Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Windy Harbour Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Blackpool > Windy Harbour Holiday Park Reviews

Windy Harbour Holiday Park
Little Singleton
Blackpool
Lancashire   (Browse area)
FY6 8NB
Tel: 01253 883064
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 850
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 64 Reviews
                8/10 from 64 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  64 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Helen8785 12 reviews from this member

Stayed for one weekend and it was cheap. £16 for the night. Pitch is smallish, but adequate space.

Lovely duck pond, play area, all the shops you could ask for and a launderette.

My kids loved the play area and a walk round site looking at the ducks.

Never sampled the nightlife as my children are too young to be out late at night.

Lots of statics and some lovely lodges with a pond area and fountain. We quite enjoyed it and it only a short drive to Fleetwood and Blackpool.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jojo2966 4 reviews from this member

Right - a bit of a mixed review of this site. First the positives.

Lovely looking site - very clean

Showers certainly better than some ive seen

Swimming pool really good

Play area best I've ever seen

Everything you could want on a site - shop, entertainment, pool, hairdresser, chip shop, cafe

But. Now the negatives.

Unfortunately these type of facilities tend to attract a certain sort of visitor. The site is mostly statics and I think this is where the 'undesirables' seem to stay - the tourers all seemed normal people. The site just seemed full of young teenage boys and girls.

The entertainment sounded really good - but not much good if you've got kids under 18 - all we were allowed to do for entertainment was sit in an overcrowded family room and watch kids playing games for an hour and a half ! adults only in the actual entertainment!

The reception staff seemed very uninterested. When I went to ask about the entertainment for kids she didn't even know what time it started or what it was and wasn't interested in finding out for me either! ( I have to agree with the previous review about the pool staff though - they were very pleasant and helpful - well done)

The pitches are very small - and it was made clear to me that we had to park in a specific way or else! but yet the car next to us had parked the other way and nothing was said???

The site is also very noisy at night - but this may be due to the pitch we were in being near the play area and toilet block and there was a constant sound of kids screaming until very late.

It is also very busy with cars - wouldn't have liked to think of my two riding their bikes around.

Overall - its a nice site if you can cope with the sort of people who dump their kids with half a dozen bags of crisps and pop in the family area while they go in the entertainment, who allow their kids to be out playing till eleven/twelve o clock at night. That said - its ideally placed for blackpool etc and was reasonably priced.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andyokeeffe 36 reviews from this member

Our party was made up of Mum, Dad, our two boys aged 9 & 7 & our dog.

Windy Harbour was a long standing booking and we must have been amongst one of the first families to book this site this year for the May Day Bank Holiday. To say that this holiday was looked forward too is a massive understatement and upon arrival our anticipation was not dashed as check-in was easy and very pleasant.

With our map and pitch number allocated to us, we drove round the corner and quickly saw that cows in milking stalls have more room to move about in than some outfits here. Our hopes of a pleasant and relaxed weekend were sinking as fast as the sun was behind the rain clouds.

We got to our pitch and pitched up on a new hardstanding area but it was really just a cheap pub car park tarmac as it was like broken tarmac thrown down in block so as to pass off as gravel but it was almost pure hardcore.

Once pitched, we were told that the vanís nearside should be placed along the pitch white line marking while the awning should be put up beyond the pitch line! Yeah, it seems to be all to cock and all this to be done in already tight pitches.

Windy Harbour is without doubt the tightest and meanest pitch size I have had the misfortune to stay upon. After helping my new neighbour also get used to his size of pitch, we set out to make the most of our Bank Holiday weekend, but it got worst.

The shower blocks were running cold and the wash basins had seen better days.

I would love to include a good comment about Windy Harbour, and so here goes. The Swimming Pools Male and female attendants / lifeguard on Sunday 2nd May 2010 between 1.30pm and 3pm was wonderful. They are both a credit and a standard that Windy Harbour should look to for the rest of their staff as the swimming pool staff just seem to love kids, but had the firmness to keep kids in check.

There is not a cat in hells chance that I will be going back to Windy Harbour.

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rob.ms 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from this caravan site after a 2 day visit.

Some good points to mention. The swimming pool is good and clean. The children's play area is excellent and probably the best I have seen on a site. A short walk from the touring area are a row of shops including a fish and chip shop a cafe which is open to 11.30pm a hairdressers a general food store with a cash machine inside (although there is a charge) and a small hardware store for spares for your caravan etc. The club area is satisfactory.

Frankly I was quite impressed until the second night. I returned with my family from the club and decided to use the toilet block. As I approached it the first thing I noticed was a group of teenagers hanging around the front of the ladies and gents being rowdy.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Deefa127 3 reviews from this member

Nice caravan site. More for the static caravans than the tourers but evening entertainment is superb. Very limited grass areas in touring park (bit like camping in a carpark) Toilet and showers clean but basic. Good shop, fish and chips and very good laundry facilities. Excellent play park for the kids. There is Wifi available at cost (£5 per day or £10 for 3 days).

Overall a very good site in a great position for visiting Blackpool, not too far away and easy to find!

Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rubyroo75 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weekend at Windy Harbour, with 2 young children (4 and 1) and would definitely return.

The staff were helpful and friendly, the site well kept. Typical holiday camp facilities. General shop selling everything and anything. Takeaway with good chips. Club, average pub prices and we didn't have to worry about the kids 'bothering' other people as there is a designated family room. Swimming pool (don't know what this was like as didn't visit). A fantastic children's play park, one of the best equipped we've seen.

The toilets furthest from reception were a bit dated and cold (well it is March!) but they were very clean. The toilets near reception were newer and warmer.

We were given the wrong pitch, however. The receptionist couldn't tell the difference between Robertson and Robinson, despite me telling her twice. So we were given somebody else's pitch but only realised after setting up. We had been put on the field for dog owners, rather than the full hardstanding pitch we should've got. We were given the opportunity to move but we'd already fully set up including our awning, so didn't bother. Fortunately, the dogs weren't too noisy and didn't disturb us at all (same can't be said of the woodpigeons!), and it was actually a much better pitch for the kids: lots of grass and away from the main site road.

It is a good location for visiting Blackpool, just off the motorway.

This is a lovely, well run site, with no noise problems, great for families. Highly recommended and will return in the (hopefully) warmer summer months.

Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lesley/Ian 31 reviews from this member

First came here as a child, when it was just a basic site, had a club house and pool, but touring field was just a field. However , all grown up now and coming with my family on a regular basis, the site is great. Access is fantastic, big open entrance road, nice reception and staff all ok. Pitches behind the reception block are the best, hard standing and more spacious, other side looking a little run down. Toilet blocks are always clean and warm, never had to queue. There is a chip shop, very nice! Small basic supermarket, and a caravan accessory shop too. The clubhouse is nicely decorated and there is an adults only bar too. The pool underwent an overhaul and is now really welcoming with good changing facilities and it's kept really warm. It is a drive into Blackpool, this may deter some people, but we think it's worth it. Visit the Glassblower outside the entrance on the other side of the road if he is open, ok for a walk out for half an hour.All in all great site and we recommend and will be visiting again soon.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Brother69 10 reviews from this member

Very good site if you want to be close to blackpool but away from the noise! The site is very well kept with the best showers I have encountered and they were always clean and tidy when I used them, the amenities are very good with a good sized club with a lot of entertainment, excellent pool and arcade for the kids and a very good chip shop

The staff in reception are not the politest but will help you out, we had trouble with electric and we went to see them and got some trainee electrician of a receptionist asking if we had plugged our lead in ???? now I may not be the brightest myself but even I'm not that daft

Overall good site and well kept and seeing as its our 3rd yr in a row and all ready got the dates for next year its a site we will continue to visit.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: A1nsy 1 review from this member

Visited this site for four nights and really enjoyed our stay. There was plenty for the kids to do with a good play area and amusements. The kids disco was also entertaining and kept the kids busy while we could relax with a drink. There is an adult only entertainment as well although we never went in.
The pitch was fine, hardstanding for car and van and grass for awning. The toilets, showers, washing up room and waste point were v. clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.The indoor pool was good and warm kids loved it [adult only 9-11am] good idea and at no extra charge.
Found tariffs reasonable. We will definitely be going again.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rustyfrog 9 reviews from this member

Large easy to find site with some great facilities.

Good bar with nightly entertainment. Well worth the £1 per night extra charge.

The site has a well stocked shop, cafe (good value), fish & chips, hair dressers,(you can even get your ears pierced while you wait!)

On the touring field there is a good play area for children and a modern and clean toilet block.

The downside is if you happen to have a dog!

You pay an extra £2 (why?) and are put on a sub- standard separate field across the road. The hard standing areas are of very rough hardcore. The grass was overgrown and the toilet and shower blocks were dirty and in a state of disrepair. Complaints about the cleanliness were made by various people on the Friday and Saturday. These were received with disinterest by the reception staff and it wasnt until the Sunday that a token effort was made to clean the toilet blocks up a bit.

Most dog owners are responsible people. They keep their pets on a lead and clean up after them.

Its a pity the same cannot be said of some parents who allow their children to run riot throwing toilet rolls around the site and tripping out fuses in fuse boxes!

Would we visit again? Maybe, but only because of the available facilities and not its standards of cleanliness nor the staffs customer relationship skills.

Previous     64 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Blackpool      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5893 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019