Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of South Penquite Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Bodmin > South Penquite Farm Reviews

South Penquite Farm
South Penquite
Blisland
Bodmin
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL30 4LH
Tel: 01208 850491  or  07494 864246
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 46 Reviews
                9/10 from 46 Reviews

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Germalie 1 review from this member

 Well what can I say, we brought the tail end of hurricane bill with us. Well rather wet windy but campsite good.

Great to have an open fire and to pitch anywhere you like. Showers could be hotter, toilets clean and nice, amenities better than expected, washing machine, tumble small fridge and large freezer.

One of the main grumbles would be driving in and out of the site, extremely bumpy, needs some hardcore down, ok if you have 4x4 but we could only do about 1mph and bounced around like mad.

We loved the openness of the site, great surrounding, very quiet (except for the wind).

Recommend this site for true camping at its best. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Noisy 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent campsite. Plus sides, can have open fires, toilets and showers great and clean, showers have large dressing area with plenty of hooks and a chair so no balancing trying to get dressed and keep clothes dry. Longest I queued was about 5 mins and that was at peak time. Large communal freezer to put blocks or food in. Play area for kids with swings and goal. Not crowded with tents, plenty of space. Lots of things to do, fantastic beaches etc. No shortage of days out. Friendly welcome, logs available to buy but can collect your own locally (bring an axe!). Down side was the weather and the entrance, very hard to drive in normal car, could do with 4x4 to get into farm due to extremely uneven surface/holes. Worried about car being damaged underneath when hit stones (ford focus estate).

Despite awful weather (terrible wind and rain) the tent area did not get boggy, the drive to tent did. It was 3 days before we realised there were beautiful views from the campsite. Bodmin Moor seems to have it's own weather system, coast was better weather so recommend travelling away from camp site for day out even if weather awful at campsite.

Despite being full there was plenty of space, had feeling of remoteness but the convenience of good facilities. Would definitely recommend site if you don't mind wearing wellies the whole time due to weather. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smellsofroses 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed for a week in August and had a great time, even though there were days of torrential rain.

The best thing about this campsite is that they don't cram you in - plenty of space between tents and you can turn up and pitch where you want. (Let's hope they don't cave in to make more money and keep it this way!)

Other good points - new toilet block with 8 loos (4 men, 4 women) and it was VERY clean. Showers - 4 family size rooms, again clean! Sometimes a bit of a wait but not too bad. You are allowed to have campfires. They let us use the meeting room, complete with log burning stove, on the evenings when it was terrible weather.Loads of room for kids to run around, make friends etc. Small play area too.

Bad points - the access roads to the fields got VERY boggy due to the rain. To get to the campsite you have to negotiate narrow Cornish lanes!

Overall, one of the best places I've stayed and we will definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Slowroad 52 reviews from this member

 I spent a couple of nights here as I wanted to cycle the Camel Trail. What a super site! Loads of room in several fields, and although the site was full it didn't seem packed. People camp round the edges of the fields, which are pretty level and mown enough.

Facilities are a little bit of a walk and the track was a bit muddy (remember that weather in July?!) but this is a site for REAL campers who don't mind that! The loos and showers are all new and solar-powered and have fabbo recycled multicoloured plastic. I thought it was a bit odd to have piped radio (Pirate Radio) in the loos but perhaps that's to avoid embarrassing noises.

I did the farm walk in the rain and it was fascinating, it's a really historical area with hut circles and things to discover. The farm is a real working farm and the owners are friendly but busy. They were welcoming and let me park my bike in the barn.

The Community Shop in Blisland is worth a visit as it is not just a convenience store but a post office, cafe, and internet access. The old church next door is very interesting if you're into old churches.

The site is right on Sustrans National Cycle Route 3, north over the moor or south down to the Camel Trail. The Trail is great and you can cycle easily all the way to Wadebridge and Padstow via Bodmin. At least two places to hire bikes including tandems, trailers and trailer-bikes - or just watch other people trying to cycle these new contraptions!

If you're cycling you'll need to eat lots: Folly House in Bodmin do a huge cream tea, the Camel Trail cafe just out of Bodmin towards Wadebridge is very handy and good, and the Oasis kiosk in Wadebridge are super and great value. Padstow can get very packed, but the cyle ride there is well worth it. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KT50 1 review from this member

 We've just returned from a 4 night stay at South Penquite Farm. We loved it. It is remote being in the middle of Bodmin Moor and very peaceful. Very relaxed, just pitch your tent in any of the three fields, wherever you want, then check in at the farmhouse to pay when someone is there. We needed our wellies but even after a night-long 'monsoon' the pitch was well drained.

The facilities were brilliant with 4 washing up sinks (Ecover washing up liquid provided). New pine toilet block - clean and plenty of loo roll. 4 solar heated rainwater showers (phosphate free shower gel provided) water hotter sometimes than others. Also a freezer, fridge for campers use and lockers with an electric socket in to charge up phones etc. £1 per night. You can also have campfires - we didn't but plenty did. Laundry room. Also a games room and a lounge with a fire which was opened in the unrelenting rainy weather for a bit of respite!

Local village of Blisland 1.5 miles - very quaint with lovely village pub.

We will definitely be returning. It's not fancy but has everything you need. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TIGGER67 3 reviews from this member

 We spent a couple of nights here.Loads of room to pitch up. Toilets and showers were great and clean. Radio in toilets was a nice touch. Small play area but so much room in fields that our 8yr old hardly went near it!lovely room for chilling out and warming up with a log burning stove and comfy sofas. Games room and even a small kitchen! Oh and a barn where you can play football!

Friendly ducks and ponies and great views.

A great site. Only downside was the track into the campsite and the fields. Very pot holed and after torrential rain we had to carefully negotiate it in our little car. No probs if you have a range rover etc, only wish we had! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clashworth 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from South Penquite Farm. This was our first camping trip since having our boys. The site is fantastic, the facilities are very good. The solar powered showers are lovely and hot as well as very clean. The washing facilities again are clean this includes the toilets. The site is very remote, which provides a safe haven, and very relaxing environment. As the site only allows tents, and allows real campfires the atmosphere is very friendly, we found it very traditional and provided the experience we wanted to show our boys. Our boys loved the whole experience, and did not want to leave even though we were drenched!

On arrival you simply find a space and pitch up. The farm animals are very friendly and are quite entertaining. We were not blessed with sunny weather, in fact we had heavy rain most of the week, which was a little testing with a 2 & 3 year old, however the site has easy access to the main tourist spots, where you can dry out.

It is approx. 30 minutes from Newquay, and some great attractions, such as Lapa Valley Steam engines and Eden Project. We even found an indoor play centre in Wadebridge, great for under 5s during a downpour!. There are a selection of supermarkets in Bodmin, including a Asda, Morrisons and Sainsbury's, as well as a selection of take away outlest and restaurants. We are certainly thinking about booking again next year. Hopefully with better weather! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lauzd 1 review from this member

 Brilliant site! Toilet and shower facilities are fantasic - new and clean. The shower rooms are large and the water hot. Four sinks for washing your pots. The owners provide Ecover washing up liquid, shower gel and clothes washing liquid free of charge.

Campfires are allowed and wood can be purchased from the farmhouse. Very spacious site - the 'full' sign was out during our stay and there was still PLENTY of room.

Although we didn't use it there is also a meeting room with tea and coffee facilities and a pool table. The owners provide you with a leaflet of a walk around the site - great, interesting walk :-)

Loads to do and see in the area. We visited Lanhydrock (NT), Fowey, Padstow, Charlestown, Mevagissey, Bethruthan Steps (NT), Newquay zoo, Trago Mills and the Boconnoc Steam Rally.

Definitely recommend - we will be going back! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Noodle28 4 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to the site and unfortunately we didn't have brilliant weather to go with it.

The site is set on the moor with the closest town being Blisland. If you want to get the your traditional Cornish foods (clotted cream and Cornish pasty) then the little store in the town stocks them. They also stock a Chocolate Pasty (if you don't fancy a mincemeat one).
The site is split across two / three fields. There are no marked pitches so everyone pitches where they want to. The showers and toilets are well maintained and clean. One downside would be that there are only two washing up sinks so you can find there is a queue but if you time it right you avoid the wait.
A great bonus to the site is the farm animals. We had the farm dog, ducks, geese, turkeys and a very friendly cat (who made our tent its home on the last day) visit us in the week we were there. Another great bonus of the site is that you are allowed campfires. For £6 pound you can buy a bag of logs, a bag of kinderling and half a box of firelighters. This gave us several nights of campfires.

If you head right at the end of the farm lane you can reach the A30 and Bodmin. From here you can then drive to the Eden project, Charles Town, the Jamaica Inn or Bodmin Jail. A good follow up to your visit to the jail is a visit to Shire Hall in the centre of Bodmin. Here for a few pounds you can see the re-enactment of the trial of Mathew Weeks who was accused of murder and subsequently held in Bodmin Jail before he was hung.

If you turn left out of the farm gates you can head towards the north coast where you can visit Tintagel Castle and King Arthur's Great halls. If you fancy having a go at Paintball or Laser quest then you will also find Dig Dunks site this way as well. The games are well managed and it's not to expensive.

Overall, this is a site that is set well away from many others but it stills allows you good access to Cornwall and what it has to offer. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chrisse10 1 review from this member

 2nd visit to this great site. Solar showers are free & yes, they are hot, with plenty of hot water whatever the time of day. TIP Don't believe your Sat Nav, used Tom Tom & it takes you to their neighbours on the other side of the hill. Nice man, but getting a bit fed up with people asking where to find the camp site & this was only in July.

Toilets are basic, but you¡¦re not in there for long. Everything you need for a nice fire at night is on sale from the farm house. Some pitches have a slight camber, so beware or you'll wake up on the floor.

Play area for the kids & plenty of farm yard creatures to see too. Unfortunately we had to leave so missed out on helping with the Sheep Shearing & Hay Making.

Well positioned for all that¡¦s to be seen locally. The cinema in Wadebridge is a joy if your fed up with Multiplexes and the Asda down the round does cheap breakfasts if your not up to cooking every morning.

I will definitely go back. 


Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is South Penquite Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to South Penquite Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is South Penquite Farm dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bodmin      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4834 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement