing the whole time.

The pub and entertainment were good. Its what you make of it that counts if you want to join in. There's quiz night and karaoke etc.

The on site shop had essential items like milk, cheese, bread etc, but just a 10 minute walk down the road and there was a small corner shop that had everything else. And just a 20min drive is Preston. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Martincooke 5 reviews from this member

 Just had 5 days on the site. Overall a very pleasant quiet experience. Apart from a group of idiots who pitched next to us and drank all night until they were escorted off site in the morning. The view from our pitch was outstanding. The whole site is looking very tired and in need of an update and general tidy up. The pitches are small and very close together and on gravel/stones. The clubhouse is very nicely decorated although the staff were a bit lazy, at one point we had to wait to be served until the barman came off the bandit. The pool was clean and tidy but again tired. We have decided we will go back again when we get our caravan but only for a weekend 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Greented 7 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely time at the site with great facilities. We had booked this site in case the weather was bad and we could then spend the day in the pool. The ball park in the bar area was a god send as it meant we could eat and chat while the children played.

Facilities were clean at all times and the staff very friendly. We ate out at longridge at the duke of william hotel/pub. It was very quiet, which we didn't understand, as the food was very well priced and absolutely gorgeous.

Although the site appears on the expensive side there are no extra charges for showers and electricity. Well worth it especially with the little playground area in the park.

Will be going again. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Lindseyrichards 1 review from this member

 We visited this site with our two children ages 4 and 7, we were located on the hard standing pitches overlooking beacon fell. Our friends were in the tent field which had a lovely layout and atmosphere.

After reading some of the negative reviews, we were pleasantly surprised. The site was clean and tidy, toilet blocks were clean and fit for purpose, I had no problems on the one occasion I had to wash the pots, there was no queue and no viability issues. The facilities are a short walk from the camping area and yes there are steps and would not be recommended for people with disabilities (although I saw an older couple driving to the toilet/showers).

The club house was welcoming and the children loved the entertainment on offer. There was a mini disco followed by games and opportunity to show off their unique talents. For the adults, bingo, quizzes and a singer on the Saturday.

The pool was a lovely addition to this site and included in the overall price. It was never overcrowded and the facilities were good. I also saw the lifeguard checking the water on each of our visits.

Overall this site is excellent value for money and English weather permitting, we will visit again soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Stevefoster1963 7 reviews from this member

 Let's start with the positives - great views from the site over the valley and out towards the Fylde coast, although this means the site is quite exposed.

The on-site swimming pool was good and included in the price of the pitch.

Now the not so good - pitches are hard-standing gravel and sloping, they are quite tightly packed together. The area around the pitches is quite scruffy and just feels like it needs a good clean.

The toilet/shower block is a fair trek from the pitches, and they are very, very tired. They need a full refurbishment and also need more regular cleaning, simply not a pleasant place to spend any time. Washing up area consists of 2 sinks, very poorly lit and generally pretty dirty - so be prepared!

The facilities in general are pretty scruffy, consisting of a very limited shop selling the minimal basics (no fresh bread whilst we were there - much better to try the nearby shop, although check the sell-by dates on the chiller food!) and a couple of bar areas - only food available are pizzas heated behind the bar.

The site feels like it needs a really good spruce up, generally tatty and needing some money spending on it.

Anything else? We weren't impressed by the caravan next to us arriving at 11. 30pm and proceeding to noisily set-up for the next hour or so - there doesn't seem to be anything stopping late (or noisy) arrivals. Also not impressed by the same people thinking it was a good idea to throw plastic bags of dog poo into the hedge next to us - is this setting the scene. ?

On the whole a good location but a very tired and scruffy site. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Happy gang 3 reviews from this member

 Good site in lovely location. Very friendly campers. Toilets need more more toilet rolls but clean with good facilities.

The play ground is dated but very useful to pass an hour with the children. There is know where to play football the site would benefit from a 'Cage' for outdoor games.

The club is very clean but the chairs are rather uncomfortable in the main room. The chairs in the main TV lounge are comfy leather sofas. Swimming pool excellent.

We were disappointed no hot food outlet on site and a very limited shop facility. Plenty of places to visit without travelling too far.

Overall enjoyed the break and will return. 


Previous     108 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Beacon Fell View Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Beacon Fell View Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Beacon Fell View Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Beacon Fell View Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Preston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5832 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement