Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camusdarach Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Arisaig > Camusdarach Campsite Reviews

Camusdarach Campsite
Camusdarach
Arisaig
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
PH39 4NT
Tel: 01687 450221
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 42
Open: 15/03/2022 to 15/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 59 Reviews
                9/10 from 59 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sheldon2113 2 reviews from this member

 This campsite is a trek to get to but once you are there it is fantastic. The views are incredible, the beach is breathtakingly beautiful and the pitches are well spaced.
The toilets and showers are kept clean and tidy. Ideally suited for touring the west coast. I especially recommend the boat trip from Arisaig (Shearwater) we went over to Muck fantastic wild life Minkies, Propoise, Puffins, Seals, Basking Shark And Loads Of Sea Birds. The best was that the dogs were all allowed on the trip too.
Fantastic holiday. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AndyRomain 34 reviews from this member

 What to say, but WOW! This was by far the most beautiful campsite I stayed in on my End to End trip. I got a little lost on the way, but a phone call to the owners put me on the right track. I came in from Ardnamurchan, so the trip was amazingly scenic. A quick pitch on a nice, well maintained, soft and level patch, and then off for the 2 minute walk to the beach. I'm a big Local Hero fan, and was really thrilled to be at one of the locations - the Chapel shown in the film is a house, but readily identifiable. The beach is spectacular but not so busy as to be unenjoyable, with both the famous 'silver sands' and some good rock pools to look at. The owners, despite what I've seen in other reviews, were nothing short of helpful, friendly and courteous. If my house gets repossessed in the current recession - I'll be living here in m tent! The shower block was clean and well maintained. The only downside was that either I was using the wrong water supply, or it had just been flushed, as my water tasted of TCP. There was a further matter of a group of very discourteous campers next to me that talked until 0030hrs, went for a midnight walk, then returned at 0300hrs and carried on their nattering at full volume, one of them having the cheek to criticise a guy for snoring as he was keeping her awake! Apart from that, this was an amazing site, and I'll definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zgaze 3 reviews from this member

 This campsite is in an amazing setting 2 minutes walk from a perfect beach with deserted white sands and crystal clear water. No pub or restaurant in walking distance, but Mallaig which has several lovely places to eat and was an easy and spectacular drive.

There are currently major restructuring roadworks on 'the road to the isles' but this didn't seem to be too much of a problem in July.

When we stayed the campsite was advertised as full on the gate but we decided to try and get in anyway. The owners aren't the friendliest but managed to find us a space (its dictated by how many spare toilet block keys they have rather than how big your party is, so it made no difference that we just had a tiny backpacker tent and not a 10 man tent).

There are three main areas, one (next to the showers) reserved for caravans, one main field (with a view of the sea and sunset) for tents and then one small area behind this for tents and two further hardstanding areas alongside.

There are only a couple of showers for each gender, but even though the site was full both nights we stayed this did not seem to be a problem and I never had to queue in the ladies.

No fires but BBQs were allowed if you raised them off the ground with flat stones 'provided around the campsite'. Only problem is these stones must be like gold dust because we never found one! There were several badly burnt patches of grass where people had obviously just used a disposable tray straight on the ground so this is something the owners should improve on.

Its a personal bias but for me the site was only let down by the amount of huge family tents and groups of children. Ideal for some I know but this could be a really peaceful and special spot and just wasn't because of kids running round everywhere. Also it doesn't get properly dark here until after midnight in the summer and so the campsite didn't 'settle' until very late. As I said - personal opinion and some will love this aspect I am sure.

Midges were present but weren't a terrible problem.However something else (large, unidentified and very poisonous) bit me ALL over while I was here, so its worth using your repellent of choice!

One warning - at night when the wind comes in straight off the sea it can REALLY whip up. I had a sleepless night in fear of just taking off in our little tent never to be seen again. Strong sand-type pegs and a mallet might be a good idea. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: IlkleyOwl 2 reviews from this member

 We had a wondeful one week stay here at the end of September, helped by fantastic weather. The camp-site is set in amazing scenery and the short walk to the beach was one we looked forward to each day. The beaches by the site were unspoilt and extremely picturesque.
The site itself was very nice although when we were there it was out of season so only a couple of other tents or caravans were there as well.
Shower block was nice, clean and had lovely warm showers - but we did wonder how 2 showers for the ladies sufficed in high season but not a problem for us. Owners were helpful and friendy when we needed to ask them something. Also liked the emphasis on the environmentally friendly aspects of the site. Would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jennybook 3 reviews from this member

 The beaches are fab, but.
If you are in a tent it is disorganised as no marked plots and we only had one option of where to put up our tent and it wasnt a great one as we were right next to the road where cars turn in to the camping field we were on.  So we pitched anyway and I thought we could at least park our car for protection.
However on the third night a German motorhome was parked right next to our tent when we got back and the guy was already asleep. Looking back on it we could have maybe asked the campsite owners to come and intervene as it did not feel safe to have someone that close to our bedrooms who could be leaving early morning and perhaps put motorhome in wrong gear or whatever. Apparently it is not campsite etiquette to park facing a tent anyway.
 
However the owners werent all that easy to get hold of as it meant walking down to their farmhouse and also there was no sign of them patrolling etc.
there was a curfew of 10.30, personally I think an enforced 11pm curfew would be fine but we had people talking until 1 oclock in the morning in a caravan opposite us.
The toilet block is fine but toilet roll not replaced one night - we take our own usually but I would prefer it was either there ALL the time or NOT there ar all !  Otherwise you get caught out.
 
Also there was no indication which water supplies were for disposal of caravan toilets and which were for fresh water for drinking - this needed to be labelled and indicated on the map.
 
Initially I thought I would go back to this site but now I am not so sure unless they change the layout - they could very easily have split the field we were in into a parking area and marked plots for pitching tents - would be a lot safer and they might even get a few more plots out of it !

However the beach is great ! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Quinster1973 5 reviews from this member

 The setting for this campsite is beyond belief, you need to visit it to appreciate the scenery. 
 
The toilet facilities were adequate for the whole week we were there and I never once had to wait.
 
Midges were also not a problem for us, maybe we were just lucky.  This campsite was excellent for us as first time campers.  It offered beautiful walks along very secluded beaches and a small jaunt in the car takes you to the busy fishing port of Mallaig.  
 
If you fancy a car journey, the Glenfinnan House Hotel offers some of the best food at reasonable prices.
 
I agree with some of the other comments, the only negative for me were that the owners came across as indifferent and unfriendly.  I did feel like they were doing me the favour by letting me stay.  The only smile that I got was when I was leaving which is a shame really.  Any interaction reminded me of my old Headmistress.  The male owner was quite rude on the one occasion I left the key for the toilet block and kindly asked him for access as he was right there - quite patronising and ignorant.
 
If you can scrape by without having to interact with the owners the site is top notch.  We were also in the quieter section with the shower blocks so there were no noise problems.  I'd be too frightened to report it to the owners anyway.  If they realise that camping is a people business some day then they'll go from strength to strength.  If they continue to be abrupt and indifferent - people will spread the word.
 
Cheer up, life's too short.  


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tartanpodcast 2 reviews from this member

 The beaches are outstanding but our stay was marred by noise, unfriendly owners and poor facilities.

The site is very average, not helped in the least by the poor toilet facilities; 2 cubicles, 2 showers per ladies and gents. That's it. They were also dirty and poorly supplied with toilet roll and hand towels on several occasions during our 2 night stay. The shower cubicles are minuscule.

There is no site shop and freezing of ice packs is facilitated via the owners home. Not the most approachable of people, I personally felt ridiculed by them the few occasions I visited to drop ice packs off.

Perhaps the biggest gripe about the site is the owner's insistence on locking the toilets. A £5 deposit is required to receive a key, but quite the reason for having the toilets locked is puzzling. Perhaps they've had trouble with people pinching the toilet rolls.

Upon arrival you're presented with a list of site rules, including a 10.30pm 'noise curfew'. Sadly neither of the 2 nights of our stay had that rule enforced.

The only reason for staying at this campsite is the lovely walk to the breathtaking beaches. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Painterlady 4 reviews from this member

 Spent four nights in a tent at this site in mid June. The location is wonderful with access to two small white sand beaches &  one larger white sand beach over sand dunes.The beaches look out to the islands of Eigg , Rhum & Skye.Unfortunately the poor weather prevented us from witnessing the fantastic sunsets that can be viewed from the beaches.The area has lots of walks of varying lengths & is a photographers paradise.
There are no pubs or shops within walking distance( which counts as a plus in my book!) & it is peaceful & tranquil.However we did find some of the ' weekend campers ' at the site got rather rowdy & didn't settle till well after midnight. This is probably because it doesn't get dark till around midnight there at this time of year.A word of warning- midges. We took vitamin B1 & B12 tablets from 2 weeks before our trip, liberally applied Avon skin so soft oil ( blue/green type) & had a clearlite lamp & citronella candles but to no avail. The midges really made eating outside the tent or even just sitting out , something to be endured rather than enjoyed, perhaps our dark coloured dog attracted them  more than usual. Anyway, loved the location, loved the site- toilets clean &
although only 2 showers & 3 loos in the ladies & similar in gents , it was adequate.Recommended out of midge season! 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tiggarsmum 22 reviews from this member

 Camped here last month mainly due to high winds as it is more sheltered than most of the other sites along this stretch of coastline. Toilets are modern and clean but I could imagine you would have a bit of a wait for the showers in the busy season.
There is a short walk from the site to the beach which is lovely.  Its the ideal area for stopping off on route to Skye. You have shops a few miles in either direction of the site in Mallaig or Arisaig.
In comparison to the other sites in the area I felt it was a bit pricy at £14 for a tent in April. However if your holiday depends on having top  spec facilites this is the site for you. 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tapender 4 reviews from this member

 Great site. Staff very friendly and helpful. Barbecues allowed on site. Great beach for watching fantastic sunsets.
Lack of toilets/showers could be problem when site is busy.
Ten minutes drive to Mallaig and ferry.
First time visiting area and will definitely be back to this site. 


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camusdarach Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camusdarach Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Camusdarach Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Arisaig      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4179 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement