Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Little Cotton Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Dartmouth > Little Cotton Caravan Park Reviews

CLOSED: Little Cotton Caravan Park
Off Venn Lane
Dartmouth
Devon (South)   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 97 Reviews
                9/10 from 97 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  97 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: HowCrag 10 reviews from this member

 This is a must visit campsite for visiting Dartmouth & around.

Staff are very helpful. Amenities block is immaculate. Well kept, part sloping & open plan pitches, some hard standings, EHU's, WI-FI & nice & peaceful. No kifdies play area but there is a large community grass area five minutes walk away & it's well off the road, a community swimming pool is fifteen minutes walk away so this should keep your little cherubs happy.

Sainsburys is across the road. Go to Dartmouth via the 'Park & Ride' ten minutes walk away costing between three & four pounds depending what time you go, after 1400hrs is the cheapest. A buss stop outside the site will take you Totnes & Torquay plus many more.

We found Dartmouth suited us fine, big & little shops to browse in, loads of eateries & nice pubs, my favourite The Floating Bridge serves good ale & food is child & dog friendly & has great views over the harbour. A great day out is the steam train that leaves Kingswear (across the harbour via ferry) to Paignton.

I will return again. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 6mantent 11 reviews from this member

 Overall a good site and would recommend. Site itself is located just outside Dartmouth.

The site reception is located in one building near the entrance to the site, which also houses the shop: stocking basic food essentials, gas, camping and caravanning kit, maps; (NB but is not licensed). Payment is cash or card.

After paying we were shown a choice of a couple of pitches, one more secluded from other campers and one which was 'tent only' which were marked out with pegs - reasonable space so we were crammed in. Our pitch was slighly sloping with views of fields. Note that we weren't aware of 'no dog' free fields; there were some dogs running loose which was slightly unsettling to our young children.

The chap who showed us to our pitch also came back to ask if we were ok which was a nice touch.

Pitches were both hook up and basic, with the majority being caravans (in other fields). The pitches were also well drained and closely mown. Tarmac roads provide good accessibility.

Washroom was extremely spacious, new, heated and well equipped (20p for hair dryer for you ladies and gents with longer hair). They were also cleaned to a high standard every day, and all users are encouraged to clean up through provision of clothes and squeegees for the showers. I personally never had to wait for a shower in the evening, but there was a short queue in the morning.

Location is great for Dartmouth : there is a park and ride which costs 4, which is adjacent to the site If you have ever tried to park in Dartmouth you will realise this is an extremely wise and useful service! The P&R ticket can also be used on a service which drops next to the site after 7pm. Sainsbury (8am-9pm) and Lidl supermarket also adjacent to the site. Out of hours there is also a spar petrol station close by.

Dartmouth is a nice riverside town, with lots of shops and market some days. However if you are considering eating out with children, I would advise to book in advance as many of the restaurants are geared to adults, others with limited seating. It is not the best place for family meals out with the exception of fish and chips next to the river Dart ! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Supersunshine 15 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site that we visited for the first time recently. The location is perfect, even though you are a stones throw from a busy road, sainsbury's, lidl's and a garage it doesn't feel like it and is quite tranquil.

The toilet and shower block is enormous and spotlessly clean at any time of day. There are good laundry facilities and ample wash - up sinks.

The shop on site is well stocked with essentials, though papers are to order only. There are no play park facilities but there is a dog walk area which seemed popular with the canine residents (and their owners)

The pitches are well maintained and varied. There are recycling facilities which are excellent.

The park and ride bus proved very handy for multiple trips into charming Dartmouth. One thing that lets Dartmouth down is the distinct lack of reasonably priced pub type places to eat.

Would thoroughly recommend this site! 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: DogsandCo 18 reviews from this member

 Other reviewers have waxed lyrical about this site and I agree facilities are excellent, access to park and ride very handy etc. I think it is worth pointing out that this is very much the 'large open field' style of site. You might want to try and persuade the manager chap to let you pitch by the hedge.

Otherwise there is absolutely no shelter from wind or, as when we were there, blazing sun. I reckon the lack of landscaping would make this site rather overwhelming when it is full; there certainly isn't much privacy if you are pitched in the middle of one of the fields.

We found Dartmouth very, very busy, unpleasantly so really, and this was in May not in school hols. To be honest I was disappointed, I thought it would be more folksy and quaint. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JVFLATLEY 2 reviews from this member

 Having spent a great week at Little Cotton I can only enthusiastically praise the site. The fields are superb and the grass is kept short with no fuss. The pitches are very spacious and have 16 amp hook-ups.

The loos & shower rooms are the best we have ever encountered, with individual wash rooms as well as showers. The site owners are enthusiastic and helpful (No silly niggling rules. )

If your ice packs can`t cope with the hot weather they lend you theirs until yours freeze down, - all free of charge.

Two bonuses were a Park & Ride to Dartmouth adjacent to the site, just walk through the hedge, and a Sainsbury`s opposite the site entrance. We will certainly be going back to Little Cotton. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tentaphobic 4 reviews from this member

 We spent a week at this site at the end of July, and think it is probably the best site we have used.

The reception staff were efficient and friendly and the chap who showed us to our pitch was very helpful and offered us the choice of pitches, explaining which one had the best view and sun. We were pitched in a field only used for tents which was lovely and during our stay was mainly occupied by families with young children, which meant our daughter made some lovely playmates.

The pitch size was more than adequate for our 6-man tent and porch and the field had plenty of space in the middle for the chldren to play.

The toilet/shower facilities were excellent and rarely over busy, although with a 4 year old we were usually up before the busy period! The only small gripe would be that it didn't hava a family room for children to have a bath and the showers were far too hot for them to use. However, the baby change room does have a large sink which was suitable for smaller children, but would have been difficult for older children who couldn't/wouldn't use the showers.

The park and ride service next to the campsite was excellent, meaning we could leave the car at the campsite most days and Dartmouth was wonderful with lots to see and do in the surrounding area. The town itself is very limited with places to eat for families. However, with two very good supermarkets next to the campsite we ate 'at home' most evenings. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Wayne67 4 reviews from this member

 Excellent site, great location, lovely owners and staff. The biggest and cleanest toilet/shower block we've seen. The park and ride next door is excellent as parking in Dartmouth is a nightmare to say the least. There is a sainsburys over the road and a lidl next to the petrol station, although the site was very close to the for-mentioned shops etc you may well have been a million miles away because you could not hear a thing. Well worth the 8hr drive, what is a must is an early start down to Dartmouth to witness the sea mist rolling in and out with tide, a budding David baileys dream.

We'll be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Magill 9 reviews from this member

 Returned to Little Cotton yet again (our 4th visit) and still very happy with the service given and the cleanliness and location of this site.

Convenience for getting around is excellent but sorry to learn you are now unable to buy your return park and ride ticket from their shop. It used to cost l for return journeys and you could use this all day long. You now have to purchase a 4 ticket from car park of park and ride machine which is annoying if you don't have any change.

Shop sells nearly everything. Bus stop outside site will take you to Totnes, Paignton and Torquay.No facilities for children. Will still visit this site. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ewing 3 5 reviews from this member

 This park is quite simply brilliant. The owners Paul and Dorothy are really friendly and helpful and upon arrival Paul shows you to your pitch and makes sure that you are sited in the correct position and even makes sure that you are level, a really nice touch.

The park is kept immaculate all the time, pitches neatly mowed, tarmac roads all around, re-cycling facilities and the facility block which also houses a laundry and wash up room is the best I've ever seen. They have a small shop for all the essentials and a nice dog walk area.

One of the best things about this park is its location. It's just off the main road into Dartmouth with a new Sainsbury's just outside the entrance and a Lidl, leisure centre and BP station just down the road. They are also just next door to the park and ride, so you can leave your car on site and catch the bus into town. As anyone who has been to Dartmouth will know parking can be a nightmare.

As one reviewer has said unless you have been there it sounds like a strange location, but its fantastic.

Have been here three times already and have just sent off my deposit for next months stay, I can thoroughly recommend this park and Dartmouth for a great holiday. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Owain100 1 review from this member

 Excellent campsite. Nice level pitches which were very well organised. Since the caravan pitches were not full the owner suggested we pitch there so as to be closer to the toilet / shower block (which isn't exactly a long walk anyway).

Toilet / Shower block was large, modern and very clean with plenty of hot water and room to dress without getting wet again!

The site is very easy to find on the main road into Dartmouth, just opposite the Sainsburys (also very handy). Its also right next to park and ride buses into town which is very convenient as parking in Dartmouth is impossible! 


Previous     97 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2365 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December