Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of South Penquite Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Bodmin > South Penquite Farm Reviews

South Penquite Farm
South Penquite
Blisland
Bodmin
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL30 4LH
Tel: 01208 850491  or  07494 864246
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 48 Reviews
                9/10 from 48 Reviews

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Joyce and John 7 reviews from this member

 An excellent site in every way. Lots of space and pitch where you like.

Plenty of toilets and showers, hot water for washing up and a washing machine and tumble dryer. What more could you ask for?

Although a little remote if on foot, as we were, it is easy enough to find. A big bonus is the community shop in Blisland only about a mile away which is open morning sand afternoons and serves coffee (very generous).

Reception was closed while we were there so we can't rate customer service but that didn't matter. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 13 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: LucyAbbotts 1 review from this member

 We love this campsite. The location is amazing - on the roof of Cornwall.

Facilities are well designed, and regularly cleaned and maintained. Fridge/freezer/washing machine combo makes for a a high degree of forward planning.

The weather can be really rough, but as the owner farmers cheerily say, "well, you are on the moor". Sometimes you'll make your way off the moor to discover everyone basking in sunshine.

Campers are left to their own devices, although you can buy firewood/kindling, sausages & lamb, several other home cooked ready-meal options, plus a food shack serving at weekends and a couple of nights in the week when we were there.

We have camped here on and off for the last ten years, can't recommend highly enough. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Villaj 1 review from this member

 Lovely secluded spot. Right on the Moor.

Quiet. Top notch facilities. Two pubs within three miles, one with cracking real ales, the other does great food.

In each village there is a community shop for all your essentials should you need anything.

Next time in Cornwall I'll definitely stay there again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Weddin 1 review from this member

 Love Love Love this place!

Safe, peaceful, great for kids and families. Facilities are spot on, toilets clean, showers were great (lots of space which is useful if trying to wash small children!)

Onsite food was very good too. Will be returning.

Only draw back was that kids struggled to turn the taps on in the toilets - they were quite stiff press taps - but this is minor compared to the rest! 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Tarling Family 1 review from this member

 Campsite was clean and quiet at night. Plenty of space and good facilities.

Paths got a little muddy in the heavy rain. Having the goal posts was brilliant idea, used every day!

Having the option to buy a breakfast bap was great. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: OLDM8 3 reviews from this member

 A peaceful relaxing basic tent only site, but the essentials like hot clean showers and clean toilets (with music)and good tasting fresh water are there. There are 3 yurts for hire Sited on the edge of Bodmin moor its ideally situated for walks on this interesting upland area.

There are no rules other than respect for the countryside, arrive pitch up where you like on this spacious site, pay in evening at farmhouse. Set a fire and enjoy the evening. If it's clear the night sky is amazing because of low light pollution.

There is a bridge over the De Lank river about a mile away which is a nice place to picnic and safe for kids (and adults)to have a splash about.

There's a play area for kids with swings and a barn too. There's a nice farm walk around the area. They are good on recycling so make the effort to recycle everything. There are lockers to charge a phone but reception is intermittent as its quite rural here.

There's a washing machine, dryer and freezer. You can buy some organic meat from the farmhouse for your BBQ.

There is The Old Inn at St Breward 2. 5 miles, I had a drink there but didn't eat. Meals 10 - 18. There is the well stocked St Breward Stores here too.

The only negative is that there is a dog kennel half a mile away not part of the farm, so from time to time you can hear dogs barking if the wind is in the right direction, not really a problem but worth mentioning.

If you like a clubhouse, entertainment, lots of noise, waits for the shower, guy rope to guy rope camping, lots of rules and regulations camping this is not the place for you.

I give this 10 stars as it is one of my favourite sites and will visit again in September. It cost 20 a night for 2 people. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ktqcumber 11 reviews from this member

 Lovely camp, lots of room, free showers. Only negative is that the water points was very overgrown.

I didn't have my children with me this time, but facilities looked good for them.

We will be back! Thoroughly recommended 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Niall75 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed in a Yurt for the weekend - our first time that we have upgraded to glamping! Fantastic, quirky, roomy, private well equipped accommodation with log burner to top it off.

Site had a play area for children, excellent clean shower and toilet facilities. We interacted with farm dogs, cats, geese and sheep - kids loved it.

There is also a 3 mile circular walk you can do from the site out on to the moor with great scenery. The one criticism I do have is that there is a play barn with badminton and table tennis but the corner of it seems to be used a dog toilet?

If we had not come across this would probably have given more out of 10. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lucyep 1 review from this member

 A great campsite set on the gorgeous Bodmin Moor.

Wonderful entertainment of free roaming chickens and turkeys.

Lovely clean toilets and showers.

We loved being able to have real fires and just be left to our own devices!

The children had a great time exploring the farm and it felt a safe environment to give them some freedom.

There was plenty to do in the surrounding area including body boarding on the De-Lank river at Delphi Bridge. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: DaveCT 1 review from this member

 We recently spent a lovely week in the Bunkhouse at Penquite Farm whilst other family members were camping in Penquite camp site.

The Bunkhouse was very comfortable, clean, spacious with all the home comforts. It was warm with plenty of heaters and a log burner, hot water, shower and a fully equipped kitchen. The owners were very friendly and helpful if we needed anything.

The campsite was relaxing, peaceful and not overcrowded. Our grandchildren enjoyed camping there. It is the third year they have been. They love the animals - chickens, ducks and turkeys roaming free. There was plenty of space for the grandchildren to play and a play barn with table tennis, badminton and footballs.

Our family often popped in to see us in the bunkhouse for a cup of tea and enjoyed the pool table and television.

Overall a very relaxing, enjoyable holiday. 


Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is South Penquite Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to South Penquite Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is South Penquite Farm dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bodmin      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1580 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement