Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Windmill Hill Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Pembroke > Windmill Hill Farm Reviews

Windmill Hill Farm
St Daniels
Pembroke
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA71 5BT
Tel: 01646 682392
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 65 Reviews
                9/10 from 65 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  65 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Honey1 1 review from this member

A warm and friendly Welsh welcome from the owners who were more than happy to help with anything we needed. Camping field brilliant for families with a large open space in the centre for the children to play.

Our 2 year old loved the freedom of being able to safely run around! Facilities good, not as clean as could be but there was an antibacterial wash available in a bucket for you to wash out showers before/after use if you needed. I have to be honest and say I didn't see a cleaner once during our week long stay but that doesn't mean it wasn't cleaned.

Surrounding areas really beautiful, Freshwater East beach fab and free parking in the pub/shop carpark as long as you 'support' the shop/pub. Supermarket shopping at Pembroke Dock with local shops in Pembroke. A 5min drive (not really a young family walk away).

Main issue was the showers were incredibly hot - far too hot for young children but was adjusted once owners aware. Fridges/freezers available for use free of charge.

I can only recommend this site as it offers everything a family needs to enjoy a wonderful stay. We were very lucky with the weather and that's the only thing that you can't guarantee here!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Teen1970 4 reviews from this member

Fantastic! We stayed at this site for two nights during our tour of Wales, and thoroughly loved it - and we will definitely be going back again for sure.

The site is well situated, with shops only a few minutes drive away in Pembroke, as is the lovely Pembroke Castle. The seaside town of Tenby is only 20 or so minutes away.

The owners are very friendly, and are always pleased to help you out. The site itself has two huge fields, ideal for both electric and non electric hook up. There are toilets, showers, and a launderette.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sas666666 1 review from this member

What a beautiful site! And cheap too!

The site is in a very quiet location, although it isn't very far to travel to nearby shops. It is well sheltered from any strong winds, but there is loads of space!

The owners ensure that all campers are happy, giving plenty of room between tents and leaving the centre of the fields empty for children to play etc.

There are some picnic benches which can be moved closer to your tent if you want which is very handy!

The facilities on site are fabulous! Plenty of showers and toilets which are always kept clean. There is also a washing up area, microwaves, a fridge, freezer, cutlery, plates, mugs etc all available in the womens and the mens blocks.

There is an information block too with plenty of leaflets and information about the local area, and there are also laundry facilities in the same building.

As previously mentioned, the owners always try to make campers happy and they always go that extra mile to help!

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shazzabp 1 review from this member

Very Friendly owners, big field both electric an non hook up - showers and laundry very clean.

I am new to camping and was very reluctant to try it but I found with the right facilities the experience is great!

Only drawback - Campsite on top of a hill which when we went in May was very windy which made it quite cold. Could be totally different in the summer though.

Pembroke town a bit of a dive but Pembroke castle a good day out - cafe very expensive.

Surrounding area lots to do very good beaches and excellent mackeral fishing in Tenby.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kazanddave 1 review from this member

Clean, well presented, good facilities, owners are friendly and very helpful. Showers and toilets are very clean and showers are always hot to use,

Nearest shops are in Pembroke only 5m drive or 15 minute walk.

Large freezer to store freezer packs and food, laundry facilities, but the only problem was that when you go and pay for the site please have cash as the campsite at the moment do not have card facilities.

Highly recommend the site

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tycroes_Two 16 reviews from this member

We arrived at this site after being unable to get on the Caravan Club site at Freshwater East. Windmill Hill may have been a 'second choice' but after a genuinely warm and friendly welcome and finding an immaculately kept site we have added it to our 'favourites' list. We will return again.

The site is located at the top of a hill overlooking Pembroke, which makes strolling down to the castle through footpaths and lanes a real pleasure. And the return journey a real pain - relentless uphill slog!

Windmill Hill is positioned perfectly for visiting Bosherston, Broad Haven and the coast towards Freshwater West and Angle. There's a supermarket of sorts in Pembroke, but for Asda, Tesco or Lidl you need to drive a mile or three to Pembroke Dock.

Facilities are more than adequate - a good information centre, washing areas and plenty of loos and showers which are all kept spotlessly clean.

There's a good-sized field available to exercise dogs, the only downsides being twin rows of overhead cables which hiss and buzz in the mist and a busy main road alongside the site.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ray griffiths 2 reviews from this member

Booked in on site with Jane and Richard, Jane showed us to our pitch and said pay us in later, or when you go. That's got to be a first. The site is well laid out, one field for tents and a separate area for caravans / mobile homes, all very spacious with hard standings. Toilet block / shower's very clean, laundry and washing are are good, also a fridge and microwave are provided, along with books and a selection of DVDs.

On our stay the farm had a Barn Dance to raise monies for various local rugby / football teams, it was a brill evening.There are many place's to visit, Pembroke Castle and town are very good.

It is a good site and the owner's are most helpful, could not do enough for you.

Minimal rules, I will be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chief8070 2 reviews from this member

Stayed for four days just before the August Bank Holiday. This meant the weather wasn't the best of the year, however there was no standing water on the site and the toilets and shower were kept clean at all times. The site is very clean and tidy and the prices are well worth the visit.

It was the first time we had used an electrical hook up and obviously we had problems. Nothing seemed to work although we checked for trips and such. The owners were sought out to assist, which they did immediately, even offering a spare connection reel if ours was found to be faulty. Luckily after connecting their test reel with no problem ours Mysteriously started working so all was fine.

Pemprokeshire itself has a plethora of different things to do despite the weather and the one day we needed good weather it arrived, (visited Heatherton -15 minutes drive, excellent). The grandkids loved the site especially the grand daughter who found the other campers inviting her to join in their games and activities.

She would have been happy to stay on site all the time. All the kids there seemed to enjoy themselves and the 11:00 rule worked exceedingly well. We will visit again next year.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Carnec2002 8 reviews from this member

Returned again for a long weekend. Weather was not at its best, rained most of the weekend. So much for the BBQ summer that was forecast earlier in the year.

The site was a lot busier than our earlier visit yet all the facilities on site remained spotless. We expected to see mud everywhere, particularly in the toilet and shower blocks, but were pleased to be proved wrong. Jane and Richard did an exceptional job of maintaining cleanliness in the face of adversity. We must have had at least 1 inch of rainfall on the Saturday night.

We are pretty seasoned campers and can truly say that Windmill Hill Farm is one of the best sites we've stayed at in the UK. A couple of years ago we toured Europe, taking in a total of six countries, and by comparison Windmill Hill sits in the top three of all sites we have stayed at since we started camping.

There is a new grey water disposal point alongside the chemical toilet disposal point (built since our last visit) and campers are encouraged to recycle glass, metal and plastics.

Will certainly be returning in 2011.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lesleylkp 2 reviews from this member

Absolutely lovely site, very clean, and quiet when I visited, which is what I was looking for. My trip was only marred by the horrible weather in July - including heavy rain and high winds. The owners were brilliant, and very helpful as I was on my own.

I picked a spot in the field that was near to the main site (access to toilets etc), and whilst there were lots of people / campers and caravanner's coming and going, it was still beautifully quiet.

The site is clean, and very reasonably priced. I had quite a large tent, and found the space between pitches very spacious indeed.

The site is some way from town, and I didn't use the local facilities, but there was lots of information available on the site about local and more distant attractions. I was particularly keen to do a couple of boat trips around the islands, however the bad weather meant that this didn't happen, however all the information I needed for this was available on the site.

During the evenings, the site was lovely and quiet, with everyone observing quiet rules. There were lots of children playing during my visit, however they didn't really disturb the tranquillity I was looking for!

I left a day early due to the appalling weather, but very much enjoyed my visit to Windmill Farm, and will be going again.

Previous     65 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Pembroke      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1402 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019