Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camusdarach Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Arisaig > Camusdarach Campsite Reviews

Camusdarach Campsite
Camusdarach
Arisaig
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
PH39 4NT
Tel: 01687 450221
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 42
Open: 15/03/2022 to 15/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 59 Reviews
                9/10 from 59 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hibbsa64 8 reviews from this member

 Lovely site.

New showers which looked fab but I could only get cold water, my husband didn't have any problems though.

Direct access to a stunning beach.

No play area but my boys loved the beach and woods for making dens.

Located between Arisaig and Mallaig, Mallaig is lovely and has an excellent fresh fish shop.

Unfortunately it was very wet when we were there but if you get the weather it would be perfect! 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Highlander09 22 reviews from this member

 A great site for a relaxing break. We were able to leave the car parked for most of the time and walked just about everywhere either on the beach, the sand dunes or quiet lanes.

The new shower block was better than we had hoped for after reading earlier review. My only VERY SMALL criticism would be to have a few coat hooks by the dish wash area.

The site is very convenient for dog walking being only a couple of minutes from the beach and with sand dunes to explore.

Arisaig has a good shop but when we were there the visitor centre was being refurbished although there was no indication for this on all the posters being displayed. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lavjan 10 reviews from this member

 Camusdarach Campsite is situated in an amazing area, with access to the most wonderful beaches, soft white sand and beautiful views over to the Islands of Rum and Egg.

I had a large pitch for van and awning and plenty of room to sit outside.

Clean washing area. Showers too small and no shelf for my glasses, ended up using the vans shower. Only one water tap for 2 camping fields. Would be very easy to spur off to provide another.

The owners have only been there for 2 years and I feel they are still learning. They are very helpful. However I do think the site needs a little TLC, otherwise it will run out of control.

Very relaxed, which is great, however it felt there were no rules eg, open fires direct on the grass, dogs off leads.

I loved the area and the site has potential with care.

A little too pricey at present. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Speaker12 17 reviews from this member

 I stayed here for five nights, arriving on a Monday. A friendly welcome from the staff on arrival and I could choose where I wanted to pitch as there was only one other tent in the field (it didn't get busier until Friday night).

A short walk from the site takes you onto 'Ben's beach', quite possibly one of the most beautiful places I've ever been to.

Toilet facilities were spotless. There are two showers which were seemingly designed by wee Jimmie Crankie but other than that they were fine.

The site reception sells bacon rolls/coffee etc and was open all day from 7. 30am.

Less than an hour away is Fort William and between there and Mallaig you've got plenty of gorgeous scenery such as the hills around Glenfinnan viaduct or the beaches at Arisaig / Morar. There are shops in Mallaig for food etc and I can recommend fish and chips from 'The Cabin' takeaway.

The only real negative comment is the price. It was 20 a night (one person, 3-4 man tent) which is a lot more than I paid when I visited the site in 2009. I may look at some of the other sites near Arisaig if I visit again. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jackadoo 6 reviews from this member

 Drove by this site in early May 2013 and liked what I saw so managed a return visit with the 'van' for 3 nights in September. Not as good views as the nearby sites but I figured it would be a lot more sheltered if the weather turned 'iffy'. Needless to say the weather was great. Close to Mallaig so getting supplies (more beer) isn't a problem. The views and beaches are stunning and it's well worth the trip to spend some time in the area.

As mentioned in other reviews, the shower cubicles are very small and difficult to move around in. The facilities are clean though.

I'll be back in the area again in 2014 and may try the neighbouring sites for comparison but all in all I liked the place and would go back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Glynemrys 6 reviews from this member

 This site gets good reviews and I can see why. That said, I thought it was dear compared to the CC clubs in the area, which offered us better facilities for 5. 50 per night less! (Motorhome with just one occupant)

The site is well kept, and the staff are friendly. The site itself does not offer stunning views, but a short walk to the beach was very rewarding.

The washroom facilities not best ever, but clean. The shower rooms (2 of them) are the smallest I have ever used, and I would imagine that they get very busy in summer.

Overall, a nice site with good access. Would recommend it to all if they were to revise their price structure. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Angef 28 reviews from this member

 Rang the site on the off-chance we could stay but were told it was full, as we were heading that way anyway, we called in and asked (the sign said full) and were pleasantly surprised to be told there was a pitch available with electric. We were on pitch 5 which was very close to the toilet block and spacious and relatively flat. Was very little noise after 11pm.

This is a lovely site, my only complaint is there are only 2 showers and they are tiny, barely enough room to dress without getting your clothes wet, and 3 toilets. The non-electric field was full so I left having a shower until the evening with no problems but could do with a few more loo's. The toilets and showers were immaculately clean, the owners are very friendly and helpful and were out cleaning and re-stocking loo rolls etc at 11pm at night ready for a busy morning the next day.

The location is excellent and the beaches are stunning, of all the sites to pick in this area, I would highly recommend this one and will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Babygoo 9 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, easy access, well drained and level. Path straight down to a gorgeous white sand beach. Toilet and shower block spotlessly clean and showers were hot, free with good pressure. The new eco friendly owners were nice folk and have great plans for the site. The Easter bunny left a chocolate egg on our doorstep, how fab is that?!

Peaceful when we were there and with a clear sky the stargazing was truly AWESOME.

I'm sure we'll return 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Armchaircamper 22 reviews from this member

 This site is all about location, being a few minutes walk through the dunes to beautiful white sandy beaches, clear blue sea and views over Rhum, Eigg and Skye.

The owner was friendly and helpful. The field was spacious and we could pitch where we pleased. The outdoor dishwashing area was covered and had a light.

It is worth checking the pricing system as it favours larger tents with several occupants. Tents are 12, plus 4 per person (1. 50 for children) without EHU. We had decided to take a small tent each so limited ourselves to a one night stop here as it was going to cost 32 a night for the two of us. As it happened, the owner charged us for just one tent as the site was quiet. I think they should review their prices as it's very overpriced for a single camper with a small tent at 16 a night.

Toilets were clean although could be kept better supplied with toilet paper. The tiling in the showers had seen better days and the showers themselves were very small with no shelf to put clothes on, and a shower curtain which tries to wrap itself round you as you shower. There is a free hairdryer.

With upgraded toilet facilities and a more even price structure this would be an excellent site. I would love to visit the area again, but the prices at this site would put me off. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: SandraScot1 35 reviews from this member

 Booked for one night only. Weather a bit challenging but the beach and scenery well worth the drive. Absolutely fantastic views. Beach accessed down a path and some wooden steps down to beautiful beach. Good walks for dog.

Small site, fairly basic with only a few elec hookups on hard standing. Owners friendly. Loos fairly new but very tiny and must be the smallest showers I've encountered! however very clean and it's a really nice wee site. 


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camusdarach Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camusdarach Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Camusdarach Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Arisaig      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4806 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement