Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camusdarach Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Arisaig > Camusdarach Campsite Reviews

Camusdarach Campsite
Camusdarach
Arisaig
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
PH39 4NT
Tel: 01687 450221
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 42
Open: 15/03/2022 to 15/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 59 Reviews
                9/10 from 59 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 51 to 59                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fluffyp64 3 reviews from this member

 What a lovely little site.
It was almost empty when went so there was no problem getting into the showers, though I would imagine when the site is busy it would be a problem as there are only two showers for each sex. They were very clean though.
There is a laundry room with token operated washers and tumblers.
The walk to the beach is lovely and the view, is spectacular - sandy white beaches and crystal clear waters. The last time I saw a beach like this, I was on a small island in the middle of the Great Barrier Reef.
Can't wait to go back 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stockporwilsons 1 review from this member

 Wonderful, friendly site, not too big or busy so great for smaller people to play freely.  Our 12 year old was disappointed when we arrived to find that there was no club or shop on site - a week later having made friends with all the other children and several dogs, he couldn't believe how much fun you can have without a TV or a computer!
 
We had a tent with a hook up so we were in the smaller field, the main field was busier but everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves and it wasn't overcrowded.
 
Perfect white sandy beaches with very few people on them, great for relaxing or for games of football and cricket.  All within a couple of minutes walk through the dunes.
 
True, there are only 2 showers each for the men and women, but there is constant hot water and we only had to wait once and not for very long - no different to being at home!
 
The midges were biting in the early evening but they're worth putting up with.  It's 17 years since we last visited this area, we won't leave it so long again. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Berrhug 7 reviews from this member

 Beautiful site, the beaches and bays look Caribbean but feel Scottish! Green sea and white sand. I'm missing it already! Our friends were having a wedding on one of the nearby beaches which was totally enchanting, the north wind however did it's best to grab all the attention. But I'm here to review the site not the weather (it was snowing in nearby Fort William!)

The toilets are kept immaculate and the two showers per toilet issue was not a problem at all although it wasn't too busy when we were there. The owners are very helpful and friendly, in fact when I told Neil we were only staying for three nights and not four as he thought because I was working on the Wednesday he said "I do sick notes!" Now there's a service not always provided by a camp site!

Good restaurants/cafes in Mallaig which is a lovely working fishing village and the main ferry route to skye. The area has definitely got the wow factor, every completed hill and bend is greeted with a brand new "ooooh" and "aaaah" or "WOW.look at that." Parts of the film "Local hero" were filmed in this area and the bit at the end where the American guy looks over the city where he lives after spending a while in Scotland, and he gets all melancholy and wishes he was back there.that's how I feel now!

Our kids (12 and 7) absolutely loved it and there wasn't an amusement park in sight, just good old sand sea and quality time. I highly recommend this site and will definitely be back! Counting the days. 


Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hobbit 6 reviews from this member

 Only stayed one night waiting to board ferry to Skye. Nice tidy site, but I think could get boggy. Midges were hassle in early evening but we had the magic sticks burning to keep them away. Glorious beaches a very very short walk from site. Excellent stop-over and easy to find..... 10 minutes from ferry
 


Reviewer: Mhutchison44 4 reviews from this member

 September 2005
Stayed here the first weekend of September and had a great weekend and great weather. Group of 6 Adults and 3 children (8,5,3). The site is good, and the toilets clean with plenty of hot water. Safe enough for kids 

Advertisement

Reviewer: Trevorandfiona 11 reviews from this member

 June 2005
Great site for tents and caravans a 2 minute walk across sand dunes to a pristine white beach (more or less exclusively for the use of the campsite patrons).

Very quiet when visited at the beginning of June but I have been turned away in July / August because the site was 'full' (even though it actually was far from it - fire regs.?) Booking is absolutely essential during the summer.

Shower block is very well built but there are only two showers and toilets for each sex - fine when it is quiet but not so great at peak times! Very clean also.

Whilst not necessarily a negative point the site is a good two to three mile drive to the nearest shop (so stock up on the way through Mallaig / Arisaig) and, on a more personal note, the beaches can attract (noisy) families looking for a cheap summer holiday rather than hardy campers looking for a bit of countryside rest and relaxation in peace.

My advice, go early or late in the year and this is one of the best campsites in Scotland! 


Reviewer: Scottishroamers 3 reviews from this member

 August 2004
We were a bit dissapointed with this site. The site is quite small and consists of two fields. The pitches allocated for caravans seems a bit tight.

There are only two showers each for men and women and for the size of site seems too few, if you are an early riser you would have problems getting into the shower.

On the plus side this site has a lovely beach and lovely views but overall for the price and considering their grading we were pretty dissappointed. The midgie eaters didn't seem to make much of an impact either! 


Reviewer: Rossco 3 reviews from this member

 July 2003
Just returned from 12 days here - had hook-up so was in same area as caravans/motorhomes but tent wouldn't fit in pitch so had to relocate to bottom corner of field and join 2 leads together. Waste water is treated by flowing through a reed-bed just over the hedge from where we pitched so we had quite a few visits from little shrews but they don't bite and never got into our sleeping pods. Lovely quiet site although it seemed busier and noisier in tent area across the lane.

New gas-powered MIDGE-EATERS in both areas & they should make a difference in a few weeks, however we weren't particularly bothered with the little blighters - I've seen much worse on previous visits to the West Coast. No shop on site but travelling butcher van visits the site twice a week and we went to Mallaig (5mls) for other shopping (Spar and Co-op open until 10 p.m). Nearest pubs are at Mallaig or Arisaig village a few miles down the road. Beaches are beautiful, quiet, with white sand - but sea freezing, even during the recent heatwave!! Only 2 showers on men's side and same on ladies but water always plentiful and hot. Awarded 4stars by AA. We'd go there again, our kids loved it (2 x 10yr olds and 8yr old) 


Reviewer: Aileen Rankin

 October 2002
Toilet facilities were excellent on this site. Water was hot ALL the time!! An ideal base for walking, hiking or just relaxing on the beautiful white sandy beaches, which are a 5 minute walk away via private access road.
Superbly maintained 9 hole links golf course (TAIGH GOLF COURSE) is a 5 minute drive.
WE'LL BE BACK!!! 


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 59     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camusdarach Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camusdarach Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Camusdarach Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Arisaig      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3963 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement