Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Windmill Hill Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Pembroke > Windmill Hill Farm Reviews

Windmill Hill Farm
St Daniels
Pembroke
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA71 5BT
Tel: 01646 682392
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 30
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 65 Reviews
                9/10 from 65 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  65 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mdford 1 review from this member

My family and I camped at Windmill Hill Farm for two nights. We selected the site based on reviews here and found that it lived up to expectations.

The owner was very friendly and gave us the choice to pitch our tents wherever we liked in either of two fields. The field was very level and free of stones/debris.

We're not regular campers so don't have much to compare with but found the facilities to be perfectly sufficient, with the toilet blocks, sinks, toilets and showers all being clean and tidy.

The cost was also very reasonable at 24 for 4 people in two tents for the two nights.

There is a rule asking for people to be quiet after 11pm which seemed to be observed reasonably well.

An earlier review mentioned a place called 'Pardon my Garden' for breakfasts, but the owner of the site advised this has now closed. However I'm sure there are other options available - we went in to a Tesco Extra in Pembroke Dock for cooked breakfast which was only about 10 mins drive away.

The purpose of our visit was to see some of the local sites and for my wife to see her old house and school in Cosheston where she spent a couple of years growing up. We also went to Bosherton lakes to see the lillies (a mile or two walk around the shortest perimeter) and Broadhaven beach which was lovely and almost empty. We also stopped off at St Govans Inn in Bosherton for a bite to eat - nice selection of beers as well!

Finally one other place worth a visit (especially with kids) is Dragon Reptiles just outside of Cosheston. Admission for my family was 16 and you can enjoy an interactive experience with the fish and reptiles, such as hand feeding the fish and turtles, and handling a selection of the reptiles such as several types of lizards and snakes. It's not a big place, but the hands on element really makes it.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Carnec2002 8 reviews from this member

We spent 5 nights at Windmill Hill and had a wonderful time. The site is south of the town of Pembroke situated on the Bosherston road. Local supermarkets (Tesco & Asda) are not far away in Pembroke Dock. The camping field is level and well maintained with approx 10 hook up points for tents.

There are separate shower/washrooms for men and women, following the completion of a new block for women. All were spotlessly clean whilst we were there.

Having spoken to the owners it appears that there is a programme for improvements for the site and this was evident whilst we were there. The chemical toilet disposal point was being worked The site has a laundry room which doubles up as a tourist information point, video and book lending library. There is also fridge, chest freezer and microwave facilities on site which are free to visitors.

Enjoyed our stay so much that we've booked a long weekend in August.

The Castlemartin peninsula and surrounding area is a beautiful place to visit. Tenby and Saundersfoot are the Blackpool's of Pembs. For beauty try Freshwater West, Barafundle, Stackpole and Broad Haven with Bosherston lilly ponds behind the sand dunes of this unspoilt beach. When firing is not scheduled on Castlemartin Ranges a visit to Stack Rocks and St Govans chapel is a must.

Pembrokeshire people are very friendly by nature. It is after all 'Little England beyond Wales'

Pitch fees are very reasonable at 12.50 per night for 2 Adults tent and electric.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alison Fryer 20 reviews from this member

Stayed on the site for 6 nights. On arrival we were directed to a very large caravan pitch-all hardstanding. The owners were very friendly and told us to call in and pay during the week (that has never happened to us before). The site is very well kept. It has a great field for walking the dog.

The facilities are ok, they could do with updating. The showers are not very warm and the cubicles don't have doors, just 2 shower curtains separating you from everyone else. There is a small kitchen area within the toilet area, and a fridge with a very small freezer compartment. I don't think its an ideal situation to have a kitchen in the same area as toilets and showers. We paid 15.00 per night for 2 adults and 1 dog, which we feel overall is a good price for the site and facilities it provides.

The area is lovely, we particularly like Tenby and St Davids, and the beaches are great.

Date of Visit: February 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Huggy9 3 reviews from this member

We visited this site at short notice, we were met by the owner who gave a free hand to set up. There are 2 toilet blocks they are clean with lots of hot water and the much talked about toilet paper.

4 showers in each block. Dish washing area in both, plus the use of a microwave, pots and pans. Great for tenting campers. Lots of up grading has been carried out this winter. Big pitches new tarmac roads. Pembroke town is 5 mins away with all the big supermarkets and fastfood outlets.

The site is situated in a great area of Pembroke, central to everything. Ten mins. From the best beach in the Uk. Barafundel.

The beaches of Freshwater East and West are 10 mins away, great for the surfers and family days out. The famous Coastal footpath is nearby in all directions. We love this place and will be returning soon.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Evee 1 review from this member

Absolutely PERFECT! We, Gary and myself decided last minute to take a week of in the middle of August, rang round loads of campsites to no avail, but Windmill Hill managed to squeeze us in, in there very fully booked site (not that you would think that, as it was so peaceful).

Me being a tad dizzy and blonde, mis calculated times and miles for our supposedly short 2 hour journey, in fact a total of 5 hours, with a small diversion (also my mistake) and towing a caravan, so instead of arriving in daylight, arrived in the dark, and extremely stressed when we discovered, the person who had borrowed the caravan previously had, cocked up our main power cable.No light, no nothing!

WELCOME the owners if this lovely site, our Knights is shining armour, saved the day by lending us a spare cable, and made sure we were just fine.

Our pitch was HUGE, We had a large van, and caravan, didn't put up the awning, as were only staying a couple of nights, but had plenty of room if we had of done so, and a good distance from our neighbours for perfect privacy, all gravelled, so no mud being trampled into the caravan.

Showers (lovely and hot), Toilets (clean and fully stocked with loo roll) and clean sinks to brush my teeth. I'm dreadfully snobby, when it comes to hygiene in public loo's, and felt completely at ease with the standards of cleanliness.

Perfect location for car trips to ALL the lovely idyllic beaches, couldn't do all the things we wanted to see in the couple of days we stayed, and asked if we could stay another night, again very helpful, a small move to another pitch and had another peaceful night here, and a lovely local nearby Chinese take away for our last night dinner.

All this and so much more for a measly 14 per night.BARGAIN, for such a fantastic site with the most friendly owners.

Thank you guys, we had a fab last minuet break xxx

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Williams209 1 review from this member

The campsite was clean and very tidy, facilities are good, and a warm welcome, recommended site.

Close to pembroke town and surrounding area. Good area for eating out plenty of restaurants to choose from.

Only thing that they lack is a play area for children.

There are local atractions for a great day out:

Pembroke castle, Oakwood, Heathaton, Carew castle, Folly farm

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Polly.s 2 reviews from this member

In one word . Perfect! After 3 years camping we have finally found the perfect campsite. Very friendly & helpful owners, very reasonable prices (less than 70 for the 3 of us for a week in August), clean toilets / showers with plenty of hot water, nice level ground with no rocks / lumps / bumps etc & this year we even managed to get 5 days of sunshine - yippeeee!
Even though the ground got quite wet & boggy at the entrance to the tent field on the days it did rain, it dried out very quickly so it was rock solid again the next day. There was plenty of space in the tent field & it was relatively quiet in the evenings too.
There are no play facilities on site for kids but that really didn't matter as they soon make friends & make their own entertainment. Ours joined a re-make of the Ashes series in the middle of the tent field with plenty of room for the kids to spread out & play in without getting in anyone's way.
For those of us with mixed parties though, it would be nice to have the washing up facilities not inside the toilet blocks, so that we can share the washing / drying up rather than having to go separately.
There are plenty of fridge / freezers (2 in the ladies & 1 in the gents) & a huge chest freezer in the gents too so no excuse for running out of cold ice packs.

The surrounding area has some lovely scenery & fantastic beaches - highly recommend Freshwater West for free parking, loads of room, nearby toilets & a burger van, plenty of rock pools & lots of great sandcastle sand. Saundersfoot is a bit more busy but has plenty of facilities (though a bit of a walk to the loos) & you can park next to the beach for only 2.50 for all day.
There's a lovely cafe called 'Pardon my Garden' only a few mins from the campsite which does the most fantastic cooked breakfasts for only 4.50 if you can wait till they open at 10.00 & don't mind having your breakfast surrounded by hundreds of fairies - the bacon alone is worth it though!
For evening meals try the Swan Lake Inn at Jamestown - very reasonable prices & lovely food. But get there early though - one night we had to wait over an hour and a half for our food!

On the down side, the only thing missing from this area is things for kids to do in the rain. We were fortunate that we only had a couple of days of rain to fill but if you get a very wet & soggy week like we've had for the past few years you may have some very bored kids on your hands!
There's bowling in Milford Haven & a couple of Theme Parks nearby (Oakwood & Folly Farm) but other than that there aren't many child friendly attractions without travelling over half an hour away so unless you want to spend your holiday in the car, keep your fingers crossed for fine weather.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LlewB 14 reviews from this member

Stayed here August during the usual wet weather of that month. Very please with our stay.

The site is quite exposed, which meant our tent a bit of a bashing in the wind. However, on a bright day, I could imaging this site being stunning.

Facilities were very good, and generally good value. Fridges were available for free, as was showers and washing up.

Needed to make repairs to the tent at one point, and the owners were very helpful in providing information.

Kids loved seeing the animals, and there was a welcome in general.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nikki1171 10 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a week in July in our tourer. We were really happy with the site.

The caravan pitches are all hard standing which was great given the amount of rain that fell overnight all week!

There is a concrete circular road within the site which was great for the younger children on their bikes.

The toilet / shower facilities are basic but adequate and were reasonably clean but at 14 a night peak season I had no complaints.

The owners were very friendly and the farmer always stopped for a chat. The children were happy to go and see the animals each day. There were no complaints when we had family members visiting each day

Location wise this is a good spot for seeing the area as there is so much to do in Pembrokeshire that you won't want to be sat in the campsite much.

We visit Pembrokeshire every year and will definitely stay here again.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Donna23 1 review from this member

A fantastic site! Jayne was really helpful when we booked and also great when we phoned in a panic prior to setting off due to the bad weather. Luckily on arrival the weather was glorious and we're offered our pick of spaces on the ehu field which was only slightly muddy.
The toilets and shower blocks were always clean and the laundry area is a great source of things to do in the area - especially since we didn't get chance to visit many of the beaches. Our 4 year old loved to see the calves.

The only negative for us was the lack of a kids play area however this would not put us off returning.

In case of bad weather both Folly Farm and Haverfordwest Leisure Centre are both very reasonably priced and are great places for kids. The Bristol Trader on the way to the leisure centre is a lovely pub which serves fresh homemade food.

Previous     65 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Pembroke      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6339 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019