Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of South Penquite Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Bodmin > South Penquite Farm Reviews

South Penquite Farm
South Penquite
Blisland
Bodmin
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL30 4LH
Tel: 01208 850491  or  07494 864246
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 46 Reviews
                9/10 from 46 Reviews

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 41 to 46                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jenandphil 1 review from this member

 This is a great site if you want a tents only, low key site with peace and quiet, good views, a rural location, and on an organic, eco-friendly farm! My husband, I and three girls have spent three happy summer hols here, in 05, 06 and 07.

It is easy to get to, not far off the A30, but seems much more remote. It is in the middle of Bodmin Moor, near the very pretty village of Blisland, which has a very friendly shop, with internet cafe! The site itself is right next to a working farm.

Everything the owners do is planned to have a minimal environmental impact. The shower block was new on our last visit, and is a very clever extension on the back of the farm's barn, which looks like its always been there. Inside, the solar powered showers are hot and pleasantly powerful, and the cubicals are decorated with bright mosaics made from recycled materials.

There is a washing machine (you can buy eco-friendly tablets), though it gets busy, a freezer, more intended for ice packs than food, an outdoor washing up point, and a toilet block, though up to 07 the water in the basins was cold only. Everything is very clean, pleasant and well stocked.

The site is arranged on three small, level fields, with roughish grass, and the tents around the edges, where there are banks and hedges. You choose your own pitch and there is room to spread out. We much prefered this to a highly manicured site. All the children play in the middle of the fields, ideal for kites, etc, and on an evening lots of people have campfires. Great fun!

Other points to note include the lovely farm walk, over the moor, along a pretty little river valley, to the farm's 'story circle' and through a field with standing stones. Also, the farm's friendly ginger cat (we found him in our tent once, as, obviously, he owns the place!), the chickens in the farmyard and the resident turkeys, which march around the camping fields!

We would thoroughly reccommend this site! 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ed Porteous 1 review from this member

 Spent a few days here at Whit weekend. It was quite busy and having only two toilets it caused a bit of queueing, they are basic but tidy and clean. The shower block is wonderful, very upmarket and spotless.
The weather was atrocious so choose your pitch wisely you are on a moor with virtually no shelter. This is a very peaceful and quiet site with the ducks and geese, always ready to pick up a crumb or two.
The farm walk is a must with open moorland then through trees to the river and the wildlife all around this has to be one of the highlights of our stay there and to come back in the evening to a campfire and sizzle your sausages and toast your toes with a glass of wine, well never mind anything else I will settle for that.
This site is a must in my diary 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Deva7 3 reviews from this member

 This is a proper campsite, pitch were you like. We loved this, Real Fires, you can build your own fire pit and buy logs from the farmer you can also order lamb from the farmer to be taken home with you, we wanted half a sheep but had not given the farmer enough notice so we had a quarter instead, which was lovely. The sheep are his own, this is a working farm which children love, there are working dogs which are very well behaved. Lots of funny looking chickens running round as well LOL:)

The showers and the toilets had recently been sorted and were very good.

Some Yurts were available these looked nice.

Our car did not like the road going in but if you have 4 x 4 you won't notice we have a pug 106.

Very Eco friendly site providing free washing up liquid, shower gel etc.

No evening entertainment LOL you just have to sit by the real fire and watch the stars.

We would stay here again. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Londonrom 2 reviews from this member

 This campsite has a great peaceful location with moorland moorland ponies right  by the farm gate. Facilities were clean and eco friendly. We loved the free roaming ducks and baby turkeys who would tour the tents looking for breakfast.
There is a freezer to freeze your ice packs though some days they didn't refreeze as so many users.
The nearest shops (small)  are at St Breward and there is a pub there too.
There are many walks in the vicinity and you can wander the farm and walk to Delford Bridge and the De Lank river.
A word of warning if looking at the OS map you think you can walk to St Breward via Penvorder . The footpath crosses a quarry and involves a very steep descent and ascent and if the bracken has grown can be very difficult to follow and has some sheer drops nearby. We were rewarded by a close view of the local peregrines but it wasn't a relaxing walk. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stevej180 3 reviews from this member

 Driving across Bodmin Moor to find South Penquite, you come upon a sign for the farm, with a notice saying 'campsite full' underneath it. What they call 'full', most other campsites would call 'half empty'. There was so much room that it doesn't matter what size of tent you have (they charge by the person, not the unit). This all helps to contribute to a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere, with livestock running freely around and plenty of 'free-range' children as well.
 
The new shower block is one of the best I've ever experienced, although the toilets, whilst clean, are a little bit dated now and could benefit from the same treatment as the shower block! The lack of a bar / shop / entertainment etc. Was a definite plus for us - it is a very chilled and friendly place. Being able to have a camp fire was also nice. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Quinnys 6 reviews from this member

 We really enjoyed our stay at South Penquite Farm.  It was so nice to see a campsite in Cornwall where they don't overpopulate!  The new shower block was fantastic, 4 family sized shower rooms, with enough room to fit the 4 of us in at once!  There was a bucket of disinfectant and you were asked to leave the shower as you found it.  There didn't seem to be a problem of having to queue for the shower either and the site apparently was fully booked.  The toilet facilities were great and always immaculate.  They also had a washing machine and tumble dryer and a freezer for your ice blocks.  Campfires were allowed and you were asked to buy logs from them and not chop down the trees!  It also had a play area with a wooden swing and wooden goalpost which was great for my 2 boys.
 
The actual site is quite large with plenty of room for everyone.  While we were there, there were 2 large parties, of more than 5 tents each, which didn't impact on anyone else as they were placed in a separate area, the yurts were also in a separate enclosed space.
 
The only thing to watch about the site is that it is quite exposed with not a lot of shelter, but it is on a moor.  We did have a few nights where the wind got up, the tent stayed put and we were fine.
 
We also enjoyed the location of it, not far off the A30, St Austell and Eden Project 20 mins, could see a lot of Cornwall and not have to travel more than an hour.   
 
We enjoyed it so much the boys have asked can we go back again next year and I think we will. 


Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 46     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is South Penquite Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to South Penquite Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is South Penquite Farm dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bodmin      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4404 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement