Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camusdarach Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Arisaig > Camusdarach Campsite Reviews

Camusdarach Campsite
Camusdarach
Arisaig
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
PH39 4NT
Tel: 01687 450221
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 42
Open: 15/03/2022 to 15/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 59 Reviews
                9/10 from 59 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: PaulineMRoss 16 reviews from this member

 This site is in a wonderful location, a short walk from the beach but sheltered from the worst of the wind. There are said to be 42 pitches, with 20 hookups - it would be quite crowded when full. It was very quiet when we visited, so we were able to get one of only 6 hard-standing pitches. Ours was deep, large gravel, fine for us but our neighbours had trouble positioning their caravan. The rest of the pitches are grass.

The toilet block was immaculate, with soap dispensers and paper towels, but only 3 toilets and 2 showers in the ladies (and presumably the same for the men's side) hardly seems enough for perhaps 100+ people on site during the summer.

There was only one fresh water tap and waste water drain, and both were set in grass and therefore muddy. The price of £18 for two people and van per night out of season seems steep for a site with only basic facilities. There is a £5 deposit for a key to the toilet block. The owner was very friendly and helpful, but didn't make it clear to us that she was assigning us a specific pitch. We worked it out eventually from the number tag on the key. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thorneywilson 2 reviews from this member

 Having had a magical holiday as a child staying in the main house I was a bit nervous that it might not live up to my memories but need not have worried - the beach is just as beautiful as ever and we had the most amazing time, helped by the fact the weather was generally kind. This is a brilliant site if you just want to chill out and enjoy the natural beauty, although not for those who like their entertainment laid on.

Tent pitching is a bit haphazard - you are given a map of the site on arrival and told which spots are available - but all very flat and quite sheltered.

Toilets and showers kept very clean, though only 2 showers meant a bit of wait in the morning if you didn't time it right - teenage girls seemed to favour 8.30 onwards! (Not a lot of space in shower cubicals but can cope with that if they are clean.) Couldn't say what it was like in the early evening as we were on the beach til gone 10 most nights and was quiet by then. Toilets are accessed by keys which is a bit awkward -especially if you forget it in the middle of the night!

2 washing up sinks are outside, under the eaves of the toilet block so you have to stand in open to queue but wasn't really a problem. We didn't like the taste of the water so ended up buying bottled water from Mallaig, which is normally against my principles, but my sister who stayed 2 weeks later thought it was fine!

There is also a laundry room with washing machines & dryers - tokens have to be bought first, think it was about £3 to wash and dry one load. Also loads of local info in here which we didn't discover until towards the end of our stay. Only thing that was missing was facilities for ice packs - we did hear that you could pay to use the owner's freezer but we managed without.

No official children's play area but ours kept disappearing off to a rope swing in the woods on the way to the beach (most of the woodland is preserved for wildlife so you are asked to stay out but this bit had pathways into it)Might be a bit harder to keep toddlers happy though. However, weather permitting, the beach is the best playground ever! We were lucky in that we made friends with a couple of families with kids the same age (8 & 5) so had a kind of informal babysitting circle which meant that there was usually one of the adults available on the beach to keep an eye on things whilst the other adults were at the tents cooking etc. My daughter had the most memorable birthday party in the beach with all her new friends.

Wet weather activities - not a huge choice but enough to survive - Mallaig has a swimming pool and a little local museum, Jacobite Steam trains. We took ordinary train to Glenfinnan from Arisaig and had a great day out there. Also plenty of boat trips.

Owners friendly but like you to stick to the rules - make sure you book in before you pitch as they get a bit cross if you don't apparently. However, they did kindly forward a delivery of wellingtons to my home address which didn't arrive whilst I was there which was most helpful!

All in all, a fantastic campsite in a fantastic location and we will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Number6ix 2 reviews from this member

 If nothing else then just the scenery makes this site, it is absolutely breathtaking. That said this is a great site with good facilities

When we were there it was cold with one morning the tent covered in a frost, but the sunsets more than made up for the chill.

The toilet blocks were good, the only slight criticism was the showers were small leaving little room to dry and dress.

Warden was friendly and was there when required, not that we did. A quiet, well run site that we would recommend that anyone to anyone visiting the west coast of Scotland. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Megolodon 17 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from a week on this site. On arrival, we parked up and strolled down to the reception area. We were greeted by the owner who informed us that we could not take our dog in to the reception (in his kitchen) - a sign would be helpful to let you know before you get asked to leave! It is stated in the leaflet you get on arrival but by that time …. It is toooo late!

The site was very busy as we had 2 pitches booked right next to the toilet block. The toilet block is like a little wooden chalet. Inside the ladies (which is the only one I saw!) there were 3 toilets and 2 showers with a further 3 hand basins. The showers were very small and not much good for getting changed in. As I said the site was very busy when we were there so I was surprised to read the other reviews saying how clean the toilets and showers were. Unfortunately for us, they were not clean at all and nearly every time we went to the block, there was a queue for the toilet or shower. There was no roof on the shower/toilet block between the ladies and gents and the laundry, so they were a bit noisy and full of webs. Having said all that, they were cleaned every day and always had loo paper (but not hand towels).

The site is separated in two by a little pathway. The top site looked like it held around 6/7 caravans and the rest was for tents. The lower site again had about 6/7 hook-ups and the rest was for tents (there is a mix of caravans and tents on both sites). They are a bit crammed with enough room for an awning and a car. The ground is sandy and is all grass (might be a problem if it is really wet). Pegs will go in very easily.

Quiet time is after 11pm and most people do adhere to this – we were a bit unlucky to get numpties using hairdryers after 11 with the doors open! What can you do…

There is no kid’s play area at this site but there is plenty of things to do and loads of room on the many beaches that surround the site. Unfortunately when we were there, the kids on site were kicking balls, throwing frisbee’s and riding bikes all around our pitch – nightmare if you care about your car or caravan. No rules seemed to be posted about ball games etc on the pitches. There is no shop on site - closes would be Mallaig.

It is also advertised to have 2 midge eaters – true on both sites but ours was never on and one of the kids got 31 midge bites! There is a dish washing area with 2 sinks at the back of the toilet block (outdoors) – this is ok but again there were always queues to use it and it is located under trees – terrible for midges!

It is about 5 minute walk to the beaches and this is where this site comes into it’s own. The beaches are superb and if you are lucky enough like us, you might see an amazing sunset over Skye. The sea is turquoise blue with shoals of little fishes in it (the kids will love this with a little net).

Mallaig is only about 15 minutes away in the car. It has a little harbour (see if you can feed a seal!), a few gift shops, restaurants and takeaways and 2 supermarkets (small).

This review may sound a little negative but I simply want to let you all know exactly what we found on this site. Would I go again, probably not but I still would recommend it simply for the location if nothing else. It is definitely worth a visit but is no Caravan Club site by a long way. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tony Burgess 10 reviews from this member

 We used this site having read other people's recent reviews and were not disappointed! We arrived on a damp day with sea mist rolling in but then enjoyed great weather for our few days stay.

Several other sites nearby though much nearer the sandy beaches offer little or no shelter - rather important for those of us using smaller tents.

We enquired a few days ahead and received an immediate & helpful reply, and were glad to have booked as the site became full and several units had to be turned away.

One touch we really appreciated was the daily posting of the 5-day Met Office weather forecast.

The washroom etc facilities were good & well looked after. But in wet weather we would have appreciated a nearer drinking water supply - we do not need EHU and could have got pretty wet walking over to the facilities block from the mostly-tents field.

Midges were about, but the field we were in had a 'midgebuster' operating and we were liberal in using the highly recommended 'soft-skin' product. (The latter didn't deter the biting flies on Rhum, though, a fantastic day trip using CalMac from Mallaig).

This is a most beautiful area and this has to be one of the best sites within it. If we have the opportunity to return for another camping holiday there I have no doubt we will choose this site again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mamee 6 reviews from this member

 Site in very sheltered location which on an exposed West coast with stiff breezes was very welcome, though it may worsen the midge problem but they were not too bad during our visit.

Fantastic short walk to the beach which is superb, with beautifuly clear water and fantastic views to Skye and the Small Isles.

Facilities were a bit tight for space but beautifuly clean and well kept. A few hooks in the loos and by the wash basins would have made it easier.

For children there is no play equipment on the site and I would imagine there is not a lot of space at busy periods. However there is just a short walk to a beach where there is plenty space. Although woods surround the site the owners ask that these are kept as wildlife havens rather than play areas, in keeping with the ecological nature of site.

As a peaceful get away it is beyond compare. No noise at night, just the early morning alarm from the enthusiastic dawn chorus of birds and bees humming in the edges behind.

A Stunning site. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AndyRomain 34 reviews from this member

 Following a single overnight stay at this amazing site last August, I decided to return this spring for a few more nights to give myself a bit more time in the area.

I was visiting with the intention of climbing Ben Nevis, but given the scenery around here, thought it'd be well worth the trade off with driving distances, and I was right.

The beach here is nothing short of breathtaking. The sunrise and sunsets are amazing, the water iridescent, and at this time of year, practically had the place to myself.

The owners were as hospitable as ever, and the amenities superb.

If you need to get away from it all for a few days, this is the place to go. Forty-five minutes from Fort William, 10 minutes from Mallaig (which has an excellent fish & chip shop), it's a little out on a limb, but it depends what you're seeking. For me the tranquillity and solitude were perfect.

I can't recommend this site highly enough, and will be going back again in the future. Just be aware that it gets pretty busy in the high season, so book well in advance. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: STRUMMER 1 review from this member

 Camusdarach Campsite. Heaven indeed / or simply paradise in Scotland. Coming from bonnie Scotland myself central ( I didn't even know places like this existed. Not in scotland. We're usually grey with thick cloud, rain, hale, sleet & snow).
Anyway took board on the campsite for one luxurious night. The location was easy to find with some absolutely stunning views on the way. On entering the site I had to park next to the toilet block before having a little stroll down to the reception house, where I was welcomed and in exchange for a fee received a direction note: a printed piece of paper with directions to my stay area, along with my toilet shower key.
In not wasting another second in relieving myself after such a long journey ( yes ) I used my newly given key & magically it opened the toilet block door, which on the outside looked shally-ish and smart with a nice country-ish theme, and to my amazement found on the inside sparkling clean toilets & shower blocks that were well presented and maintained.
Setting off to my stay area there were quite a few happy fellow campers already pitched and going about their own business so I went about mine. The area seemed ok, a little slopy, but well maintained and clean. So set up and pitched for the night.
Arriving quite early I then began my venture to the beaches of arisaig. Where the views and scenery and landscapes and beaches are all just breathtakingly beautiful, clean and dog pooh free.
On finding that the site doesn't have a shop. Reverting to my sat nav tom tom piece of paper, it had directions to a near by town called mallaig, situated ( 2 miles ) from the site. It was clearly marked with simple directions, where I could buy local produce / find a supermarket / refuel / buy a newspaper / have a coffee or a wee dram in one of the local bars. There's even a small ferry crossing taking you to some of the small islands, just off the coast. Oh and a train station.It was a pleasant journey going to mallaig even though it was only 2 miles discovering more beautiful heavenly beaches on the route.
My opinion of Camusdarach Campsite is that during my time of stay the overall condition to which I found everything and despite the fact that there was no site shop, I could not fault anything about my stay, well except fo the midgies, who love to have a bite. But rather a midgie than a mosquito.
10/10 from me very highly recommended campsite and place, kids will love the beaches there's plenty to explore, nice country walks along the coast and if the sun shines like it did when I was there, you wont want to come home. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: K8middleton 1 review from this member

 We stayed here as part of a trip around Scotland. This site is a wonderful place to stay if you want to get away from it all - the most amazing scenery with the beach just a stroll away, then piping hot showers to thaw you out when you get back!
Some might call it a basic site as it doesn't have shop, play area or anything - but we thought it was wonderful and the showers / toilet facilities were great.
We were there for the annual agricultural show which was great fun and would definitely recommend it if you're around at that time. DO beware though - as others have said it really doesn't get dark until near midnight in June - great for us as we didn't have kids then but now that we do I think I'd find it hard to get them to sleep.
However, if you like sitting out with a drink and a late meal, the long hours of light really do help - and it saves on torch batteries too! 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Lorae-w 2 reviews from this member

 Had a fantastic time here very relaxed. Toilets were spotless key entry. Child friendly beach exactly what the pictures look like. Very quiet at nights apart from the sound of the waves, which sends you to sleep.
We just turned up, were very lucky all other sites in area were full so I would recommend pre booking. But yes we were made very welcome by the lady at reception and will definitely be going back. 


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camusdarach Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camusdarach Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Camusdarach Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Arisaig      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3520 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement