Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Windy Harbour Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Blackpool > Windy Harbour Holiday Park Reviews

Windy Harbour Holiday Park
Little Singleton
Blackpool
Lancashire   (Browse area)
FY6 8NB
Tel: 01253 883064
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 850
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 64 Reviews
                8/10 from 64 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  64 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Motorhomefun 22 reviews from this member

We came here for a two night stay with children as it was close to home and we wanted somewhere we could arrive fairly quickly, get set up and relax and enjoy.

We are always sceptical of this type of holiday park as it can either be fantastic or really lack lustre but having an 11 year old with us who loves to be out mixing with others and socialising, this type of site often ticks our boxes on paper.

Things we loved

1. Decent flat pitches, easy to hook up for electric. We had an electric only pitch as the super pitches were sold out.

2. Pool ok for children, not great for adults as the spa pool was closed

3. Club house for entertainment was clean and plenty of seating with a nice atmosphere.

4. Toilets were warm and cleaned very often and the cleaner

Was lovely, sociable and friendly

5. Childrens entertainment programme was good and the staff were enthusiastic and happy to join in.

Things needing improvement

1. Water was hidden away and needs to have clearer signposts and also more signage for where a motorhome can dispose of grey water, it's not good enough for the staff to say that any grid will do, more environ, entail responsibility needs to be portrayed.

2. The on site shop was like walking into a time warp. It didn't smell great, the stuff on offer was hardly enticing and the woman behind the counter was stood holding a baby. I am all for using local people products and services but it needs to be professional and inviting otherwise get a chain concession in to run it.

Overall we had a good time and would come back again for a short break.

Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nic3101 29 reviews from this member

We visited this site as part of the North Lancs Caravan Club rally for Bonfire night. Apparently the NLCC have a fireworks display every year here. And it was spectacular and free to everyone, not just the ralliers,

Firstly, we had not visited this site before, so going on the rally gave us chance to use the site at a great price and at the same time enjoy all the rally had to offer.

The site is large, the tourers all have access to EHU on hardstandings and there are washing up facilities and decent loos & showers. The site also has a well stocked shop, a gorgeous, clean/new Swimming pool, a hairdressers, a chippy, arcade and a clubhouse - that we didn't use. The children's play/park area is one of the best I've seen (the sister site to this - Newton Hall has only a very tiny park).

All in all, it has everything you need - the only downside is the actual site is not near anything and you would definitely need a car to get about. Not far is Blackpool & all it's attractions and in the other direction, Freeport, Fleetwood & Cleveleys.

I would recommend this site - particularly in miserable weather because there is plenty to do, however, if your after a quiet relaxing time this is not the place for you,

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: LCT78 2 reviews from this member

We had planned to stay at 'Windy Harbour' for 2 days but booked an extra day as it was lovely. The lady in the reception was very helpful and friendly, she helped us with the bus timetables in to Blackpool. The bus cost the 2 of us 13 for a return ticket. We drove instead the next day as it was only 10 to park the motorhome in the central car park for up to 24hrs!(Blackpool).

We found the park grounds well kept, the shower block was clean every time we used it.

There was plenty of hot water (very hot!)but I would recommend taking a bathmat to stand on when you get dressed as the shower sprays out in to the changing area!

The washing-up area was indoors, although we did not need to use it, it did look very new and clean.

The on-site shop was open until 21:00 and had a good variety of items for sale. There was a hair salon and fish and chip shop - we did not use these but they looked clean and were always busy (which is a good sign!)

We did not use the club so can not comment on this. There is a well stocked amusements arcade which was always busy.

The pool was clean and had lifeguards at all times. The children's play park looked very new and plenty of aparatus to entertain the kids.

There is a small fishing lake and plenty of ducks walking around the park!

All in all, we found the site very pleasant and although there were lots of families staying, we did not have any bother with noise at all.

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Justcamping 8 reviews from this member

Visited 18th march the weather was lovely and so was the site as usual. Good club, children's games, new bar area, 2.30 for Tennants lager which is reasonable (lets keep it that way). Has a very good chippy, friendly staff, hair dressers, shop,and a good swimming pool. As we have a dog we stay on the dog area which has good sized pitches, all hard standing. Lovely clean toilet and shower block. Also a fishing pond, not tried this yet but will do on our next visit. We have introduced 3 of our friends with their families and they have enjoyed it. Recommended to our friends parents and they have just booked for next weekend. Almost forgot, has a good park/play area for the kids. So to sum it up a good all round campsite to visit, not too far from Blackpool, Fleetwood

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cheryl.mark 91 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 2 night stay at Windy Harbour. Good points:-

Outdoor park for kids is excellent.

Facilities on one side of the touring park are excellent with washing up sinks, family bathroom.

Swimming pool warm, clean with nice jacuzzi open from 10.30 - 4.30pm

Chippy on site is really good.

The staff on reception are friendly and welcoming.

Bad points:-

The touring section on the opposite side is a bit of an after thought! The shower block was scruffy with a roof tile gone, you could see into the rafter!

It seemed open and could do with some shrubs/tress to make it look more appealing.

There is no security barrier, anyone can drive onto the site!

The entertainment bar where all the live acts are is over 18s only, kids have their own disco area which is basically a dumping ground for all the sites teenagers with hardly an adult in site - yes they are all sat in the adult only bar getting bladdered!

This site does cater for everyone, however, I feel that families should be included in the main lounge with an area cordoned off that is for families only, the kids room isnt ideal and I witnessed lots of swearing from teenagers, they weren't being supervised which isnt the sites fault, however, if they want to encourage new customers it doesn't give off the right impression, we didn't go into the disco on Sat night, if we were allowed in the cabaret lounge with maybe even a cutoff time for kids from 10pm we would have spent our money in the bar!

The site is also very keen on siting touring caravans and has a lot of seasonal pitches which seem to have the best location on the site. Make sure when you book you give the correct size off van as some pitches are very small and wont take the modern vans that are todays sizes.

This site has the potential to be an excellent site with great facilities, they just need to sort a few things out and it will be, they need to speak to their residents and have a no tolerance swearing rule as the kids on the park and in the disco seemed to think it was fine to swear like troopers in front of my 6 & 7 year old. I will return but not in Peak times as I can imagine it would be very busy.

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dj monster 8 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 6 night stay during half term at windy harbour. Site was clean and tidy. The shower/toilet block was always cleaned around 07.30 so was clean when I went to use it. The only bad thing I can say is that the dressing area gets wet when the shower is on. Our pitch was hard standing and ideal for this time of year. We didn't use the club or swimming pool so cannot comment, I know there is a small charge for the passes. I would recommend the chip shop on site.

The site has the best children's play area I have ever seen on a campsite. My 5 year old loved it. Would use site again.

I would give this site 8/10

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: CruisingComet 5 reviews from this member

We recently stayed two nights at the Windy Harbour site, upon booking staff were friendly and helpful.

Arriving at the site it looked quite nice, upon booking in we were given our pitch details, we choose a hard standing pitch and went to pitch up for the night. Although the pitch was booked as a hardstanding it was not level & appeared to be just crushed tarmac (like shingle except tarmac)it was very messy getting in and out of our camper van and our camper carpets got really dirty over two nights stay, we have stayed on grass pitches and hard standing pitches before and never found this problem to be as bad as this at other sites.

The electric hookup point was within easy reach but no sign of a water tap nearby except for one that was missing it's on/off handle preventing it from being used. The electric hook up on our pitch was badly corroded as the protective flap had broken off leaving it open to the elements, this seems potentially dangerous and left me wondering if it was chucking it down with rain wether or not I would want to risk plugging it, especially awkward as it was corrded making pushing the plug fully in very difficult.

My biggest problem with the pitch we stayed on (not totally the site owners fault) was our pitch was littered with cigarette buts, it was like pitching in an ashtray and quite frankly disgusting (any smokers reading this please try to show some consideration to others who don't smoke - while it may not bother you, it is simply disgusting) another unpleasant find was a pile of dog poo on our pitch!

The on site toilet facilities were also disappointing, I used them only when totally desperate due to how dirty and smelly they were. The second evening on our stay children had been in the gents toilet block and had dobie fights, there was wet toilet paper splatters all over the floor, walls, doors, ceiling etc, despite this happening early evening on the Saturday it still had not been cleaned up the next morning when I visited the facilities around 10.30am which is clearly unacceptable and clearly shows how frequently the toilets actually get cleaned!

I can't find many positive things to say about this site in all honesty, other than the price was reasonable, it's close by to Blackpool (about 6 miles) staff are friendly, general appearance of site when you arrive appears nice, sadly let down by our experience above.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Llesley ann 19 reviews from this member

Stayed at windy harbour for 4 nights over the bank holiday weekend,all staff seemed friendly and helpful site clean and tidy.

The pitches are a little small when using a awning not a lot of room for your car really a tight squeeze for all 3,all pitches are hard gravel for your caravan and awning I did see a few pitches which where 1/2 gravel and 1/2 grass.

On site Toilet /shower block cleaned every morning throughout my stay a large children's play ground fully enclosed,fish and chip shop open till 1 am on a weekend, hairdresses, shop and cafe there is a family bar with entertainment on {weekends only} and a adult only bar,small swimming pool and arcade.

Blackpool about 6 miles and fleetwood 8 miles.

Overall I would rate this site 7 out of 10.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bloobloo 2 reviews from this member

Pleasant park, Really nice and friendly staff, bar prices very reasonable

Kids play area was fantastic, park was clean and tidy at all time's, swimming pool looked as if it had been squeezed in there not very big at all

Family bar was good with a disco for the kid's, games room also to keep the little one's amused. The on site shop was good and not very expensive, chippy was ok, staff were lovely

All in all a lovely weekend would go back again.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Laura.d 1 review from this member

Our stay at windy harbour was great, we couldn't fault it at all!

On arrival we went to the well presented office, the staff were friendly and helpful.

Our caravan pitch was near the very clean toilet and shower block, the dish washing facilities were also located there which were also clean and usable.

The park was a two minute walk from our pitch, it was excellent! our 12,4 and 6 year old all enjoyed it, there is also a big football and playing field just round the back of the park.

The site amenities were a 5 minute walk from our pitch which were also excellent; cafe, chippy, arcade etc. The family room had children's entertainment until late with a reasonably priced bar with snacks for the kids.

The site was clean and tidy with very little dog dirt!

The swimming pool had a children's section and also a jacuzzi!

We had a very enjoyable stay and are going back next week for the weekend!

Previous     64 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Blackpool      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5326 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019