Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Windmill Hill Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Pembroke > Windmill Hill Farm Reviews

Windmill Hill Farm
St Daniels
Pembroke
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA71 5BT
Tel: 01646 682392
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 65 Reviews
                9/10 from 65 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  65 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nursefurbie 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a week at Windmill Hill. Lovely friendly couple who were really helpful (particularly when I fell flat on my face tripping over my laces on a dark sunday night!). The facilities were fab, really clean and always well stocked with paper towels, loo rolls and hot water. Big area for washing pots and pans and also a fridge and microwave should you need one. Didnt use them but there were also laundry facilities on site.

We had a pitch with electric hookup, of which there were a few. They were also really helpful on our last day, we didnt get booted off by a particular time - it was difficult to pack up with a broken elbow so that made things far less stressful.

The disabled loo and shower were also great, only thing I would add for the vain amongst us is a mirror ;o)

It was a really peaceful site and very dog friendly too, we are looking forward to returning next year minus the trip to A&E LOL

Some lovely local beaches and coastal path walks; freshwater east, swanlake bay, manorbier, barafundle, broad haven to name but a few.

Total thumbs up guys.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Davew2 2 reviews from this member

Excellent Site, £3.50 per night per person.  Spent a week here at the end of July.  The site was quite busy but didn’t feel it, we pitched up in the overflow field and could easily have fitted another 4 tents and cars between ourselves and the nearest pitched tents either side.  Free hot water for dishes and free showers 4 in the gents and similar number in the ladies (I think, guilty of not always paying full attention to my other half!)  Didn’t have to queue once all week for either toilets or showers, which were always clean.  Also easily accessible chest freezer and 2 fridges for storing food and re-freezing ice blocks. 
Very friendly people running the site insisted we got set up and comfortable before even thinking about paying them.  Pembroke is within walking distance (20mins) and is a picturesque town with several good pubs and restaurants for eating out and a Somerfield store open late for provisions.  The site is also well placed for the short drive to both Fresh Water West and Fresh Water East beaches, which are superb.  Recommendation - You’ll do well to find a better site anywhere.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Gillandian 1 review from this member

A great site with thoughtful owners. Theres a lovely new ladies toilet / shower/ washing up bloack. Very clean with hot water, soap and paper towels provided and free showers. Little touches like coat hooks and sponge bag racks. Lots of space in the showers.

The site itself is well laid out with trees inbetween and picnic tables.

The owners are really friendly and helpful.

It was a reasonable price and excellent value for all the little extras like the free showers.

Theres a good laundry room too.

An excellent site - we will return!

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: HIER 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from Windmill Hill Caravan Site and probably caught the best weekend for weather in a long time. On arrival we had a friendly welcome and were shown to our pitch. The caravan park is excellent value for money, £12.50 per night with hook up. It has 2 big, very flat fields, 1 for tourers with all hook ups and 2nd field with another 10 hook up points and the rest of the space for tents both fields were edged and with lots of trees.  Mens and ladies shower blocks have 5 showers and changing areas and 5 toilets each. In the ladies there is also fridge and freezer for use with wash up facilites. There is also a laundry room.  No swing park for the kids but because the site doesn't get too busy there is plenty of space to kick the ball around and go on bikes. As my husband is a keen surfer it was ideal being only approx 5 miles from one of the best beaches in Pembroke 'freshwater west'. Although the town is only a mile away I wouldn't say it was walking distance with kids. Small town with a few pubs, Somerfield supermarket and a handful of gift shops.  Had an excellent weekend and will definitely be returning through the summer.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Veronikam 1 review from this member

Absolutely super camping here for low price! We were without car and it took about 25minutes from Pembroke, needed to walk on foot at the road, but very friendly family owns camp and they were very kind to us. We were satisfied with facilities very much -  hot water in showers, freezer, laundry, clean and quiet place.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Yorks 7 reviews from this member

Probably one of the best campsites I have ever stayed on. The camping field was basically flat with no stones - no need for rock pegs. The ladies toilet block looked brand new with five toilets, seven individual shower rooms, two washing up sinks and with the availability to use two fridges with freezer boxes. There was a laundry room with the fastest top loader I have ever seen - 25 mins. It cost only 3.50pppn and was a mile from the centre of Pembroke. The local beaches were all dog friendly and there is a lovely walk by the lilly ponds nearby. The caravan field also looked very well laid out as well with all the vans in their own nooks. The dog walking area was a paddock that was wonderfully enclosed. As for criticism I really don't have any, the only things are there really is nothing for children to do on-site so bring your own and the showers are one temperature which was fine for me but my husband said they were too hot and I wouldn't put my son in them. All said and done would I go back? Absolutely. 

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LaughingGravy 6 reviews from this member

I was only here for a single night as I was touring, but after visiting here I could only wish that more sites were like this one.

£3.50 for a tent in a nice big field (separate from the caravans and motorhomes), an immaculately clean toilet and shower block with free showers, a fridge, freezer and microwave for those staying a little longer, and blissfully quiet at night, so a good night's sleep was had before my early morning start.

Pembroke only 5 minutes away, so food, drink and entertainment available if you want it (the Chinese takeaway set me up nicely for the evening, thank you!), but the site is far enough out of the town for you to feel safe and secure leaving things in your tent.

very friendly owners- you don't feel as if all they want is your money!

A great place, and I recommended it without hesitation.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Woodmuppets 1 review from this member

Absolutely fabulous, I would highly recommend this site to anyone.  The owners are very polite and helpful and my kids even got to watch the cows being milked.  A very clean and welcoming site with such beautiful surroundings and the flowers were a work of art.  My husband and I loved it so much we booked another holiday for next april and im sure we will be back after that.  Plenty of space to walk the dog and for the kids to play and everyone was so friendly.  A laundrette to help with those muddy days was a great help.  thanks,
Donna Barrie and family

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gegwilson 7 reviews from this member

Windmill Hill is certainly good value. £3.50 pppn for camping in a big flat field with good shower and washing up facilities. It feels nice and safe, so it's perfect for families and there are lots of kids running around. It does feel a bit like camping in you back garden though, so if you prefer something a bit wilder and closer to nature there are plenty of other options in the area.
The site is close to Pembroke, so you've not too far to go for a supermarket, pubs and eateries.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Phil_T 1 review from this member

I can only emphasise how good this campsite is having just spent a week there. Prices have gone up since last reviewed now tents are £3.50 pppn £2.50 for electric pn. Tourers are £10 pn with 2 adults 2 children + electric as for tents. The only negatives in previous reviews have been sorted out - an new shower block for the ladies which means regulars beware -what used to be the ladies has now been merged into the gents. It has also doubled the washing up and kitchen facilities. Also from August this year the will have washing machine and tumble dryer. Talking to the owners the only time you may need to book is August but generally they will fit you in. Dogs welcome- and while they ask you not to exercise them on site they will let you use one of the fields for the cows if they are empty. Gorgeous location great campsite very friendly owners.

Previous     65 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Pembroke      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2831 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019