Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Little Cotton Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Dartmouth > Little Cotton Caravan Park Reviews

CLOSED: Little Cotton Caravan Park
Off Venn Lane
Dartmouth
Devon (South)   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 97 Reviews
                9/10 from 97 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  97 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Outandabout33 16 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for 9 nights in early june.

My first impression was that it is a very tidy, well run site, in a good location for local amenities.

It has a very large clean and bright toilet/shower block, that does, nt close at awkward times ( like some caravan club sites !). Also a nice area attached to the site for walking the dogs. The grass on the site is very well maintained and so are the hard standing area, s. The site was, nt that busy during the week but obviously got busier at weekend. The shop on site is open long hours which is handy, but I have to say I got well into using the excellent sainsbury, s across the road from the site on a regular basis.

As previously mentioned there, s a park and ride next to the site if you want to spend a lot of hours in dartmouth, we tended to nip down early and park by the side of the road for 2 hours for free ourselves.

Only negatives I can think are the annoying push button controls to the showers that give you 12 seconds at a time for water ! Also I think it could be quite a windy site if you were there in a windy spell of weather.

The surrounding area is very scenic, with lots of places to visit, with plenty of walking ( if your into that sort of thing ) We had great weather even though the forcast kept saying showers ! and left with no regrets.

All in all a good holiday ! 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sally21 5 reviews from this member

 Wow- what can I say.

This has to be the cleanest site we have ever visited.

We were greeted with a smile by the owner and they came to take us to our pitch. He asked if we wanted grass, hard standing, sheltered etc and then took us to what we requested. There is a large dog walk area on site, lots of recycling bins, tons of fresh water points and the toilet/shower block was spotless. They also have privacy cubicles in the shower block. The showers had a nice personal change area with in each shower cubicle and the showers were nice and powerful and hot and FREE. It didn't matter what time of day you went in, it was always immaculate. They also have a small shop, a washing up room and a laundry room.

Its also just 2 mins from the park and ride that takes you into town and 5 from sainsbury and lidle. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rangybeach 5 reviews from this member

 We visited mid week and it was very quiet which was nice. Unfortunately when we stayed the weather was atrocious, which wasn't the fault of the owner but with the site being on the top of a very exposed hill we struggled to stay in our motorhome.

The site was spotless, beautifully kept and the facilities were also very very good. The push button showers could last longer but equally they were hot and a good water pressure, so you can press the button as often as you like.

I used the laundry services too which were fantastic. Easy to use and again, spotless.

Location is great, very near Dartmouth which can be accessed by local bus, park and ride bus and we had a taxi one night too. Sainsburys across the road from the site means you never need for anything.

We had the fish and chips one night when the van came round. It's great that you have the option but they were far too greasy and not cheap. However, it was lovely to not cook!

Be warned, the walk back from town is hard work, I pushed our toddler up in a pushchair and am quite fit but I still struggled. Plenty of transport options though I was just trying to get some exercise.

Great site if the weather is good, we would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brians dad 9 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a very pleasant 4 days at this site. Having turned up without booking, we were welcomed to a half empty site midweek, though it filled up a bit over the bank holiday weekend. Lots of hardstandings set among grass, the whole site was beautifully kept and with a modern toilet block kept very clean. Not the cheapest at 20 per night, rising to 23 in midsummer, but well worth it. No dedicated motorhome service point, but fresh water can be filled by drawing up near a tap, waste has to be 'bucket and chuck it'. Only 2 complaints to stop a perfect star score - you have to leave by 11. 00 on the morning of departure, rather than noon, and the showers are push button type - they do not give you very long before you have to press again.

As mentioned before, one of the big advantages of this site is its proximity to a fascinating town and area - good for motorhomers as near shops and public transport. One tip though for anyone with a buspass - do not spend 5 per party on the park and ride bus, but now the little local bus serves the entrance every half hour and gets you into town via the local housing estate for free and with an extra 5 minutes on the bus - and it runs late into the evening as well! 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jaydreamers 51 reviews from this member

 This has been our 8th stay at Little Cotton and it still remains the marker to judge all other parks by.

The park is immaculate in every way. The toilets and showers are spotless. The grass is meticulously manicured by Paul on his 'Magic Machine'. The roadways are clean and neat, the rally field is kept neat and tidy(often neglected in a lot of parks)and the dog field kept neat and tidy.

The park is a real credit to The owners Paul and Dorothy and their staff. The reception has a small shop for convenience items and some caravan/camping spares.

There is a large Sainsburys opposite the park and Lidl a few hundred yards down the road.

A park and ride next to the park will take you down into Dartmouth town 5 for up to 6 people or a bus stop a little further on for us lucky ones with bus passes. You then get a choice of ferries across to Kingswear and beyond on the steam train.

All in all this is a real gem of a park and we shall continue to go back there as long as we are able. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ellamaija 3 reviews from this member

 Had a fantastic week stay at Little cotton. We have in the past couple of years stayed at Lychett Mynster campsite in Dorset which is amazing, but I can honestly say that this is better.

The staff are extremely helpful, the site is very well cared for, showers are piping hot and is in a fantastic location. I am a great fan of south Devon and Dartmouth town is the most picturesque and Blackpool sands beach is fab.

We travelled as a group of 14, kids and adults and everybody enjoyed it.

Sainsburys is facing so you never run out of anything. Travelling around south devon from here is very easy too.

We have stayed at The Woodlands in dartmouth too, but that is a little further out from dartmouth.

Will definitely return x 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Montanas 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from Little Cotton. Friendly greeting and shown to our pitch we had a choice and I would have probably gone for one against the hedgerow as you get a bit of shelter from the wind which can be a bit fierce as you are on top of a hill. The toilet block is probably the best I have seen, spotless and well looked after. The shop is great but Sainsbury is only a short walk so your spoilt for choice. Also Dartmouth Park and Ride very handy for the children trip down crabbing! Beware of BBQ and seagulls a neighbour had a steak taken straight from his BBQ so keep a close eye. My only slight complaint was the rally field was a bit too noisy playing dodgy 70/80's tunes a couple of evenings that the whole site had to put up with. Overall a great site. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Rosie21 3 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely campsite built on a large open field. It is next to a bus stop so it's easy to get into Dartmouth where there are some fabulous shops to look around. A supermarket is just across the road too.

Nice & safe for children to ride their bikes & scooters. The facilities are second to none with a nice baby/toddler bath room too. The site shop is equipped with most essentials.

The site is on top of a hill so it can get a bit windy at times but that's the only negative I can think of. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bcwench 4 reviews from this member

 FANTASTIC. Not much else to say really. If you can get in try it, am sure you will not be disappointed. The site facilities are first class and spotless. The site is well laid out with a great area for the dogs to be exercised safely. Only very very small winge is the grey water drains were not suitable for our motorhome, being new to this game we are not fully prepared for this, so we used our bucket and sorted it that way. For motor-homers it is great as the park and ride bus comes to the site. Perfect! Down in the town there are so many transport options you are spoilt for choice. Do try it if you can. 10/10. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sharonaeames 1 review from this member

 We spent a wonderful 9 days at Little Cotton Caravan Park. The site accommodated caravans and tents.

When we arrived, we were asked by Paul, which plot we would like and the first place he showed us was perfect, facing to the West. He was very flexible about where we positioned the car. We had a lovely spot on the grass, which was very dry, so there was no problem and we had plenty of space. The hard standing areas around the outside of the field were less spacious.

The views of the surrounding hills were delightful. The site was immaculately kept and the grass was kept short and neat.

The toilet and shower block were the best I have ever seen, spacious, and in immaculate condition all the time. I only had to queue once for 5 minutes, and the site was quite busy. There were 8 showers and several private washing cubicles. There were places for hanging clothes and towels, and a seating area in the shower, partitioned off, so clothing remained dry. The showers were push button and just the right temperature.

The shop was comprehensive stocking useful camping and caravan supplies and basic food.

There was not playground for children, but as the site was so lovely and quiet, children could play safely without gimmicks.

There was a lovely relaxed atmosphere on the site, very few rules and this worked really well.

Little Cottons is very conveniently placed for Dartmouth, a half hour walk, down and up a very steep hill. There is a also a bus stop nearby and a park and ride. It was also very handy for Sainsbury's, which was opposite the site, but you would not know so, as the site is set far back from the road, so is very peaceful.

We would love to go back every year. This is the first site we have felt that way about. The South Hams area is outstanding. We were disappointed to hear that the site may be sold for houses. We hope not. Other campers felt the same way too. Obviously, it is a very successful Caravan and Camping Site and it would be such a shame to lose it. I cannot recommend it highly enough 


Previous     97 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1307 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December