Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camusdarach Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Arisaig > Camusdarach Campsite Reviews

Camusdarach Campsite
Camusdarach
Arisaig
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
PH39 4NT
Tel: 01687 450221
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 42
Open: 15/03/2022 to 15/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 59 Reviews
                9/10 from 59 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kmoore1971 1 review from this member

 Just returned from our third visit to Camusdarach. 2 adults one teenager and 2 doggies.

The new owners were very welcoming, we asked for an extension lead for our electric hook up - no problem gave us 2 to try said just return other one whenever.

The owners said to save us carrying our Kayaks across the field to the beach, to just drive through their field and leave at beach - very helpful.

The campsite was kept as clean and tidy as always, the new owners provided a hairdryer in the ladies, which was a nice touch and appreciated.

The beach was as beautiful as always, and on one evening when the midges were being particularly bothersome the owners sent round complimentary citronella incense sticks to make them more bearable - the whole campsite smelt of sweet citronella.

The only downside was we had only booked for 7 nights and the journey took 6 hours and were sad to leave, but will be booking for 2 weeks again next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AndyRomain 34 reviews from this member

 After visiting a number of times on my own, I finally took the plunge and dragged my 5yo son along on the 9 hour trip from home to experience this amazing site. Just for good measure, we dragged his grandmother along too.

We pitched up on the top field on one of the electric pitches and had a nice, level, well drained spot. The weather was superb, and held up well for the week.

My son loved the beach as much as I do, lots of rock pools to explore, great quality clean sand to build sandcastles, and amazing sunsets and views. More and more people are taking to late night campfires on the beach too, which really adds to the atmosphere.

At one point, I was paddling in the sea and noticed 2 seals swimming about 20 feet away, amazing!

The midges tore my arms apart, but my son was left unscathed, as was his nan. I'm just a tasty dude I guess!

The toilet blocks were kept clean, and we didn't have to queue for showers at any point.

Val and the team have done a great job at filling Andrew & Angela's shoes, and I think as they settle in, things will only get better.

Here's to more next year! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: MaggieMc 6 reviews from this member

 I heard of this site on seeing some photos of a friend's wedding- they were married on the beach belonging to the site. The scenery is stunning

Our first visit was in April 2012-the weather alternated between soggy and sunny. My husband returned in May 2012, using the site as a stopover while travelling a long distance. Our third visit was in June 2012-beautiful sunshine here, whilst raining everywhere else! We cycled and walked around the area, taking lots of photos.

The welcome was friendly on every occasion and the pitch each time was a lovely grassy site with electric hook-up (there are hardstanding areas but we didn't want one). We did not need to use our levelling blocks and did not find the site boggy, as mentioned in a previous review ( looks to have had the drainage improved)

The toilet block was clean and warm on each visit. There are only two showers in each block but neither of us have ever had to wait to use one.

There is free wifi on site now too which is useful.

I find this site very peaceful and relaxing, with plenty of room between pitches to allow privacy and a great nights sleep! 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BabsF 35 reviews from this member

 Nice site. Owners are in the midst of building a new house so reception was closed. It was quite a trek following the arrows along a long, pot-holed track to find them.

Despite being advertised in camping guide we were not offered a hardstanding.

We were allocated a pitch on grass (not good in wet weather as it was quite muddy) and when we got there it was taken so had to go next door.

Not very level either. Facilities are quite good but don't understand the need for them being locked (5 deposit for key).

Very, very dark at night and very quiet so had best nights sleep ever.

Quite expensive. (21pn)

Nice area for walking. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sunnyside240 4 reviews from this member

 This is a very pleasant site in a lovely, natural location.

The toilet block was good with an intriguing design and kept very clean and tidy. Recycling facilities available.

There were good laundry facilities - washing machines and dryers using tokens which were good value for money. There were also outdoor washing up areas.

The owners had leaflets on local walks and there was access to the nearby beach and walks along the coast.

We did think that it was rather expensive compared with other sites that we had stayed on but there was a nice friendly atmosphere. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nickmcn 3 reviews from this member

 Spent 2 weeks on this site mid-end of August 2010 with my family and friends, 2 large tents (wolflake 7 x2).

It's a small site well managed, owners were very pleasant and helpful. We had 2 large pitches (mostly level), more than enough room for 2 tents,2 gazebos,2 cars plus trailers.

Hook ups were a bit far away, no problem though the owners kindly lent us extension cables (no cost)

The washroom/toilet/shower block is quite small( only 2 showers in each), that said we rarely had to wait.The owners did their best to keep them clean despite some messy campers.(same everywhere). A weather chart was put up each day for the coming 5 days, very useful!

Laundry room was useful and clean.It has books and local info inside.

The location is superb if you like clean sandy empty beaches/coves.The sea is crystal clear,plenty of rocks to climb and pools to investigate.All within 5 min walk.

Sunsets were fantastic.

The scenery in this area is typical highlands, so don't expect to get anywhere quickly.

Fires are permitted on the beach (below high tide level)but not on site.

The site has no shop, that said free range eggs were available as was their own mutton (delicious!)A travelling shop visits twice a week. The local town/village (10 mins by car) has co-op and spar if needed.

I would recommend the local swimming pool,cheap and empty most of the time, kids loved it as they could use the inflatable toys left by the poolside.

There are many local walks, details are availble from the owners.

Finally, a comment re midges,generally they were not a problem,maybe we were lucky or maybe the anti midge stuff we used (SMIDGE and/or Avon Skin So soft)worked.On site there were few about,off site when fishing in local lochs there were plenty about.

Only downside was, its a long drive from Hampshire! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MalcolmR 35 reviews from this member

 Unfortunately it rained for 2 days out of our 4 day stay but when the sun shone it was hot.

Most of the previous reviews have covered everything, and its certainly is a wonderful site. So I shall only add a few points. The pitches were reasonably level and very well drained the pegs went in easy,to a soft sandy grass. The pitches are in a lovely sheltered area which is handy if the wind does pick up off the sea. You choose your own spot the pitches seemed spacious and well spaced out. The site was full when we were there and could have had many more tents fitted in.

The showers and toilets were very well kept and clean did not to wait too long for a shower, Only down mark was lack of hooks to hang a wash bag etc up beside each sink. The midges were not seen during our stay Yipeeee

Hope to return to this very nice clean, quiet, well run site. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zoe56 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite very clean showers and toilets. Toilet block is accessed by key so very annoying when you forget the key in the middle of the night and you have a desperate child with you. Thought the prices a bit much for the facilities available. Nice walk to the beaches very sheltered. Possibly wouldn't return here but would definitely recommend it. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AndyRomain 34 reviews from this member

 Have just visited this wonderful site for the 3rd time in as many years, and it never fails to disappoint. Friendly, well organised, clean and the most amazing scenery (I've taken to referring to the beach as 'My Beach' to friends and family). The only thing I hate about this site is leaving at the end of the vacation. The beaches and surrounding area are nothing short of breathtaking, there are enough facilities locally (Arisaig, Mallaig and Fort Bill) to keep you stocked up, and the sunset over Skye is amazing (as the other campers stood on the beach at sunset with cameras will no doubt agree).

There was only one downside! Moments after finishing pitching the tent, a strange old boy and his wife pulled up in their mucky little caravan, and pitched it about 6 feet from our windbreak, with their door looking directly at ours, about 12' in total. Being very British I found it far more appropriate to look aghast and make loud references rather than say 'Oi Mate, are you having a laugh!?'. Their dog fouled the path to the beach too! I cheered 3 days later when we returned from a day out and their caravan was gone!

However, in all, an excellent site, great value for money, and a good, level, well draining site (as long as you stay away from the slope in the far right corner). 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Snoopysmum 27 reviews from this member

 What a super site! Very friendly and helpful owners, spotless showers and toilets.

Absolutely fabulous setting, saw sea otters from the beach which is a very short walk away, lots of different 'coves' that you can walk to.

Lovely separate areas so not aware of how many tents/vans are staying.

Lots of places to visit in the area

We will definitely be returning. 


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camusdarach Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camusdarach Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Camusdarach Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Arisaig      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3982 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement