Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Windmill Hill Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Pembroke > Windmill Hill Farm Reviews

Windmill Hill Farm
St Daniels
Pembroke
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA71 5BT
Tel: 01646 682392
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 30
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 65 Reviews
                9/10 from 65 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  65 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Madbutch75 5 reviews from this member

We just returned from 8 days at windmill hill farm and have to agree with all orevious reviews that it is an excellent site. We were looking for a pitch with hookup and space next to it fir the various family that joined us throughout the week. The owner said this wouldn't be a problem and on arrival gave us a space with enough room fir a couple of tents to the side.

The owners of the site were very nice and welcoming and happy to chat and answer any questions. They seemed the type that would go out of their way to help.

The site was good and despite heavy rains over the first couple of day's the ground didn't get muddy. Facilities are excellent with four showers in the mens and plenty if toilets and sinks, a communal chest freezer and fridge are also a great addition and microwave oven too.

The weather was great for most of the week and the site was sheltered enough from the dreaded wind we usually encounter near the coast, in fact a neighbour said they had moved here as their tent was being blown away nearby on the coast, yet there was not a breathe when they got here.

Location wise it is a bit of a trek to pembroke, probably 25 min walk, but taxi was only 4 quid and sure a bus was possible if we looked. Its central for a lot if beaches and walks and there are plenty of pubs to enjoy, we found the speculation inn good and also the swanlake inn. In pembroke we tried the royal george and the waterman for drinks both were good.

Final bonus was price of pitch, cheaper than nearly all other local campsites.

All in all brilliant site which hope to return to soon.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kirsty_Atkin 13 reviews from this member

Wow what a great campsite! A really well kept campsite. Picnic benches dotted round the campsite are a nice luxury when in a small tent. Having use of a fridge & freezer was welcoming as we had unseasonably hot weather at the end of May. It was a little odd having piped radio in the shower/toilet block but also strangely nice.

Barafundle Bay is a gorgeous beach and well worth a visit. Windmill Hill is not far from Pembroke which boast a whole host of places to eat & visit - Rowlies for fish & chips is a must.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Deacon5 1 review from this member

Fantastic site for campers & carvans etc - families, groups or even on your own. Facilities are clean, warm & welcoming and really just where you want them to be. Dog & teenager friendly, I couldn't have asked for a more perfect setting. Handy for all of the local beaches plus Pembroke is on the doorstep - wonderful castle and helpful staff in the local stores.

The owners of Windmill Hill Farm are perfect hosts - can't wait to go back later this year.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Samldav20 1 review from this member

We stayed at this wonderful campsite twice in the space of 2 months. What a lovely site.

The first time we stayed we took the dogs and the site was kept clean and tidy and as an owner of a dog that dislikes dogs running free. There were none, unless in the exercise area or under complete control.

The 2nd time it was just me and the fiance as we wanted to explore this wonderful area a little bit more.

The staff at the site were very helpful and friendly and when I was taken to hospital the 2nd time around they had no problems with my fiance leaving and coming back at ridiculous hours due to the circumstances.

The eggs from the farm house are fresh as you can get them. Well worth asking for one or two in the morning :)

Very close to shops, beaches, attractions and food takeouts.

Really good as well that they offered electric hook up for a tent as some places do not offer this

We were also given the opportunity for grass or all weather pitch.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: KathLewis 3 reviews from this member

Fantastic site for caravan or tent.

Nice size toilet and shower blocks, free hot showers, disabled toilet/shower too.

Really friendly owners, there was nothing too much trouble.

All good size pitches all hard standing for the caravans, good roads around the pitches.

Really good location with Pembroke town and a tescos a short drive away. Chinese and children's park 5min drive.

Amazing beachsides around 10-20min drive away, I highly recommend Angle beach! Free parking here too!

We've stayed here around six times in the last two years. I love it!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Skodie 15 reviews from this member

Great Value for money. 13 a night for a family tent in August, no defined pitches but tents were well spaced and we were offered a selection by the friendly owner.

Tent field is on a slope but pitch was relatively level. Nearby B road is busy especially at shift change times for oil refinery

Facilities are a little tired but adequate. Pembroke was disappointing not a tourist destination, but fantastic coastline, great beach at Broadhaven South approx 15 mins.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kirsty1680 9 reviews from this member

I stayed here for two nights with my husband and two children (5 and 2) - what a gem of a place!

It was very pretty, had fab facilities and had a very friendly owner. It was clean everywhere we went and although, at first impressions, there doesn't seem to be many showers and toilets etc I never had to wait.

Nice place to go as a family as once 9:30 - 10pm came everyone was quiet and respectful of each other.

The only criticism I can make (and this is me being picky!) is that the tents were close to each other, would have been nice to have a bit more space between each other.

Particularly liked the fact that they have a little store of things you can borrow for when you forget to bring yours! Great idea!

This is possibly also the cheapest place we have ever camped at too - full marks all round!

Date of Visit: November 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fuzzyfreak 29 reviews from this member

This is a well kept site up a hill just out of Pembroke with good hard standing, electric hookup and excellent washroom facilities. The owners and their dogs are very friendly.

The site was rather unglamorous with no nice views and too close to the road for my liking. In my opinion, Pembroke was a dump out of season, nothing to do and rather run down.

Please don't be fooled by the submitted photograph, it is of a beach near Pembroke and not the view you will get from the site - I find this rather misleading.

A good stopover site.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Leicmags 2 reviews from this member

Well, I'm some what hesitant to write this review just in case this site get such a list of positive reviews it may become difficult to book onto this site!

We have just returned from 2 fabulous weeks at Windmill Hill Farm. Weather could have been slightly kinder to us but the welcome we received could not have been warmer.

On arriving, we booked in and details of our pitch were given - on arriving at our pitch we were very pleased with the size - our caravan is 26' twin axle with large awning - the pitch was an excellent size & lots of space between each caravan.

Good dog walking field situated along side the caravan park.

Laundry facilities are good - washing machine 2. 50, tumble drier 20p for 5 minutes cycle. Toilet/shower block good - ladies have 5 shower cubicles which are clean, good water temperature and of a good size, hand basins & Free to use Hair drier - which is quite rare.

Great walks, pubs & beaches are all within reach of this site - it's perfectly situated for Tenby, 10 miles away. Stackpole, Barafundle Bay, Freshwater west & the Lily ponds are all a must. ,

Local stores - Tesco's at Pembroke Dock, 2 miles away - large store. Co-Op in Pembroke, 1/2 mile - medium size.

Pembroke itself was somewhat disappointing, just 1 street with uninspired shops - the castle is there which, if your into castles, I understand it's quite impressive - didn't visit on this occasion.

I would personally highly recommend this site if you are looking for a nicely presented caravan site with good space between vans, peace and quiet, lots of interesting places to visit, great beaches and walks and friendly owners who are there should you need anything.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lanceinwales 3 reviews from this member

This site ticks all of the boxes.

We arrived on a Thursday night without booking. The owner was busy outside his house but quickly accepted us, pointed out the very central and ample facilities and walked us onto the camping feild. He pointed out a few possible camping areas and gave us the freedom to continue to choose our pitch at our convenience.

There were plenty of electric hook-ups available in the closest part of the split field, but we are self sufficient (gas) and chose the other part of the feild. Still close enough to the toilet blocks for us.

Good points.

What was probably one shared block for men and women is now the male block. Two rooms with 3 great showers in each, 3 toilets in each and a couple of urinals in one.

In a central room there is a large communal chest freezer, a free microwave and two large washing sinks. Brilliant set up, solid structure (no stud walls or flimsy cubicles. )

Nice paper towels and lots of toilet paper.

A separate small building had an industrial washing machine (2-50) and a large drier (20p per 5 mins) and all the local information you could possibly want, or need! All clean and tidy.

My wife tells me that the separate ladies block was newer with 5 showers, toilets and sinks and A free Hairdryer! It also had an area with a free to use microwave and 2 communal fridges.

The camping area was well grassed and started flat (where the electric hook-ups were) sloping up slightly the further into the field you went.

I would say that it is very good for the area.

The site was lovely and quiet and the owners were very helpful and accommodating when called upon.

In our opinion there are no bad points. We loved this site and will go again.

Some information that I will add though.

The site is close to the only access road to Angle. Although it is not a busy road you do hear some regular, low level traffic noise.

Also, there is a relatively small alteration to the local road being carried out which adds to the noise slightly and can be seen in the distance.

But. These are small issues, out of the site owners control, and the noise is very low level.

The site is in the perfect position for visiting the Pembrokeshire area and most people seemed to go off during the day.

There are wonderful beaches and attractions close by in every direction.

The overall balance of site size, facilities and service was excellent. Very relaxing and comfortable.

However, be warned that the weather bites in this part of Wales. Great fun, but can be challenging.

Previous     65 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Pembroke      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7127 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019