Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of South Penquite Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Bodmin > South Penquite Farm Reviews

South Penquite Farm
South Penquite
Blisland
Bodmin
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL30 4LH
Tel: 01208 850491  or  07494 864246
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 46 Reviews
                9/10 from 46 Reviews

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The bells liverpool 3 reviews from this member

 This site is wonderful, as others have said by far the most tranquil, beautiful, well thought-out site we've been to. The weather helped - we were fortunate to have sunshine for our week's stay - but the facilities are so good I think you'd enjoy it even in the rain. Great for kids - the outside play area is lovely, and there's a games barn with table football, volley ball etc and an indoor games room for when it rains.

Even in the first week of the summer hols it wasn't busy, no waits for showers, really, and plenty of space to spread out.

Bodmin moor is stunning, although we didn't see much of it as we spent most of the trip on beaches, many of which are within a 30-40 mins drive. Also great location for the Eden Project, which is incredible.

If pushed for a gripe I'd say he freezer was a bit rubbish, but really that's not much to complain about. We'll be back, without a doubt! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Frisbee 2 reviews from this member

 There are many reasons to rate this campsite so highly. One is that there are no caravans. Another, that it is deep in the Bodmin moor and surrounded by horses, sheep, longhorns, rabbits, frogs, ducks, chickens.

There are no signs forbidding you from doing what you wouldn't do anyway. All seems to be done with great consideration for the environment.

If you plan to stay one night there, you will end up wanting to stay for longer. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Snowiejames 2 reviews from this member

 Absolutely wonderful site. Peaceful, clean, all the facilities you need, perfect if you want to get away from it all. I really can't fault it. The showers were hot, and there was ever a queue. The site was full but hardly crowded. We were expecting people to pitch up next to us but everyone had room to spread out. Nice and quiet at night. We both slept very well, despite the rain hammering down! I like the Eco credentials of this site, wind and solar power and recycling.

Plenty to see and do nearby and once you navigate your way around the lanes it's pretty easy to get around. Recommend the Blisland Inn about a mile away for real ales and passing the time when it rains. A walk up to the Cheesewring and the Hurlers was magical, both are only a short drive away. We also loved Lanhydrock, a National Trust property near Bodmin.

I can't wait to go back. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Redlr 1 review from this member

 Excellent campsite in beautiful location. Very few people camping when we were there, just before the Jubilee bank holiday (it was beginning to fill up when we left).

Toilet/shower facilities were clean. We particularly liked being able to have a fire, and there were spare griddles to borrow (good, because we forgot to take ours!)

Beautiful walks/cycling from campsite. Very quiet and peaceful.

The overly friendly farm cat was slightly annoying at times - as we're not really cat lovers! But it wasn't a problem at all.

Owners were very helpful and their lamburgers were delicious! 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Doodle_spud 1 review from this member

 Once you manage to find the farm (fairly easy) you roll in and pick a field to pitch in (there are 4) they don't allocate pitches so your free to stretch out! the owners are on site from 9-10am and 6-8pm - you have to go and find them in their house and settle the bill - if you have any questions they are very friendly and helpful!

It is a working farm with all kinds of chickens, hens, ducks wondering freely around the fields. (put to bed at night) 3 cats some sheep and pigs - so if animals arnt your cup of tea this is not the place for you! I was stalked by the loose birds for 2 days and they will help themselves to your food if not watched!

Facility wise.

#toilets - are clean and very nice and even have music playing in there. There are also 2 plugs (very handy for straighteners ladies)

#showers - there are 4 and again very clean and spacious.

#fridge and freezer

#lockers with keys for charging mobile phones (pay 6 and when you return the key you get 5 back)

#drinking water via tap

#washing up sinks

#'games room' with a few books in and children's games and seats

#small children's play area

#fire wood and kindling (yes you are allowed REAL camp fires) - there are stones in a pile for buildin a small wall for ur fire.

Only bad points are.

#no on site shop - this site really needs a little shop - just to sell the necessities ie bread, milk etc (tent pegs lol) because.

#no major shops/towns nearby (have to go bodmin, wadebridge, lauceston etc) - plenty of little shops for bread, milk etc but still could be closer! and pub meals - the old inn (st breward)is quite expensive but food was very nice!

#owners only there for 3hours a day (there is an emergency number)

#its cornwall! by that I mean hardly any of the roads are sign posted and all lanes look the same so easy to lose ur way!

Great for family holiday, as plenty of room for kids - can take their bikes and they cant really wander off. I went with 2 friends and everyone was really friendly (farmer even found us some tent pegs when we were short) enjoyed the real camp fire and would def go again (even though the majority of our visit it rained!) - which says a lot for a campsite! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Whiting4 9 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from South Penquite and had a lovely camping experience. If you like quiet camping with real fires, star gazing and a relaxed atmosphere this is the place for you.

We stayed at the end of April when the campsite was quiet and had the place practically to ourselves which was lovely. The kids were kept amused with all the animals (dogs, cats, chickens etc) wandering around the farm. The facilities were excellent but I wonder if there are enough showers/toilets when the site is full. Be warned the locks on the showers are a bit stiff so don't let the kids go in on their own.

The whole eco thing was great - loved the way the showers and toilets are decorated with recycled plastic etc. A nice touch was supplying eco washing up liquid and shower gel.

Logs can be bought from the farm (for the campfire) and delicious mutton burgers and sausages.

All in all I would thoroughly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sharon67 7 reviews from this member

 This has to be without a doubt the cleanest, friendliest and most tranquil site we have ever visited. We had our 14 and 15 year old girls with us and they also loved the site. This is the first site I have ever rated 10/10!

Our holiday ran over into the bank holiday weekend and we were a little concerned that the showers would not be adequate for the many campers that had arrived, however the longest wait was just five minutes which was spent watching the the chickens, ducks and turkeys happily roaming around the tents.

The showers were clean, hot and spacious. The toilets were always clean and well stocked with hand wash and toilet rolls. There are two dishwashing areas where eco friendly washing up liquid is supplied, as is washing powder and fabric softener in the laundry. A small fridge is supplied and also a freezer for ice blocks.

The children made use of the small games room which has a children's size pool table and a football table. There are also some interesting books for adults and general local information. There is a very nice play area for the younger children.

The site owners were away during our stay but the couple who were farm sitting were extremely friendly and helpful. The farmhouse is open between 9-10am and 6-8pm and you can purchase organic lamb & mint burgers which were delicious, they also sell sausages, bags of logs, kindling and fire lighters.

The site was reasonably priced at 6.00 per adult and 3.00 per child. There are some lovely walks in the area but if you want to get out and about you definitely need a car. Newquay, Padstow and Looe are all worth the drive (approx 30 mins).

I would recommend this site to everyone who likes a farm setting, star gazing, peace and quiet, campfires, clean facilities and a un crowded totally relaxed holiday.

Just one word of warning, we were adopted by one of the farm cats for a few nights of our stay and she made herself quite at home in our tent. Not a problem for us as we like cats but if you don't, ensure you have no gaps between your tent and groundsheet or she will find a way in and eat your goodies. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sixinacar 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a week at this camp site.

The pot holes were filled in and the owners were quick to add more gravel to the paths when the rain made things heavy going. There is lots of space and everyone had camp fires going in the evening. Most people were settled and quiet by 10pm.

Get your requests for the lamb burgers and sausages early, my family loved them. The best pub food in the world was had at The Old Inn,in St Breward, the highest inn in Cornwall, the chips are out of this world and the portions are very generous.

There is an Asda 24hrs, Sainsbury, and Morrisons in Bodmin.

When the Gents loo was being cleaned, men are directed to use the Ladies and vice versa, be warned, it is a bit of a shock and there are only 4 loos for each sex serving the whole site and only 4 showers, so be prepared to queue. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fredgelfhowatd@65 2 reviews from this member

 Fabulous site up on Bodmin Moor,really relaxing. The facilities are basic but excellent, spotlessly clean at all times. The shower block is a brilliant design enabling you to change and shower without getting your clothing soaked.

The farm is organic and there were geese and chickens roaming around freely. The drive up through the moor is terrific, need to be brave on the farm entrance road going across the little bridge.

A perfect place. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dillydally 1 review from this member

 Looking at the previous posts it appears that we had the added bonus that the farmer had completely resurfaced the farm entrance land and all the campsite tracks. Our little Micra hatchback zoomed in and out with ease. We stayed in September 2009 and all previous posts are right about shower blocks, space, camp-fires - the whole atmosphere of the place is wonderful!  


Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is South Penquite Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to South Penquite Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is South Penquite Farm dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bodmin      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4415 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement