Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Little Cotton Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Dartmouth > Little Cotton Caravan Park Reviews

CLOSED: Little Cotton Caravan Park
Off Venn Lane
Dartmouth
Devon (South)   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 97 Reviews
                9/10 from 97 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  97 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pdw68 1 review from this member

 Our first visit to Little Cotton was for the Glorious Easter weekend in 2009. Stayed four nights and loved every minute of it. Our pitch was really well sheltered and level.

The staff are superb - always friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. The Park and ride service which runs from next to the site is great for getting into Dartmouth.

The amenities block was also amazing - always clean and with free hot showers. The shop is also well stocked and very reasonable.

We went on the Round Robin (Boat, Bus and Steam Train from Dartmouth to Totnes and Paignton) which was a great day out for £17.50. We also went down to the Green Dragon Pub for a couple of meals and it is highly recommended.

All in all a great site and very well run. We'll certainly be going back. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jameshudson 13 reviews from this member

 Stayed the week before bank holiday weekend, our 4th stay here. The weather was rubbish, a real struggle to keep the kids amused. The sun came out the day before we left.

Little Cotton was, as always, immaculate. The owners and staff are very friendly, helpful and efficient.

The pitches are mainly level, the downside is the site is exposed to wind, it was a miracle our tent stayed in one piece.

The shower block is fantastic, always clean with plenty of space, toilets, washbasins and free hot showers. Good washing-up and laundry facilities (£2.40 washing and £1 drying).

We don't have a dog, but the site seems very popular with dog owners due to very good dog-walking areas.

The campsite is spoilt for choice for shops within walking distance. The camp shop is well stocked (open 8am-9pm), there are also Sainsbury's , Lidl and Spar nearby.

There is a leisure centre nearby but it doesn't have a pool. It does have a mini-skatepark much to our son's delight. We went to Kingsbridge for an indoor swimming-pool.

Next to the campsite is the park and ride to Dartmouth (£1 per adult foot passenger). Dartmouth is a beautiful town well worth visiting several times. The 1 hour harbour cruise is £7 well spent.

We also visited Woodlands Leisure Park(excellent value for money)and the go-karting at Churston (not cheap).

Overall 9/10 for Little Cotton, 9/10 for Dartmouth, 1/10 for the weather. Would highly recommend this campsite if you're visiting this area. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carolbay 11 reviews from this member

 We have just spent six days at this site and it is everything that previous reviewers have said. It was pouring with rain when we arrived and we were shown to our pitch by Paul who made very clear arm movements to assist us to get our van correctly sited.
The toilet block was immaculate every time I visited it, plenty of paper in cubicles and soap provided at the basins.The showers (good temperature controlled hot water)were housed in a spacious double cubicle making a separate area for hanging clothing and a bench seat. A good idea was that there was a squeezy mop and a printed suggestion to use it after your shower so that it was dry for the next person.
We noticed that the grass was mown after a caravan etc left so the site always looked immaculate. The shop covered all the things you may need including camping accessories and you could order daily papers and cakes and bread. We used the park and ride and found it to run every 20 mins and saved all the hassle of parking in Dartmouth (and it was, we tried it. It was quiet at night.
The only slight downside was, as mentioned previously, the gusts of wind. It was very windy the week we were there and weather warnings were issued. The gusts were very strong but no-one / nothing got damaged. We would certainly stay on this site again. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gringosmith 2 reviews from this member

 Could be our last visit for a while as caravan is up for sale. Little Cotton has been a benchmark for all other sites since we first visited 3yrs ago. Grounds and pitches are immaculate, Paul (owner) is very helpful and friendly. Showers and loos are so clean and tidy - just like home (on a really good day!).

Prices also reasonable - what more can I say. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hannab 6 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this beautiful site. As other reviewers have said the site is very very clean and well maintained. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We were given a choice of pitch and when we realised that our electric hookup wouldn't reach the owners loaned us an extension free of charge.
We were lucky enough to have fantastic weather and the owner could be seen maintaining the site throughout the day. The site has excellent shower and dishwashing facilities. The on site shop stocked a selection of essentials as well as bottled gas. Within 5 minutes walking distance is a Lidl supermarket and Spa / Petrol Station, a Sainsburys Supermarket is in the process of being built which will give campers even more choices. The local park and ride is well worth using as trying to park in Dartmouth can be very difficult.
The dog walking area is one of the best I have seen and there is an additional walk along side the local sportsfield which is accessed through the park and ride entrance gate.
The only downsides to this site is that it is very exposed and on couple of nights it was extremly windy, and from speaking to people who visit this site regularly it is very common problem, one couple lost their caravan awning, some tent campers left early as they couldn't cope with the gusts of wind that sweep across the fields.
A local pub would have been a bonus as the only pubs are in the town, which although is only ten minutes on the park ride still feels a distance, especially if you want to walk to the pub to sit outside and a drink before walking back to the camp, as the site is at the top of a very, very steep and long hill.

The river cruise in Dartmouth is well worth the money as the commentary is both informative and amusing.

I would recommend this site to anyone but do be aware of the the fact that it is exposed and does not have any secluded areas in which to pitch. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mickjen 1 review from this member

 Spent 2 weeks at little cotton early October. Fantastic holiday, Site very well maintained, with excellent washrooms and toilets. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. (Had a battery problem and charged my battery daily while we were out for no charge). Park and ride next door with a £1 charge per day to go in and out of Dartmouth. TV good with external aerial. Loads to do in the area without having to drive. We always score sites we stay at and Little Cotton is the only one so far we have given 10 out of 10. Going back in 2008, can't wait! 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: I.Robbins 14 reviews from this member

 Just back from Little Cotton and can only endorse others comments on how lovely and clean this site is, the facilities where immaculate, we took advantage of the over 50 discount and spent 7 days there, we found this site was ideal to get around without moving the motor home, the park and ride tickets bought from the site shop where £1 return for unlimited use through the day. The bus stopped right on the front at Dartmouth and there are various boat trips available,and a short walk to the lower ferry the cost to get over to Kings wear is £1. From there the No.22 bus to Brixham is £3.90 return and takes 20 minutes. There are various Bus routes around the area and time tables can be picked up from tourist info office. Dartmouth itself is a quaint town with its winding streets, it has a small market on the Friday morning.

The on site shop is stocked with necessary supplies and some frozen food and camping equipment and a section where you can exchange books if you fancy a quite afternoon reading was a nice idea, I noticed that just opposite the Park and Ride

There was a leisure centre and a new Lidl supermarket opening this month. Now that is really convenient for campers. We had a very enjoyable week here and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it, we would certainly go again. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Traceyb37 1 review from this member

 This site is very lovingly cared for. The toilets and showers are immaculate and there are plenty, I only had to wait once and then not for long.
The shop is well stocked and there is a good Spar shop just down the road at the petrol station plus a small somerfield in Dartmouth.
The laundry and pot wash facilities are also very clean and plentiful.
Dartmouth is easily accessible using the park and ride that the camp site shop sell tickets for (parking is non-existent during the day although we found spaces in the evening)
Lots of lovely beaches within easy driving distance.
The two dog walks available are both excellent, the one provided by the camp site is a large, well fenced field with trees planted and benches so you can relax with a book while the dogs run off some energy and the other walk is next to the camp site around a sports field and is pretty & quiet and the dogs loves exploring there.
I would highly recommend this site and we will definitely be returning next year.
A tip for those who may like to take their dogs to the beach - drive to "Salcombe" use the park & ride there and then get the ferry (5 minute sail) to East Portlemouth - a gorgeous sandy, dog & child friendly beach with a fab coffee shop - if the sun shines you won't want to leave.(the dogs are welcome on the bus & the ferry) 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rosebunch 1 review from this member

 We visited this brilliant site in the first week of the school holidays and would highly recommend it. The site was spacious with lovely views of the Devon countryside and beautifully clean. The toilet and shower block was immaculate with private wash cubicles and lovely hot showers. The shop was well stocked and included fresh bakery produce which could be ordered the day before and delivered the next morning from the baker's in Dartmouth. The staff were very helpful from the moment we arrived, escorting us to our pitch and even providing blocks to level us up. The area itself is wonderful with lots to do.
There are lovely beaches, leisure parks such as Woodlands, water parks, castles, steam trains, boat trips, and plenty of pretty towns to explore with Dartmoor half hour away. There was also the added bonus of a park and ride running into Dartmouth which was cheap and convenient. We all wanted to stay for longer and will be returning to this excellent site in an area with so much to see and do. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Marpin 15 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this lovely site for 4 nights, the staff were all friendly and helpful, all the facilities were immaculate and the dog walk was like a Small park, complete with benches!.I would rate this site as 5 star I can't think of a nicer site and we have toured all around the country. 


Previous     97 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1309 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December