Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Little Cotton Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Dartmouth > Little Cotton Caravan Park Reviews

CLOSED: Little Cotton Caravan Park
Off Venn Lane
Dartmouth
Devon (South)   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 97 Reviews
                9/10 from 97 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  97 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Peugeot1 2 reviews from this member

 We booked onto this site for Dartmouth Music Festival but liked it there so much we stayed for over a fortnight. This was our first experience of caravanning and it could not have been better. The access is simple and when we stopped at reception the owner offered to tow our caravan to our pitch - which we gladly agreed to! In a matter of minutes he had us sited up and levelled and we were unpacking. The owner,his wife and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our pitch was on a hardstanding but there are big grass areas as well.

The whole site is kept in immaculate order.The shower/toilet block is modern,warm and spotlessly clean. There is a Sainsburys opposite the site entrance and a Lidls and a Spar garage about 150 yards away. There are no pubs within walking distance but the Football Club (near Lidl) allows visitors (cannot comment beyond that as we did not use it)the Dartmouth Park and Ride is about 70 yards away and day tickets can be bought in site reception.

Parking in Dartmouth can be a nightmare so the buses are very handy. Dartmouth is packed with good pubs and restaurants so it is a matter of personal taste on that score. A good Full English can be had at the Station Cafe on the Esplanade. Not far from there is a lane that runs from the Esplanade to the High Street. In the lane is a sandwich shop called the Crabshell which is worth a visit. Down past the Market is a pub/restaurant called the Sloping Deck which does good food. There are river boats which go up to Totnes, a steam railway and lots of countryside and coastline to explore(Slapton Sands is well worth a visit and there is the Start Bay Inn there for excellent fish and chips but get there early).

We will definitely go back and stay on this site again. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jan Smith 4 reviews from this member

 We had a super stay here, toilet facilities are spacious and spotless, the nicest, cleanest and best kept dog walk we have ever seen. Shop is well stocked and there is a gate through to the park and ride.
There is also a regular bus service into Falmouth if you want to use a bus pass. New Sainsbury's opposite the site. There is good internet access at a reasonable price, operated by a mobile phone text service which cost 1.00 for 1 hour.
Weather was good while we were there, but being at the top of the hill it does get very windy at times. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pptrck 2 reviews from this member

 Spent a full week on this lovely site during September. We were lucky with the weather and had a full week of Sunshine (a couple of foggy mornings). The site is so well kept and the toilet blocks are the best we have used,plenty of showers and hot water. The owners were very sociable and helpful.
The location was good for Dartmouth as the service bus stops outside the site and also the park and ride is next door (1 return to Dartmouth) There is also a bus to Torquay but very limited times! Be prepared the area went Digital whilst we were there, so we had no TV for part of the week!
It is a very quiet site and no facilities for children although there is a leisure park 4 mmiles up the road. Will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: UXO8 23 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site this is, on arrival we were shown which pitch we could take. The Toilets & showers are the cleanest I have ever seen ' Well Done' Little Cotton.Handy on site shop and Sainsburys is a 5min walk away as is the Park & ride which is a good little service and only cost 1pp and can be used as many times in that day as you wish. The dog walking field has lovely planting of tree's and shrubs and the grass on the camp site looks amazing.Our 15yr old son didn't come but had he done he wouldn't have found anything on site to do as ball games are not permitted,so I would say this site is more suited for those of you without children! We will definitely use again and highly recommend it. As for Dartmouth its still a lovely place to visit and the food and service in The Royal Castle Hotel are 5* 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Steve6163 6 reviews from this member

 I have just returned from a 5 night stay at little cotton and find myself wishing I was still there. Friendly staff escorted me to the camping area and gave me a choice of very spacious hardstanding or grass pitches.

The toilet and shower block is immaculate, the best I have ever encountered. Top marks for generous space in shower cubicles which means cloths can be hung up and not get wet.

Dish washing area great and it was good to see that recycling of rubbish was encouraged with various bins for different products.

There is an on site shop with all essentials and all staff were friendly and helpful.

I was lucky enough to be visiting during some really warm and calm weather but I was warned on arrival that if strong winds blow up, some of the pitches may be more vulnerable to the wind than others.

Dartmouth is a really pretty town and well worth a visit. There are plenty of cruise boats running from Dartmouth. I did the river cruise and found it value for money and the amusing but informative commentary was well received by all on the boat.

With a Sainsburys just across the road and a LIDL also in the area shopping for supplies is not a problem.

I will definitely visit again and would recommend to anyone visiting the area. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AMYSEC 11 reviews from this member

 Cannot rate this site highly enough, unfortunately on the way our car suffered a catastrophic breakdown ending up months later in it being written off, the owners were extremely helpful to us and even let us put our caravan into storage there for a couple of months

Found it a lovely site. Ended up taking the park and ride a few days into town which is very handy next door to the park, my son loved fishing for crabs in Dartmouth

lovely pitches and a nice peaceful site very nice position with a Sainsburys just over the road. Toilets and Showers absolutely spotless and plenty of showers, will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 169 reviews from this member

 A beautifully kept site. Lovingly looked after by caring owners. A joy to stay on. This was our 2nd visit to Little Cotton and we will no doubt be returning again in the future.

You are made to feel welcome the minute you enter reception. You are then shown to your pitch personally the the owner. Although you cannot book a hardstanding pitch you can request one on arrival. We were lucky enough to get one of the new hardstandings put in since our last visit in 2007. The toilet/shower block is kept spotless at all times and has plenty of toilets, private washrooms and spacious shower cubicles. There is also a laundry housed in the same building and an indoor pot washing area. The onsite shop sells the essentials BUT there is a new large Sainsburys and a Lidl supermarket just 2 or 3 minutes walk from the site.

The 'on site' dog walk is a great asset too as is the park and ride facility right outside the site. For just 1 per adult per day (tickets can be obtained from campsite reception) you can catch the bus down to Dartmouth town and return as many times as you like. Buses start at 8am Mon - Sat and 9:30am on Sundays and the last bus up from town is 7pm AND it's free for dogs!

Dartmouth itself has plenty to see and do, from river cruises, coastal cruises, steam train rides and some fantastic coastal walks. It is also a very doggie friendly town with at least 3 pubs that let you take dogs in - The Cherub, Seven Stars and the Dolphin (great Sunday roasts at the Dolphin!).

We look forward to returning to Little Cotton and the lovely town of Dartmouth in the very near future! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ktonks 2 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a weeks stay,the shower/toilet blocks are fantastic. It's a great location with a handy Sainsbury's and Lidl near by.Dartmouth is a lovely town. The food was to die for at Taylors the National trust restaurant. Lots to do and see. The scenery/Blackpool sands just like being in the Med Definitely coming back but will bring back some sunshine. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: June Evans 9 reviews from this member

 Booked this site as rally secretary for a caravan club. From the moment we arrived everything was just perfect even the weather. The rally field was exceptional with stunning views. We were made to feel very welcome by the owners nothing was too much trouble for them. The facilities were second to none and so clean at all times. The park and ride makes access to Dartmouth (a lovely place) very easy and having two supermarkets so close a big bonus. All in all a superb holiday enjoyed by our members who all want to return in the not too distant future 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Janet55 2 reviews from this member

 This site is superbly maintained. Grass is immaculately kept and hardstanding facilities are well provided for and cleverly integrated so as to preserve the pitches, without overdoing on the gravel. We had a hardstanding pitch with some grass, although there are a small number of full hardstanding and plenty of grass only too. Site does slope gently in parts, so levellers advised.
The site owners are lovely and the facilities are immaculate. Lovely clean hot showers, spacious washroom and toilets and the best indoor potwashing facilities we have come across. Drainers and cloths provided too! Well stocked litte shop. Although nothing particularly for children on the site, it has a community playing field, football, rugby and sports complex (no pool) next door (just pop over a stile) where older children can kick a ball about to their hearts content. Recommend younger children take a swingball or similar, if they need to play in your line of sight.
The site is a motorcaravaners dream - with a new Sainsburys opposite the site and a Lidl next door too for all your shopping needs without moving the 'van. The site also has an arrangement with the Park & Ride and you can buy discounted tickets from site shop which allow you to ride as many times as you want on the bus each day. This makes access to Dartmouth a breeze and otherwise the 1 1/2 mile walk back up the hill is really steep. Makes it possible to pop back up to your van with shopping and for lunch too! After the last P&R bus, the site is still well provided for by local bus and last buses also park in the depot (small lock-up area) next to site too, so take you right to the site entrance!
If, like us, you read reviews and imagine the site to be on an industrial estate though (between supermarkets and P&R), then relax - it is a beautiful spot and everything works well together. We will certainly be back! 


Previous     97 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2357 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December