Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of South Penquite Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Bodmin > South Penquite Farm Reviews

South Penquite Farm
South Penquite
Blisland
Bodmin
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL30 4LH
Tel: 01208 850491  or  07494 864246
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 45 Reviews
                9/10 from 45 Reviews

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suethebike 5 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent site. Plenty of space on nice flat fields. The facilities are well-designed, spacious, clean. The solar-powered showers work, there are 4 sinks for washing up under cover, some benches to sit on, a big field for games and a large barn with sofas and a play area. Also an indoor reading/games room. Everything is there and efficiently run.

It's a peaceful place on Bodmin Moor, although there were dogs barking a lot nearby for some of the time. And camp fires are allowed with wood that can be purchased. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AlmaMartyr 4 reviews from this member

 Second visit to the lovely South Penquite. This is one of my favourite campsites. A very relaxed feel to the whole place and plenty for kids to do - mine loved the play area, and were particularly fond of a family of chicks.

Facilities are very clean and some of the best I've come across. I especially like the radio in the bathroom, it's a great touch. The owners are always very welcoming, and very accommodating. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: EJR1501 3 reviews from this member

 The solar showers are AMAZING!

I was a little sceptical at the time of booking, that the solar showers would be warm enough for me, as I tend to like a really hot shower. But I was not disappointed, as the water was perfect, and there was free ecological soap too. The whole farm is a delight to camp on. Geese and cats roam free and there is a fire pit for every tent. The toilets and showers were always clean, and there are lockable cabinets where you can charge small electrical devices like phones and tablets. However, the data reception for O2 is poor, but that's really a minor concern, completely outside of the control of the owners, and let's not forget the farm is in the middle of Bodmin Moor! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ianwd 7 reviews from this member

 Just back from two weeks here. Just to re-iterate what everyone else has said over the past few years really.

Perfect farm site. Hot showers, clean toilets, open fires, plenty of space. Nice not to be peg to peg with the neighbours over the bank holiday!

Trying to think of any negatives, but other than the indifferent weather there aren't really any.

Very laid back, barely saw the owners other than on arrival or as they went about their farmly duties.

Plenty of chickens, cats, turkeys and ducks roam the site.

Lovely moorland spot, slightly exposed but our big family tent survived the strong breezes over the past two weeks.

Would happily return here or recommend it to anyone (if the big commercial sites aren't to your taste of course!).

Only visited the Blisland arms, 20 min walk or 5 min drive. Loads of good beers, food ok, very dog friendly.

Bodmin (7 miles - 15 mins ish) has all the big shops and there is a local shop in St Breward (again, 5 min drive). 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: March 1 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this campsite based on all the good reviews. We couldn't fault it at all. It was the start of the school holidays and we had plenty of space around our pitch. Each pitch you could have an open fire. The family showers were always hot and very spacious. The kids loved the farm animals wandering freely around. All the children migrated to the barn, made lots of friends and enjoyed playing with the hay bales. The campsite was in the middle of nowhere, but that was the beauty of the place. There was a lovely stream a few mins. From the campsite. The nearest village was blisland, with a well stocked up shop. This is not a criticism, just a suggestion, but on the website it says about bushcraft days for the kids, we contacted the person organising it, but unfortunately he didn't have enough takers. It might be worth putting on the website subject to numbers. The shop is not in walking distance, so fresh bread in the morning would of been good, or a possible honesty box, which we have come across at similar campsites. The owners were not on hand like other campsites, which came with the relaxed approach, so any questions or queries had to be sorted out between certain times of the day. Sadly the blue bus didn't arrive during our visit due the man being unwell (we look forward to that next time)! We will definitely come back here again and recommend it to anyone staying in the area. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Njones 26 reviews from this member

 Our 3rd visit. Not returned since 2009 and we won't leave it as long next time.

Fantastic site that appears to only attract pleasant campers.

Great for families. Farm walk is brilliant and with small children and a picnic stop can take a big chunk of the day. Camel Trail nearby. Pub at Blisland good for beer. Go to the one in St Breward if you want something nice to eat.

Play barn new addition since we last visited. Still a lovely low key site though. Main negative is the difficulty persuading the children to leave the site for a few hours. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LevelPitch 1 review from this member

 Can only echo what others have said previously. Excellent and well kept facilities, (showers, washing up places, toilets, fridge, washing m/c and recharging points) as well as an outdoor play area and an indoor room with games and information. Five or so separate areas for camping with great views and a lovely farm trail. The local village, Blisland, which is about a fifteen minute walk away, has a lovely pub as well as a well stocked shop, which includes a post office. Nearby is Lanhydrock, a very impressive National Trust property, which can take up most of a day. Ended up staying longer than intended as it was so good. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Heather41 1 review from this member

 A fabulous setting with all the amenities that you need to camp. Very clean family sized shower rooms and plenty of washing up stations, showers & loos. A freezer, fridge, washing machine, tumble dryer and charging facilities were available. The best thing about South Penquite is that it wasn't over crowded. It was a very friendly campsite. Settling down to an evening around a camp fire sipping wine whilst the little one was asleep was my kind of holiday. Being greeted every morning by ducks, chickens, turkeys & one of the farm cats was lovely. We took a liking to the ginger tom (name not known) & Missy who took to sleeping on one of our camp chairs for a few nights - made you feel at home. My only negative point to our stay was we weren't there long enough. A lovely peaceful campsite safe for children. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Squeezyveazeys 2 reviews from this member

 Can't really praise this campsite enough. We loved it! Open fires (on the ground with a ring of stones) yummy organic mutton burgers & sausages from the the farm, chilled out site and like-minded campers, middle of nowhere, incredible views of Bodmin (we saw a wild pony licking her newborn foal just outside the entrance to the campsite, ) great indoor and outdoor play areas for the children, hot and free solar showers and great facilities, no marked out pitches.

It did help that we had the best weather of the summer holidays, but from this location there is so much to see and do even if it's not beach weather. We stayed for one week and left wishing we could stay for two. Can't wait to return next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The bells liverpool 3 reviews from this member

 This site is wonderful, as others have said by far the most tranquil, beautiful, well thought-out site we've been to. The weather helped - we were fortunate to have sunshine for our week's stay - but the facilities are so good I think you'd enjoy it even in the rain. Great for kids - the outside play area is lovely, and there's a games barn with table football, volley ball etc and an indoor games room for when it rains.

Even in the first week of the summer hols it wasn't busy, no waits for showers, really, and plenty of space to spread out.

Bodmin moor is stunning, although we didn't see much of it as we spent most of the trip on beaches, many of which are within a 30-40 mins drive. Also great location for the Eden Project, which is incredible.

If pushed for a gripe I'd say he freezer was a bit rubbish, but really that's not much to complain about. We'll be back, without a doubt! 


Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is South Penquite Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to South Penquite Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is South Penquite Farm dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bodmin      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3424 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement