Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of South Penquite Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Bodmin > South Penquite Farm Reviews

South Penquite Farm
South Penquite
Blisland
Bodmin
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL30 4LH
Tel: 01208 850491  or  07494 864246
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 48 Reviews
                9/10 from 48 Reviews

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nicky Hatherell 21 reviews from this member

 Wow! What a site!

Plenty of space to choose from and all on level sites, indoor area for rainy days, hot spacious free shower rooms (solar heated water), free environmentally friendly washing up liquid at the washing up facilities also with free solar heated water. Recycling facilities including a compost bin for fruit skins etc, charging facilities if you want them, free fridge and freezer space.

A specially designed leaflet guided us around a 2 mile walk of the farm land, riverside and moors with great views.

A fantastic ethos on this organic farm.

What more could we have asked? We will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Reverend Badger 3 reviews from this member

 I decided to book this campsite for my son and my main camp of the year.

The owners emailed detailed directions and route advice and I'm glad they did as it meant we were able to avoid the horrendous traffic conditions around Bodmin due to some major roadworks. It also made finding this isolated site very straightforward.

On arrival the reception was closed but clear signs gave opening times so we got on with setting up and booked in later on. There are no marked pitches but there is plenty of room with hedges naturally providing several separate areas and the site didn't feel crowded in the least, despite it being school holiday time. Campfires are encouraged and you're free to grab some stones and build one as close to your pitch as you see fit.

The facilities on site included male and female toilet area with washing up sinks outside and a separate shower block - 4 or 5 showers if remember correctly - also with washing up sinks outside. The shower rooms are very large, plenty of room for the 2 of us to get changed with plenty of hooks for clothes. Each shower also has a brush and mop to encourage you to keep it tidy. Free shower gel and washing up liquid is provided too. Whatever time we used either toilet or shower they were exceptionally clean, a remarkable thing considering it was peak season, even on some rainy days.

The site has both an outdoor play area - a couple of swings, climbing frame and football goal, and a covered, sand floored play barn - table tennis table, football goal and some sofas and chairs. The kids tend to gravitate to these so my son was able to meet and make new friends quite easily. There is also a games room which has a toilet as well.

In keeping with the farm's environmental philosophy there are several recycling bins for various types of waste and we found that people also left unused wood and various other items for other campers to make use of.

I think it is important to stress that the site is in a remote location, the nearest village is a 5 min drive away and has a combined village shop/post office/café and a pub. The nearest supermarkets are in Bodmin, a 20ish min drive each way depending on traffic.

My son and I both loved this site and plan to return for our holiday next year. The remote location is perfect for some star gazing in the evening whilst sat around a campfire with the only noise coming from farm animals. If you like to get away from the hustle and bustle of life the I couldn't recommend this site enough. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Helen98 26 reviews from this member

 The location of this site is quiet and beautiful but it is up on Bodmin Moor, so be prepared for some very tiny roads to get there, often single track with passing places. We also found it hard to find and had to stop and ask for help a couple of times.

Once there though I loved the laid back nature. They say you can arrive any time between dawn and dusk (the same for leaving) and just pop in to see them at the farm between 6-8pm to book in. You can pitch where you like, which combined with the relaxed hours does sound like a recipe for disaster, but there is such a lot of space it never seemed to be an issue. Even though the site was fully booked for most of the week everyone still had more than enough space for whatever tents / gazebos / pup tents etc. They needed.

It is a working farm so be prepared for cats, chickens, ducks and turkeys wandering about.

You are welcome to have campfires and the owners sell wood and kindling. They also sell homemade mutton sausages, which were delicious. There is a fridge and freezer which you are welcome to use and lockers which you can pay for to charge your mobile phone in overnight. There was also a washing machine available to use.

There is loads of space for the kids to play - a football goal, play park, barn with table tennis, a basket ball hoop and a goal and a little reading/games room as well. Mostly ours just liked playing football in the barn.

On Monday nights in the summer there is a chef who comes and makes paella and crepes. Much as the timing of this was very late (about 2 hrs later than the sign said), the food was delicious and, such is the relaxed nature of the site, no one seemd to mind the lateness.

We had various trips out and can highly recommend 'Surfs up' surf school at Polzeath (all of us from age 7-42 enjoyed our lesson there) and the Eden Project. We were given a leaflet at the campsite for a circular 2. 5 hour walk around the farm and were looking forward to doing it, but didn't manage to fit it in.

I would love to say that we will be back here as it is idyllic, relaxed and friendly. But much as it is gorgeous if we visit Cornwall in future we may decide that closer to the coast is preferable, although we did love escaping the crowds and heading back to our quiet campsite at the end of the day for some marshmallows over the campfire. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suethebike 5 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent site. Plenty of space on nice flat fields. The facilities are well-designed, spacious, clean. The solar-powered showers work, there are 4 sinks for washing up under cover, some benches to sit on, a big field for games and a large barn with sofas and a play area. Also an indoor reading/games room. Everything is there and efficiently run.

It's a peaceful place on Bodmin Moor, although there were dogs barking a lot nearby for some of the time. And camp fires are allowed with wood that can be purchased. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AlmaMartyr 4 reviews from this member

 Second visit to the lovely South Penquite. This is one of my favourite campsites. A very relaxed feel to the whole place and plenty for kids to do - mine loved the play area, and were particularly fond of a family of chicks.

Facilities are very clean and some of the best I've come across. I especially like the radio in the bathroom, it's a great touch. The owners are always very welcoming, and very accommodating. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: EJR1501 4 reviews from this member

 The solar showers are AMAZING!

I was a little sceptical at the time of booking, that the solar showers would be warm enough for me, as I tend to like a really hot shower. But I was not disappointed, as the water was perfect, and there was free ecological soap too. The whole farm is a delight to camp on. Geese and cats roam free and there is a fire pit for every tent. The toilets and showers were always clean, and there are lockable cabinets where you can charge small electrical devices like phones and tablets. However, the data reception for O2 is poor, but that's really a minor concern, completely outside of the control of the owners, and let's not forget the farm is in the middle of Bodmin Moor! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ianwd 7 reviews from this member

 Just back from two weeks here. Just to re-iterate what everyone else has said over the past few years really.

Perfect farm site. Hot showers, clean toilets, open fires, plenty of space. Nice not to be peg to peg with the neighbours over the bank holiday!

Trying to think of any negatives, but other than the indifferent weather there aren't really any.

Very laid back, barely saw the owners other than on arrival or as they went about their farmly duties.

Plenty of chickens, cats, turkeys and ducks roam the site.

Lovely moorland spot, slightly exposed but our big family tent survived the strong breezes over the past two weeks.

Would happily return here or recommend it to anyone (if the big commercial sites aren't to your taste of course!).

Only visited the Blisland arms, 20 min walk or 5 min drive. Loads of good beers, food ok, very dog friendly.

Bodmin (7 miles - 15 mins ish) has all the big shops and there is a local shop in St Breward (again, 5 min drive). 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: March 1 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this campsite based on all the good reviews. We couldn't fault it at all. It was the start of the school holidays and we had plenty of space around our pitch. Each pitch you could have an open fire. The family showers were always hot and very spacious. The kids loved the farm animals wandering freely around. All the children migrated to the barn, made lots of friends and enjoyed playing with the hay bales. The campsite was in the middle of nowhere, but that was the beauty of the place. There was a lovely stream a few mins. From the campsite. The nearest village was blisland, with a well stocked up shop. This is not a criticism, just a suggestion, but on the website it says about bushcraft days for the kids, we contacted the person organising it, but unfortunately he didn't have enough takers. It might be worth putting on the website subject to numbers. The shop is not in walking distance, so fresh bread in the morning would of been good, or a possible honesty box, which we have come across at similar campsites. The owners were not on hand like other campsites, which came with the relaxed approach, so any questions or queries had to be sorted out between certain times of the day. Sadly the blue bus didn't arrive during our visit due the man being unwell (we look forward to that next time)! We will definitely come back here again and recommend it to anyone staying in the area. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Njones 26 reviews from this member

 Our 3rd visit. Not returned since 2009 and we won't leave it as long next time.

Fantastic site that appears to only attract pleasant campers.

Great for families. Farm walk is brilliant and with small children and a picnic stop can take a big chunk of the day. Camel Trail nearby. Pub at Blisland good for beer. Go to the one in St Breward if you want something nice to eat.

Play barn new addition since we last visited. Still a lovely low key site though. Main negative is the difficulty persuading the children to leave the site for a few hours. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LevelPitch 1 review from this member

 Can only echo what others have said previously. Excellent and well kept facilities, (showers, washing up places, toilets, fridge, washing m/c and recharging points) as well as an outdoor play area and an indoor room with games and information. Five or so separate areas for camping with great views and a lovely farm trail. The local village, Blisland, which is about a fifteen minute walk away, has a lovely pub as well as a well stocked shop, which includes a post office. Nearby is Lanhydrock, a very impressive National Trust property, which can take up most of a day. Ended up staying longer than intended as it was so good. 


Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is South Penquite Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to South Penquite Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is South Penquite Farm dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bodmin      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4719 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement