Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Huntingdon Boat Haven & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Cambridgeshire > Godmanchester > Huntingdon Boat Haven & Caravan Park > Reviews

Huntingdon Boat Haven & Caravan Park
The Avenue
Godmanchester
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE29 2AF
Tel: 01480 411977
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 54 Reviews
                7/10 from 54 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chris-ksa 1 review from this member

 This site is within easy walking distance of Huntingdon, Godmanchester and Porthome for walking your dog. Good pubs in the area and easy access for Touring Caravans/Motorhomes.

Although the toilets and showers are dated, they are kept clean and having toilet/shower facilities in our caravan this did not detract from the enjoyable experience of the site.

We had a great pitch for our caravan (Pitch 15) with lovely views over the marina and Porthome.

There is very little road noise now that the A14 has been rerouted and it was lovely to watch the boats going by from our pitch.

The owners were very friendly and the campsite suited all the needs for a couple of our age.

I believe that the positives far outweigh the negative comments posted by other reviewers and we have already booked two separate visits again in 2022. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jackfield 8 reviews from this member

 The plus point of the site is it is within easy walking distance to the town of Huntingdon, so great for walking to pubs in the area.

Would recommend the Bridge Hotel, had a lovely meal in there and the facilities and staff are excellent. The site is overlooking the river, so pleasant, if you can see it through the trees.

The minus of the site is it is a small camping field. The put off points are the site needs a good cleaning and maintenance.

Lots of discarded items lying around and unused or uncared for/abandoned caravans, motorhomes in the camping area.

The toilets and showers aren't very clean, only one toilet in use. Dont know what the caravan area was like, but I have been to better campsites.

It probably was a nice site a few years ago. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dave Chilwell 1 review from this member

 Site charming, welcoming and facilities spotless.

Very little road noise as A14 has been rerouted.

Close to shops, pubs etc in both Godmanchester and Huntingdon.

Will definitely return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rachel 1 review from this member

 ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS SITE we had the BEST week.

Great owners, amazing views, just perfect to sit and watch the world go by in their boats.

Slight road and train noise when the winds in the wrong direction !

Definitely coming back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Diane1 1 review from this member

 Good site next to the river, great views and walks. 10 minute walk into Huntingdon.

Used as a stopover on this trip but would have stayed longer.

Recommended 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sue Paul 80 reviews from this member

 Mmm, you expect a lovely location based on the web site, reality differs.

The owners are lovely, as is the the location but, most of the site is full of scruffy seasonal vans. The boats are all pretty wrecked to so lots of ďoldĒ stuff around.

The place is tidy ish otherwise.

The facilities are poor, old tired and cold. We said to the owners about the cold and we were advised to turn the heater on 30 mins before a shower, but the windows wonít close so was still cold.

The killer is the road noise, boy is it loud and non stop, in October when we stayed it wasnít to bad as we were indoors, in the summer sitting outside and with windows open it would be horrendous.

We left a day early. 


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Transamtrev 4 reviews from this member

 I can recommend this site

Every thing you need

Derek and Chris are so helpful

Location is great

5 minutes walk into the town

Will be back soon 👍

Trev and Mandy 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: H4ppycmpr 1 review from this member

 The site is well maintained and in a beautiful area. The owners are lovely and helpful, however the proximity to the A14 is closer than you expect.

The toilets and showers are very dated and donít always work. The tokens (25p for 5 mins of water) can get stuck and you have to ask to get them fixed if you want your shower, which isnít great.

It is an easy walk to Godmanchester or Huntingdon which is a plus, but the road noise is horrific! It is constant and does not quieten down at night. The pitches are close together and are not too far from the toilets.

It is on a marina, which is beautiful but be wary of the midgies! We didnít get bitten thankfully but in the summer it would be awful! Also be wary of young children and the water, you can pitch your tent on the edge which is lovely but it can be a drop into water if your not careful.

I wouldnít recommend the site as the road noise is horrendous, I canít even imagine it being better in a caravan! 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Uniblue 4 reviews from this member

 Hi, we stayed at this site for 7 nights in September 2017. We found the road noise from the A14 constant (24 Hours) and very disturbing. We were in a caravan and could still hear the traffic and we think that this would be unbearable in a tent.

The pitch that we were given was very small and we were unable to put up our porch awning. I measured the width of the pitch, it was 8. 00 metres. This was supposed to accommodate a caravan 2. 18 metres wide, an awning 2. 4 meters and a car 2. 1 metres that left us not much more than 1 metre to open doors and to leave space between the car and the next unit.

We did not have room to park the car in front of the pitch as this would have blocked the access to the next pitch, and the site owner told us that we must park our car at the side of our awning. The toilets were very grubby and smelly.

The gents had 2 handwash bottles and 1 was empty for 6 days and the other for 3. They were both replenished the day before we left, even then less than 1 third filled.

The site is on a small boating marina and is very picturesque. Having said that we had quite a bit of disturbance from a nearby boat doing repairs (grinding, banging and sawing). The site is a 10 min walk from Huntingdon High St in one direction and from the centre of Godmanchester in the other. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GMC1958 48 reviews from this member

 I was surprised on arrival to see so many seasonal pitches, 13 but with nobody on site. Our pitch was nice, overlooking the river and moored boats.

Toilet block was clean and adequate. Throughout our 3 night stsy, there was a maximum of 6 other people on site, no issues with toilet block! Would I visit again? NO, the road noise was constant and very unpleasant.

It is a shame but there was no chance of peace and tranquillity. 


Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Huntingdon Boat Haven & Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Huntingdon Boat Haven & Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Huntingdon Boat Haven & Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Godmanchester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


42822 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement