Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - South Penquite Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

South Penquite Farm
South Penquite
Blisland
Bodmin
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL30 4LH
Tel: 01208 850491
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: May - September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 43 Reviews
                9/10 from 43 Reviews

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: OLDM8 3 reviews from this member

A peaceful relaxing basic tent only site, but the essentials like hot clean showers and clean toilets (with music)and good tasting fresh water are there. There are 3 yurts for hire Sited on the edge of Bodmin moor its ideally situated for walks on this interesting upland area. There are no rules other than respect for the countryside, arrive pitch up where you like on this spacious site, pay in evening at farmhouse. Set a fire and enjoy the evening. If it's clear the night sky is amazing because of low light pollution. There is a bridge over the De Lank river about a mile away which is a nice place to picnic and safe for kids (and adults)to have a splash about. There's a play area for kids with swings and a barn too. There's a nice farm walk around the area. They are good on recycling so make the effort to recycle everything. There are lockers to charge a phone but reception is intermittent as its quite rural here. There's a washing machine, dryer and freezer. You can buy some organic meat from the farmhouse for your BBQ.

There is The Old Inn at St Breward 2. 5 miles, I had a drink there but didn't eat. Meals £10 - £18. There is the well stocked St Breward Stores here too.

The only negative is that there is a dog kennel half a mile away not part of the farm, so from time to time you can hear dogs barking if the wind is in the right direction, not really a problem but worth mentioning.

If you like a clubhouse, entertainment, lots of noise, waits for the shower, guy rope to guy rope camping, lots of rules and regulations camping this is not the place for you.

I give this 10 stars as it is one of my favourite sites and will visit again in September. It cost £20 a night for 2 people.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ktqcumber 11 reviews from this member

Lovely camp, lots of room, free showers. Only negative is that the water points was very overgrown. I didn't have my children with me this time, but facilities looked good for them. We will be back! Thoroughly recommended

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Niall75 7 reviews from this member

Stayed in a Yurt for the weekend - our first time that we have upgraded to glamping! Fantastic, quirky, roomy, private well equipped accommodation with log burner to top it off. Site had a play area for children, excellent clean shower and toilet facilities. We interacted with farm dogs, cats, geese and sheep - kids loved it. There is also a 3 mile circular walk you can do from the site out on to the moor with great scenery. The one criticism I do have is that there is a play barn with badminton and table tennis but the corner of it seems to be used a dog toilet? If we had not come across this would probably have given more out of 10.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lucyep 1 review from this member

A great campsite set on the gorgeous Bodmin Moor.

Wonderful entertainment of free roaming chickens and turkeys.

Lovely clean toilets and showers.

We loved being able to have real fires and just be left to our own devices!

The children had a great time exploring the farm and it felt a safe environment to give them some freedom.

There was plenty to do in the surrounding area including body boarding on the De-Lank river at Delphi Bridge.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: DaveCT 1 review from this member

We recently spent a lovely week in the Bunkhouse at Penquite Farm whilst other family members were camping in Penquite camp site.

The Bunkhouse was very comfortable, clean, spacious with all the home comforts. It was warm with plenty of heaters and a log burner, hot water, shower and a fully equipped kitchen. The owners were very friendly and helpful if we needed anything.

The campsite was relaxing, peaceful and not overcrowded. Our grandchildren enjoyed camping there. It is the third year they have been. They love the animals - chickens, ducks and turkeys roaming free. There was plenty of space for the grandchildren to play and a play barn with table tennis, badminton and footballs.

Our family often popped in to see us in the bunkhouse for a cup of tea and enjoyed the pool table and television.

Overall a very relaxing, enjoyable holiday.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nicky Hatherell 19 reviews from this member

Wow! What a site!

Plenty of space to choose from and all on level sites, indoor area for rainy days, hot spacious free shower rooms (solar heated water), free environmentally friendly washing up liquid at the washing up facilities also with free solar heated water. Recycling facilities including a compost bin for fruit skins etc, charging facilities if you want them, free fridge and freezer space.

A specially designed leaflet guided us around a 2 mile walk of the farm land, riverside and moors with great views.

A fantastic ethos on this organic farm.

What more could we have asked? We will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Reverend Badger 3 reviews from this member

I decided to book this campsite for my son and my main camp of the year.

The owners emailed detailed directions and route advice and I'm glad they did as it meant we were able to avoid the horrendous traffic conditions around Bodmin due to some major roadworks. It also made finding this isolated site very straightforward.

On arrival the reception was closed but clear signs gave opening times so we got on with setting up and booked in later on. There are no marked pitches but there is plenty of room with hedges naturally providing several separate areas and the site didn't feel crowded in the least, despite it being school holiday time. Campfires are encouraged and you're free to grab some stones and build one as close to your pitch as you see fit.

The facilities on site included male and female toilet area with washing up sinks outside and a separate shower block - 4 or 5 showers if remember correctly - also with washing up sinks outside. The shower rooms are very large, plenty of room for the 2 of us to get changed with plenty of hooks for clothes. Each shower also has a brush and mop to encourage you to keep it tidy. Free shower gel and washing up liquid is provided too. Whatever time we used either toilet or shower they were exceptionally clean, a remarkable thing considering it was peak season, even on some rainy days.

The site has both an outdoor play area - a couple of swings, climbing frame and football goal, and a covered, sand floored play barn - table tennis table, football goal and some sofas and chairs. The kids tend to gravitate to these so my son was able to meet and make new friends quite easily. There is also a games room which has a toilet as well.

In keeping with the farm's environmental philosophy there are several recycling bins for various types of waste and we found that people also left unused wood and various other items for other campers to make use of.

I think it is important to stress that the site is in a remote location, the nearest village is a 5 min drive away and has a combined village shop/post office/café and a pub. The nearest supermarkets are in Bodmin, a 20ish min drive each way depending on traffic.

My son and I both loved this site and plan to return for our holiday next year. The remote location is perfect for some star gazing in the evening whilst sat around a campfire with the only noise coming from farm animals. If you like to get away from the hustle and bustle of life the I couldn't recommend this site enough.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helen98 23 reviews from this member

The location of this site is quiet and beautiful but it is up on Bodmin Moor, so be prepared for some very tiny roads to get there, often single track with passing places. We also found it hard to find and had to stop and ask for help a couple of times.

Once there though I loved the laid back nature. They say you can arrive any time between dawn and dusk (the same for leaving) and just pop in to see them at the farm between 6-8pm to book in. You can pitch where you like, which combined with the relaxed hours does sound like a recipe for disaster, but there is such a lot of space it never seemed to be an issue. Even though the site was fully booked for most of the week everyone still had more than enough space for whatever tents / gazebos / pup tents etc. They needed.

It is a working farm so be prepared for cats, chickens, ducks and turkeys wandering about.

You are welcome to have campfires and the owners sell wood and kindling. They also sell homemade mutton sausages, which were delicious. There is a fridge and freezer which you are welcome to use and lockers which you can pay for to charge your mobile phone in overnight. There was also a washing machine available to use.

There is loads of space for the kids to play - a football goal, play park, barn with table tennis, a basket ball hoop and a goal and a little reading/games room as well. Mostly ours just liked playing football in the barn.

On Monday nights in the summer there is a chef who comes and makes paella and crepes. Much as the timing of this was very late (about 2 hrs later than the sign said), the food was delicious and, such is the relaxed nature of the site, no one seemd to mind the lateness.

We had various trips out and can highly recommend 'Surfs up' surf school at Polzeath (all of us from age 7-42 enjoyed our lesson there) and the Eden Project. We were given a leaflet at the campsite for a circular 2. 5 hour walk around the farm and were looking forward to doing it, but didn't manage to fit it in.

I would love to say that we will be back here as it is idyllic, relaxed and friendly. But much as it is gorgeous if we visit Cornwall in future we may decide that closer to the coast is preferable, although we did love escaping the crowds and heading back to our quiet campsite at the end of the day for some marshmallows over the campfire.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Suethebike 5 reviews from this member

This is an excellent site. Plenty of space on nice flat fields. The facilities are well-designed, spacious, clean. The solar-powered showers work, there are 4 sinks for washing up under cover, some benches to sit on, a big field for games and a large barn with sofas and a play area. Also an indoor reading/games room. Everything is there and efficiently run.

It's a peaceful place on Bodmin Moor, although there were dogs barking a lot nearby for some of the time. And camp fires are allowed with wood that can be purchased.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AlmaMartyr 4 reviews from this member

Second visit to the lovely South Penquite. This is one of my favourite campsites. A very relaxed feel to the whole place and plenty for kids to do - mine loved the play area, and were particularly fond of a family of chicks.

Facilities are very clean and some of the best I've come across. I especially like the radio in the bathroom, it's a great touch. The owners are always very welcoming, and very accommodating.

Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


479 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!