Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Windy Harbour Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Blackpool > Windy Harbour Holiday Park Reviews

Windy Harbour Holiday Park
Little Singleton
Blackpool
Lancashire   (Browse area)
FY6 8NB
Tel: 01253 883064
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 850
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 64 Reviews
                8/10 from 64 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  64 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ozzyman 3 reviews from this member

This was our first ever trip in our caravan, and as complete novices to the world of caravaning we were nervous at what we needed to do. The sign posting to the site was superb, and reception was at the entrance. The girls in reception were amazing and so helpful. They directed us to our pitch and where all the facilities were. All the pitches are hard standing including your awning pitch and car parking space. What was great was that all the pitches for tourers were within 1minutes of the children's play area, toilet / shower facilities. The shower blocks and toilets were really clean and well serviced, a credit to the house keeping team. The play area was a great size and in good order. It was safe and secure and a great variety of different obstacles / swings / slides. Our children didn't want to leave the park area. The main club house was fantastic And a great size, with lots going on. The on site amusements were fun for the children and not over priced. The fish and chip shop and the cafe served great food and at very reasonable prices, as was the supermarket on site which stocked a good range at supermarket prices. All the staff were really friendly and made you feel like a local. The swimming pool was a good size and clean and tidy. You do not need to leave the park for anything from food to entertainment. As for the outdoors there was plenty of space to walk our dog and some beautiful walks around the edge of the park by the river wyre. All in all this was a great experience and introduction to the world of caravanning? I would advise anyone looking for a great holiday park experience at a fantastic price where all the facilities are included in your pitch prices including the swimming and the children's club. And just to make everything even better you have the facility to stay longer on your departure day until 4pm for a small charge of 4. If it has one down side the pitches are close together so can be difficult to reverse your van onto the pitch (however this doesn't matter as every one is so friendly they help you get into location)

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ALANSLAP 3 reviews from this member

Hello. Stayed here for three nights starting 07/03/2014 staff friendly club house excellent. Showers and pitches could do with a spruce up. On the first night at midnight we lost electricity. Used the emergency contact no answer left a message no reply. A very cold night with not a lot of sleep, we live local and this was a treat for our grandson we went home for a warm. On return at 10am the power had just come back on. No-one contacted us but rumour was power tripped. Now I am puzzled each pitch has a power breaker surely how can one van take out twenty plus pitches. And why was no one on site trained to flick a switch.

This will stay in my memory of this park for a long while !

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bootlucy 10 reviews from this member

Just had a great long weekend here and the only downside we found was the size of the pitches, not big enough for car along side caravan and the road isn't wide enough to park on. Apart from that, great site with easy access from the M55 and first class facilities. Great club and cheaper beer than my local!, lots going on in there, bingo, quiz, etc. Good shop, very reasonable prices, and a great chippy! Didn't use the swimming pool but it looked very popular as did the playground. Ducks everywhere! good to watch. Blackpool is about 15 minutes by car and Fleetwood 20. TV reception very good. Good, modern site with something for everyone.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kie68 36 reviews from this member

We have just had a weekend at Windy Harbour. We had booked two pitches one for us and one for our friend's who have a twin axle lunar. This is the third time we have been to Windy Harbour but I haven't put a review on before.

The access to the site is good and check in is easy. We were on a hard standing pitch behind the reception. These pitches are like 'battery hen' pitches. They are very tight and packed in together. I ended up getting on the pitch with my motor mover. You have to pitch car, caravan and awning, which actually means your car is outside the awning of the next caravan, and I mean right outside. There is little or no area to sit out. The grass pitches on the other side of the road are better.

The toilets and showers are good and very clean, lady was in early Saturday and Sunday cleaning the gents.

There is a big clubhouse with adult bar and family bar. Residents start queueing at 5. 30pm to get their seats, the doors don't open until 7pm. They then go in buy drinks put them on 'THEIR' table, same table every week. They then disappear back to their caravans to get ready for the bingo at 8. 30pm. We walked in the room at 7. 30pm there were a few people about but nearly all the tables had been 'reserved' in this way.

My wife, friend and his wife all use the electronic cigarettes. I don't smoke but have found these things great as I no longer get left in the pub on my own whilst they go outside for a cigarette. One of the security men came over to us and told us they could use the electronic cigarettes on the premises as it was 'company policy'.

We have enjoyed the other occasions we have stayed at Windy Harbour but to be honest we found this time there are too many rules and regulations. Touring caravan are the poor relations and heaven forbid you actually win the bingo as my wife did last time we went. It was like a scene from an old western with a linch mob ready to string us up from the nearest tree.

We went in the club both nights and between the 2 couples probably spent 200 or more over the bar, far more that the half a pint a night some of the residents get.

We may go back to Windy Harbour but it will be a while before we do

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Conwaysteph 2 reviews from this member

Just spent a really nice Saturday night/Sunday day in my new folding camper at Windy Harbour.

Great facilities, close to my pitch in the rally field. Nice warm radiators at 3am in the toilets when taking my daughter over for her usual mid-night toilet run! Great play area for the kids, loved that some of the facilities are Adult only - especially the jacuzzi next to the pool!

Club room has been recently been decorated - and seemed to have some great entertainment on - my daughter was up and dancing to Superman!

Lovely site, helpful staff, nice neighbours - who actually put their chairs out to watch us pitch up, they were soo curious about the camper, close to Blackpool - would definitely go there again!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wesso 47 1 review from this member

I visited this site and was very happy with the staff and the cleanliness of the toilets and the site reception staff very friendly and helpful. I recommend this to everyone on short or long break. The only downside is that you need hard standing pegs as the awning space is hard and this can bend plastic pegs. It is 6 miles from blackpool but is in easy reach of M55 and all near attractions and fleetwood and cleavleys

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cathandkids 2 reviews from this member

We visited Windy Harbour over the Easter weekend.

On arrival the receptionist was friendly. We were directed to our pitch which was on the rally field.

We were very shocked at how close together the caravans were. We felt that we were very crammed in with no room to even pitch a porch awning as the caravan next to us had to park his car in his allocated space. We had paid for a pitch with space for an awning.

The rally field was full. As a result for two nights in a row we experienced power cuts. One morning we awoke to find a sign on our window, as did all the other vans, asking us politely to not use so many electrical items at once as it was causing power cuts.

The weather had been cold over this weekend and a hot shower in the morning is something to look forward to. Unfortunately this didn't happen.

The water in the showers was cold and the head of the shower not adjustable. The toilets were clean but cold and not enough mirrors.

The site itself was clean and tidy. They even emptied the bins at 7am on the Easter Monday!

The children's playground was nice and the location was excellent for exploring Blackpool.

The site to us seems more geared towards catering for static caravans and touring caravans are left to fend for themselves.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Loopytriplelll 27 reviews from this member

Had a 2 night stay at the end of September to take kids for Illuminations.

Normally stay at Marton Mere Haven park at other end of Blackpool but they were fully booked this year so we decided to try Windy Harbour.

The Site is easy enough to find with sat nav or road map. It's about 6 miles out of Blackpool and takes around 15-20 minutes by car(unless you try to go in rush hour)

On arrival check in was easy and the site is down a nice private road.

The whole site is well kept and operates a directed traffic sign system so you know which way to enter and exit, Only niggle is speed bumps as with most campsites they are far too vicious and shake hell out of your caravan even at a crawl.

Pitches are well spaced and hard standing also level (take rock pegs for awning you will need them unless its been raining hard)

The site shop is a good size but doesn't seem very well stocked, we managed as we were only here for a short stay but I imagine if you went for a week it may be easier to shop off site.

The site Cafe/restaurant serves good food and has a good range on the menu. Friendly service and not a bad price we ate on arrival and went for breakfast, all good meals.

We didn't use the pool or entertainment bar as we had come solely for Blackpool so went out until late.

The weather was less than pleasant as you would expect of late September in Blackpool(Rain and wind)

The resident ducks come for a feed when you are out around your caravan and if you feed them they return for their breakfast.

This is a nice site but it does live up to its name (Windy)and it was a good price for illuminations season.

It would be nice to see what it's like in June/July with nice weather. I would expect it's a nice site to sit outside your caravan with a beer and bbq until late evening.

May return in future, overall a nice site

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Motorhomefun 22 reviews from this member

This is our second visit this year to Windy Harbour and I am happy to say we had a fabulous time.

You may have read my previous review saying that we don't normally have high expectations of campsites such as this but we have been so pleasantly surprised.

We had a wonderful pitch '39' which meant our hose just reached the water tap (25 feet) so we could top up as we were on an electric only pitch and it had a lovely bit of grass around it and the sun all day. Its a little bit open to people passing by so if you like a lot of privacy, don't select this pitch.

We booked Monday - Friday and really wanted to extend to stay over the BH weekend. We called in almost every hour to see the reception staff who did their utmost to accommodate us. First finding us 2 nights, Fri and Sat and then Sunday. We had to move around a bit and all in all did 3 pitches but being in a Motorhome it wasn't a problem.

On our two night stay we were moved to the Rally Field rather than behind reception and this is my only negative. The Rally Field is a bit like the poor relation. It just doesn't have the same feel and the toilets need some care and attention. In comparison to the ones behind reception that are lovely and warm, clean and the shower water is hot, the rally field, the doors are hooked open, the sinks poor with no mirrors in front for shaving (my hubbies gripe) and the shower water was luke warm on both days despite phoning reception. I think they are old and need upgrading.

If you are in a Motorhome and are thinking of going into Blackpool, be aware, its quite costly from the park on the bus or taxi so best to drive into Blackpool and pay to park. There is no park and ride in Blackpool but you can park in any of the coach parks so long as you buy a coach ticket. It cost us 10 for 12 hours which compared to a return taxi or bus ride was a bargain and we were parked central too. You can park on the designated Motorhome Parking at Lonsdale Coach park and I think that is just 5 but not quite so close but still easy walking distance just near the football ground.

My final comment and 'big up' goes to the cleaner of both sets of toilets at Windy Harbour. She was lovely, engaging and did an amazing job with so many people coming and going, wet weather and children being children.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DarrenK 1 review from this member

Reception staff great, helpful and polite. Hard standing pitches with electric hook up.

Nice clean toilet and shower block, lots of hot water for the showers

Good pot wash block with big sinks, hot and cold water.

Great chippy, very friendly staff there (try the battered sausage. Great although not healthy).

Went in low season but the shop was poor, not a lot in it and no set opening times.

Good club, friendly staff, cafe on site also laundry and hair dressers.

If you feed the ducks, be prepared to be woken up early by them for their breakfast.

Great site, great staff, all you need for touring.

It did live up to its name 'windy', needs more wind blocking features.

Previous     64 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Blackpool      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5331 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019