Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Windmill Hill Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Pembroke > Windmill Hill Farm Reviews

Windmill Hill Farm
St Daniels
Pembroke
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA71 5BT
Tel: 01646 682392
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 30
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 65 Reviews
                9/10 from 65 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  65 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: SppLbp60 2 reviews from this member

Very clean, quiet & friendly. Easy access, good hard standing pitches. Booked for one night and decided to stay for three nights due to location. Reasonably priced especially if you have four in your group it would work out at £5 per night each.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lee Murray 1 review from this member

First time taking the children camping so we thought we would stay local only living 3 miles away unfortunately the weather was against us on the first night and after 3 and a half years of being packed away we discovered the tent wasn't the most waterproof so a wet 13 year old went home in the morning leaving just me and my 10 year old. He loved it. The site itself was immaculate considering it's on a working farm, amazing hot clean showers with plenty of them with the added bonus of the radio being piped in as previous review stated. Excellent washing up facilities in both male and female blocks with plenty of room and free to use freezers. The owners are friendly and would promptly sort out any queries or problems you might have. We will definitely be returning in the summer if not in a couple of weekends time!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Becs109 5 reviews from this member

I cannot believe the quality of this site for the price we paid. I've paid more at other sites for far worse facilities!

£5 pp/pn - we thought we'd misheard! Owners were very friendly and welcoming.

Spotlessly clean shower block with plenty of toilets and showers - and with Radio 2 piped in! The shower cubicles were spacious with hooks and shelving to put your things on, and nothing got wet that shouldn't.

The pot wash area had a fridge, a freezer and a microwave (all free to use), with a few spare plates and mugs for anyone to use.

There is a laundry/information room with lots of information about local attractions.

The camping field was large with a few picnic benches dotted around (sadly all in use when we got there!).

I'd say it was within walking distance of Pembroke but the walk back up the hill would be unpleasant as I don't recall a footway and it is a NSL road. We were cycling so it wasn't too bad - very quick to get into Pembroke at least.

As we were cycle touring it was a brief stay without much sightseeing, but Pembroke Castle is worth a visit, Pembroke itself is a very pleasant town.

On previous visits to the area, I've been to Barrafundle Bay which is definitely worth a trip.

Date of Visit: January 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sepiola 2 reviews from this member

We have stayed on this site a number of times and we are always impressed by the warm welcome and the way the site is so carefully maintained. The pitches are large, level, well drained hardstanding pitches - absolutely perfect for a motorhome. We usually visit during the winter and the hedges around the site provide good shelter from the wind. The toilet block is always kept clean and tidy and there is also a laundry room with information about the local area. We had this site recommended to us and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it ourselves.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Davidhuw2001 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a fantastic weekend at this site the owners are very friendly, shower and toilet blocks clean and well stocked with essentials the hard standing pitches are very generous you can hear some road noise but you do get used to it by the second night we will definitely return. We did not have any children with us so can, t comment on their facilities there was a large camping field for tents all in all a credit to the owners.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kcd+g 2 reviews from this member

What a lovely break both myself, my partner and 3 year old daughter have had.

We arrived to a lovely welcome by the lady who runs the site. She was warm, friendly, welcoming and so helpful.

We had a choice of two electric hook up pitches. The ground was well maintained and looked after, the space between tents was exceptional. It was at least 2 car widths between each tent. The toilet/ shower blocks were lovely and clean with constant hot water. A free hair dryer.

Pot washing facilities are great, there is availability to use the microwave, fridge & freezer. And there is a supply of pots and utensils that you can borrow in case you've forgotten something.

There is a washing machine and dryer which are very reasonable priced. Lots of information is available of places to go and things to do while your there.

The site is very family orientated but peaceful at the same time. We found many of the campers are regular visitors to the site. Our neighbour was attending for his 16th year!

The site is a great location for Pembroke in one direction and Bosherston, Clearwater and St Govans head in the other.

We loved this site so much that we have already booked for next year.

I have given 10 /10 for all except child friendliness as they don't have a 'park' but to be honest children can play with others, climb trees and have huge fields to have fun. Which is something I really like however I know it isn't for everyone. Plus if you want a park there is one in Pembroke town.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caroelle 6 reviews from this member

Our van lives on this site so we visit several times a year. This is a fantastic site, within reach of superb beaches, walks, pubs etc.

The facilities are always clean and the showers are very good, although the women's showers are the sort where they go off after a few minutes. However they are always hot and even when the site is full I have never had to queue. We have been in October and December and the block is always lovely and warm.

In the women's facilities block are two washing up sinks, a microwave, a fridge and freezer. This means that you can go to a local supermarket and stock up. The men's block has similar facilities but their showers run continuously I am told.

The caravan field is well set out and there are no pitches backing on to the road. All pitches are hard standing (chippings) which can make it difficult to get pegs in. However, having been here in wet weather the alternative would be stuck vans. The camping field is large, but this site never feels over-crowded. The site itself is nicely landscaped, plenty of greenery and flowers in summer.

There is a laundry room with a washing machine, dryer and tourist info. There is also a mini library.

There is not much in Pembroke itself, apart from the superb castle, although the town is looking more prosperous this year. There is a retail park nearby with Tesco, Argos etc, which is useful if you have forgotten anything. Pembroke Dock has a Boots and a few high street shops.

Sadly the nearest pubs are in Pembroke which is quite a walk up the hill afterwards.

There are buses and trains from Pembroke which are easy to access. The nearest cinema is Haverfordwest.

The other positives about this site are the owners and the prices. This is very good value for money, bearing in mind the quality of the facilities. We have paid more for sites nearby where the toilets were in a tumbledown shed and the showers went cold after two minutes. Some campsite owners in Pembrokeshire think that they have a licence to print money, but the owners here are not like that and every year we see improvements that make staying here a pleasure. They are also very friendly and helpful, and it is great to see the van on the pitch when we arrive. The caravan storage is vey flexible and also reasonable.

Finally this campsite is close to beautiful local beaches and walks. We never tire of walking round Bosherton lily ponds, sitting on Barafundle beach or the cliff top walks that are a short drive from the campsite.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mazndave 1 review from this member

We have just returned from 4 days camping at this campsite. Large electric hook up area. All flat tent spaces.

The kids had a fabulous area to play games in.

Wonderfully clean toilet and shower facilities and the added benefit of a fridge and freezer and microwave if needed to be used.

The owners were very helpful and very polite and friendly. Would definitely recommend and hope to book another stay soon.

Thank you.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Staffordrees 1 review from this member

Wanted to stay near Pembroke for a couple of days. This site was Great. Nice big flat campling field with good shower block, loads of hot water and big sinks for doing washing up. We had big family tent and 3 kids and couldn't have been more pleased.

Other information: You can hear the main road but not enough to bother us. Lots of room if you want to pitch your tent away from everybody else. Campsite very clean and tidy, Laundry and info folder available. Would definitely come back again.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cardi 3 reviews from this member

Clean and friendly site, toilets and showers top grade kept clean and modern, nice and quiet site, grass kept tidy ideally suited for day trips around local area for the not so easily startled a morning or afternoon at the viewing area at castlemartin tank ranges about 8 miles away all the noise and fireworks the older kids will love it. Subject to range being active, good chip shop in Pembroke centre (rowlies).

Previous     65 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4232 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019