Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Windy Harbour Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Blackpool > Windy Harbour Holiday Park Reviews

Windy Harbour Holiday Park
Little Singleton
Blackpool
Lancashire   (Browse area)
FY6 8NB
Tel: 01253 883064
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 850
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 64 Reviews
                8/10 from 64 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  64 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ahilton 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 2 nights.
 
Nice campsite, although the toilets could have been kept cleaner, and washing the pots wasn't pleasant due to the smells coming from the very close by chemical point. Nice little pool with a smaller section for the littler family members, and also a Jacuzzi for over 18s. Some of the staff on the site were slightly arrogant, however, others couldn't have been more helpful. The tent pitches are a little on the small side, and we found some of our pegs just wouldn't go into the ground! Play area for the children which is close to the tents, so proved useful for us as we had a 5 year old with us.
 
The site isn't too far from Blackpool Pleasure Beach and other attractions, which was good for us as there wasn't much other than the Arcade for the teenagers.
 
Overall, a nice camp site, and I will certainly consider visiting it again.

Date of Visit: April 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alibescat 30 reviews from this member

One of the first sites we went to, thought it was great, much more like the sort of place you hire a static rather than pitch a tent, but recommend.
It has shop chippy and club house.  Lots of statics we got a bit tipsy and got lost so be careful! Alicia n stu

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MOONIE 1 review from this member

Visited June 2nd,3rd and 4th, most standard touring pitches in the Family / No Dogs Area are all level which consist of gravel for van, grass either side for car & awning separated with a line of flags. *Someone did try to sneak a dog on the no dogs area and were promptly told to move to the doggie area which is only across the road.
 
Very clean site with cafe, chippy, well stocked shop, well stocked camping shop, gas sales, swimming pool, great playground, football pitch, two fishing ponds, amusements, kids disco / club, very large main cabaret / entertainment room (over 18`s).
 
More importantly touring loo`s are spotless and warm with FREE hot showers, main water point is drinking water but just a bit to close to the open elsan point for my liking but there are other taps dotted about.
 
Star pitches are available which are level tarmac for  car and van with grass area for awning.These are fully serviced with illuminated post,ehu,mains water and grey water drain (£2 extra per night) worth it to save all the lugging about.
 
All in all a great site and will deffo be returning in the near future as it`s great for the kids who we hardly ever saw from the moment we arrived (great things walkie-talkies) as there is so much for them to do. We also took the bikes as the site is all flat and we all had a pedal around.
 
My only gripe was the fact that Windy Harbour lived up to it`s name when I was trying to erect the awning so next time I will be booking a pitch with the awning on the other side as to avoid impromptu flying lessons. lol. Gary

Date of Visit: May 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Diddy 123 1 review from this member

We visit this site on a regular base as its not too far from home and close to blackpool and the attractions.The kids can play till they drop, the park is great. The childrens clubhouse gets really busy you must arrive very early to get a seat.

Only gripe that we had last time was a very unhelpful receptionist who decided after several visits our tent was too big,and we were told by our neighbours that she even came out and measured it whilst we were out!
We have a smaller tent this year and intend to visit again at easter.
The site does get very noisy in the evening especially during bank holidays

Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mwl707 1 review from this member

This is a very nice site close to Blackpool. The tent pitches are mainly level if a little close to each other. The bar,cafe and general store are good as is the pool which is free. My only criticism would be the toilet block - there are good showers and facilities but they soon became extremely smelly ( And I'm not that fussy !) I think they need a more regular cleaning routine. One last thing avoid the grotty chip shop, we were served by somebody who could not get enough of the food she was serving into her mouth - disgusting

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Fromthenorth 8 reviews from this member

Visited for short weekend as our first ever caravan break. Didn't know what to expect but we had a good time. The toilets were okay, not as clean as I'd like but I suppose they could have been far worse. The wash basins were a waste of time though. Washing my 4 year old became a real trauma. The taps were push down taps and as soon as you let go the water stopped. There were no plugs in any of the sinks and so I had to hold down tap with one hand and try to wash her with the other, not ideal.

The site itself was very nice. We had a good size pitch and the children loved the pool and games arcade. The children's disco in the family room was my daughters ideal evening though it was a little chaotic. We couldn't go in the quieter bar though as children were not allowed.

We had a great time and will no doubt be returning often as it's only a 45 minute drive from our home.

Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: Jason L 4 reviews from this member

Visited this site for 3 nights and thought it was fantastic. Very well run site, very clean. Superb play area for the kids. Decent club on the site but does get very busy (though they do charge you and you do have to pre-book)Great little chippy on site, a little cafe, a well stocked shop, swimming pool and games arcade. Everything you need. 8 out of 10. Will go back......

Date of Visit: July 2005 Rating:
Reviewer: Delboy5465 20 reviews from this member

This site is very large and for anyone with children is great as there are lots of things to do. Some pitches are better than others and there is a tendancy to squash you in. Avoid the bank holidays as site can be very noisy as it seems to attract people who think you would like to listen to their car stereos.

The toilet/shower block could do with more regular cleaning. The receptionist was very helpful in giving us a much better pitch after our last disappointing visit and it was more than adequate. The pool is great with lifeguards though could do with longer opening hours. A couple of great fishing lakes which kept my kids amused for hours and cost us £24 per night for 2 adults and 3 kids which is very reasonable.

Visited numerous times over the last 20 years and will keep on going back, but if you are after peace and quiet then I would certainly avoid especially at bank holidays. Great location for visiting Blackpool, St Annes and the Lake District. We were surprised how quiet it was at this time of the year

Reviewer: Sunseekers 5 reviews from this member

May 2005
Stayed 3 nights early May Bank Holiday. Was surprised at how many pitches they have, all seem to have electric hook up too! On the + side, the site was very clean with very good facilities.

On the down side the club was VERY hectic, with nowhere we could just go and have a quiet drink with the kids. We were disturbed one night by an arguement 1st at midnight and then at 2 a.m. but they were packed and gone by the time we rose in the morning.

We would consider going back, but will bring a gazebo so we can sit and have a quiet drink!

Reviewer: Tony Headlam 29 reviews from this member

March 2005
This is a large commercial camp site, it is near enough to Blackpool, 6 miles for a trip there and far enough away so you don't even know it is there, there are plenty of things to do on site, a play area for the kids, a football field, mind the ducks and rabbits and for the grown ups there is a large building that sells beer, plenty of rooms some you can take children in and some you cant. The beer is well kept and not too pricy.
There should be something at this site for all. It does get a bit damp under foot if the weather turns so take some wellies or boots.

Previous     64 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Blackpool      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5195 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019