Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camusdarach Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Arisaig > Camusdarach Campsite Reviews

Camusdarach Campsite
Camusdarach
Arisaig
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
PH39 4NT
Tel: 01687 450221
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 42
Open: 15/03 To 15/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 55 Reviews
                8/10 from 55 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: LozzaS5 19 reviews from this member

Easy to find small site (around 40 pitches) on a beautiful part of Scotlandís west coast.

Good level hard standing pitches sizes as awning goes on grass. Also tent EHU area, 3 pods and

A few grass EHU pitches.

Tent field better for views but formal field better for facilities and quiet.

Walks to beach easy and not overstated, just amazing beaches and views. Other sites in the area on beach

But dunes on way delightful.

Friendly and helpful owners offering Pizzas in summer plus proper coffee and croissants in the morning

Toilet block with two showers per gender clean and stylish but not quite spotless

MH water and waste facilities ok. Good recycling as expected for an eco site.

No pubs in easy walking distance but only one worth visiting in the area being Crofters bar (with live music on Fridays and Sundayís) at Arisaig hotel

Look out for Jacobite express twice daily from Fort William to Mallaig, often steam noting nearby

Arisaig station (most westerly in uk) good place to see close up as trains often stop.

Expensive site but worth the money and consistent with local competition.

Deposit and refund rules better than before

Some midges in June but unusually still

No childrenís play area but no need as dunes, beaches and rock pools a blast

Looks like a pleasant tenters field

Sunsets and sunrises to die for

Booking recommended and we will return in August

Maybe better sites in the area but not overall

WiFi average to good depending on demand

Quiet roads good for cycling, hillier towards Mallaig, delightfully remote South of Arisaig

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LaAn 3 reviews from this member

This is a great site with gorgeous beaches on its doorstop. Staff were friendly and make fresh pizzas in the evening when ordered before 5pm which is super handy after a busy day and food places are a short drive away.

You are left to your own decision of where to pitch a tent - sounds nice and laid back but actually when you return back to your tent you might find someone has pitched right in front of your door or can't get your car out so just be careful. All other camping sites we've been to tell you where to pitch and to keep a certain distance away from other tents - might be useful for the owners to start doing this when it is busy.

The facililties are nice and they have a laundry area which is coin operated. They also have wifi which was always in working order and they let you charge your phone etc if you need to.

Make sure you bring games if it rains. If you don't like being in the rain there isn't much you can do about it I'm afraid except play games in your tent. We played archery at arisaig hotel which is probably the best rainy activity and was really good fun. The woman we had (can't remember her name but was from Finland) was superb.

We also ate at the arisaig hotel one night - the food was good and the staff were lovely, would definitely eat there again. I believe they also play live music some evenings.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andy75 45 reviews from this member

I had pre booked onto this site weeks in advance, there is a huge waiting list to get on especially when requesting EHU. The weather was absolutely appalling but we had paid in full and in the area anyway.

The website makes a good impression on this site which was considerably smaller than we had expected, a typical farm site to be fair. We were placed at the back of a field with an extension to the hook up point, views were poor and notice the main camping area which was separate had the best. However the staff were incredibly welcoming in every way, faultless.

The toilet block was small but incredible inside, totally hotel standard with two showers and cubicles each. Showers free and very powerful. Two washing areas outside and laundry behind. The reception offers a very tiny shop where they will make you tea & coffee and pastries, porridge and snacks are on offer well priced.

There are no real walkable villages nearby although I did make the 3 miles to Morar on foot which was enjoyable.

The real attraction here of course is the coastline. The Sands of Morar were stunning even on a bad day (and it was terrible) along with the beach which is easily reached in 4-5 minutes from the site.

Big downside to this site was the price and the fact you have to pay up in full. I understand if everyone cancelled due to bad weather it could affect their business, but considering it was a midweek stay and we had booked well in advance I considered a large non-refundable deposit would have been more suitable like most sites do. I also felt they were capitalising on the views, I've stayed in far better located coastal sites which have totally blown me away the moment I step outside the tent.

Would I return?

Purely on the basis I'd like to see this coastline on a dry day yes, not sure if I would use this site again or try Silversands further up the road depending on how busy they are.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mindymoo55 2 reviews from this member

A lovely site with plenty of space, in a lovely area of Scotland. Only stayed for 1 night but wanted to stay longer to explore the area. Will definitely return. Friendly helpful owners. Hot croissants and pain au chocolat available for breakfast. Facilities on site excellent too.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dtmw 1 review from this member

The best thing about this campsite is that it's within walking distance to Camusdarach beach, with glorious white sand. You can't see it though from the site. If you're a fit adult it's probably a 5 minute walk from the camping area, via three gates and two sets of wooden steps - if you've a toddler in tow, it's more like 15 minutes.

The shower and toilet block is nicely done up but with two loos and three showers in the ladies, and two loos, two urinals and two showers in the gents, I imagine there are queues when the 17 hook-ups plus extra tent spaces are occupied.

It's advertised as dog-friendly, so much so that very few dogs were kept on leads on site, and we had several near misses with dog poo on the way to the beach.

As is normal in Scotland it rained for much of our stay, and the ground on site became very muddy and waterlogged. I'm not sure why the gravel around the shower and toilet block has not been extended in a path to the entrance driveway and from there to the bins. I slipped up flat on my back twice in two days depositing rubbish in the bin, so was grateful that the owner agreed to my request to a washing and drying token, although it didn't quite stretch - with washing at £2. 50 and drying at £4. 00 (for two hours in a domestic machine), I'd recommend bringing extra sets of clothes.

Disappointing that the take-away only operates from July to September.

Overall a nice site, but not worth the £27 a night it cost us. The beach is definitely worth a revisit though.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nizzy99 4 reviews from this member

Great Campsite with excellent facilities and lovely owners, newly refurbished shower block is fantastic with waterfall shower heads which are always hot, toilets, several wash areas to clean hands and face, as well as well covered washing up areas for doing the dishes, free WiFi covering much of the site although we ended up in a field they normally only use for wedding functions so couldn't get WiFi for much of the trip (not entirely a bad thing) as a little bonus there is a small shop which sells your normal campsite basics, come night time and morning the shop is a basic takeaway taking orders before 5pm for dinner (pizza's and chips) if you didn't fancy cooking the odd night and in the morning they serve fresh baked croissants and pain au chocolat again handy if you fancied not having to cook breakfast all of which was very reasonably priced. Access to several outstanding beaches less than 2mins walk from the tent and the surrounding area has plenty to see and do, ehu is also available. Will definitely be returning again. You are well advised to book in advance as this is a popular site and for very good reason.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hibbsa64 8 reviews from this member

Lovely site.

New showers which looked fab but I could only get cold water, my husband didn't have any problems though.

Direct access to a stunning beach.

No play area but my boys loved the beach and woods for making dens.

Located between Arisaig and Mallaig, Mallaig is lovely and has an excellent fresh fish shop.

Unfortunately it was very wet when we were there but if you get the weather it would be perfect!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Highlander09 17 reviews from this member

A great site for a relaxing break. We were able to leave the car parked for most of the time and walked just about everywhere either on the beach, the sand dunes or quiet lanes.

The new shower block was better than we had hoped for after reading earlier review. My only VERY SMALL criticism would be to have a few coat hooks by the dish wash area.

The site is very convenient for dog walking being only a couple of minutes from the beach and with sand dunes to explore.

Arisaig has a good shop but when we were there the visitor centre was being refurbished although there was no indication for this on all the posters being displayed.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lavjan 10 reviews from this member

Camusdarach Campsite is situated in an amazing area, with access to the most wonderful beaches, soft white sand and beautiful views over to the Islands of Rum and Egg.

I had a large pitch for van and awning and plenty of room to sit outside.

Clean washing area. Showers too small and no shelf for my glasses, ended up using the vans shower. Only one water tap for 2 camping fields. Would be very easy to spur off to provide another.

The owners have only been there for 2 years and I feel they are still learning. They are very helpful. However I do think the site needs a little TLC, otherwise it will run out of control.

Very relaxed, which is great, however it felt there were no rules eg, open fires direct on the grass, dogs off leads.

I loved the area and the site has potential with care.

A little too pricey at present.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Speaker12 13 reviews from this member

I stayed here for five nights, arriving on a Monday. A friendly welcome from the staff on arrival and I could choose where I wanted to pitch as there was only one other tent in the field (it didn't get busier until Friday night).

A short walk from the site takes you onto 'Ben's beach', quite possibly one of the most beautiful places I've ever been to.

Toilet facilities were spotless. There are two showers which were seemingly designed by wee Jimmie Crankie but other than that they were fine.

The site reception sells bacon rolls/coffee etc and was open all day from 7. 30am.

Less than an hour away is Fort William and between there and Mallaig you've got plenty of gorgeous scenery such as the hills around Glenfinnan viaduct or the beaches at Arisaig / Morar. There are shops in Mallaig for food etc and I can recommend fish and chips from 'The Cabin' takeaway.

The only real negative comment is the price. It was £20 a night (one person, 3-4 man tent) which is a lot more than I paid when I visited the site in 2009. I may look at some of the other sites near Arisaig if I visit again.

Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Arisaig      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5733 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019